Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-22, 26, 28, 32, 34-36, and 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SAHIN et al. (US 20250055625 A1, hereinafter, "SAHIN").
Regarding claim 34, SAHIN teaches a first device adapted to perform wireless communication ((paragraph 0058; figure 1, first terminal device: 102) & (paragraph 0151; figure 17, device: 1700)), the first device comprising:
at least one transceiver (paragraph 0152; figure 17, communication module: 1740);
at least one processor (paragraph 0152; figure 17, processor: 1710);
and at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions (paragraph 0154-0157; figure 17, memory: 1720) that, based on being executed, cause the first device to perform operations comprising:
obtaining configuration information related to a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS) resource;
SAHIN writes, “Continuing with reference to FIG. 2, the first terminal device 102 receives (215) the configuration information 201 associated with SL positioning session from the network device 101” (paragraph 0061). SAHIN indicates the configuration information related to the SL-PRS is obtained from the network device.
transmitting, to a second device, control channel including control information for scheduling a SL PRS;
SAHIN writes, “Then, The first terminal device 102 transmits (230) to the second terminal device 103, control information 205 associated with a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS), during a SL positioning session for positioning of the second terminal device, using a resource for the control information 205 in a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) symbol or in at least one symbol dedicated for the control information” (paragraph 0061). SAHIN indicates the first terminal device transmits to the second terminal device control information associated with SL-PRS.
and transmitting, to the second device, the SL PRS based on the SL PRS resource,
SAHIN writes, “Then, The first terminal device 102 transmits (230) to the second terminal device 103, control information 205 associated with a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS), during a SL positioning session for positioning of the second terminal device, using a resource for the control information 205 in a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) symbol or in at least one symbol dedicated for the control information” (paragraph 0061). SAHIN indicates the first terminal device transmits to the second terminal device control information associated with SL-PRS, during a SL positioning session for positioning of the second terminal device, using a resource for the control information.
wherein a content of a symbol preceding the SL PRS resource is mapped based on a resource element of a last symbol in the SL PRS resource.
SAHIN writes, “FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a slot structure for SL PRS in accordance with some example embodiments of the present disclosure. In current implementation, there are dedicated symbols for SL PRS transmission in a SL slot, as in FIG. 4. The associated control information for SL PRS, and “meta-data” related to positioning (e.g., device known position, measurement results, etc.) are transmitted using PSCCH/PSSCH in a preceding slot. FIG. 5A illustrates another example of a slot structure for SL PRS in accordance with some example embodiments of the present disclosure. In this implementation, the resource allocation for SL PRS comprises a set of dedicated symbols for SL PRS transmission in a SL slot. Last symbols in the slot are assigned for SL PRS. The symbol before that carrying PRS is used as an AGC symbol” (paragraphs 0075-0076). SAHIN indicates there are dedicated symbols for SL PRS transmission in a SL slot. The resource allocation for SL PRS comprises a set of dedicated symbols for SL PRS transmission in a SL slot. Last symbols in the slot are assigned for SL PRS.
Claims 21 and 38 are method and processing claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 34 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 34. Claims 21 and 38 are rejected under the same rational as claim 34.
Regarding claim 26, SAHIN teaches the method of claim 21,
Additionally, SAHIN teaches wherein the configuration information related to the SL PRS resource includes information related to a number of symbols included in the SL PRS resource.
SAHIN writes, “Additionally or alternatively, the configuration information 201 may comprise whether the resource for the control information 205 and the resource for the SL PRS are in different resource pools. The network device 101 can configure a specific SL resource pool (or pools) for the transmission of SL PRS, e.g., a pool that contains new mini-slots with dedicated symbols for SL PRS transmission” (paragraph 0064). SAHIN indicates the network device can configure a specific SL resource pool (or pools) for the transmission of SL PRS, e.g., a pool that contains new mini-slots with dedicated symbols for SL PRS transmission.
Regarding claim 32, SAHIN teaches the method of claim 21,
Additionally, SAHIN teaches wherein the symbol preceding the SL PRS resource is an automatic gain control (AGC) symbol related to the SL PRS.
SAHIN writes, “FIG. 5A illustrates another example of a slot structure for SL PRS in accordance with some example embodiments of the present disclosure. In this implementation, the resource allocation for SL PRS comprises a set of dedicated symbols for SL PRS transmission in a SL slot. Last symbols in the slot are assigned for SL PRS. The symbol before that carrying PRS is used as an AGC symbol” (paragraph 0076). SAHIN indicates the symbol before that carrying PRS is used as an AGC symbol.
Regarding claim 35, SAHIN teaches the first device of claim 34,
Additionally, SAHIN teaches wherein a resource element of the symbol preceding the SL PRS resource is identical to the resource element of the last symbol in the SL PRS.
SAHIN writes, “...the following parameters of the repeated or reserved SL PRS resources are the same, and the parameter includes at least one of comb, comb offset, cyclic shift, sequence ID, pattern, bandwidth, frequency domain starting position, time domain position in slot, period, priority, destination ID, and source ID” (paragraph 0103). SAHIN indicates parameters of the repeated or reserved SL PRS resources are the same, and the parameter includes at least one of comb, comb offset, cyclic shift, sequence ID, pattern, bandwidth, frequency domain starting position, time domain position in slot, period, priority, destination ID, and source ID.
Regarding claim 36, SAHIN teaches the first device of claim 34,
Additionally, SAHIN teaches wherein the SL PRS resource is determined based on a resource used for the transmission of the control channel.
SAHIN writes, “In some embodiments, the first terminal device 102 is further caused to: receive, from a network device in the radio access network, configuration information associated with SL positioning sessions for positioning of at least one terminal device in the radio access network; and determine the resource for the control information associated with the SL PRS and the resource for the SL PRS based on the configuration information (paragraph 0118). SAHIN indicates the first terminal device determines the resource for the control information associated with the SL PRS and the resource for the SL PRS based on the configuration information.
Claim 22 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 35 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 35. Claim 22 is rejected under the same rational as claim 35.
Claim 28 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 36 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 36. Claim 28 is rejected under the same rational as claim 36.
Claim 39 is a device claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 35 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 35. Claim 39 is rejected under the same rational as claim 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-25, 27, 29-31, 33, 37, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAHIN in view of SI et al. (US 20250048322 A1, hereinafter, "SI").
Regarding claim 23, SAHIN teaches the method of claim 21,
SAHIN fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the configuration information related to the SL PRS resource includes information related to a comb size of the SL PRS resource.”
However, in analogous art, SI teaches wherein the configuration information related to the SL PRS resource includes information related to a comb size of the SL PRS resource.
SI writes, “Optionally, the comb structure may be specified by the protocol, configured by the network-side device, or pre-configured by the network-side device” (paragraph 0094). SI continues, “...in some embodiments, if the protocol specifies, the network-side device configures, or the network-side device pre-configures a comb size of N, then the UE selects a comb offset being one of 0 to N-1 and indicates it through the target SCI (paragraph 0095). SI indicates the comb structure may be specified by the protocol and configured by the network-side device. SI further states if the protocol specifies, the network-side device configures, or the network-side device pre-configures a comb size of N, then the UE selects a comb offset being one of 0 to N-1 and indicates it through the target SCI.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SAHIN to include aspects described by SI that “pertains to the field of communication technologies, and specifically, relates to a sidelink positioning processing method and apparatus, a terminal, and a readable storage medium.” SI provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to this embodiment of this application, the SL PRS resource information is indicated by the SCI dedicated to the SL PRS or the SCI shared with data, so that the terminal in the sidelink communication system can directly transmit the SL PRS according to the indicated SL PRS resource information to implement the sidelink positioning function, thereby improving the reliability of terminal positioning in the sidelink communication system” (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 24, SAHIN teaches the method of claim 21,
SAHIN fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the configuration information related to the SL PRS resource includes information related to a comb offset of the SL PRS resource.”
However, in analogous art, SI teaches wherein the configuration information related to the SL PRS resource includes information related to a comb offset of the SL PRS resource.
SI writes, “Optionally, the comb structure may be specified by the protocol, configured by the network-side device, or pre-configured by the network-side device” (paragraph 0094). SI continues, “...in some embodiments, if the protocol specifies, the network-side device configures, or the network-side device pre-configures a comb size of N, then the UE selects a comb offset being one of 0 to N-1 and indicates it through the target SCI (paragraph 0095). SI indicates the comb structure may be specified by the protocol and configured by the network-side device. SI further states if the protocol specifies, the network-side device configures, or the network-side device pre-configures a comb size of N, then the UE selects a comb offset being one of 0 to N-1 and indicates it through the target SCI.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SAHIN to include aspects described by SI that “pertains to the field of communication technologies, and specifically, relates to a sidelink positioning processing method and apparatus, a terminal, and a readable storage medium.” SI provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to this embodiment of this application, the SL PRS resource information is indicated by the SCI dedicated to the SL PRS or the SCI shared with data, so that the terminal in the sidelink communication system can directly transmit the SL PRS according to the indicated SL PRS resource information to implement the sidelink positioning function, thereby improving the reliability of terminal positioning in the sidelink communication system” (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 25, SAHIN teaches the method of claim 21,
SAHIN fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the configuration information related to the SL PRS resource includes information related to a starting symbol of the SL PRS resource.”
However, in analogous art, SI teaches wherein the configuration information related to the SL PRS resource includes information related to a starting symbol of the SL PRS resource.
SI writes, “...the protocol specifies, the network-side device configures, or the network-side device pre-configures a relationship between the starting symbol of the SL PRS and the symbol in which the target SCI is located. For example, the starting symbol of the SL PRS is located at the 1st symbol after the PSCCH corresponding to the SCI, or located at a symbol located at the PSCCH corresponding to the SCI (such as the 1st symbol of the SCI), or has a symbol offset specified by the protocol, configured by the network-side device, or pre-configured by the network-side device and relative to the PSCCH corresponding to the target SCI” (paragraph 0091). SI indicates the protocol specifies, the network-side device configures, or the network-side device pre-configures a relationship between the starting symbol of the SL PRS and the symbol in which the target SCI is located.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SAHIN to include aspects described by SI that “pertains to the field of communication technologies, and specifically, relates to a sidelink positioning processing method and apparatus, a terminal, and a readable storage medium.” SI provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to this embodiment of this application, the SL PRS resource information is indicated by the SCI dedicated to the SL PRS or the SCI shared with data, so that the terminal in the sidelink communication system can directly transmit the SL PRS according to the indicated SL PRS resource information to implement the sidelink positioning function, thereby improving the reliability of terminal positioning in the sidelink communication system” (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 27, SAHIN teaches the method of claim 21,
SAHIN fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the configuration information related to the SL PRS resource includes information related to an identifier of the SL PRS resource.”
However, in analogous art, SI teaches wherein the configuration information related to the SL PRS resource includes information related to an identifier of the SL PRS resource.
SI writes, “The foregoing SL PRS resource identifier (ID) may be understood as an SL PRS resource index, and in some embodiments, the SL PRS resource identifier may be replaced by an SL PRS configuration identifier. The mapping relationship between the SL PRS resource identifier and the SL PRS resource may be obtained in at least one of the following manners: being specified by the protocol, being configured (or pre-configured) by the network-side device, and being selected by the terminal” (paragraph 0083). SI indicates the SL PRS resource identifier (ID) may be understood as an SL PRS resource index, and in some embodiments, the SL PRS resource identifier may be replaced by an SL PRS configuration identifier. SI states the mapping relationship between the SL PRS resource identifier and the SL PRS resource may be obtained in at least one of the following manners: being specified by the protocol, being configured (or pre-configured) by the network-side device, and being selected by the terminal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SAHIN to include aspects described by SI that “pertains to the field of communication technologies, and specifically, relates to a sidelink positioning processing method and apparatus, a terminal, and a readable storage medium.” SI provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to this embodiment of this application, the SL PRS resource information is indicated by the SCI dedicated to the SL PRS or the SCI shared with data, so that the terminal in the sidelink communication system can directly transmit the SL PRS according to the indicated SL PRS resource information to implement the sidelink positioning function, thereby improving the reliability of terminal positioning in the sidelink communication system” (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 31, SAHIN teaches the method of claim 21,
SAHIN fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the SL PRS is transmitted based on at least one of a comb size of the SL PRS resource or a comb offset of the SL PRS resource.”
However, in analogous art, SI teaches wherein the SL PRS is transmitted based on at least one of a comb size of the SL PRS resource or a comb offset of the SL PRS resource.
SI writes, “The SL PRS resource indication information may include at least one of a slot position, symbol position, bandwidth, frequency domain starting position, comb, comb offset, cyclic shift, sequence ID, pattern, and period used only for SL PRS transmission” (paragraph 0237). SI indicates the SL PRS resource indication information may include comb and comb offset.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SAHIN to include aspects described by SI that “pertains to the field of communication technologies, and specifically, relates to a sidelink positioning processing method and apparatus, a terminal, and a readable storage medium.” SI provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to this embodiment of this application, the SL PRS resource information is indicated by the SCI dedicated to the SL PRS or the SCI shared with data, so that the terminal in the sidelink communication system can directly transmit the SL PRS according to the indicated SL PRS resource information to implement the sidelink positioning function, thereby improving the reliability of terminal positioning in the sidelink communication system” (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 33, SAHIN teaches the method of claim 21,
SAHIN fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein each resource element of at least one symbol included in the SL PRS resource is cyclically repeated based on at least one of a comb size of the SL PRS resource or a comb offset of the SL PRS resource.”
However, in analogous art, SI teaches wherein each resource element of at least one symbol included in the SL PRS resource is cyclically repeated based on at least one of a comb size of the SL PRS resource or a comb offset of the SL PRS resource.
SI writes, “...the comb offset may be understood as or replaced by a resource element offset (RE offset)” (paragraph 0095). SI continues, “...the time-frequency resource pattern may be understood as or replaced by a relative resource element offset (relative RE offset). The protocol specifies, the network-side device configures, or the network-side device pre-configures a plurality of SL PRS patterns, and the terminal selects one and indicates it through the target SCI. The plurality of SL PRS patterns may be a plurality of SL PRS patterns with a fixed number of symbols and a comb size” (paragraph 0098). SI adds, “...the following parameters of the repeated or reserved SL PRS resources are the same, and the parameter includes at least one of comb, comb offset, cyclic shift, sequence ID, pattern, bandwidth, frequency domain starting position, time domain position in slot, period, priority, destination ID, and source ID” (paragraph 0103). SI states the comb offset may be understood as or replaced by a resource element offset (RE offset). SI notes the time-frequency resource pattern may be understood as or replaced by a relative resource element offset (relative RE offset). The plurality of SL PRS patterns may be a plurality of SL PRS patterns with a fixed number of symbols and a comb size. SI indicates the following parameters of the repeated or reserved SL PRS resources are the same, the SL PRS resource indication information may include comb and comb offset.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SAHIN to include aspects described by SI that “pertains to the field of communication technologies, and specifically, relates to a sidelink positioning processing method and apparatus, a terminal, and a readable storage medium.” SI provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to this embodiment of this application, the SL PRS resource information is indicated by the SCI dedicated to the SL PRS or the SCI shared with data, so that the terminal in the sidelink communication system can directly transmit the SL PRS according to the indicated SL PRS resource information to implement the sidelink positioning function, thereby improving the reliability of terminal positioning in the sidelink communication system” (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 37, SAHIN teaches the first device of claim 34,
SAHIN fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein a first index related to a resource used for the transmission of the control channel is identical to a second index related to the SL PRS resource.”
However, in analogous art, SI teaches wherein a first index related to a resource used for the transmission of the control channel is identical to a second index related to the SL PRS resource.
SI writes, “...time-frequency positions of SL PRS resources in different periods are the same. The SL PRS resource includes an SL PRS of the 1st slot in each period and/or a repeated SL PRS. In some embodiments, the protocol specifies, the network-side device configures, or the network-side device pre-configures a plurality of different periods, and the terminal selects one and indicates it through the target SCI” (paragraph 0104). SI indicates the time-frequency positions of SL PRS resources in different periods are the same. The SL PRS resource includes an SL PRS of the 1st slot in each period and/or a repeated SL PRS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SAHIN to include aspects described by SI that “pertains to the field of communication technologies, and specifically, relates to a sidelink positioning processing method and apparatus, a terminal, and a readable storage medium.” SI provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to this embodiment of this application, the SL PRS resource information is indicated by the SCI dedicated to the SL PRS or the SCI shared with data, so that the terminal in the sidelink communication system can directly transmit the SL PRS according to the indicated SL PRS resource information to implement the sidelink positioning function, thereby improving the reliability of terminal positioning in the sidelink communication system” (paragraph 0063).
Claims 29 and 30 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 37 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 37. Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under the same rational as claim 37.
Claim 40 is a device claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 37 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 37. Claim 40 is rejected under the same rational as claim 37.
Claims 1-20 have been canceled by the applicant, respectfully.
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 10/5/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475