DETAILED ACTION
The present office action represents a nonfinal action on the merits.
Priority
This application claims the priority date of foreign application EP22180160.8 of June 21, 2022 and of 371 of PCT/EP2023/065928 of June 14, 2023.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-13 are drawn to a computer implemented method for communicating an infant milk management recommendation, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., process). Claims 14-15 are drawn to an infant milk management system, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., machine).
Claims 1-13 recite a computer implemented method for communicating an infant milk management recommendation to a user, the method comprising:
monitoring, over time, data indicative of a temperature of each quantity of milk in a reserve of infant milk;
receiving a user preference value indicative of the user's preference for managing the reserve of infant milk;
determining said infant milk management recommendation at least partly based on said data monitored over time and said user preference value; and
communicating the infant milk management recommendation to the user.
Claims 14-15 recite an infant milk management system comprising:
a processing system configured to:
monitor, over time, data indicative of a temperature of each quantity of milk in a reserve of infant milk;
receive a user preference value indicative of a user's preference for managing the reserve of infant milk;
determine said infant milk management recommendation at least partly based on said data monitored over time and said user preference value; and
control one or more user interfaces to communicate the infant milk management recommendation to the user;
optionally wherein said data comprises temperature sensor data generated by at least one temperature sensor.
The bolded limitations, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a certain method of organizing human activity or mathematical concepts, but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g., in this case communicating an infant milk management recommendation). The underlined limitations are not part of the identified abstract idea (the method of organizing human activity or mathematical concepts) and are deemed “additional elements,” and will be discussed in further detail below.
Dependent claims 2-13 and 15 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide as inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination. These limitations only serve to further limit the abstract idea (or contain the same additional elements found in the independent claim), and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claims 1 and 14.
The dependent claims recite additional limitations, but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claims 1 and 14.
The additional elements from claims 14 include:
an infant milk management system (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
a processing system (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
one or more user interfaces (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
at least one temperature sensor (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The dependent claims include the following additional elements beyond those recited in the independent claims:
computer program comprising computer program code (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
a computing device (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
These additional elements, in the independent claims are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (i.e., the limitations not identified as part of the abstract idea) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception – for example, the recitation of “an infant milk management system, a processing system, one or more user interfaces, at least one temperature sensor, computer program comprising computer program code, a computing device”, which amounts to merely invoking a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea e.g., see Specification Pages [0007] and [0013]-[0017] (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Furthermore, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception because, the additional elements (i.e., the elements other than the abstract idea) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields, as demonstrated by:
The Specification discloses that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional in nature (i.e., the Pages [0007] and [0013]-[0017] discloses that the additional elements (i.e., an infant milk management system, a processing system, one or more user interfaces, at least one temperature sensor, computer program comprising computer program code, a computing device) comprise a plurality of different types of generic computing systems that are configured to perform generic computer functions that are well understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry (i.e., healthcare, milk management method);
Relevant court decisions: The following example of court decision demonstrating well understood, routine and conventional activities, e.g., see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II): See e.g. Amdocs (Israel), Ltd. v. Openet Telecom, Inc., 841 F.3d 1288, 1316, 120 USPQ2d 1527, 1549 (Fed. Cir. 2016), BASCOM Global Internet Servs. v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1348, 119 USPQ2d 1236, 1241 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Courts have held computer‐implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by a human analog (i.e., by hand or by merely thinking) – similarly, the current invention communicates an infant management recommendation to a user using a system, computer program, and sensor.
Dependent claims 2-13 and 15 include other limitations, but none of these functions are deemed significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to “significantly more” than the above identified abstract idea. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, and there is no indication that the combination of elements improves any other technology, and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
The application, is an attempt to organize human activity and mathematical concepts, using systems and methods for remote medical assistance. The inventive concept is mathematical modeling for prediction of occupational task readiness and enhancement of incentives for rehabilitation into occupational task readiness, which is not patentable. Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, claims 1-15 are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mintzer (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0189271 A1) in view of Alvarez (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0082165 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mintzer discloses a computer implemented method for communicating an infant milk management to a user, the method comprising (Paragraphs [0006] and [0012] discuss a method for breast milk management to ensure proper administration of the milk.):
monitoring, over time, data indicative of a temperature of each milk in a reserve of infant milk (Paragraphs [0019], [0034], [0055], and FIG. 5 discuss monitoring temperature and shelf life of a containers with breast milk over time.);
receiving a user preference value indicative of the user's preference for managing the reserve of infant milk (Paragraphs [0033], [0055]-[0056], and [0066] discuss receiving computer contains acceptable administration handling parameters and profile.);
determining said infant milk management at least partly based on said data monitored over time and said user preference value (Paragraphs [0006], [0033], [0036]-[0037] discuss time data and tracking device, tracking shelf life and usage rate of the bottles to ensure the oldest milk is used first and that the expired milk is discarded; tracking handling parameters.).
Mintzer does not explicitly disclose:
communicating an infant milk management recommendation;
monitoring, over time, data indicative of a temperature of each quantity of milk;
communicating the infant milk management recommendation to the user.
Alvarez teaches:
communicating an infant milk management recommendation (Paragraphs [0168]-[0170] discuss unique identifier comprises a user-assigned, manually labeled identifier, the peripheral device may simply present the selected unique identifier to the user via its display, and the user may visually identify and select the bag bearing the corresponding identifier from her inventory. The user can then withdraw the recommended bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated.);
monitoring, over time, data indicative of a temperature of each quantity of milk (Paragraphs [0012]-[0013], [0033], and [0102] discuss attribute of the expressed breast milk quantified by the sensor is a volume collected, a time of the pump session, and updating the volume.);
communicating the infant milk management recommendation to the user (Paragraphs [0168]-[0170] discuss the device may simply present the selected unique identifier to the user via its display, and the user may visually identify and select the bag bearing the corresponding identifier from her inventory. The user can then withdraw the recommended bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, communicating an infant milk management recommendation, monitoring, over time, data indicative of a temperature of each quantity of milk, and communicating the infant milk management recommendation to the user, as taught by Alvarez, in order to provide a way for users to automatically keep track of the expressed milk inventory (Alvarez Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Mintzer discloses wherein said data comprises temperature sensor data generated by at least one temperature sensor (Paragraphs [0034] and [0037] discuss temperature sensor and temperature data.);
optionally wherein a temperature sensor is associated with each said milk so as to generate temperature sensor data indicative of a temperature of the respective milk associated with the temperature sensor (Paragraph [0037] and FIG. 2 discuss each container tracking device has a temperature sensor for temperature data.).
Mintzer does not explicitly disclose:
temperature sensor is associated with each quantity of milk and quantity of milk associated with the temperature sensor;
Alvarez teaches:
temperature sensor is associated with each quantity of milk and quantity of milk associated with the temperature sensor (Paragraphs [0012]-[0013], [0033], and [0102] discuss attribute of the expressed breast milk quantified by the sensor is a volume collected, a time of the pump session, and updating the volume.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, temperature sensor is associated with each quantity of milk and quantity of milk associated with the temperature sensor, as taught by Alvarez, in order to provide a way for users to automatically keep track of the expressed milk inventory (Alvarez Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Mintzer does not explicitly disclose further comprising receiving timestamp data indicating when each said quantity of milk was expressed, the determining said infant milk management recommendation being partly based on said timestamp data (Paragraphs [0007], [0037] discusses the container tracking device retains a timestamp of the fluid stored in the container, time data for monitoring the age of the container contents.);
optionally wherein said timestamp data comprises a date and/or a time of expression (Paragraphs [0007], [0037] discusses the container tracking device retains a timestamp of the fluid stored in the container, time data for monitoring the age of the container contents.).
Alvarez teaches:
further comprising receiving timestamp data indicating when each said quantity of milk was expressed, the determining said infant milk management recommendation being partly based on said timestamp data (Paragraphs [0029], [0102], and [0168]-[0170] discuss measure and track various characteristics of the collected fluid such as milk expression and collection, such as the amount of milk production (e.g., volume, weight), expressed frequency (e.g., time, date), expression duration and unique identifier comprises a user-assigned, manually labeled identifier, the peripheral device may simply present the selected unique identifier to the user via its display, and the user may visually identify and select the bag bearing the corresponding identifier from her inventory using a first-in, first-out system of organization, the user can then withdraw the recommended bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated.);
optionally wherein said timestamp data comprises a date and/or a time of expression (Paragraph [0102] discusses track milk expressed which includes time, date, and expression duration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, further comprising receiving timestamp data indicating when each said quantity of milk was expressed, the determining said infant milk management recommendation being partly based on said timestamp data and optionally wherein said timestamp data comprises a date and/or a time of expression, as taught by Alvarez, in order to provide a way for users to automatically keep track of the expressed milk inventory (Alvarez Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Mintzer does not explicitly disclose further comprising receiving an outcome value indicative of an outcome of previous management of the reserve of infant milk, the determining said infant milk management recommendation being partly based on said outcome value.
Alvarez teaches:
further comprising receiving an outcome value indicative of an outcome of previous management of the reserve of infant milk, the determining said infant milk management recommendation being partly based on said outcome value (Paragraphs [0029], [0105], and [0168]-[0170] discuss track and manage expressed milk inventory and identify and select the bag bearing the corresponding identifier from her inventory using a first-in, first-out system of organization, the user can then withdraw the recommended bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated, further the attributes of the expressed milk from the multiple pumping sessions may be combined, the volume of expressed milk from each of the multiple pumping sessions may be added together to generate a total volume that is associated with the single unique identifier.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, further comprising receiving an outcome value indicative of an outcome of previous management of the reserve of infant milk, the determining said infant milk management recommendation being partly based on said outcome value, as taught by Alvarez, in order to provide a way for users to automatically keep track of the expressed milk inventory (Alvarez Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, Mintzer discloses wherein said outcome comprises one or more of:
an expiry date of infant milk having elapsed without the infant milk having been fed to an infant (Paragraph [0036] discusses container tracking device and the timer can identify containers that have expired.).
Mintzer does not explicitly disclose:
a measure of quality of a quantity of milk previously recommended for feeding to an infant.
Alvarez teaches:
a measure of quality of a quantity of milk previously recommended for feeding to an infant (Paragraphs [0102] and [0170] discuss updating the volume of expressed milk and user can withdraw the recommendation bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated and the system can identify expired milk and help ensure that it is discarded.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, a measure of quality of a quantity of milk previously recommended for feeding to an infant, as taught by Alvarez, in order to provide a way for users to automatically keep track of the expressed milk inventory (Alvarez Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 7, Mintzer discloses wherein said user preference value is indicative of the user's preference for either minimising the risk of milk spoilage or maximising freshness of milk taken from the reserve of infant milk to feed to an infant (Paragraph [0036] discusses the container tracking device includes a timer that provides time data for monitoring the age of the container contents as well as providing a means to compare the dates of the containers, ensuring the oldest container is consumed first, or that the newest container is consumed first, or assist in identifying containers that have remained beyond their expiration date, and should not be administered, depending on what the user desires.).
Regarding claim 8, Mintzer does not explicitly disclose wherein said infant milk management recommendation comprises an indication of an order in which quantities of the milk are to be fed to an infant.
Alvarez teaches:
wherein said infant milk management recommendation comprises an indication of an order in which quantities of the milk are to be fed to an infant (Paragraphs [0029], [0102], and [0168]-[0170] discuss updating the volume of expressed milk and user can withdraw the recommendation bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated and the system can identify expired milk and help ensure that it is discarded and identify and select the bag bearing the corresponding identifier from her inventory using a first-in, first-out system of organization, the user can then withdraw the recommended bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, wherein said infant milk management recommendation comprises an indication of an order in which quantities of the milk are to be fed to an infant, as taught by Alvarez, in order to provide a way for users to automatically keep track of the expressed milk inventory (Alvarez Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 9, Mintzer does not explicitly disclose wherein said communicating comprises controlling one or more user interfaces to indicate next-to-be-used quantity or quantities of milk of the reserve of infant milk.
Alvarez teaches:
wherein said communicating comprises controlling one or more user interfaces to indicate next-to-be-used quantity or quantities of milk of the reserve of infant milk (Paragraphs [0026], [0029], [0032], [0102], and [0168]-[0170], FIG. 12 discuss the inventory management displays a list of inventory items a user can select updating the volume of expressed milk and user can withdraw the recommendation bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated and the system can identify expired milk and help ensure that it is discarded and identify and select the bag bearing the corresponding identifier from her inventory using a first-in, first-out system of organization, the user can then withdraw the recommended bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, wherein said communicating comprises controlling one or more user interfaces to indicate next-to-be-used quantity or quantities of milk of the reserve of infant milk, as taught by Alvarez, in order to provide a way for users to automatically keep track of the expressed milk inventory (Alvarez Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, Mintzer does not explicitly disclose wherein said one or more user interfaces comprises an indicator associated with each said quantity of milk, said communicating comprising selectively controlling the indicator or indicators of the next-to-be-used quantity or quantities to distinguish them from a remainder of the reserve of infant milk.
Alvarez teaches:
wherein said one or more user interfaces comprises an indicator associated with each said quantity of milk, said communicating comprising selectively controlling the indicator or indicators of the next-to-be-used quantity or quantities to distinguish them from a remainder of the reserve of infant milk (Paragraphs [0026], [0032], [0102], [0172], and FIG. 12 discuss the volume of expressed milk and the inventory management displays a list of inventory items and may sort the list in order of first-to-feed to last-to-feed. Sorting in order of first-to-feed to last-to-feed may comprise sorting in order of date of expression, an oldest date of expression is determined to be the first-to-feed, and an inventory item with a newest date of expression is determined to be the last-to-feed, indicating an inventory item as expired if a difference between a current date and a date of expression corresponding to the inventory item exceeds a predetermined expiry threshold and an indicator may indicate which container is to be used next or discarded.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, wherein said one or more user interfaces comprises an indicator associated with each said quantity of milk, said communicating comprising selectively controlling the indicator or indicators of the next-to-be-used quantity or quantities to distinguish them from a remainder of the reserve of infant milk, as taught by Alvarez, in order to provide a way for users to automatically keep track of the expressed milk inventory (Alvarez Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Mintzer does not explicitly disclose further comprising receiving an amount of milk in each said quantity of milk of the reserve of infant milk, the determining said infant milk management recommendation being partly based on said amount of milk;
optionally wherein said amount is a volume and/or a mass of each said quantity of milk.
Alvarez teaches:
further comprising receiving an amount of milk in each said quantity of milk of the reserve of infant milk, the determining said infant milk management recommendation being partly based on said amount of milk (Paragraphs [0012], [0018], [0029], [0102], [0161], [0163], and [0168]-[0170] discuss sensor unit comprises a volume of the expressed milk and identify and select the bag bearing the corresponding identifier from her inventory using a first-in, first-out system of organization, the user can then withdraw the recommended bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated, for example, if child has been fed, the milk form the current pump session is to be stored.);
optionally wherein said amount is a volume and/or a mass of each said quantity of milk (Paragraph [0012] discusses sensor obtains a volume of the expressed breast milk.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, further comprising receiving an amount of milk in each said quantity of milk of the reserve of infant milk, the determining said infant milk management recommendation being partly based on said amount of milk and optionally wherein said amount is a volume and/or a mass of each said quantity of milk, as taught by Alvarez, in order to provide a way for users to automatically keep track of the expressed milk inventory (Alvarez Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Mintzer discloses herein said infant milk management recommendation comprises a recommendation of a storage temperature condition for storing one or more further milk quantities to be added to the reserve of infant milk (Paragraph [0055] discusses temperature of breast milk over time is compared against an acceptable temperature profile.); and/or
wherein said infant milk management recommendation comprises a recommendation of a change to a storage temperature condition of at least one milk quantity in the reserve of infant milk (Paragraph [0055] discusses temperature of breast milk over time is compared against an acceptable temperature profile, for example, breast milk taken from a freezer or a refrigerator should be heated to room temperature or above, but not above about 100° F. An acceptable temperature profile can also evaluate whether the milk experienced so great a temperature in the heating that the milk is no longer acceptable.).
Mintzer does not explicitly disclose:
infant milk management recommendation comprises a recommendation of a storage temperature condition for storing one or more further milk quantities; and/or
wherein said infant milk management recommendation comprises a recommendation of a change to a storage temperature condition of at least one milk quantity.
Alvarez teaches:
infant milk management recommendation comprises a recommendation of a storage temperature condition for storing one or more further milk quantities (Paragraphs [0012]-[0013], [0033], and [0102] identify and select the bag bearing the corresponding identifier from her inventory using a first-in, first-out system of organization, the user can then withdraw the recommended bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated and attribute of the expressed breast milk quantified by the sensor is a volume collected, a time of the pump session, and updating the volume.); and/or
wherein said infant milk management recommendation comprises a recommendation of a change to a storage temperature condition of at least one milk quantity (Paragraphs [0012]-[0013], [0033], and [0102] identify and select the bag bearing the corresponding identifier from her inventory using a first-in, first-out system of organization, the user can then withdraw the recommended bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated and attribute of the expressed breast milk quantified by the sensor is a volume collected, a time of the pump session, and updating the volume.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, infant milk management recommendation comprises a recommendation of a storage temperature condition for storing one or more further milk quantities and wherein said infant milk management recommendation comprises a recommendation of a change to a storage temperature condition of at least one milk quantity, as taught by Alvarez, in order to provide a way for users to automatically keep track of the expressed milk inventory (Alvarez Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Mintzer does not explicitly disclose a computer program comprising computer program code which, when executed on a computing device having a processing system, causes the processing system to perform all of the steps of the method according to claim 1.
Alvarez teaches:
a computer program comprising computer program code which, when executed on a computing device having a processing system, causes the processing system to perform all of the steps of the method according to claim 1 (Paragraph [0198] discusses implemented using code that is storable upon storage media and computer readable media, and executable by one or more processors of a computer system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, a computer program comprising computer program code which, when executed on a computing device having a processing system, causes the processing system to perform all of the steps of the method according to claim 1, as taught by Alvarez, in order to provide a way for users to automatically keep track of the expressed milk inventory (Alvarez Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 14, Mintzer discloses an infant milk management system comprising (Paragraph [0007] discusses a tracking system for expressed milk.):
a processing system configured to (Paragraph [0007] discusses a tracking system and a processor.):
monitor, over time, data indicative of a temperature of each milk in a reserve of infant milk (Paragraphs [0019], [0034], [0055], and FIG. 5 discuss monitoring temperature and shelf life of a container over time.);
receive a user preference value indicative of a user's preference for managing the reserve of infant milk (Paragraphs [0033], [0055]-[0056], and [0066] discuss receiving computer contains acceptable administration handling parameters and profile.);
determine said infant milk management at least partly based on said data monitored over time and said user preference value (Paragraphs [0006], [0033], [0036]-[0037] discuss time data and tracking device, tracking shelf life and usage rate of the bottles to ensure the oldest milk is used first and that the expired milk is discarded; tracking handling parameters.); and
optionally wherein said data comprises temperature sensor data generated by at least one temperature sensor (Paragraphs [0034] and [0037] discuss temperature sensor and temperature data.).
Mintzer does not explicitly disclose:
monitor, over time, data indicative of a temperature of each quantity of milk; and
control one or more user interfaces to communicate the infant milk management recommendation to the user.
Alvarez teaches:
monitor, over time, data indicative of a temperature of each quantity of milk (Paragraphs [0012]-[0013], [0033], and [0102] discuss attribute of the expressed breast milk quantified by the sensor is a volume collected, a time of the pump session, and updating the volume.); and
control one or more user interfaces to communicate the infant milk management recommendation to the user (Paragraphs [0026], [0029], [0032], [0168]-[0170], and FIG. 12 discuss identify and select the bag bearing the corresponding identifier from her inventory using a first-in, first-out system of organization, the user can then withdraw the recommended bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated and the inventory management displays a list of inventory items a user can select.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, monitor, over time, data indicative of a temperature of each quantity of milk and control one or more user interfaces to communicate the infant milk management recommendation to the user, as taught by Alvarez, in order to provide a way for users to automatically keep track of the expressed milk inventory (Alvarez Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 15, Mintzer discloses wherein said user preference value is indicative of the user's preference for either minimising the risk of milk spoilage or maximising freshness of milk taken from the reserve of infant milk to feed to an infant (Paragraph [0036] discusses the container tracking device includes a timer that provides time data for monitoring the age of the container contents as well as providing a means to compare the dates of the containers, ensuring the oldest container is consumed first, or that the newest container is consumed first, or assist in identifying containers that have remained beyond their expiration date, and should not be administered, depending on what the user desires.).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mintzer in view of Alvarez and in further view of Worth (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0028948 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Mintzer does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining said infant milk management recommendation comprises using a reinforcement learning algorithm;
optionally a model-free reinforcement learning algorithm.
Alvarez teaches:
the determining said infant milk management recommendation (Paragraphs [0029] and [0168]-[0170] discuss unique identifier comprises a user-assigned, manually labeled identifier, the peripheral device may simply present the selected unique identifier to the user via its display, and the user may visually identify and select the bag bearing the corresponding identifier from her inventory using a first-in, first-out system of organization, the user can then withdraw the recommended bag from inventory so that the milk inventory is updated.); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, the determining said infant milk management recommendation, as taught by Alvarez, in order to provide a way for users to automatically keep track of the expressed milk inventory (Alvarez Paragraph [0005]).
Worth teaches:
using a reinforcement learning algorithm (Paragraph [0045] discusses a reinforcement learning algorithm implemented by the machine learning model.); and
optionally a model-free reinforcement learning algorithm (Paragraph [0051] discusses machine learning model can be omitted and the management device can implement a model free reinforcement learning algorithm.); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mintzer to include, using a reinforcement learning algorithm and optionally a model-free reinforcement learning algorithm, as taught by Worth, in order to efficiently identify, generate, and implement hierarchical states that achieve a balance between being generalizable while remaining efficient. (Worth Paragraph [0002]).
Conclusion
/DAWN T. HAYNES/
Art Unit 3686
/RACHELLE L REICHERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686