DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The proposed replacement sheet of drawings, filed September 22, 2026, has been reviewed by the examiner and approved for examination purposes. The prior drawer objection relating to the drawings filed on December 16, 2024, is hereby vacated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9/7, 10 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 201135251 in view of Verfaillie et al., [US 2007/0278914]. CN`251 teaches of a device (note figs. 2-5 for instance) for storing footwear (note fig. 2) comprising: a body (1) defining an internal space (shown in fig. 2 view) for storing the footwear and having an opening (viewed as the front opening shown in fig. 5 for instance) for accessing the internal space; a drawer member (3) configured to be slidingly received within the opening (shown), the drawer member configured to support at least one pair of footwear thereon (shown in fig. 2); and wherein the drawer member comprises a front plate (viewed as the front vertical wallboard of (30)), and a rear plate (viewed as the rear vertical wallboard of (30)) spaced rearwardly from the front plate and extending substantially parallel to the front panel, and at least one support member (21, 22) removably attached to the front and rear plates; wherein the at least one support member is removably attached to extend between the front plate and the rear plate (the support members are adjustable via the (5’s)), and wherein a vertical position of the at least one support member relative to the front plate and the rear plate is adjustable (such would be the case when the support members are adjusted up and down within the drawer member). CN`251 teaches applicant’s basic inventive claimed device, but does not show the inclusion of a front panel attached to the outer surface of the front plate as prescribed by applicant. As to this feature, Verfaillie is cited as an evidence reference for the known incorporation of a front panel (537) being attached to an outer surface of a front plate (602) that is part of a drawer member (sliding box) in an analogous art. Accordingly, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of CN`251 so as to include a separate front panel in view of Verfaillie’s teaching, with a reasonable expectation of success, because this arrangement would enhance the versatility of the prior art’s device by providing the drawer member with an additional member that would 1) further strengthen the drawer member (i.e., provide rigidity) and 2) provide a decorative appearance (note [0026] of Verfaillie) that would be aesthetically pleasing to an end user. As modified, the addition of the decorative front panel onto the front plate would still allow for the drawer member to be inserted into the internal space of the body, wherein the front panel would close the opening (such as is shown in the adjacent closed drawer members – see fig. 4 for instance) and the at least one support member being adjustable to separate the footwear of the at least one pair of footwear supported thereon (the support members are adjustable via the (5’s)). Regarding Claim 2, as modified, the support member is configured to support one item of footwear of a pair of items of footwear in an elevated manner above the other item of footwear in the pair of items of footwear (clearly depicted in fig. 2). Regarding Claim 3, as modified, the drawer member has two support members (multiple support members are shown – fig. 2, and can constitute and upper (22) and a lower (22) for instance) removably attached thereto and a divider member (can constitute a middle (21) vertically between the upper and lower (22’s) for instance) dividing a space (interior) located between the two support members, to define four storage compartments in the drawer member (at least six compartments are shown in a manner similar to applicant’s representation), each storage compartment configured to receive one item of footwear of two pairs of items of footwear (shown). Regarding Claim 7, as modified, the front panel is configured to be snugly received within the opening of the body (note snug fit of adjacent drawer members). Regarding Claim 9/7, as modified, the drawer member further comprises a base plate (viewed as the bottom horizontal wallboard of (30)) extending between the front plate and the rear plate. Regarding Claim 10, as modified, the base plate projects rearwardly from a lower end of the front plate and extends substantially perpendicular to the rear plate. Regarding Claim 12, as modified, the combined prior art teaches the front plate, base plate and rear plate as being an integral unit, but does not show as being formed from a single piece of material. However, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of the prior art in order to incorporate an “integrally formed” arrangement as dictated by the needs or preferences of a user, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has previously been formed in two or more pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) [A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprised several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed by {the prior art} would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice”].
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN`251 and Verfaillie et al., and further in view of Darnell [US 3,028,207]. The combined prior art teaches applicant’s basic inventive claimed device as outlined above, including the body have a roof (top) and a base (bottom); but CN`251 does not necessarily show the roof being configured to be complimentary to the base to facilitate vertical stacking of devices. As to this aspect, Darnell is cited as an evidence reference for the known use of providing stackable devices (fig. 1) where a body (10) houses a drawer member (50), and the body includes a roof (11) and a base (13) with the roof being configured to be complimentary to the base to facilitate vertical stacking of devices (note fig. 3). Accordingly, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of CN`251 so as to incorporate complimentary features along the roof and base in view of Darnell’s teaching, with a reasonable expectation of success, because this arrangement would enhance the versatility of the prior art’s device by providing a positive seating arrangement in which multiple devices could be stacked together thereby providing a maximum amount of storage potential while only occupying a limited amount of floor space in a room as dependent upon the needs and/or preferences of an end user. Regarding Claim 5, as modified, the roof is configured to have a convex configuration (note the convex area along (11) of Darnell’s roof) and the base is configured to have a concave configuration (can be viewed as either the cutout portion along (13) or the concave area defined by (13) and (15) – note fig. 3 of Darnell) such that when one device is stacked atop another device the concave base of the upper device mates with the convex roof of the lower device (shown in fig. 3). Regarding Claim 6, as modified, the base has at least one rail (such as (15)) extending longitudinally along and the roof has at least one channel (defined between (11a) and (12) for instance) extending longitudinally along such that when the devices are stacked in a vertical manner, the at least one rail in the base is received within the channel in the roof (clearly shown in fig. 3 of Darnell).
Claims 8, 9/8, 10 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN`251 and Verfaillie et al., and further in view of Rydell [US 5,228,760]. The combined prior art teaches applicant’s basic inventive claimed device as outlined above, but does not show the front panel as having perforations as prescribed by applicant. As to this feature, Rydell is cited as an evidence reference for the known use of providing perforations (14) within walls / panels (fig. 1) of a device to facilitate air flow into and out of a body (20) when a movable member (26) is in a closed position. Accordingly, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of CN`251, as enhanced by Verfaillie, so as to incorporate perforations along the front panel in view of Rydell’s teaching, with a reasonable expectation of success, because this arrangement would enhance the versatility of the prior art’s device by providing a means by which both ventilation external to and within the body is achieved [col. 5], as would be readily appreciated with a device used to contain personal items worn by a user. Regarding Claim 9/8, as modified, the drawer member further comprises a base plate (viewed as the bottom horizontal wallboard of (30)) extending between the front plate and the rear plate. Regarding Claim 10, as modified, the base plate projects rearwardly from a lower end of the front plate and extends substantially perpendicular to the rear plate. Regarding Claim 12, as modified, the combined prior art teaches the front plate, base plate and rear plate as being an integral unit, but does not show as being formed from a single piece of material. However, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of the prior art in order to incorporate an “integrally formed” arrangement as dictated by the needs or preferences of a user, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has previously been formed in two or more pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) [A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprised several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed by {the prior art} would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice”].
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN`251 in view of Verfaillie et al., and further in view of Yoo et al., [US 2021/0402029]. The combined prior art teaches applicant’s basic inventive claimed device as outlined above, but does not show the internal space as having both a camera and a disinfection system as prescribed by applicant. As to these features, Yoo is cited as an evidence for the known use of a device (100) having a body with an internal space (note fig. 1A), wherein the internal space includes a camera (432) to provide a user with a visual indication of the contents of the device, and further comprises a disinfection system to provide disinfection of the footwear stored therein, wherein the disinfection system (422) comprises one or more LEDs mounted to an internal surface of the body to emit short-wavelength ultraviolet light in the UC (UV-C) spectrum to irradiate the internal space [0164]-[0165]. Accordingly, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of CN`251 so as to incorporate both a camera and a disinfection system within the internal space in view of Yoo’s teaching, with a reasonable expectation of success, because this arrangement would enhance the versatility of the prior art’s device by providing both a means by which a user can acquire a shoe-related image as dependent upon the needs of an end user [0149] and disinfect shoes via a ultraviolet light / photocatalyst emitting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered, but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOH
October 23, 2026
/James O Hansen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637