DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 14, 43 and 45 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 14, line 2, the recitation “an outlet the fluid reservoir” appears to contain grammar. The recitation “an outlet the fluid reservoir” appears to read “an outlet of the fluid reservoir” to correct the grammatical error.
Regarding claim 14, line 3, the recitation “liquid” appears to read “the liquid” to refer to “liquid” recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 43, lines 1-2, the recitation “a port assembly a port assembly” appears to be repeating the limitation. The claim appears to correct the limitation by reciting “a port assembly” instead of “a port assembly”.
Regarding claim 43, line 2, the recitation “an outlet the fluid reservoir” appears to contain grammar. The recitation “an outlet the fluid reservoir” appears to read “an outlet of the fluid reservoir” to correct the grammatical error.
Regarding claim 43, line 3, the recitation “liquid” appears to read “the liquid” to refer to “liquid” recited in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, lines 1-2, lines 1-2, the recitation “a second internal barrier” renders the claim indefinite because the claim is unclear if the medical device also comprises first internal barrier positively as a part of the claimed invention. For examination purposes, examiner construes that the medical device does not necessarily comprise a first internal barrier.
Regarding claim 44, lines 1-2, lines 1-2, the recitation “a second internal barrier” renders the claim indefinite because the claim is unclear if the medical device also comprises first internal barrier positively as a part of the claimed invention. For examination purposes, examiner construes that the medical device does not necessarily comprise a first internal barrier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Basile et al. (US 2015/0343157 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Basile teaches a medical device (figures 10, 11) for delivering a liquid to an electrosurgical instrument, the device comprising:
a housing (housing of the medical device comprising drive mechanism and cartridge) defining a window 48, 80;
a fluid reservoir (paragraph 0050, lines 1-5, “medication cartridge”) disposed within the housing and configured to receive the liquid, wherein at least a portion of the fluid reservoir is transparent;
a plunger 90 (integrated structure formed by elements 30 and 40) movably disposed within the fluid reservoir and comprising a first colored portion (portion not comprising element 30 or not in portion of element 92) and a second colored portion 30, 92 being of a different color than the first colored portion (paragraphs 0050, 0054); and
a spring (paragraph 0015, “spring”) disposed within the housing and configured to be biased to cause the plunger to discharge the liquid to the electrosurgical instrument,
wherein the first colored portion (portion not comprising element 30 or not in portion of element 92) of the plunger 90 is viewable through the window with the fluid reservoir containing a first volume of the liquid, and wherein movement of the plunger 90 from the bias of the spring is configured to expose the second colored portion 30, 92 of the plunger within the window as the fluid reservoir discharges at a least a portion of the liquid to contain a second volume (paragraphs 0050, 0054, due to plunger movement, the volume inside the cartridge will be less than initial volume) of the liquid that is less than the first volume.
Regarding claim 2, Basile teaches wherein the second colored portion is not visible through the window 48 with the fluid reservoir containing the first volume of the liquid (paragraphs 0050, 0054).
Regarding claim 3, Basile teaches wherein the liquid is viewable through the window 48 with the fluid reservoir containing the first volume of the liquid (figures 10 and 11).
Regarding claim 9, Basile teaches wherein the first colored portion (portion not comprising element 30 or not in portion of element 92) and the second color portion 30, 92 spanning a length of the window is indicative that the fluid reservoir is substantially empty (paragraphs 0050, 0054).
Regarding claim 10, Basile teaches wherein the window 48, 80 is oblong (see figures 10 and 11).
Regarding claim 12, Basile teaches wherein the fluid reservoir is devoid of volume markings (paragraph 0052, no marking is present on the cartridge since it present on the injector).
Regarding claim 13, Basile teaches wherein the plunger (integrated structure formed by elements 30 and 40) is formed from a material (material of element 40) of a same color as the first colored portion (portion of element 40 without element 30), and wherein the second colored portion 30 is coupled to the plunger 30, 40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basile et al. (US 2015/0343157 A1) in view of Aydelotte et al. (US 6,290,678 B1).
Regarding claim 4, Basile discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Basile further discloses wherein the sealing head 62 is viewable through the window 48 with the fluid reservoir containing a third volume (volume could be construed as a volume of maximum capacity and first volume could be a volume that is little less than the maximum capacity but before element 92 or 30 is visible) of the liquid that is greater than the first volume, and, optionally, wherein the third volume is indicative that the fluid reservoir is substantially filled with the liquid but is silent regarding wherein the plunger further comprises a sealing head being of another different color than the first colored portion and the second colored portion.
However Aydelotte teaches a design of a syringe barrel wherein the plunger 14 further comprises a sealing head 18 being of another different color (column 4, lines 23-25) for the purpose of increased readability of the volume demarcations of the syringe barrel (column 3, lines 13-16).
Since Aydelotte teaches in column 4, lines 23-25 that the high color contrast is used, one of ordinary skill in the art when modifying Basile in view of Aydelotte would use a third color that is different from first colored portion and the second colored portion since first and second colored portion are part of the plunger rod and Aydelotte teaches the use of high contrast color with respect to the plunger rod.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the sealing head of Basile to incorporate wherein the plunger further comprises a sealing head being of another different color than the first colored portion and the second colored portion as taught by Aydelotte for the purpose of increased readability of the volume demarcations of the syringe barrel (column 3, lines 13-16).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basile et al. (US 2015/0343157 A1) in view of Olson (US 2016/00250417 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Basile discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Basile is silent regarding wherein the plunger further comprises a support member coaxially disposed within the spring and engaging an internal shelf of the housing.
However, Olson teaches a design of a medicament delivery device (figure 1) wherein the plunger 16 (figure 2) further comprises a support member 40 coaxially disposed within the spring 38 and engaging an internal shelf 44 (paragraph 0039) of the housing for the purpose of keeping the plunger rod in the locked condition until the time of use and being a component in an arrangement for driving the drive mechanism for the drug delivery (paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the plunger of Basile to incorporate wherein the plunger further comprises a support member coaxially disposed within the spring and engaging an internal shelf of the housing as taught by Olson for the purpose of keeping the plunger rod in the locked condition until the time of use and being a component in an arrangement for driving the drive mechanism for the drug delivery (paragraph 0039).
Claims 6-8, 11 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basile et al. (US 2015/0343157 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Basile discloses a medical device (figures 10, 11) for delivering a liquid to an electrosurgical instrument, the device comprising:
a housing (housing of the medical device comprising drive mechanism and cartridge) defining a window 48, 80;
a fluid reservoir (paragraph 0050, lines 1-5, “medication cartridge”) disposed within the housing and configured to receive the liquid, wherein at least a portion of the fluid reservoir is transparent;
a plunger 90 (integrated structure formed by elements 30 and 40) movably disposed within the fluid reservoir and comprising a first colored portion (portion not comprising element 30 or not in portion of element 92) and a second colored portion 30, 92 being of a different color than the first colored portion (paragraphs 0050, 0054); and
a spring (paragraph 0015, “spring”) disposed within the housing and configured to be biased to cause the plunger to discharge the liquid to the electrosurgical instrument,
wherein the second colored portion 30, 92 of the plunger is viewable through the window to be indicative of low volume of the liquid (paragraphs 0050, 0054, due to plunger movement, the volume inside the cartridge will be less than initial volume and is indicative of “near empty”) but is silent regarding less than approximately 35% of a filled volume of the liquid remains within the fluid reservoir.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the indication of low volume of the liquid would result in a difference in function of Basile device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the low volume of the liquid indication would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed range of less than approximately 35% of a filled volume of the liquid remains within the fluid reservoir. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the low volume of the liquid indication solves any stated problem, indicating that the indicative low volume “may” be within the claimed range. Therefore, there appears to be no criticality placed the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low volume of the liquid indication to have less than approximately 35% of a filled volume of the liquid remains within the fluid reservoir as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 7, Basile discloses wherein the second colored portion 30, 92 is not visible through the window 48, 80 with the fluid reservoir being substantially filed with the liquid (paragraphs 0050, 0054, figures 10 and 11).
Regarding claim 8, Basile discloses wherein the liquid is visible (see figures 10 and 11) through the window 48, 80 with the fluid reservoir being substantially filled with the liquid.
Regarding claim 11, Basile discloses wherein a length of the window 48, 80 corresponds to approximately few milliliters of the liquid being viewable within the fluid reservoir (see figures 10 and 11) but is silent regarding the specifics of the few milliliters being approximately six milliliters.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the volume viewable within the fluid reservoir through a length of the window would result in a difference in function of Basile device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the volume viewable within the fluid reservoir through a length of the window would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed range of approximately six milliliters. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the volume viewable within the fluid reservoir through a length of the window solves any stated problem, indicating that the volume viewable within the fluid reservoir through a length of the window “may” be within the claimed range. Therefore, there appears to be no criticality placed the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 42, Basile teaches wherein the first colored portion (portion not comprising element 30 or not in portion of element 92) and the second color portion 30, 92 spanning a length of the window is indicative that the fluid reservoir is substantially empty (paragraphs 0050, 0054).
Claims 14-15 and 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basile et al. (US 2015/0343157 A1) in view of Knox (US 3,353,537).
Regarding claim 14, Basile discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed 1 above. Basile is silent regarding further comprising a port assembly comprising a collar assembly coupled to an outlet the fluid reservoir, and a fill port extending through the housing and configured to receive liquid from an external fluid source for loading or reloading the fluid reservoir.
However, Knox teaches a design of an injector (figure 1) further comprising a port assembly (integrated structure formed by elements 88 and 91 in figure 3) comprising a collar assembly 88 coupled to an outlet (outlet at element 82) the fluid reservoir 63, and a fill port 72 extending through the housing (integrated structure formed by elements 68’ and 46) and configured to receive liquid from an external fluid source 99 for loading or reloading the fluid reservoir 63 for the purpose of delivering multiple doses of medication as needed by the medical procedure (column 7, lines 30-36).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the medical device of Basile to incorporate further comprising a port assembly comprising a collar assembly coupled to an outlet the fluid reservoir, and a fill port extending through the housing and configured to receive liquid from an external fluid source for loading or reloading the fluid reservoir as taught by Knox for the purpose of delivering multiple doses of medication as needed by the medical procedure (column 7, lines 30-36).
Regarding claim 15, Basile discloses the claimed invention as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Basile is silent regarding wherein the port assembly is engaging a second internal barrier of the housing so as to resist movement of the fluid reservoir from forces from the plunger being biased by the spring.
However, Knox teaches wherein the port assembly (integrated structure formed by elements 88 and 91) is engaging a second internal barrier 68’ of the housing 68’, 46 so as to resist movement of the fluid reservoir 63 from forces from the plunger 56 being biased by the spring 66 for the purpose of delivering multiple doses of medication as needed by the medical procedure (column 7, lines 30-36).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the medical device of Basile to incorporate wherein the port assembly is engaging a second internal barrier of the housing so as to resist movement of the fluid reservoir from forces from the plunger being biased by the spring as taught by Knox for the purpose of delivering multiple doses of medication as needed by the medical procedure (column 7, lines 30-36).
Regarding claim 43, Basile discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed 6 above. Basile is silent regarding further comprising a port assembly comprising a collar assembly coupled to an outlet the fluid reservoir, and a fill port extending through the housing and configured to receive liquid from an external fluid source for loading or reloading the fluid reservoir.
However, Knox teaches a design of an injector (figure 1) further comprising a port assembly (integrated structure formed by elements 88 and 91 in figure 3) comprising a collar assembly 88 coupled to an outlet (outlet at element 82) the fluid reservoir 63, and a fill port 72 extending through the housing (integrated structure formed by elements 68’ and 46) and configured to receive liquid from an external fluid source 99 for loading or reloading the fluid reservoir 63 for the purpose of delivering multiple doses of medication as needed by the medical procedure (column 7, lines 30-36).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the medical device of Basile to incorporate further comprising a port assembly comprising a collar assembly coupled to an outlet the fluid reservoir, and a fill port extending through the housing and configured to receive liquid from an external fluid source for loading or reloading the fluid reservoir as taught by Knox for the purpose of delivering multiple doses of medication as needed by the medical procedure (column 7, lines 30-36).
Regarding claim 44, Basile discloses the claimed invention as claimed, as set forth above in claim 6. Basile is silent regarding wherein the port assembly is engaging a second internal barrier of the housing so as to resist movement of the fluid reservoir from forces from the plunger being biased by the spring.
However, Knox teaches wherein the port assembly (integrated structure formed by elements 88 and 91) is engaging a second internal barrier 68’ of the housing 68’, 46 so as to resist movement of the fluid reservoir 63 from forces from the plunger 56 being biased by the spring 66 for the purpose of delivering multiple doses of medication as needed by the medical procedure (column 7, lines 30-36).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the medical device of Basile to incorporate wherein the port assembly is engaging a second internal barrier of the housing so as to resist movement of the fluid reservoir from forces from the plunger being biased by the spring as taught by Knox for the purpose of delivering multiple doses of medication as needed by the medical procedure (column 7, lines 30-36).
Regarding claim 45, Basile discloses a medical device (figures 10, 11) for delivering a liquid to an electrosurgical instrument, the device comprising:
a housing (housing of the medical device comprising drive mechanism and cartridge) defining a window 48, 80;
a fluid reservoir (paragraph 0050, lines 1-5, “medication cartridge”) disposed within the housing and configured to receive the liquid, wherein at least a portion of the fluid reservoir is transparent;
a plunger 90 (integrated structure formed by elements 30 and 40) movably disposed within the fluid reservoir; and
a spring (paragraph 0015, “spring”) disposed within the housing and configured to be biased to cause the plunger to discharge the liquid to the electrosurgical instrument.
Basile is silent regarding further comprising a port assembly comprising a collar assembly coupled to an outlet the fluid reservoir, and a fill port extending through the housing and configured to receive liquid from an external fluid source for loading or reloading the fluid reservoir, and a port coupler configured to and discharge the liquid to an infusion line.
However, Knox teaches a design of an injector (figure 1) further comprising a port assembly (integrated structure formed by elements 88 and 91 in figure 3) comprising a collar assembly 88 coupled to an outlet (outlet at element 82) the fluid reservoir 63, and a fill port 72 extending through the housing (integrated structure formed by elements 68’ and 46) and configured to receive liquid from an external fluid source 99 for loading or reloading the fluid reservoir 63 and a port coupler 92 configured to and discharge the liquid to an infusion line 93 for the purpose of delivering multiple doses of medication as needed by the medical procedure (column 7, lines 30-36).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the medical device of Basile to incorporate further comprising a port assembly comprising a collar assembly coupled to an outlet the fluid reservoir, and a fill port extending through the housing and configured to receive liquid from an external fluid source for loading or reloading the fluid reservoir and a port coupler configured to and discharge the liquid to an infusion line as taught by Knox for the purpose of delivering multiple doses of medication as needed by the medical procedure (column 7, lines 30-36).
Regarding claim 46, Basile is silent regarding wherein the fill port is orthogonal to each of the collar assembly and the port coupler.
However, Knox teaches wherein the fill port 72 is orthogonal (see figure 3) to each of the collar assembly 88 and the port coupler 92 for the purpose of delivering multiple doses of medication as needed by the medical procedure (column 7, lines 30-36).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the medical device of Basile to incorporate wherein the fill port is orthogonal to each of the collar assembly and the port coupler as taught by Knox for the purpose of delivering multiple doses of medication as needed by the medical procedure (column 7, lines 30-36).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Page (US 1,559,978): discloses a design of a syringe comprising a window in the housing and transparent cartridge.
/NILAY J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783