DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3, 5, 6, 7, 19, 21, 22, and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, A, C, D, and E, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 10, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Devine (US Patent No. 5,096,092).
Re: Claim 1, Devine discloses the claimed invention including an apparatus for use in the high-pressure processing of bulk, high viscosity product, comprising:
a carrier (12) having openings therein for receiving high pressure fluid into the carrier (Fig. 2);
a flexible product bag (22) disposed in the carrier, the bag having a fitment (78) for filling and emptying the bag with high viscosity, flowable product (Fig. 2, Col. 4, lines 19-22, for filling and emptying with high viscosity, before tap is placed into the fitment, it defined a hole for filling the bag);
an opening (50) in the carrier for access to the fitment (Figs. 2, Col. 4, lines 1-5, opening);
an emptying system (32) cooperating with the carrier to press against the product bag while within the carrier to increase the pressure imposed on the high viscosity product in the product bag to assist in forcing the high viscosity product out of the product bag (Figs. 1-2, Col. 11, lines 16-20, Col. 12, lines 52-55, emptying systems).
Re: Claim 2, Devine discloses the claimed invention including the emptying system is selected from the group consisting of:
b. at least one expandable bladder (32) disposed within the carrier and a system for expanding the bladder, whereupon the bladder acts against the product bag to help force the high viscosity product out of the project bag through the fitment (Fig. 2);
Re: Claim 4, Devine discloses the claimed invention including the product bag is elongate with opposite end portions (Fig. 2); the fitment is located at one of the end portions of the product bag (Fig. 2); the at least one expandable bladder is selected from the group consisting of:
a second bag (32) that is disposed against one end portion of the product bag opposite to the location of the fitment (Fig. 2)
Re: Claim 8, Devine discloses the claimed invention including the fitment extends through an opening in the carrier (Depicted in Fig. 2).
Re: Claim 10, Devine discloses the claimed invention including a support (100) for supporting the carrier in tilted orientation during the filling and emptying of the product bag while disposed within the carrier (Depicted in Fig. 2).
Re: Claim 13, Devine discloses the claimed invention including an apparatus for use in the high-pressure processing of bulk, high viscosity product, comprising:
a carrier (12) having openings therein for receiving high pressure fluid into the carrier (Fig. 2);
a flexible product bag (22) disposed in the carrier, the bag having a fitment (78) for filling and emptying the bag with high viscosity, flowable product (Fig. 2, Col. 4, lines 19-22, for filling and emptying with high viscosity, before tap is placed into the fitment, it defined a hole for filling the bag);
an opening (50) in the carrier for access to the fitment (Figs. 2, Col. 4, lines 1-5, opening);
an emptying system (32) cooperating with the carrier to press against the product bag while within the carrier to increase the pressure imposed on the high viscosity product in the product bag to assist in forcing the high viscosity product out of the product bag (Figs. 1-2, Col. 11, lines 16-20, Col. 12, lines 52-55, emptying systems);
a control system (66) for controlling the operation of the emptying system (Fig. 2, Col. 4, lines 40-44, valve control system for selective pressurization of the emptying system).
Re: Claim 14, Devine discloses the claimed invention including the fitment extends through an opening in the carrier (Depicted in Fig. 2).
Re: Claim 16, Devine discloses the claimed invention including a support (100) for supporting the carrier in tilted orientation during the filling and emptying of the product bag while disposed within the carrier (Depicted in Fig. 2).
Re: Claim 17, Devine discloses the claimed invention including the support is tiltable relative to the horizontal. (Fig. 2, inherently capable of being tilted)
Re: Claim 18, Devine discloses the claimed invention including the emptying system is selected from the group consisting of:
b. at least one expandable bladder (32) disposed within the carrier and a system for expanding the bladder, whereupon the bladder acts against the product bag to help force the high viscosity product out of the project bag through the fitment (Fig. 2);
Re: Claim 20, Devine discloses the claimed invention including the product bag is elongate with opposite end portions (Fig. 2); the fitment is located at one of the end portions of the product bag (Fig. 2); the at least one expandable bladder is selected from the group consisting of:
a second bag (32) that is disposed against one end portion of the product bag opposite to the location of the fitment (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devine (US Patent No. 5,096,092) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Bishel (US 2015/0108169 A1).
Re: Claim 12, Devine discloses the claimed invention except for a controlled tilting. However, Bishel discloses the claimed invention including a control system (50) to control the tilt of the product bag (Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a control system for tilting as taught by Bishel, since Bishel states in para. 12 that such a modification provides automatically moving the bottle in an angular movement from a first position to a second position, wherein the first position is a position maintaining the beverage within the bottle, and the second position is a pouring position to cause a portion of the beverage to pour into a serving receptacle. Further, it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References cited provide additional examples of bladder on bag dispensing and tilting systems.
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754