DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This is a response to the applicant’s filing filed on 12/16/2024. In virtue of this filing, claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-14, 16-20 and 25-27 are currently presented in the instant application. Claims 8, 11, 15 and 21-24 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2024 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 12/16/2024 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
The specification submitted on 12/16/2024 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No.: 19/102,971 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 in the current application have the same scope of claimed inventions with obvious wording variations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claims recite an embodiment of the applicants' invention directed towards " A computer readable storage medium, storing .....” as recites in claim 27. It is noted, however, the specification (page 31, PAR [0201]) provides open-ended examples of storage medium and is silent with respect to “A non- transitory storage medium" Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, "Storage medium" considered as a whole would be directed towards non-statutory mediums such as signals/carrier waves. The specification fails to define A storage medium excludes a signals/carrier waves, such as transitory signal as per the USPTO notice signed by David Kapposon 1/26/2010: "The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceedings before the USPTO. See In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319(Fed. Cir. 1989) (during patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a storage medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C.j101, Aug. 24,2009; p. 2."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, 25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gulati et al. (US Patent No.: 12,245,129, hereinafter, “Gulati”).
Regarding claims 1 and 25, Gulati teaches a terminal and method, comprising: a processor; a transceiver connected with the processor; wherein the processor is configured to load and execute executable instructions to perform operations comprising:
monitoring a performance index of a model (see figures 3, 10A-10B, and 11, UE 350, UE 1102, col.19, ln.25-34, col.21, ln.1-20).
Regarding claim 2, Gulati further teaches a prediction accuracy (the applicant used the alternative language OR. Examiner select A to exam, col.20, ln.54-63).
Regarding claim 3, Gulati further teaches based on N1 prediction results output by the model, determining the performance index, wherein N1 is a positive integer (see col.20, ln.54-63, index 1, index 2).
Regarding claim 12, Gulati further teaches performing beam prediction based on the model, col.21, ln.1-20).
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 is rejected the same reason of claim 25 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 16-17, 19-20 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US Patent No.: 12,245,129, hereinafter, “Gulati”).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Gulati further teaches a model monitoring method, performed by an access network device and comprising:
receiving a performance indication reported by a terminal, wherein the performance indication represents that the terminal monitors a performance index of a model is greater than a threshold of the performance index (see figures 3, 10A-10B, and 11, UE 1102, col.19, ln.25-34, col.21, ln.1-20).
It should be noticed that Gulati silent wherein the performance indication represents that the terminal monitors a performance index of a model is lower than a threshold of the performance index. However, it is obvious that if the transmitted inference result from the UE is below the prespecified threshold, the network node will not generate a report.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of the UE is below the prespecified threshold, the network node will not generate a report in order to save time to process.
Regarding claim 17, Gulati further teaches a prediction accuracy (the applicant used the alternative language OR. Examiner select A to exam, col.20, ln.54-63).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Gulati further teaches receiving the performance indication reported by the terminal comprises: receiving the performance indication reported by the terminal over a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) or Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (see col.10, ln.30-45).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Gulati further teaches a performance index value of the model (see col.20, ln.45-54, index 1, index 2).
Regarding claim 26, Gulati further teaches electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a transceiver connected with the processor; wherein the execute executable instructions when executed by the processor cause the electronic device to act as the access network device and to perform the model monitoring method (see figures 3, 10A-10B, and 11, UE 350, UE 1102, col.19, ln.25-34, col.21, ln.1-20).
Claim(s) 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US Patent No.: 12,245,129, hereinafter, “Gulati”) in view of Choi et al. (US Patent No.: 12,666,369, hereinafter, “Choi”).
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Gulati disclosed invention, but fails to teach receiving a traditional mode indication from the access network device, wherein the traditional mode indication indicates the terminal to use a traditional mode; based on the traditional mode indication, switching to the traditional mode. However, Choi teaches receiving a traditional mode indication from the access network device, wherein the traditional mode indication indicates the terminal to use a traditional mode; based on the traditional mode indication, switching to the traditional mode (see abstract, mobile switching from first mode to second mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Choi into view of Gulati in order to provide faster transient response and improve system stability.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US Patent No.: 12,245,129, hereinafter, “Gulati”) in view of Li et al. (US Pub. No.: 2025/0167854, hereinafter, “Li”).
Regarding claims 13, Gulati disclosed invention, but fails to teach performing the beam prediction based on the model comprises: inputting L1-RSRPs and/or L1-SINRs of reference signals in a first set at a first time into the model to obtain absolute values wherein the first time and the second time are in a same period or the first time is a historical time. However, Li teaches performing the beam prediction based on the model comprises: inputting L1-RSRPs and/or L1-SINRs of reference signals in a first set at a first time into the model to obtain absolute values; wherein the first time and the second time are in a same period or the first time is a historical time (see figure 7, [0112, 0144]). It appear to examiner that the first time and the second time are in a same period or the first time is a historical time would depend more upon the choice of the manufacturer and the choice of engineering, than on any inventive concept).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Li into view of Gulati in order to provide faster transient response and improve system stability.
Regarding claims 14, Li further teaches performing the beam prediction based on the model comprises: inputting L1-RSRPs and/or L1-SINRs of reference signals in a third set at a first time into the model to obtain absolute values (see figure 7, [0112, 0144]). It appear to examiner that the first time and the second time are in a same period or the first time is a historical time would depend more upon the choice of the manufacturer and the choice of engineering, than on any inventive concept).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of determining the threshold of the performance index of the model; wherein determining the threshold of the performance index of the model comprises: based on indication information of the access network device, determining the threshold of the performance index of the model: or, based on a default value, determining the threshold of the performance index of the model.
Conclusion
/TUAN PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649