Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“calculation unit” “selection unit” and “determination unit” in claims 1 and 10.
“calculation unit” - Fig. 1 processor 110 plus software 111
“selection unit” - Fig. 1 processor 110 plus software 113
“determination unit” - Fig. 1 processor 110 plus software 114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s):
1. (Original) A control device, comprising:
(a) a calculation unit that calculates a plurality of angle combinations for a plurality of rotational axes capable of changing an orientation of a tool such that the tool forms a predetermined angle with a plane;
(b) a selection unit that selects one combination from the plurality of angle combinations calculated by the calculation unit;
(c) a control unit that controls the plurality of rotational axes to change the orientation of the tool oriented in a predetermined orientation such that the tool forms the predetermined angle with the plane, and operates the plurality of rotational axes such that an angle combination for the plurality of rotational axes becomes the combination selected by the selection unit; and
(d) a determination unit that determines one combination to be used for actual operation from the plurality of angle combinations calculated by the calculation unit.
Step 2A PRONG ONE
Yes, the claim is directed towards a judicial exception of an abstract idea falling within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. The claims, under the broadest reasonable interpretation encompass steps that could be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper because applicant has drafted the claims such that they encompass both virtual control on a computer in a simulation as well as actual control of the rotational axes. Limitation (a) identified above is directed towards a calculation and could thus be performed as a mental step or merely using the computer as a tool. Limitation (b) recited selecting one combination of angles calculated by the function in limitation (a) and could likewise be performed in the human mind as a judgment and is recited at a high level of generality. Limitation (c) recites a function that is broad enough to occur only in a simulation on a computer of rotating the axes via the selected combination and is recited at a high level of generality. The limitation does not require the movement of the real rotational axes and thus represents using a computer as a tool to perform a mental process rather than an improvement to the tool itself. Limitation (d) recites the determination of a combination of rotational angles to be used for actual operation and is recited at a high level of generality and is thus broad enough to encompass forming an opinion or judgment withing the human mind (for example determining the selection of the combination that does not collide after observing multiple simulations).
Step 2A PRONG TWO
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim does not improve the functioning of a computer or other technology or field. The claim does not result in a particular machine or manufacture. The claim does not effect a transformation of an article to a different state. The claim as a whole thus merely amounts to instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Because under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim the simulation and selection of chosen rotation angles, there has been no improvement over previous technology in the field.
Step 2B - search for inventive concept
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the factors considered above are carried over from 2A prong two. There are no additional limitations recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception. Because there are no limitations recited that are beyond the judicial exception, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself.
Regarding claim 2, this claim recites rotation of the real rotational axes and therefore recites a limitation which goes beyond the judicial exception itself. Because the claim recites real control of the rotational axes, the claim is patent eligible because it results in an improvement of functionality in the field and a practical application.
Regarding claim 3, this claim recites choosing the combination based on input from the operator and thus recites insignificant extra solution steps, so the claim is ineligible.
Regarding claim 4, this claim recites rotation of virtual axes in the simulation and is therefore patent ineligible because no improvement in the technological field is accomplished.
Regarding claim 5, this claim recites mere display showing result of the simulation, insignificant extra solution limitation and is thus patent ineligible.
Regarding claim 6, this claim recites that the determination unit selects the combination that does not cause interference. This claim is recited at a high level of generality and encompasses judgment or observation which could be performed in the human mind. It is patent ineligible.
Regarding claim 7, this claim recites that each rotation axis is simultaneously operated. The claim is patent ineligible because this could be accomplished purely in the simulation and not result in an improvement to the technological field.
Regarding claim 8, this claim recites the simulation and selection of a second set of angle combinations and is therefore a duplicate of the first simulation and selection, which could similarly be accomplished purely in the virtual/simulation space with no improvement to the technological field. It is patent ineligible.
Regarding claim 9, this claim merely recites non selection of already simulated control rotations. It is patent ineligible.
Regarding claim 10, this claim is a system claim and includes the control device of claim 1 but further includes industrial machinery. This additional limitation does not represent significantly more than the abstract idea itself because the inclusion of industrial machinery amounts to mere instructions to “apply it” because actual use/rotation of the machinery is not recited. The claim is patent ineligible.
Regarding claim 11, this claim recites the CRM storage of the instructions as claim 1 and adds nothing beyond the judicial exception itself as claim 1. It is patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iuchi US 2015/0134101 A1 in view of Brand et al. US 2015/0205283 A1.
Iuchi teaches:
1. (Original) A control device, comprising:
a calculation unit [Fig. 1 5] that calculates a plurality of angle combinations [angle combinations for each different tool on Fig. 2 26 calculated for inclined perpendicular rotation to incline angle Zf] for a plurality of rotational axes capable of changing an orientation of a tool such that the tool forms a predetermined angle with a plane [inclined surface 22; Fig. 8 angle Zf]; [Fig. 3 S14 appropriate angle set chosen for selected tool and angle calculated at S15]
a selection unit [Fig. 1 5] that selects one combination from the plurality of angle combinations calculated by the calculation unit; [para. 0044, “ After obtaining the mounting angle, the indexing-angle generating unit 5 subtracts the obtained mounting angle from the provisional indexing angle to calculate the indexing angle regarding the selected tool 24 (Step S15)”]
a control unit [Fig. 1 6] that
controls the plurality of rotational axes [via servo amplifier Fig. 1 7] to change the orientation of the tool oriented in a predetermined orientation such that the tool forms the predetermined angle with the plane, [Fig. 8 tool rotated for selected tool and correct distance to inclined workpiece 22] and
operates the plurality of rotational axes such that an angle combination for the plurality of rotational axes becomes the combination selected by the selection unit; [Fig. 7 output move command S16] and
Iuchi does not teach the following limitation, however, Brand teaches:
a determination unit that determines one combination to be used for actual operation from the plurality of angle combinations calculated by the calculation unit. [Fig. 3 multiple sequences 315 and optimal sequence chosen 340; para. 0033, simulated trajectory and displayed for operator to choose]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Brand with those of Iuchi. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because Brand teaches that model simulation can be performed and displayed so an operator can verify toolpaths of G-Codes. (See para. 0033).
Iuchi teaches:
2. (Original) The control device according to claim 1, wherein the rotational axes are real rotational axes. [Fig. 2 real rotation axis 26 and 23]
Iuchi teaches:
3. (Original) The control device according to claim 1, wherein the determination unit determines one combination, based on an operation input. [para. 0047, “For example, the correspondence relationship between the tools 24A, 24B, 24C, and 24D and the mounting angles is preset by an input operation on an NC screen by an operator.”]
Brand teaches:
4. (Original) The control device according to claim 1, wherein the rotational axes are virtual rotational axes [Fig. 1 simulated model 154], and an operation of the rotational axes is a simulation by the control unit [Fig. 1 processor 152 simulates movement before NC controller moves motor control 114].
Brand teaches:
5. (Original) The control device according to claim 4, further comprising a display unit that displays a result of the simulation. [Fig. 1 160 results of simulation 162 displayed on display device]
Iuchi teaches:
7. (Original) The control device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit simultaneously operates the plurality of rotational axes. [para. 0038, “The indexing-angle generating unit 5 generates the move command 15 that instructs rotation of the rotary axis 23 and the rotary axis 26 such that the orientation corresponding to the calculated indexing angle is achieved.”]
Regarding claim 8, this claim mostly repeats the limitations of claim 1 with regard to choosing rotation angles for the spindle to form a predetermined angle with an inclined workpiece plane but adds the limitation that it repeats the functions for a second plane. The process taught by Iuchi (Fig. 7) can be repeated for a second inclined plane and different tool.
Brand teaches:
9. (Original) The control device according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where one combination has already been determined by the determination unit, the control unit does not operate the plurality of rotational axes such that the angle combination for the plurality of rotational axes becomes the combination selected by the selection unit. [Fig. 3 - non selected sequences from candidates 315]
Regarding system apparatus claim 10, these claim recites most of the same limitations as control device 1 above and adds “industrial machinery.” Iuchi teaches the additional machinery such as workpiece holder (Fig. 8 along with spindles and tool pieces 25] and is rejected on the same grounds and rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding CRM claim 11 this claim recites the storage of the instructions for executing the functionality recited in apparatus claim 1 above and is rejected on the same grounds and rationale as claim 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iuchi US 2015/0134101 A1 in view of Brand et al. US 2015/0205283 A1 and further in view of HOSHINO et al. US 2017/0308055 A1.
Iuchi teaches:
6. (Original) The control device according to claim 4,
wherein the selection unit selects one combination from the plurality of angle combinations calculated by the calculation unit for each of the plurality of angle combinations calculated by the calculation unit, [Fig. 5 angle changed based on tool A-D]
Brand teaches:
the control unit controls the plurality of rotational axes such that the angle combination for the plurality of rotational axes becomes the combination selected by the selection unit for each of the plurality of angle combinations selected by the selection unit, [Fig. 1 simulated model 154 and Fig. 3 340 determined optimal sequence] and
The combination of Iuchi and Brand does not teach the following limitation, however, HOSHINO teaches:
the determination unit determines one combination that does not cause interference. [para. 0106, “The arithmetic processing part 25 determines whether or not the model data of the machine tool, the model data of the tool, and the model data of a workpiece, which mutually move, interfere with each other. When the model data interfere with each other, the motion of the image on the screen is stopped, and the movement along the feed axis of the machine tool is stopped.”]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the teachings of HOSHINO with those of Iuchi and Brand. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because Hoshino teaches that simulating movement of a tool prior to actual operation can prevent collisions and minimize damage. (See para. 0106).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Anderson et al. US 2019/0391561 A1 - teaches the 3d modeling and simulation of toolpaths. Generates multiple candidate toolpaths and allows the user to select preferred paths. See para. 0010. Simulates paths using different speeds, tools and orders.
Kasahara US 2015/0068272 A1 - simulates model of workpiece and tools and runs interference check including a function to measure the workpiece and correct/update the model.
/GARY COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115