DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mu Young Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0105835 A1 (Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a subassembly for varying a position of a seat comprising: an actuator (Element 410) assembled in a seat assembly and defining a rotary axis; a first guide (Element 420) in cooperation with the actuator and defining a translation axis ([0048-0049]); a second guide (screw element with Element 410 as disclosed in [0049]) cooperating with the first guide; and a joint (Element 310) in cooperation with the first or second guide such that during actuation of the actuator the joint moves from a retracted position to an extended position and the first or second guide translates relative the translation axis.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the subassembly wherein the first guide comprises a spindle or an annular linkage ([0049], rod screw) and the second guide comprises the other of the spindle or the annular linkage such that during actuation of the actuator the annular linkage translates relative to the spindle (Element 420 with 410 operational [0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the subassembly wherein the first guide has a first screw-like groove that corresponds a second screw-like groove such that when the first guide is rotated via the actuator the second guide translates along the first guide ([0048-0049]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the subassembly wherein the actuator is a motor (Element 410).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the subassembly wherein the joint includes a first arm (Element 311) and a second arm (Element 313) pivotally attached, the first arm being connected to a seat frame (Element 200), the second arm being connected to a base (Element 100), and the first guide being connected to the first or second arm such that when the joint extends or retracts the seat frame pivots.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the subassembly further comprising a transmission ([0049] operational parts with the motor Element 410 and 420), cooperating with the actuator to rotate the first guide.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses a seat assembly comprising: a base (Element 100); a seat frame (Figure 1-3 seat frame shown) disposed on the base and defining a seat bottom (Element 200) and/or seat back (Element 500); a drive assembly having an actuator (Element 400), the drive assembly moving the seat frame relative to the base from a first position to a second position ([0050-0051], Figure 1-3); a first guide and a second guide operably connected to the first guide ([0049], Element 410 and elements not indicated but shown that cooperate with the element); and a joint (Element 310) on the base or the seat frame; wherein when the actuator drives the first or second guide, the translation of the first or second guide moves the seat frame to the first position or the second position ([0048-0050]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the seat assembly wherein the actuator is a motor (Element 410).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the seat assembly wherein the first guide and second guide comprise a spindle and an annular ring configured to be disposed around the spindle ([0049]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the seat assembly wherein the joint includes a first arm (Element 311) pivotally connected to a second arm (Element 313) at a first pivot point (guide slow Element 312 of the link in Figure 3 that facilitates the rotation about the pivot point shown in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the seat assembly wherein the second guide is fixed to the base (Element Figure 4 Element 100; shows the second guide fixed to the base).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the seat assembly wherein the first arm is pivotally connected to the seat frame and the second arm is pivotally connected to the base (Figure 3 Element 311 pivots relative to the frame; Element 313 rotates relative Element 100).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the seat assembly wherein the actuator defines rotary axis (axis of rotary facilitated by Element 400, Figure 4), and the first guide defines a first translation axis that is different than the rotary axis ([0048-0050]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the seat assembly wherein the drive assembly includes a third guide defining a second translation axis and configured to cooperate with a fourth guide. the third or fourth guide cooperating with a second joint on the base or seat frame such that when the actuator drives the third or fourth guide, the third or fourth guide translates relative to the second translation axis to move the seat to the first position or the second position ([0047-0050]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the seat assembly wherein the base is configured to be secured to or is secured to a vehicle floorboard (Figure 1-4, floor shown).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the seat assembly wherein the rotary axis is generally perpendicular to the first translation axis (Element 420 and 400, Figure 4).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses a seat assembly comprising: a seat frame configured to be attached to a stationary base rail (Figure 1-3); and a joint assembly comprising: an actuator (Element 410) defining a rotary axis; a transmission ([0049]) cooperating with the actuator to rotate a first guide, the first guide being in communication with a second guide; and a joint cooperating with the first or second guide and being configured to be connected to the seat frame or the stationary base rail such that the first or second guide steers the other of the first or second guide from a first position to a second position, the first and second positions corresponding to a retracted position and an extended position of the joint, wherein the retracted position and extended position correspond to different seat frame positions (Element 310, 311, 313, [0045-0050]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the seat assembly wherein the first or second guide comprises a spindle and the other of the first and second guide comprises an annular linkage such that the spindle or annular linkage may translate along the other of the spindle or the annular linkage during actuation of the actuator ([0048-0050]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the seat assembly wherein the different seat frame positions include a predetermined position ([0058]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHIN H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636