DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumar et al (US Pub 2021/0229133 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kumar discloses an operation method of a plant comprising the following steps: acquiring the images of said objects by means of an image acquisition and processing device (elements 124, 123, and 107); detecting predetermined visual features of said objects in said acquired images by means of a logic control unit (paragraph 0065); associating a category of precious metals comprised in said objects with said predetermined visual features (paragraph 0055); classifying said objects based on said association and sending signals corresponding to said classification (paragraph 0069); sorting said objects by means of an actuator device based on said corresponding signals (paragraph 0051 and elements 126-129).
Regarding claim 9, Kumar discloses said detection step comprises the following sub-steps: conditioning the image acquired in said acquisition step; extracting the predetermined visual features by means of trained convolutional filters; classifying the said objects by means of a neural network (paragraph 0064-0065 where visual information is acquired by element 120 and used in a machine learning system in order to identify and classify each of the material pieces).
Regarding claim 10, Kumar discloses it comprises the step of training said neural network, comprising the following sub-steps: determining the image dataset for training the neural network (paragraph 0066); selecting the images based on their quality (paragraph 0068 where materials are of a control set known to be specific materials); associating each image selected in said selection step with a certain category based on the precious metals and copper comprised in the object of the image (paragraph 0068 the machine learning algorithm learns how to detect, recognize, and classify specific material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al (US Pub 2021/0229133 A1) in view of Nygaard et al (US Pub 2020/0363342 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kumar discloses a plant for classification and selection of objects comprising precious metals and copper (paragraph 0031 and 0110), comprising a conveyor belt (element 103), capable of sliding according to a sliding direction from said first end to said second end in order to convey said objects, wherein said plant comprises an image acquisition (element 124) and processing device (elements 107 and 123), capable of acquiring the images of said objects, detecting predetermined visual features of said objects in said acquired images, associating a category of precious metals comprised in said objects with said visual features, classifying said objects based on said association, and sending signals corresponding to said classification (paragraph 0055 where a material piece is classified as falling into a predetermined grouping of classifications and sending a signal to sort these materials); and wherein said plant comprises at least one actuator device (elements 126-129) arranged downstream of said image acquisition and processing device, capable of receiving said corresponding signals from said image acquisition and processing device and of sorting said objects based on said corresponding signals (paragraph 0051 and element 108), wherein said image acquisition and processing device comprises a logic control unit capable of supporting a neural network capable of detecting predetermined visual features of said objects in said acquired images, associating a category of precious metals comprised in said objects with said predetermined visual features, and classifying said objects based on said association (paragraph 0065 and 0069), but Kumar does not explicitly disclose a supporting frame for supporting said plant on the ground, which extends from a first end to a second end and the supporting frame holding elements of the plant raised with respect to the conveyor belt. Nygaard teaches a supporting frame for supporting said plant on the ground, which extends from a first end to a second end (see Figs. 2-4) and the supporting frame holding elements of the plant raised with respect to the conveyor belt (see Figs. 2 and 4; element 34) for the purpose of mounting multiple components of the plant spaced apart above the conveying system (paragraph 0099). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kumar, as taught by Nygaard, for the purpose of mounting multiple components of the plant spaced apart above the conveying system.
Regarding claim 3, Kumar discloses said image acquisition and processing device comprises at least one lighting element capable of lighting up said objects (element 121); at least one detection element capable of acquiring images of said objects (element 124); a logic control unit, operatively connected to said at least one lighting element and to said at least one detection element (paragraph 0069).
Regarding claim 4, Kumar does not disclose the claim limitations. Nygaard teaches said at least one lighting element is a LED - Light Emitting Diode (element 350), and in that said detection element is a video camera (element 32) or a CMOS optical sensor for the purpose of detecting defects within the materials and sorting materials (paragraph 0109). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kumar, as taught by Nygaard, for the purpose of detecting defects within the materials.
Regarding claim 5, Kumar discloses said image acquisition and processing device comprises a graphic interface capable of showing the operator the result of the classification of said objects and of modifying the classification parameters (paragraphs 0124-0125).
Regarding claim 6, Kumar does not disclose the claim limitations. Nygaard teaches a plurality of slides (elements 44) arranged in said second end of said conveyor belt, and in that said actuator device comprises at least one piston capable of moving from a rest position (element 46), retracted with respect to said conveyor belt, to an extracted working position, in which it is capable of contacting said objects arranged on said conveyor belt and of conveying them toward a slide of said plurality of slides based on said corresponding signals (paragraph 0229) for the purpose of sorting good parts from defective parts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kumar, as taught by Nygaard, for the purpose of sorting good parts from defective parts.
Regarding claim 7, Kumar does not disclose the claim limitations. Nygaard teaches a plurality of slides (elements 44) arranged in said second end of said conveyor belt, and in that said actuator device comprises a supporting element coupled to said supporting frame (element 21 connected to element 34), raised with respect to said conveyor belt (see Fig. 4 where element 21 is above the conveyor belt), and a gripping and conveying means coupled to said supporting element (element 17), capable of picking up said objects arranged on said conveyor belt and of conveying them toward a slide of said plurality of slides based on said corresponding signals (paragraph 0090 where material items are picked up and placed closer to elements 44 via conveying section 36) for the purpose of sorting good parts from defective parts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kumar, as taught by Nygaard, for the purpose of sorting good parts from defective parts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Objection
Regarding the claim objection, the objection has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
Rejection under USC 103
Regarding Applicant’s argument,” The Office Action refers to paragraphs [0065] and [0069] of Kumar. This disclosure does not teach or suggest the type of neural network (CNN) nor the classification criterion (precious metal categories). Moroever, a combination of the teachings of Kumar and Nygaard would not render the features of claim 1 obvious. For example, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kumar as taught by Nygaard for the purpose of mounting multiple components of a plant spaced apart above a conveying system. A person skilled in the art operating in the field of metal scrap recycling, as disclosed in Kumar, would have no reasonable technical motivation to look toward an inspection system for aerospace fasteners, as disclosed in Nygaard, to improve his own system. The two systems operate in entirely distinct technical, industrial, and functional domains, involving objects of a radically different nature and different scopes. Kumar aims at the mass sorting of heterogeneous scrap, whereas Nygaard aims at the precision re-certification of standardized components,” the Examiner disagrees. The Examiner asserts that paragraph 0065 discloses a computer system discloses the logic control unit where paragraph 0065 discloses that the computer system comprises a machine learning system that implements a type of neural network. Paragraph 0069 then implements classification of the items based on the machine learning system which includes the neural network disclosed in paragraph 0065, and, therefore, discloses the claim limitations related to the logic control unit supporting a neural network.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653