Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, claim 1, “wherein the projection (H) of the heel (5) on said longitudinal axis (X) has a length from 7 to 14% with respect to the total height (H1) of the bottle (1) along the longitudinal axis”. The current drawing do not show a total height compared to projection (H) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, recites the limitation "the lower standing surface of the bottle" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1, defines “the projection of the heel”. This is not understood. The specification does not show where the projection starts of stops. The projection of the heel is shown as (H) in (fig. 2) but there are no boundaries or anchor points where the projection of the heel starts or stops. Currently it is understood to be somewhere outside the standing ring extending somewhere along the sidewall. There is currently no way to measure or compare to other prior art.
Claim 1, recites the limitation "the total height" in the second to last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3, recites the broad recitation 100-1000mm, and the claim also recites 300-600mm which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Same issue with claims 10,11,
Claim 10, 11, the term “trans conformation” is not understood. It appears to be a directed toward a certain material mixture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (US Pub No 2021/0197996).
With respect to claim 1, Nakayama shows a reusable bottle (1) made of plastic (-synthetic resin material- is plastic), in particular for carbonated soft drinks (reference capable of meeting this functional claim language), defining a longitudinal axis (O) (fig. 1), comprising, an upper portion (12) defining an opening (open top, not labeled) extending about said longitudinal axis (o); a side wall (13); a lower portion (14), defining a closed bottom (19); wherein the lower portion (14) comprises: a heel (17), in particular an annular heel; a standing ring (18), extending from the heel (17) and defining the lower standing surface of the bottle (1); a central dome (24), in particular concave outwards; wherein said heel (17) is concave towards the outside of the bottle (1);
Nakayama discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the projection of the heel on said longitudinal axis has a length from 7 to 14% with respect to the total height of the bottle along the longitudinal axis. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the height of the bottle compared to the height of the projection of the heel, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). The size and height change with the desired volume and width.
Claims 2, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama.
Nakayama discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However Nakayama does not disclose the projection (H) of the heel (5) on said longitudinal axis (X) has a length from 8 to 11% with respect to the total height (H1) of the bottle (1) along the longitudinal axis (X)].
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the height of the bottle compared to the height of the projection of the heel, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). The size and height change with the desired volume and width.
Claim 3, Nakayama discloses the claimed invention except for the heel (17) has a radius of curvature (R) from 100 to 1000 mm, preferably from 300 to 600 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to this radius of curvature, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 4,5, Nakayama discloses the claimed invention except for claim 4,wherein the projection (H) of the heel (5) on said longitudinal axis (X) has a length from 20 to 45 mm, claim 5,wherein the projection (H) of the heel (5) on said longitudinal axis (X) has a length from 20 to 38 mm, Claim 5,wherein the a tangent line (T) an inner surface of the heel (5) forms an acute angle from 300 to 400, or from 350 to with said longitudinal axis (X). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to choose, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Applicant has not provided a critical reason for these claimed sizes in the specification. These sizes would be based on desired volume and storage space size.
With respect to claim ,6 Nakayama discloses the claimed invention except for a tangent line to an inner surface of the heel forms an acute angle from 30-40 or from 35-39, with said longitudinal axis. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust the angle of Nakayama, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). A lower angle make for a stronger base with more storage volume.
With respect to claim 7, Nakayama further shows wherein an inflection point (F) is present between the heel (17) and said standing ring (18).
With respect to claim 8, Nakayama further shows wherein the standing ring (18) is convex towards the outside of the bottle (1).
Claims 9,10,11, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama.
Nakayama discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However Nakayama does not disclose claim 9,made of PET, claim 10, wherein the percentage of PET in the Trans conformation in the standing ring (6) is at least 29%, preferably from 29% to 32%, preferably from 29.7% to 31.2%, claim 11, wherein the percentage of PET in the Trans conformation of the inner surface of the standing ring (6) is at least 45%, preferably from 45 to 49%, preferably from 46.8 to 48.5%.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose to use PET or the other mixture of material that is not understood, (see 112 rejection above) in order to have a strong durable container that will last a certain period of use.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 12, Nakayama further shows wherein said lower portion (14) comprises an annular portion (19), convex towards the outside of the bottle (1), extending from the heel (17) upwards; in particular, arranged between the heel (17) and said side wall (13).
With respect to claim 13, Nakayama further shows A mold component (paragraph 21 discloses molding) (molding is evidence that a mold is used),
With respect to claim 14, Nakayama shows a The mold component (the disclosed molding operation of paragraph 21) having a molding surface (mating surface of bottom ) comprising: a first surface portion (mating with the 1st surface portion), which is annular, convex and adapted to mold said heel (17); a second surface portion (next mating surface of the mold), which is annular, concave and adapted to mold said standing ring (18); a third surface portion (of the disclosed mold) adapted to mold said central dome (24); in particular, wherein said first annular surface portion (matching portion of disclosed molding operation) and said second annular surface portion are adjacent to each other. (this is interpreted as a product by process limitation)
Conclusion
/SHAWN M BRADEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736