DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/875766. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, take an example of claim 1 of the instant application and claim 1 of the Co-pending application (Please see the Table below):
Co-pending Application 18/875766
Pending application 18875411
Reasoning
1. A handheld intraoral scanning device (10) for acquiring intraoral scan data from a three-dimensional dental object during a scanning session, the handheld intraoral scanning device comprising: a processing unit (2) configured to process intraoral scan data of a patient and provide 3D image data; " a wireless interface (4) configured to transmit the 3D image data; and " a memory (3) wherein the processing unit (2) is configured to: e receive a mode request via the wireless interface when no 3D image data is transmitted, wherein the mode request is one or more of a service mode request for a service mode, a customization mode request for customizing a user interface of the handheld intraoral scanning device; an upgrade mode request for upgrading the handheld intraoral scanning device, and a debug mode request, wherein the service mode is characterized in that a firmware part of the memory (3) is writable;* authenticate the mode request to confirm that the mode request is valid for the handheld intraoral scanning device; and * place the handheld intraoral scanning device into the requested mode if authentication of the mode request succeeds.
2. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to place the intraoral scanning device into a default mode if authentication of the mode request fails.
3. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to claim 2, wherein the default mode comprises booting the handheld intraoral scanning device and operating the handheld intraoral scanning device according to operating parameters set during booting.
4. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to any of claims 1-3, wherein the processing unit is configured to authenticate the mode request by authenticating the sender of the mode request.
5. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to A handheld intraoral scanning device according to wherein the processing unit is configured to authenticate the mode request by verifying integrity of the mode request.
6. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to any of the preceding claims, wherein to place the handheld intraoral scanning device into the requested mode if authentication of the mode request succeeds comprises sending a mode response.
7. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to A handheld intraoral scanning device according to wherein the mode request is received in a session and the processing unit is configured to terminate the session if authentication of the mode request fails.
8. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to A handheld intraoral scanning device according to wherein the mode request comprises a signature, and wherein to authenticate the mode request comprises to verify the signature of the mode request.
9. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to A handheld intraoral scanning device according to wherein when the handheld intraoral scanning device is in a service mode, the processing unit is configured to generate a session identifier, to transmit the session identifier via the wireless interface and to store the session identifier in the handheld intraoral scanning device.
10. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to A handheld intraoral scanning device according to wherein when the handheld intraoral scanning device is in a service mode, the processing unit is configured to receive data via the wireless interface, wherein the processing unit is configured to authenticate the received data and store intraoral scanning device data in a part of the memory based on the received data if authentication of the data succeeds.
11. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to claim 10 as dependent on claim 9, wherein the data comprises a session identifier, and wherein to authenticate the data comprises to compare the received session identifier with the session identifier stored in the handheld intraoral scanning device.
12. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to claim 10, wherein the data is received in a session and the processing unit is configured to terminate the session if authentication of the received data fails.
13. Method (400) for configuration of a handheld intraoral scanning device comprising a processing unit configured to process intraoral scan data of a patient and provide 3D image data, a memory, and a wireless interface configured to transmit the 3D image data, the method comprising: " receiving (401) a mode request via the wireless interface when no 3D image data is being transmitted, wherein the mode request is one or more of a service mode request for updating firmware data, a customization mode request for customizing a user interface of the handheld intraoral scanning device, an upgrade mode request for upgrading the handheld intraoral scanning device, and a debug mode request, and wherein the service mode is characterized in that a firmware part of the memory (3) is writable,; " authenticating (402) the mode request to confirm that the mode request is valid for the handheld intraoral scanning device; and " placing (403) the handheld intraoral scanning device into the requested mode if authentication of the mode request succeeds.
14. Method according to claim 13, the method comprising placing (405) the handheld intraoral scanning device into a default mode if authentication of the mode request fails.
15. Method according to any of claims 13-14, wherein authenticating the mode request comprises authenticating the sender of the mode request.
16. Method according to any of claims 13-15, wherein authenticating the mode request comprises verifying integrity of the mode request.
17. Method according to any of claims 13-16, wherein when the handheld intraoral scanning device is in a service mode, the method comprises: " receiving (408) data via the wireless interface, " authenticating (410) the received data; and " storing (412) intraoral scanning device data in a part of the memory based on the received data if authentication of the data succeeds.
1. A handheld intraoral scanning device (10) for acquiring intraoral scan data from a three-dimensional dental object during a scanning session, the handheld intraoral scanning device comprising:" a processing unit (2) configured to process intraoral scan data of a patient and provide 3D image data;" a wireless interface (4) configured to transmit the 3D image data; and" a memory (3) wherein the processing unit (2) is configured to:" receive a mode request via the wireless interface when no 3D image data is transmitted, wherein the mode request is one or more of a service mode request for a service mode, a customization mode request for customizing a user interface of the handheld intraoral scanning device; an upgrade mode request for upgrading the handheld intraoral scanning device, and a debug mode request, wherein the servicemode is characterized in that a firmware part of the memory (3) is writable;" authenticate the mode request to confirm that the mode request is valid for the handheld intraoral scanning device; and" place the handheld intraoral scanning device into the requested mode if authentication of the mode request succeeds.
2. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to place the intraoral scanning device into a default mode if authentication of the mode request fails.
3. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to claim 2, wherein the default mode comprises booting the handheld intraoral scanning device and operating the handheld intraoral scanning device according to operating parameters set during booting.
4. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to any of claims 1-3, wherein the processing unit is configured to authenticate the mode request by authenticating the sender of the mode request.
5. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to A handheld intraoral scanning device according to wherein the processing unit is configured to authenticate the mode request by verifying integrity of the mode request.
6. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to any of the preceding claims, wherein to place the handheld intraoral scanning device into the requested mode if authentication of the mode request succeeds comprises sending a mode response.
7. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to A handheld intraoral scanning device according to wherein the mode request is received in a session and the processing unit is configured to terminate the session if authentication of the mode request fails.
8. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to A handheld intraoral scanning device according to wherein the mode request comprises a signature, and wherein to authenticate the mode request comprises to verify the signature of the mode request.
9. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to A handheld intraoral scanning device according to wherein when the handheld intraoral scanning device is in a service mode, the processing unit is configured to generate a session identifier, to transmit the session identifier via the wireless interface and to store the session identifier in the handheld intraoral scanning device.
10. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to A handheld intraoral scanning device according to wherein when the handheld intraoral scanning device is in a service mode, the processing unit is configured to receive data via the wireless interface, wherein the processing unit is configured to authenticate the received data and store intraoral scanning device data in a part of the memory based on the received data if authentication of the data succeeds.
11. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to claim 10 as dependent on claim 9, wherein the data comprises a session identifier, and wherein to authenticate the data comprises to compare the received session identifier with the session identifier stored in the handheld intraoral scanning device.
12. A handheld intraoral scanning device according to claim 10, wherein the data is received in a session and the processing unit is configured to terminate the session if authentication of the received data fails.
13. Method (400) for configuration of a handheld intraoral scanning device comprising a processing unit configured to process intraoral scan data of a patient and provide 3D image data, a memory, and a wireless interface configured to transmit the 3D image data, the method comprising:" receiving (401) a mode request via the wireless interface when no 3D image data is being transmitted, wherein the mode request is one or more of a service mode request for updating firmware data, a customization mode request for customizing a user interface of the handheld intraoral scanning device, an upgrade mode request for upgrading the handheld intraoral scanning device, and a debug mode request, and wherein the service mode is characterized in that a firmware part of the memory (3) is writable,;" authenticating (402) the mode request to confirm that the mode request is valid for the handheld intraoral scanning device; and " placing (403) the handheld intraoral scanning device into the requested mode if authentication of the mode request succeeds.
14. Method according to claim 13, the method comprising placing (405) the handheld intraoral scanning device into a default mode if authentication of the mode request fails.
15. Method according to any of claims 13-14, wherein authenticating the mode request comprises authenticating the sender of the mode request.
16. Method according to any of claims 13-15, wherein authenticating the mode request comprises verifying integrity of the mode request.
17. Method according to any of claims 13-16, wherein when the handheld intraoral scanning device is in a service mode, the method comprises: " receiving (408) data via the wireless interface, " authenticating (410) the received data; and " storing (412) intraoral scanning device data in a part of the memory based on the received data if authentication of the data succeeds.
Further, the instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention of Co-pending Application 18/875766 and differ only in terminology. To the extent that the instant claims are broaden and therefore generic to the claimed invention of Co-pending Application 18/875766, in re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993, states that a generic claim cannot be issued without a terminal disclaimer, if a species claim has been previously been claimed in a pending application. Nonetheless, the removal of said limitations from claim 1 of the present application made claim 1 a broader version of claim 1. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claim 1 is not patentably distinct from claim 1.
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/874184. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, take an example of claim 1 of the instant application and claim 1 of the Co-pending application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (20240129447).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al discloses, a handheld intraoral scanning device (scanner, fig. 1, 5) for acquiring intraoral scan data from a three-dimensional dental object during a scanning session (¶ 0051), the handheld intraoral scanning device comprising:
a processing unit (511, fig. 5) configured to process intraoral scan data of a patient and provide 3D image data (¶ 0069, the data processing method may further include receiving a user input for selecting a control type for three-dimensional scan data included in the remote scan data view screen, and the control type for the three-dimensional scan data may include at least one of three-dimensional scan data movement, rotation, and resizing);
a wireless interface (110/530, fig. 1, 5) configured to transmit the the (typo error, please correct it) 3D image data (¶ 0079, the scanner 100 may obtain raw data through an intraoral scan, process the obtained raw data to generate three-dimensional data, and transmit the three-dimensional data to the data processing device 120); and
a memory (512, fig. 5, ¶ 0156) wherein the processing unit is configured to:
receive a mode request via the wireless interface when no 3D image data is transmitted, wherein the mode request is one or more of a service mode request for a service mode, a customization mode request for customizing a user interface of the handheld intraoral scanning device; an upgrade mode request for upgrading the handheld intraoral scanning device, and a debug mode request, wherein the service mode is a firmware part of the memory is writable; authenticate the mode request to confirm that the mode request is valid for the handheld intraoral scanning device; and place the handheld intraoral scanning device into the requested mode if authentication of the mode request succeeds (¶ 0076-0077, 0101, 0106, 0109, the scanner 300 may operate in a standby mode. The standby mode may refer to a state in which power of the scanner 300 itself is turned on, but some components included in the scanner 300, for example, an optical unit, are deactivated. In the standby mode, the optical unit may be in a standby state, and components other than the optical unit may be in an active state. In the standby mode, a communication module may perform a network function and thus may transmit/receive a control signal to/from an external device, for example, a data processing device, or transmit information about the operating state of the scanner 300 to the data processing device. The standby mode may also be referred to as an idle mode and the scanner 300 may start a scan operation when receiving a user input to the scan button 310 while operating in a standby mode. For example, when a user clicks the scan button 310 once while the scanner 300 is in a standby mode, the scanner 300 may recognize the user input to the scan button 310 as a command to perform a scan operation, and start the scan operation. The scanner 300 may allow a light source included in a projector to emit light and a camera included in an optical module to obtain a two-dimensional image of an object. The scanner 300 may transmit the obtained two-dimensional image to the data processing device and ¶ 0101, 0147-0148, 0164, 0235, the user may change the operating mode of the scanner 510 from a standby mode to a scan mode or from the scan mode to the standby mode by selecting a scan button included in the user input unit 516. Also, the user may select a scan mode type of the scanner 510 by using a scan button. The scanner 510 may transmit a control signal including identification information about an operating mode of the scanner 510 and a current scan mode to the data processing device 520 according to a user input to a scan button; The user may check whether the scan has been successfully performed using the remote scan data view screen 710. More specifically, the user may examine the three-dimensional scan data 730 included in the remote scan data view screen 710 in detail by controlling the three-dimensional scan data 730 by using a scanner).
Regarding claims 2, 14, Lee et al discloses in claim 1 further, Lee et al discloses, wherein the processing unit is configured to place the intraoral scanning device into a default mode if authentication of the mode request fails (¶ 0118-0119, 0121,0124, the basic mode may mean an operation mode when the data processing device does not operate in the remote control mode. The data processing device may operate in the basic mode as a default when a user input requesting to operate in the remote control mode is not received. Alternatively, when receiving a user input requesting operation in the basic mode while operating in the remote control mode, the data processing device may be switched to the basic mode.).
Regarding claims 3, 15, Lee et al discloses in claim 1 further, Lee et al discloses, wherein the default mode comprises booting the handheld intraoral scanning device and operating the handheld intraoral scanning device according to operating parameters set during booting (¶ 0118-0119, 0121,0124, the basic mode may mean an operation mode when the data processing device does not operate in the remote control mode. The data processing device may operate in the basic mode as a default when a user input requesting to operate in the remote control mode is not received. Alternatively, when receiving a user input requesting operation in the basic mode while operating in the remote control mode, the data processing device may be switched to the basic mode.).
Regarding claims 4, 16, Lee et al discloses in claim 1 further, Lee et al discloses, wherein the processing unit is configured to authenticate the mode request by authenticating the sender of the mode request (¶ 0101, 0147-0148, 0164, the user may change the operating mode of the scanner 510 from a standby mode to a scan mode or from the scan mode to the standby mode by selecting a scan button included in the user input unit 516. Also, the user may select a scan mode type of the scanner 510 by using a scan button. The scanner 510 may transmit a control signal including identification information about an operating mode of the scanner 510 and a current scan mode to the data processing device 520 according to a user input to a scan button).
Regarding claim 5 Lee et al discloses in claim 1 further, Lee et al discloses, wherein the processing unit is configured to authenticate the mode request by verifying integrity of the mode request (¶ 0101, 0147-0148, 0164, the user may change the operating mode of the scanner 510 from a standby mode to a scan mode or from the scan mode to the standby mode by selecting a scan button included in the user input unit 516. Also, the user may select a scan mode type of the scanner 510 by using a scan button. The scanner 510 may transmit a control signal including identification information about an operating mode of the scanner 510 and a current scan mode to the data processing device 520 according to a user input to a scan button).
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al discloses in claim 1 further, Lee et al discloses, wherein to place the handheld intraoral scanning device into the requested mode if authentication of the mode request succeeds comprises sending a mode response (¶ 0235, The user may check whether the scan has been successfully performed using the remote scan data view screen 710. More specifically, the user may examine the three-dimensional scan data 730 included in the remote scan data view screen 710 in detail by controlling the three-dimensional scan data 730 by using a scanner).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al discloses in claim 1 further, Lee et al discloses, wherein the mode request is received in a session and the processing unit is configured to terminate the session if authentication of the mode request fails (¶ 0239-0240, the data processing device may output a remote scan data view screen when a scan operation is terminated while operating in a remote control mode. The remote scan data view screen may include three-dimensional scan data in a state in which scanning is finished).
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al discloses in claim 1 further, Lee et al discloses, wherein the mode request comprises a signature, and wherein to authenticate the mode request comprises to verify the signature of the mode request (¶ 0101, 0147-0148, 0164, 0235, the user may change the operating mode of the scanner 510 from a standby mode to a scan mode or from the scan mode to the standby mode by selecting a scan button included in the user input unit 516. Also, the user may select a scan mode type of the scanner 510 by using a scan button. The scanner 510 may transmit a control signal including identification information about an operating mode of the scanner 510 and a current scan mode to the data processing device 520 according to a user input to a scan button; The user may check whether the scan has been successfully performed using the remote scan data view screen 710. More specifically, the user may examine the three-dimensional scan data 730 included in the remote scan data view screen 710 in detail by controlling the three-dimensional scan data 730 by using a scanner).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al discloses in claim 1 further, Lee et al discloses, wherein when the handheld intraoral scanning device is in a service mode, the processing unit is configured to generate a session identifier, to transmit the session identifier via the wireless interface and to store the session identifier in the handheld intraoral scanning device (¶ 0101, 0147-0148, 0156, 0164, 0235, the memory 512 may store at least one instruction. Also, the memory 512 may store at least one instruction to be executed by the processor 511. Also, the memory 512 may store at least one program to be executed by the processor 511 and the user may change the operating mode of the scanner 510 from a standby mode to a scan mode or from the scan mode to the standby mode by selecting a scan button included in the user input unit 516. Also, the user may select a scan mode type of the scanner 510 by using a scan button. The scanner 510 may transmit a control signal including identification information about an operating mode of the scanner 510 and a current scan mode to the data processing device 520 according to a user input to a scan button; The user may check whether the scan has been successfully performed using the remote scan data view screen 710. More specifically, the user may examine the three-dimensional scan data 730 included in the remote scan data view screen 710 in detail by controlling the three-dimensional scan data 730 by using a scanner).
Regarding claims 10, 17, Lee et al discloses in claim 1 further, Lee et al discloses, wherein when the handheld intraoral scanning device is in a service mode, the processing unit is configured to receive data via the wireless interface, wherein the processing unit is configured to authenticate the received data and store intraoral scanning device data in a part of the memory based on the received data if authentication of the data succeeds (¶ 0101, 0147-0148, 0156, 0164, 0235, The memory 512 may store at least one instruction. Also, the memory 512 may store at least one instruction to be executed by the processor 511. Also, the memory 512 may store at least one program to be executed by the processor 511 and the user may change the operating mode of the scanner 510 from a standby mode to a scan mode or from the scan mode to the standby mode by selecting a scan button included in the user input unit 516. Also, the user may select a scan mode type of the scanner 510 by using a scan button. The scanner 510 may transmit a control signal including identification information about an operating mode of the scanner 510 and a current scan mode to the data processing device 520 according to a user input to a scan button; The user may check whether the scan has been successfully performed using the remote scan data view screen 710. More specifically, the user may examine the three-dimensional scan data 730 included in the remote scan data view screen 710 in detail by controlling the three-dimensional scan data 730 by using a scanner).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al discloses in claim 1 further, Lee et al discloses, wherein the data comprises a session identifier, and wherein to authenticate the data comprises to compare the received session identifier with the session identifier stored in the handheld intraoral scanning device (¶ 0101, 0147-0148, 0156, 0164, 0235, The memory 512 may store at least one instruction. Also, the memory 512 may store at least one instruction to be executed by the processor 511. Also, the memory 512 may store at least one program to be executed by the processor 511 and the user may change the operating mode of the scanner 510 from a standby mode to a scan mode or from the scan mode to the standby mode by selecting a scan button included in the user input unit 516. Also, the user may select a scan mode type of the scanner 510 by using a scan button. The scanner 510 may transmit a control signal including identification information about an operating mode of the scanner 510 and a current scan mode to the data processing device 520 according to a user input to a scan button; The user may check whether the scan has been successfully performed using the remote scan data view screen 710. More specifically, the user may examine the three-dimensional scan data 730 included in the remote scan data view screen 710 in detail by controlling the three-dimensional scan data 730 by using a scanner).
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al discloses in claim 1 further, Lee et al discloses, wherein the data is received in a session and the processing unit is configured to terminate the session if authentication of the received data fails (¶ 0239-0240, the data processing device may output a remote scan data view screen when a scan operation is terminated while operating in a remote control mode. The remote scan data view screen may include three-dimensional scan data in a state in which scanning is finished).
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al discloses in claim 1 further, Lee et al discloses, a method for configuration of a handheld intraoral scanning device comprising a processing unit configured to process intraoral scan data of a patient and provide 3D image data, a memory, and a wireless interface configured to transmit the 3D image data (see claim 1 and abstract, fig. 1-16), the method comprising:
receiving a mode request via the wireless interface when no 3D image data is being transmitted, wherein the mode request is one or more of a service mode request for updating firmware data, a customization mode request for customizing a user interface of the handheld intraoral scanning device, an upgrade mode request for upgrading the handheld intraoral scanning device, and a debug mode request, and wherein the service mode is characterized in that a firmware part of the memory is writable; authenticating the mode request to confirm that the mode request is valid for the handheld intraoral scanning device; and placing the handheld intraoral scanning device into the requested mode if authentication of the mode request succeeds (¶ 0076-0077, 0101, 0106, 0109, the scanner 300 may operate in a standby mode. The standby mode may refer to a state in which power of the scanner 300 itself is turned on, but some components included in the scanner 300, for example, an optical unit, are deactivated. In the standby mode, the optical unit may be in a standby state, and components other than the optical unit may be in an active state. In the standby mode, a communication module may perform a network function and thus may transmit/receive a control signal to/from an external device, for example, a data processing device, or transmit information about the operating state of the scanner 300 to the data processing device. The standby mode may also be referred to as an idle mode and the scanner 300 may start a scan operation when receiving a user input to the scan button 310 while operating in a standby mode. For example, when a user clicks the scan button 310 once while the scanner 300 is in a standby mode, the scanner 300 may recognize the user input to the scan button 310 as a command to perform a scan operation, and start the scan operation. The scanner 300 may allow a light source included in a projector to emit light and a camera included in an optical module to obtain a two-dimensional image of an object. The scanner 300 may transmit the obtained two-dimensional image to the data processing device and ¶ 0101, 0147-0148, 0164, 0235, the user may change the operating mode of the scanner 510 from a standby mode to a scan mode or from the scan mode to the standby mode by selecting a scan button included in the user input unit 516. Also, the user may select a scan mode type of the scanner 510 by using a scan button. The scanner 510 may transmit a control signal including identification information about an operating mode of the scanner 510 and a current scan mode to the data processing device 520 according to a user input to a scan button; The user may check whether the scan has been successfully performed using the remote scan data view screen 710. More specifically, the user may examine the three-dimensional scan data 730 included in the remote scan data view screen 710 in detail by controlling the three-dimensional scan data 730 by using a scanner).
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643