CTNF 18/875,310 CTNF 87775 DETAILED ACTION This Non-Final Office action is in response to the amended claims filed on 12/16/2024. Claims 1 and 4-19 are currently pending Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-06 This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: speed acquiring circuitry to acquire, power conversion circuit configured to, determining circuitry to determine switching circuitry, deceleration adjustment circuitry in claims 1-16. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to and abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s). Regarding eligibility step 1: claim 13 is directed to “a deterioration evaluating device” which is a machine and therefore eligible at step 1. Regarding eligibility step 2A, the following elements are considered to be abstract: acquire, for a subject period, a speed of a railway vehicle that is accelerated by a driving force received from a motor rotating in response to fed electric power and is decelerated by at least either of a mechanical braking force or an electric braking force, while the railway vehicle is being decelerated by not the electric braking force but the mechanical braking force alone among the mechanical braking force and the electric braking force, the mechanical braking force being generated by a mechanical brake device, the electric braking force resulting from consumption of electric power generated by the motor serving as an electric generator; determine, based on a variation in the speed acquired by the speed acquiring circuitry, an actual deceleration of the railway vehicle in the subject period: and evaluate, based on the actual deceleration determined by the determining circuitry, a level of deterioration of the mechanical brake device . acquire another actual deceleration of another railway vehicle determine an actual deceleration of the other railway vehicle , and evaluates, based on a comparison between the actual deceleration of the railway vehicle acquired from the determining circultry determiner and the other actual deceleration of the other railway vehicle acquired from the determining circuitry determiner of the other actual deceleration acquiring device, the level of deterioration of the mechanical brake device These elements appear to be directed to mental processes and/or mathematical operations because the limitations are drawn to finding information and analyzing that information, which could be done mentally or by hand with pen and paper. The remaining elements of a controller (speed acquiring circuitry, determining circuitry, evaluating circuitry) does not amount to integrating the judicial exception into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more as the controller is merely being used to implement the abstract idea on a computer, similar to the issue present in Alice Corp. The train is extra solution activity as it is just the device or vehicle being observed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 4-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shumpei et al. (WO 2021/130938) . As to claim 1 Shumpei discloses an actual deceleration acquiring device (3), comprising: speed acquiring circuitry to acquire, for a subject period, a speed of a railway vehicle (page 3 paragraph 4) The actual deceleration calculation unit 3 obtains the rotation speed of the axle from the pulse signal output by the PG (Pulse Generator) attached to the axle of the wheel of the vehicle. Then, the actual deceleration calculation unit 3 calculates the angular velocity w (unit: rad/ s) of the wheel from the rotation speed of the axle. Then, the actual deceleration calculation unit 3 calculates the vehicle speed V1 from the angular velocity w of the wheel and the diameter D1 (unit: m) of the wheel by using the following equation (1). V1 = D1 • w / 2 • • • (1) that is accelerated by a driving force received from a motor rotating in response to fed electric power and is (page 2 first paragraph) Electric railway vehicles accelerate by receiving driving force from a rotating motor that receives electric power from a power source , and decelerates by receiving the mechanical braking force of a mechanical braking device. Specifically, the electric railroad vehicle has a power conversion device that converts the electric power supplied from the power source into electric power for supplying the electric motor, and an electric railroad vehicle that receives power from the power conversion device and rotates. It is equipped with an electric motor that generates a driving force, a mechanical brake device that generates a mechanical braking force by pressing a wheel control element against a wheel, and a brake control device that controls the mechanical braking device. The brake control device performs feedback control to bring the actual braking force, which is the actually generated braking force, closer to the required braking force, which is the braking force required to obtain the deceleration indicated by the brake command. This type of brake control device is disclosed in Patent Document 1. decelerated by at least either of a mechanical braking force or an electric braking force, (page 2) The drive control system 100 shown in FIG. 1 performs drive control and brake control of the vehicle. By the drive control by the drive control system 100, the electric motor 8 described later rotates, so that the vehicle can obtain a driving force and accelerate. Further, the brake control by the drive control system 100 consumes the electric power generated by the electric motor 8 operating as a generator, and the mechanical braking device 9 described later operates to apply a braking force to the vehicle. As a result, the vehicle can decelerate. In other words, the drive control system 100 generates an electric braking force and a mechanical braking force, so that the vehicle decelerates. The drive control system 100 employs regenerative braking control that supplies electric power to vehicles located nearby as a method of consuming electric power generated by the electric motor 8 that operates as a generator. while the railway vehicle is being decelerated by not the electric braking force but the mechanical braking force alone among the mechanical braking force and the electric braking force, the mechanical braking force being generated by a mechanical brake device, (page 10) Further, when only the mechanical braking force is working , the actual deceleration B.sub.cp calculated by the actual deceleration calculation unit 3 includes an error. Specifically, as shown in the following equation (12), the actual deceleration B.sub.cp.sub.is the mechanical brake force F p actually generated when only the mechanical brake force is applied, and the pressure of the mechanical brake control unit 14 B sub.The error E Fp included in the value of .sub.the mechanical braking force F p calculated based on the measured value of the sensor .sub., the actual vehicle weight M1, and the error E W1 included in the vehicle weight W1 calculated by the weight calculation unit 4 Defined based on. the electric braking force resulting from consumption of electric power output from a power conversion circuit configured to convert electric power led by the motor serving as an electric generator, and output the converted electric power; and (page 2) Electric railway vehicles accelerate by receiving driving force from a rotating motor that receives electric power from a power source, and decelerates by receiving the mechanical braking force of a mechanical braking device. Specifically, the electric railroad vehicle has a power conversion device that converts the electric power supplied from the power source into electric power for supplying the electric motor, and an electric railroad vehicle that receives power from the power conversion device and rotates. It is equipped with an electric motor that generates a driving force, a mechanical brake device that generates a mechanical braking force by pressing a wheel control element against a wheel, and a brake control device that controls the mechanical braking device. The brake control device performs feedback control to bring the actual braking force, which is the actually generated braking force, closer to the required braking force, which is the braking force required to obtain the deceleration indicated by the brake command. This type of brake control device is disclosed in Patent Document 1. determining circuitry to determine, based on a variation in the speed acquired by the speed acquiring circuitry acquirer, an actual deceleration of the railway vehicle in the subject period and (page 3) The actual deceleration calculation unit 3 obtains the rotation speed of the axle from the pulse signal output by the PG (Pulse Generator) attached to the axle of the wheel of the vehicle. Then, the actual deceleration calculation unit 3 calculates the angular velocity w (unit: rad/ s) of the wheel from the rotation speed of the axle. Then, the actual deceleration calculation unit 3 calculates the vehicle speed V1 from the angular velocity w of the wheel and the diameter D1 (unit: m) of the wheel by using the following equation (1). V1 = D1 • w / 2 • • • (1) switching circuitry to stop, in response to satisfaction of an initiation condition for initiating a process of acquiring an actual deceleration, power conversion of the power conversion circuit when an operation command of the railway vehicle contains a braking command for instructing the railway vehicle to decelerate, wherein (page 11) When there is no powering vehicle in the vicinity, it is not possible to supply electric power to other vehicles to consume the electric power generated by the electric motor 8, and the vehicle cannot be decelerated by the electric braking force. When regenerative braking occurs in which the vehicle cannot be decelerated by the electric braking force, it is necessary to operate the mechanical braking device 9 to decelerate the vehicle by the mechanical braking force. In the third embodiment, the brake control device 31 for stably operating the mechanical brake device 9 will be described. the speed acquiring circuitry acquires the speed of the railway vehicle for the subject period after the switching circuitry stops the power conversion of the power conversion circuit. (the speed is constantly acquired even after the cutting of the power conversion) As to claim 4 Shumpei discloses the actual deceleration acquiring device according to claim 1, wherein the switching circuitry stops the power conversion of the power conversion circuit in accordance with a place where the railway vehicle is running. (if the place has no powering vehicle in the vicinity (place) then the conversion is cut (page 16)) When there is no powering vehicle in the vicinity , it is not possible to supply electric power to other vehicles to consume the electric power generated by the electric motor 8, and the vehicle cannot be decelerated by the electric braking force . When regenerative braking occurs in which the vehicle cannot be decelerated by the electric braking force, it is necessary to operate the mechanical braking device 9 to decelerate the vehicle by the mechanical braking force. In the third embodiment, the brake control device 31 for stably operating the mechanical brake device 9 will be described. As to claim 5 Shumpei discloses the actual deceleration acquiring device according to claim 1 wherein the speed acquiring circuitry acquires the speed of the railway vehicle for the subject period while the railway vehicle is being decelerated by the mechanical braking force alone in accordance with a target deceleration indicated by the braking command, the target deceleration being deemed to be constant in the subject period. When there is no powering vehicle in the vicinity , it is not possible to supply electric power to other vehicles to consume the electric power generated by the electric motor 8, and the vehicle cannot be decelerated by the electric braking force . When regenerative braking occurs in which the vehicle cannot be decelerated by the electric braking force, it is necessary to operate the mechanical braking device 9 to decelerate the vehicle by the mechanical braking force. In the third embodiment, the brake control device 31 for stably operating the mechanical brake device 9 will be described. As to claim 6 Shumpei discloses the actual deceleration acquiring device according to claim 1, wherein the subject period is a period from arrival of the railway vehicle at a predetermined position until stop of the railway vehicle. (the arrival period is the when the brake is applied and when the vehicle stops the speed calculation stops) As to claim 7 Shumpei discloses the actual deceleration acquiring device according to claim 1 further comprising: deceleration adjusting to adjust, in accordance with an inclination of a place where the railway vehicle is running in the subject period, the actual deceleration determined by the determining circuitry. (Adjusting to meet a target value as described in embodiment 2) As to claim 8 Shumpei discloses a deterioration evaluating device, comprising: the actual deceleration acquiring device according to claim 1; and evaluating circuitry to acquire, from the determining circuitry of the actual deceleration acquiring device, the actual deceleration determined by the determining circuitry, and to evaluate, based on the acquired actual deceleration, a level of deterioration of the mechanical brake device. (the error in the device Page 10) As to claim 9 Shumpei discloses a deterioration evaluating device, comprising: the actual deceleration acquiring device according to claim 7; and evaluating circuitry to acquire, from the deceleration adjusting circuitry of the actual deceleration acquiring device, the actual deceleration adjusted by the deceleration adjusting circuitry, and to evaluate, based on the acquired actual deceleration, a level of deterioration of the mechanical brake device. (the error in the device Page 10) As to claim 10 Shumpei discloses the deterioration evaluating device according to claim 8, wherein the evaluating circuitry evaluates, based on a comparison between the acquired actual deceleration and a target deceleration, the level of deterioration of the mechanical brake device, the target deceleration being indicated by the braking command. (The level of the error in the device is the level or deterioration Page 10). As to claim 11 Shumpei discloses the deterioration evaluating device according to claim 10, wherein the evaluating circuitry evaluates, based on whether a ratio of a difference between the acquired actual deceleration and the target deceleration to the target deceleration is within a target range, the level of deterioration of the mechanical brake device. (Page 10 the level of error is used as the level of deterioration. As the error increases the adjustment amount increases that is the amount the brakes are adjusted to stop the train) Further, the threshold Th .sub.B preferably has a positive correlation with the target deceleration B.sub.in. In this case, the limiting unit 25 may hold in advance a threshold table for associating the .sub.target deceleration B in with the threshold Th .sub.B. Then, the limiting unit 25 may .sub.acquire the target deceleration B in from the target deceleration calculation unit 2 and correct the deceleration adjustment amount a~ by using the threshold value Th .sub.~ corresponding to the target deceleration B .sub.in . sub. When the error E c represented by the above equation (7) is used as the threshold value Th. sub. B, the limiting unit 25 holds in advance a threshold value table for associating. Sub.the target deceleration B in with the error E. sub. v and the error E. Sub. p. Just do it. As to claim12 Shumpei discloses the deterioration evaluating device according to claim 8, wherein the evaluating circuitry determines an average of acquired actual decelerations, and evaluates, based on whether a ratio of a difference between the average and a target deceleration to the target deceleration is within a target range, the level of deterioration of the mechanical brake device, the target deceleration being indicated by the braking command. Further, the threshold Th .sub.B preferably has a positive correlation with the target deceleration B.sub.in. In this case, the limiting unit 25 may hold in advance a threshold table for associating the. sub.target deceleration B in with the threshold Th .sub.B. Then, the limiting unit 25 may. sub. acquire the target deceleration B in from the target deceleration calculation unit 2 and correct the deceleration adjustment amount a~ by using the threshold value Th.sub. ~ corresponding to the target deceleration B.sub. in. sub. When the error E c represented by the above equation (7) is used as the threshold value Th .sub.B, the limiting unit 25 holds in advance a threshold value table for associating .sub.the target deceleration B in with the error E .sub.v and the error E .sub.p. Just do it. As to claim 14 Shumpei discloses a brake control apparatus, comprising: the deterioration evaluating device according to claim 8; and brake controlling circuitry to control the mechanical brake device and a power conversion circuit controlling circuitry in accordance with a target deceleration indicated by the braking command and in accordance with a result of evaluation by the deterioration evaluating device, the power conversion circuit controlling circuitry being configured to control the power conversion circuit. (page 3) The device 7 includes a power conversion device control unit 6 that controls the power conversion device 7, and a mechanical braking device 9 that generates a mechanical braking force of the vehicle. As to claim 15 Shumpei discloses a brake control apparatus, comprising: the deterioration evaluating device according to claim 8; brake controlling circuitry to control the mechanical brake device and power conversion circuit controlling circuitry in accordance with a target deceleration indicated by the braking command and in accordance with a result of evaluation by the deterioration evaluating device, the power conversion circuit controlling circuitry being configured to control the power conversion circuit; The threshold value Th. sub. J3 is, for example, the magnitude of the error that can be included.sub.in the actual deceleration J3 c calculated by the actual deceleration calculation unit 3. Note the threshold Th. sub. beta, it is preferable that changes according to the electric brake duty R.sub. v. For example, the error E .sub.c included in the actual deceleration beta .sub.c used as the threshold value Th .sub.beta is included as shown in the following equation (7), the actual deceleration beta .sub.c in a case where only the electric brake force is acting It may be calculated based on the .sub. error E v, which is the error .sub. included in the actual deceleration J3 c when only the mechanical braking force is working, and the error E .sub.p. a target braking force determining circuitry determiner to determine a target braking force in accordance with the target deceleration; in This brake control device (5) is provided with: a target adjustment unit (11) which acquires an actual deceleration and a target deceleration and which then makes an adjustment to the target deceleration so as to bring the actual deceleration closer to the target deceleration; a required brake force calculation unit (12) which calculates a required brake force that is necessary to obtain the adjusted target deceleration; and a mechanical brake control unit (14) which performs control on a mechanical brake device (9) according to the difference between the required brake force and an electric brake force. The target adjustment unit (11) adjusts the target deceleration according to the ratio of the electric brake force to the required brake force. a braking force adjusting circuitry adjuster to adjust the target braking force in accordance with the result of evaluation by the deterioration evaluating device. This brake control device (5) is provided with: a target adjustment unit (11) which acquires an actual deceleration and a target deceleration and which then makes an adjustment to the target deceleration so as to bring the actual deceleration closer to the target deceleration ; a required brake force calculation unit (12) which calculates a required brake force that is necessary to obtain the adjusted target deceleration; and a mechanical brake control unit (14) which performs control on a mechanical brake device (9) according to the difference between the required brake force and an electric brake force. The target adjustment unit (11) adjusts the target deceleration according to the ratio of the electric brake force to the required brake force. regeneration controlling circuitry to determine a target electric braking force in accordance with the target braking force adjusted by the braking force adjusting circuitry adjuster, and to output a regeneration pattern indicating the target electric braking force to the power conversion circuit controlling circuitry; controller, and The drive control system 100 shown in FIG. 1 performs drive control and brake control of the vehicle. By the drive control by the drive control system 100, the electric motor 8 described later rotates, so that the vehicle can obtain a driving force and accelerate. Further, the brake control by the drive control system 100 consumes the electric power generated by the electric motor 8 operating as a generator, and the mechanical braking device 9 described later operates to apply a braking force to the vehicle. As a result, the vehicle can decelerate. In other words, the drive control system 100 generates an electric braking force and a mechanical braking force, so that the vehicle decelerates. The drive control system 100 employs regenerative braking control that supplies electric power to vehicles located nearby as a method of consuming electric power generated by the electric motor 8 that operates as a generator. mechanical brake controlling circuitry to acquire a regeneration feedback indicating an actual electric braking force from the power conversion circuit controlling circuitry-controller, to determine a target mechanical braking force, based on the target braking force adjusted by the braking force adjusting circuitry adjuster and the actual electric braking force, and to control the mechanical brake device in accordance with the target mechanical braking force. This brake control device (5) is provided with: a target adjustment unit (11) which acquires an actual deceleration and a target deceleration and which then makes an adjustment to the target deceleration so as to bring the actual deceleration closer to the target deceleration ; a required brake force calculation unit (12) which calculates a required brake force that is necessary to obtain the adjusted target deceleration; and a mechanical brake control unit (14) which performs control on a mechanical brake device (9) according to the difference between the required brake force and an electric brake force . The target adjustment unit (11) adjusts the target deceleration according to the ratio of the electric brake force to the required brake force. As to claim 16 Shumpei discloses a brake control apparatus comprising: the deterioration evaluating device according to claim 8: brake controlling circuitry to control the mechanical brake device and power conversion circuit controlling circuitry in accordance with a target deceleration indicated by the braking command and in accordance with a result of evaluation by the deterioration evaluating device, the power conversion circuit controlling circuitry being configured to control the power conversion circuit: The threshold value Th. sub. J3 is, for example, the magnitude of the error that can be included.sub.in the actual deceleration J3 c calculated by the actual deceleration calculation unit 3. Note the threshold Th. sub. beta, it is preferable that changes according to the electric brake duty R.sub. v. For example, the error E .sub.c included in the actual deceleration beta .sub.c used as the threshold value Th .sub.beta is included as shown in the following equation (7), the actual deceleration beta .sub.c in a case where only the electric brake force is acting It may be calculated based on the .sub.error E v, which is the error .sub.included in the actual deceleration J3 c when only the mechanical braking force is working, and the error E .sub.p. target braking force determining circuitry determiner to determine a target braking force in accordance with the target deceleration: This brake control device (5) is provided with: a target adjustment unit (11) which acquires an actual deceleration and a target deceleration and which then makes an adjustment to the target deceleration so as to bring the actual deceleration closer to the target deceleration; a required brake force calculation unit (12) which calculates a required brake force that is necessary to obtain the adjusted target deceleration; and a mechanical brake control unit (14) which performs control on a mechanical brake device (9) according to the difference between the required brake force and an electric brake force. The target adjustment unit (11) adjusts the target deceleration according to the ratio of the electric brake force to the required brake force. regeneration controlling circuitry to determine a target electric braking force in accordance with the target braking force, and to output a regeneration pattern indicating the target electric braking force to the power conversion circuit controlling circuitry; braking force adjusting circuitry adjuster to adjust the target braking force in accordance with the result of evaluation by the deterioration evaluating device: and The drive control system 100 shown in FIG. 1 performs drive control and brake control of the vehicle. By the drive control by the drive control system 100, the electric motor 8 described later rotates, so that the vehicle can obtain a driving force and accelerate. Further, the brake control by the drive control system 100 consumes the electric power generated by the electric motor 8 operating as a generator, and the mechanical braking device 9 described later operates to apply a braking force to the vehicle. As a result, the vehicle can decelerate. In other words, the drive control system 100 generates an electric braking force and a mechanical braking force, so that the vehicle decelerates. The drive control system 100 employs regenerative braking control that supplies electric power to vehicles located nearby as a method of consuming electric power generated by the electric motor 8 that operates as a generator. mechanical brake controlling circuitry to acquire a regeneration feedback indicating an actual electric braking force from the power conversion circuit controlling circuitry controller, to determine a target mechanical braking force, based on the target braking force adjusted by the braking force adjusting circuitry and the actual electric braking force, when the actual electric braking force is smaller than the target braking force determined by the target braking force determining circuitry, and to control the mechanical brake device in accordance with the target mechanical braking force. This brake control device (5) is provided with: a target adjustment unit (11) which acquires an actual deceleration and a target deceleration and which then makes an adjustment to the target deceleration so as to bring the actual deceleration closer to the target deceleration ; a required brake force calculation unit (12) which calculates a required brake force that is necessary to obtain the adjusted target deceleration; and a mechanical brake control unit (14) which performs control on a mechanical brake device (9) according to the difference between the required brake force and an electric brake force . The target adjustment unit (11) adjusts the target deceleration according to the ratio of the electric brake force to the required brake force. As to claim 17 Shumpei discloses a method comprising: acquiring, for a subject period, a speed of a railway vehicle that is accelerated by a driving force received from a motor rotating in response to fed electric power and is decelerated by at least either of a mechanical braking force or an electric braking force, while the railway vehicle is being decelerated by not the electric braking force but the mechanical braking force alone among the mechanical braking force and the electric braking force, the mechanical braking force being generated by a mechanical brake device, the electric braking force resulting from consumption of electric power output from a power conversion circuit configured to convert electric power fed by the motor serving as an electric generator and output the converted electric power; The actual deceleration calculation unit 3 obtains the rotation speed of the axle from the pulse signal output by the PG (Pulse Generator) attached to the axle of the wheel of the vehicle. Then, the actual deceleration calculation unit 3 calculates the angular velocity w (unit: rad/ s) of the wheel from the rotation speed of the axle. Then, the actual deceleration calculation unit 3 calculates the vehicle speed V1 from the angular velocity w of the wheel and the diameter D1 (unit: m) of the wheel by using the following equation (1). V1 = D1 • w / 2 • • • (1) Electric railway vehicles accelerate by receiving driving force from a rotating motor that receives electric power from a power source , and decelerates by receiving the mechanical braking force of a mechanical braking device. Specifically, the electric railroad vehicle has a power conversion device that converts the electric power supplied from the power source into electric power for supplying the electric motor, and an electric railroad vehicle that receives power from the power conversion device and rotates. It is equipped with an electric motor that generates a driving force, a mechanical brake device that generates a mechanical braking force by pressing a wheel control element against a wheel, and a brake control device that controls the mechanical braking device. The brake control device performs feedback control to bring the actual braking force, which is the actually generated braking force, closer to the required braking force, which is the braking force required to obtain the deceleration indicated by the brake command. This type of brake control device is disclosed in Patent Document 1. determining, based on a variation in the acquired speed, an actual deceleration of the railway vehicle in the subject period; and The actual deceleration calculation unit 3 obtains the rotation speed of the axle from the pulse signal output by the PG (Pulse Generator) attached to the axle of the wheel of the vehicle. Then, the actual deceleration calculation unit 3 calculates the angular velocity w (unit: rad/ s) of the wheel from the rotation speed of the axle. Then, the actual deceleration calculation unit 3 calculates the vehicle speed V1 from the angular velocity w of the wheel and the diameter D1 (unit: m) of the wheel by using the following equation (1). V1 = D1 • w / 2 • • • (1) stopping in response to satisfaction of an initiation condition for initiating a process of acquiring an actual deceleration, power conversion of the power conversion circuit when an operation command of the railway vehicle contains a braking command for instructing the railway vehicle to decelerate. Wherein When there is no powering vehicle in the vicinity, it is not possible to supply electric power to other vehicles to consume the electric power generated by the electric motor 8, and the vehicle cannot be decelerated by the electric braking force. When regenerative braking occurs in which the vehicle cannot be decelerated by the electric braking force, it is necessary to operate the mechanical braking device 9 to decelerate the vehicle by the mechanical braking force. In the third embodiment, the brake control device 31 for stably operating the mechanical brake device 9 will be described. the speed of the railway vehicle for the subject period is acquired after stopping the power conversion of the power conversion circuit. (the speed is constantly acquired during the mechanical only braking in order to control the target deceleration) As to claim 18 Shumpei discloses the method according to claim 17 further comprising: evaluating, based on the determined actual deceleration, a level of deterioration of the mechanical brake device. (the error level is the deterioration level) As to claim 19 Shumpei discloses the method according to claim 18 further comprising: controlling, in accordance with a target deceleration and the evaluated level of deterioration of the mechanical brake device, the mechanical brake device and the a power conversion circuit, the target deceleration being indicated by the braking command. This brake control device (5) is provided with: a target adjustment unit (11) which acquires an actual deceleration and a target deceleration and which then makes an adjustment to the target deceleration so as to bring the actual deceleration closer to the target deceleration; a required brake force calculation unit (12) which calculates a required brake force that is necessary to obtain the adjusted target deceleration; and a mechanical brake control unit (14) which performs control on a mechanical brake device (9) according to the difference between the required brake force and an electric brake force. The target adjustment unit (11) adjusts the target deceleration according to the ratio of the electric brake force to the required brake force. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHERMAN D MANLEY whose telephone number is (571)270-5539. The examiner can normally be reached M-TH 7-5:30 est. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Logan Kraft can be reached at 571-270-5065. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. SHERMAN D. MANLEY Examiner Art Unit 3747 /SHERMAN D MANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747 /LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 2 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 3 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 4 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 5 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 7 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 8 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 9 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 10 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 11 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 13 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 14 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 15 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 16 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 17 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 18 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 19 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 20 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 21 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 22 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 23 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 24 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 25 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 18/875,310 Page 26 Art Unit: 3747