DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-final office action on the merits. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (the Office) has received claims 1-16 in application number 18/875,487. Claims 1-16 are pending and have been examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by International Patent WO 2022/254251 (Agarwal).
Regarding Claims 1, 15 and 16:
Agarwal teaches a smart container. Agarwal teaches: A system (300) for storage and management of items, the system (300) comprising: a smart storage device (100) comprising: a base (102) comprising one or more first sensors (110) to measure at least one of a weight, a quantity, a temperature, and an identity of items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100); ([0047] “housing, the housing having a lockable lid… The inner receptacle portion may be configured for receiving the product items and the lockable lid may restrict access to the inner receptacle portion when the lockable lid is in a closed position… The system (110) may also include a sensor unit comprising a plurality of sensors and a controller unit. The sensor unit may be embedded in the receptacle portion and/or may be attached to a surface of the outer portion”). Examiner interprets that Agarwal’s “sensor unit may be embedded in the receptacle portion and/or may be attached to a surface of the outer portion” teaches the “base” claimed by Applicant. Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches a smart container with sensors in the base (see at least [0280] “those sensors are placed inside specially designed base 161”).
to measure at least one of a weight, a quantity, a temperature, and an identity of items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100); ([0047] “The sensors in the receptacle portion may be used to sense a plurality of parameters associated with the quality of the product items being stored and delivered, wherein the parameters may be related to, without limitation, any of freshness, temperature, color, humidity, air quality, state or form, count and weight of the product items”). Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches a smart container that tracks the quantity of items inside it (see at least [0293] “system is always aware of amount of the ingredient inside the container” and see [0303-0306]).
and a storage compartment (104) to store the items (106); ([0047] “inner receptacle portion”). Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches a smart container with a storage compartment (see at least [Fig 48]).
and a computing device (200) communicably coupled to the smart storage device (100), the computing device (200) comprising a processor (202) communicably coupled to a memory (204), the memory (204) ([0064] “processor… memory”). Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches a smart container coupled to a computer (see at least [0103]).
storing instructions, which when executed by the processor (202) causes the computing device (200) to: receive, from the one or more first sensors (110), first signals indicative of at least one of the weight, quantity, temperature, and identity of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100); determine the at least one of the weight, the quantity, the temperature, and the identity of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100), based on analysis of the first signals; ([0070] “the monitoring engine (134) may then extract from the received first set of signals, a first set of attributes pertaining to parameters associated with the quality of the product items” and see [0047] “freshness, temperature, color, humidity, air quality, state or form, count and weight of the product items”). Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches a smart container that tracks the quantity of items inside it (see at least [0293] “system is always aware of amount of the ingredient inside the container” and see [0303-0306]).
and display the determined at least one of weight, quantity, temperature, and identity of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100) on a display device (116) provided on the smart storage device (100), and communicably coupled to the computing device (200), wherein the display device (116) displays the determined at least one of weight, quantity, temperature, and identity of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100) in any one or more languages as selected by a user of the smart storage device (100), and wherein the computing device (200) transmits the determined at least one of weight, quantity, temperature, and identity of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100) to a central database (250) communicably coupled to the computing device (200). ([0058] “the apparatus may include a display screen to exhibit the contents or details of product items in the apparatus. In another aspect, the apparatus may include Internet of Things (IOT) devices may communicate with the centralised server (112) over the network (106), to enable access to a customer about details/change of product items”).
Regarding Claim 2:
Agarwal teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Agarwal also teaches: The system (300) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the smart storage device (100) further comprises: a lid (108) removably coupled to the storage compartment (104), and selectively allow access to the storage compartment (104), ([0010] “lockable lid”). Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches a smart container with a lid (see at least [Fig 48]).
the lid (108) comprising one or more second sensors (120) communicably coupled to the computing device (200), and measure at least a state of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100), and wherein the computing device (200) further: receive, from the one or more second sensors (120), second signals indicative of at least the state of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100); determine the at least the state of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100) based on analysis of the second signals; ([0011] “plurality of sensors” and [0047] “The sensors in the receptacle portion may be used to sense a plurality of parameters associated with the quality of the product items being stored and delivered, wherein the parameters may be related to, without limitation, any of freshness, temperature, color, humidity, air quality, state or form, count and weight of the product items”). Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches a smart container with a lid and base that each contains sensors that determine the quantity and quality of items in the container (see at least [Fig 48] and see [0303-0306]).
display the determined at least state of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100) on the display device (116); and transmit the determined at least state of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100) to the central database (250). ([0058] “the apparatus may include a display screen to exhibit the contents or details of product items in the apparatus. In another aspect, the apparatus may include Internet of Things (IOT) devices may communicate with the centralised server (112) over the network (106), to enable access to a customer about details/change of product items”). Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches a smart container that transfers the quantity and quality of items inside a container to a central database (see at least [0503] and [0305]).
Regarding Claim 3:
Agarwal teaches all of the elements of Claims 1-2. Agarwal also teaches: The system (300) as claimed in claim 2, wherein the lid (108) further comprises an optical device (122) communicably coupled to the computing device (200) and capture an optical image of the item (106) stored in the smart storage device (100), ([0047] “optical sensor… visual camera”). Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches a smart container with a lid containing a camera ([0305] “Camera 230 enables smart container to understand what ingredient is currently inside. It is mounted on the lid and pointed towards bottom of the container to see what it is inside”).
wherein the computing device (200) further: receive, from the optical device (122), the captured optical image of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100); ([0011] “the processor causes the system to receive from the sensor unit, a first set of signals corresponding to a plurality of parameters associated with the quality of the product items”). Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches a smart container with a lid containing a camera that communicates with a server (see at least [0305] “then camera reading is passed to microprocessor 231 external data communication interfaces 232 are passing the data to the cloud, which is performing recognition procedure and passing data back to the container for it to understand what is currently inside the container”).
and determine the state of the item (106) stored in the container (104) of the smart storage device (100) further based on analysis of the captured optical image of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100). ([0047] “The sensors in the receptacle portion may be used to sense a plurality of parameters associated with the quality of the product items being stored and delivered, wherein the parameters may be related to, without limitation, any of freshness, temperature, color, humidity, air quality, state or form, count and weight of the product items). Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches a smart container with a lid containing a camera ([0305] “It is able to monitor visual state of the ingredient, colour of ingredient inside the container indicating potential decaying of ingredient”).
Regarding Claim 5:
Agarwal teaches all of the elements of Claims 1-2. Agarwal also teaches: The system (200) as claimed in claim 2, wherein the one or more first sensors (110) comprise at least one of a weight sensor, a temperature sensor, an RFID sensor, a QR code reader, and a barcode reader, and wherein the one or more second sensors (120) comprise at least one of a smell sensor, and an optical sensor. ([0011] “plurality of sensors” and [0047] “The sensors in the receptacle portion may be used to sense a plurality of parameters associated with the quality of the product items being stored and delivered, wherein the parameters may be related to, without limitation, any of freshness, temperature, color, humidity, air quality, state or form, count and weight of the product items”). Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches this element in at least [0305].
Regarding Claim 6:
Agarwal teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Agarwal also teaches: The system (300) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the smart storage device (100) further comprises a power source (118) to supply power to components of the smart storage device (100). ([0058] “the apparatus may include a power source such as a Lithium-Ion battery but not limited to itto enable powering one or more electrical components present therein”). Examiner notes that Espinosa teaches this element also in at least [0105] and Oleynik teaches it in at least [0280].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent WO 2022/254251 (Agarwal) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0249735 (Espinosa).
Regarding Claim 4:
Agarwal teaches all of the elements of Claims 1-2. While Agarwal also teaches ([0020] “the plurality of compartments may be configured with one or more air purifiers to filter dust particles and contaminations as per predefined PMS levels”), Agarwal does not specifically teach: The system (300) as claimed in claim 2, wherein the lid (108) further comprises a valve (124) to allow evacuation of air from within the storage compartment (104) of the smart storage device (100). Espinosa teaches this element in at least ([0052] “one way valve to allow air to be evacuated from inside said container”). Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches this element in at least [0320] and Fig 61 “smart ventilation system”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the container taught by Agarwal could contain a valve, as taught by Espinosa, due to the predictable need to evacuate air to maximize freshness for some foods that could be predictably contained therein.
Regarding Claim 7:
Agarwal teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Agarwal also teaches: The system (300) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the computing device (200) further: extract, from the central database (250), at least one of the identity, weight, quantity, temperature, and state of the items (106) stored the smart storage device (100); determine one or more parameters relating to at least one of the identity, weight, quantity, temperature, and state of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100). ([0050] “a first set of data packet may be transmitted to the computing device (104) associated with the user (102). The first set of data packet may include the extracted first set of attributes along with the respective predefined threshold ranges. Alternatively, a second set of data packet may be transmitted to the computing device (104) associated with the user (102). The second set of data packet may include a second set of attributes corresponding to an analysis data generated on comparison of the first set of attributes with the respective predefined threshold ranges”).
generate a notification relating to the determined one or more parameters; and transmit the generated notification to the central database (250). ([0017] “an alert signal may be generated upon a negative determination that at least one attribute of the first set of attributes is not within the respective predefined threshold range. The alert signal may be transmitted to the computing device associated with the user”).
Agarwal does not specifically teach: receive a mode of operation… based on the received mode of operation; Espinosa, in the same field of art, teaches different modes of determining if a sensed attribute of a product is different from a predetermined attribute for that product: ([0069] “The appliance program or app (“app”) can be configured to function in several modes. An app mode can read all smart/sensors within reading range in an area or room and display all the smart/sensor products on a handheld device or appliance display. The app can be configured to display only the smart/sensor products that are not identified or that are absent within a reading range when compared to a stored data list in a handheld device or appliance”). Examiner notes that Espinosa also teaches checking a sensed amount of an item against a predetermined threshold (see at least [0069] “The user creates a digital list of basic, shopping or retail or house room products (“list”) and the quantity or number of products to be maintained in an appliance, pantry or retail or house area, such as the living, bed or bathroom (“modules” or “room””). Examiner also notes that Oleynik also teaches modes of operation in at least [0115].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a system that identifies and tracks objects using sensors and outputs current data related to the objects, as taught by Agarwal, could predictably perform that function in different ways for different purposes, as taught by Espinosa, with predictable results.
Regarding Claim 8:
Agarwal teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Agarwal in view of Espinosa teaches all of the elements of Claim 7. Agarwal does not specifically teach: The system (300) as claimed in claim 7, wherein the mode of operation comprises a shopping mode, and a recipe mode. Examiner is interpreting Applicant’s “shopping mode” in view of [0019] in the spec to be a general container replenishment function and is interpreting Applicant’s “recipe mode” in view of [0066] to be a replenishment function for containers that store ingredients that are used for a particular purpose (such as in a recipe). Examiner holds that the replenishment function for both “modes” is functionally indistinct and changing the arbitrary amount of the predetermined threshold amount for either mode is intended use. Espinosa teaches using a replenishment function with different threshold amount for different purposes (see at least [0069] “room mode” and “should ‘not be present’ mode”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a system that identifies and tracks objects using sensors and outputs current data related to the objects, as taught by Agarwal, could predictably perform that function in different ways for different purposes, as taught by Espinosa, with predictable results.
Regarding Claim 9:
Agarwal teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Agarwal in view of Espinosa teaches all of the elements of Claims 7 and 8. Agarwal also teaches: The system (300) as claimed in claim 8, wherein, in shopping mode, the computing device (200) further: determine a first parameter relating to the weight of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100); ([0012] “the system may transmit a first set of data packet to a computing device associated with a user. The first set of data packet may correspond to the extracted first set of attributes along with the respective predefined threshold ranges”). As discussed above, Examiner holds that Applicant’s “shopping mode” is interpreted as normal container replenishment mode.
and determine a second parameter relating to the state of the items (106) stored in the smart storage device (100), ([0013] “the system may transmit a second set of data packet to the computing device associated with the user. The second set of data packet may include a second set of attributes corresponding to an analysis data generated on comparison of the first set of attributes with the respective predefined threshold ranges”).
wherein, when at least one of the weight of the items (106) is less than a predefined threshold, and the state of the items (106) lies outside a normal range, the computing device (200) generate a notification indicating that the items (106) are to be replenished, and wherein the computing device (200) transmit the generated notification to the central database (250). ([0017] “an alert signal may be generated upon a negative determination that at least one attribute of the first set of attributes is not within the respective predefined threshold range. The alert signal may be transmitted to the computing device associated with the user”). Examiner notes that Oleynik also teaches this element in at least [0212].
Regarding Claim 14:
Agarwal teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Agarwal in view of Espinosa teaches all of the elements of Claims 7 and 8. While Agarwal also teaches ([0060] “microphone”), Agarwal does not specifically teach: The system (300) as claimed in claim 8, wherein the system (300) comprises a microphone communicably coupled to the computing device (200), wherein the computing device (200) receive the mode of operation as a vocal command. Espinosa teaches this element in at least ([0058] “system 100 can be accessed via any user interface device or appliance 120 that is capable of connecting to the main server 150. A user interface device or appliance 120 comprises a display, and preferably a touch screen display, reader, a video/camera and a microphone for inputting voice/sound... any other appliance or interface, can be configured to control the operating system of an appliance or cooking network, such as an oven or microwave as described herein”). Examiner notes that Olevnik also teaches this element in at least ([0279] “voice command”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that a smart device such as a container, as taught by Argarwal, could be voice controlled, as taught by Espinosa, due to the predictable user convenience of voice control. Examiner also notes that smart speaker and voice control technology are widely used in the form of Apple™ Siri™ and Amazon™ Alexa™.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent WO 2022/254251 (Agarwal) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0249735 (Espinosa) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0069910 (Oleynik).
Regarding Claim 10:
Agarwal teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Agarwal in view of Espinosa teaches all of the elements of Claims 7- 9. Agarwal does not specifically teach: The system (300) as claimed in claim 9, wherein, the computing device (200) further: receive a recipe; Oleynik teaches a robotic cooking machine that uses integrated smart containers for ingredients. Oleynik teaches this ([0169] “The system acquires data about execution recipe, understands all parameters, tools, equipment required to execute the recipe 1001”).
Agarwal does not teach but Oleynik teaches: determine, based on the recipe, at least one of a required weight and a required quantity of the items required for the recipe, ([0169] “The system gathers the information about current state of the kitchen, it is able to compare with the requirements 1002. Tools, ingredients required to complete the recipe needs to be inside the kitchen before start of the execution 1004”).
Agarwal does not teach but Oleynik teaches: wherein, when at least one of the weight and quantity of the items (106) is less than the corresponding determined required weight and the required quantity of the items, the computing device (200) generate a notification indicating that the items (106) are to be replenished, ([0169] “In case certain objects are not present in the system, user is guided to feed the system with the required objects 1005”).
Agarwal does not teach but Oleynik teaches: and wherein the computing device (200) transmit the generated notification to the central database (250). ([0212] “electronic inventorying system for tools and pots/pans as well as Utensil/Container/Ingredient storage and access” and [0215] “interfacing of an instrumented inventory system (for tools, ingredients, etc.) and a smart Utensil/Container/Ingredient storage system”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the smart containers, as taught by Agarwal, in robotic cooking machine that uses integrated smart containers for ingredients, as taught by Olevnik, because of the predictable need for electronic information of cooking ingredient quantity and quality in such a cooking device.
Regarding Claim 11:
Agarwal teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Agarwal in view of Espinosa teaches all of the elements of Claims 7- 8. Agarwal does not specifically teach: The system (300) as claimed in claim 8, wherein, in recipe mode, the computing device (200) further receive a recipe; determine a chronology for the items (106) to be used, based on the recipe; wherein, the computing device (200) generates a notification indicating an instant of access of the smart storage device (100) based on the determined chronology for the items (106) to be used, and wherein the computing device (200) transmit the generated notification to the central database (220). Olevnik teaches this: ([0171] “Based on the execution sequence it can plan exact time when tools or ingredients and tools needs to be passed to use them for recipe execution 1016. Ingredient and tool storage systems are passing the ingredients to the robot in such a manner it is easy for the robot to grasp it with its end-effector 1017” and [0292] “User will easily understand which container needs to be used while performing recipe cooking. The container needed to be used will be passed the container on the exact time”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the smart containers, as taught by Agarwal, in robotic cooking machine that uses integrated smart containers for ingredients, as taught by Olevnik, because of the predictable need for electronic information of cooking ingredient quantity and quality in such a cooking device, and it would further be obvious that the access to the ingredients inside the containers could be precisely timed as they are needed in a recipe, as taught by Olevnik due to predictable results.
Regarding Claim 12:
Agarwal teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Agarwal in view of Espinosa teaches all of the elements of Claims 7 and 8. Agarwal in view of Espinosa and Oleynik teaches all of the elements of Claim 11. While Agarwal also teaches: ([0055] “beeps”), Agarwal does not specifically teach: The system (300) as claimed in claim 11, wherein the system (300) comprises a voice-enabled device, and wherein the voice-enabled device presents the notification indicating an instant of access of the smart storage device (100) in any one or more languages as selected by a user of the smart storage device (100). Oleynik teaches this: ([0170] System is guiding the user with GUI screen or voice commands 1012 until completion of the recipe with every single step of the recipe creation process, with exact timing” and [0305] “Container is also able to make sound indication when any of those parameters are not right using integrated speaker 235 or LED lights 236 inbuilt into the lid. Those two indicators can be helpful to people with different kinds of disabilities”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the system that uses the smart containers, as taught by Agarwal, could use a voice activated device, as taught by Oleynik, to be helpful to people with different kinds of disabilities, as suggested by Oleynik in at least [0305].
Regarding Claim 13:
Agarwal teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Agarwal in view of Espinosa teaches all of the elements of Claims 7 and 8. Agarwal in view of Espinosa and Oleynik teaches all of the elements of Claims 11 and 12. While Agarwal also teaches: ([0055] “beeps”), Agarwal does not specifically teach: The system (300) as claimed in claim 12, wherein the voice activated device (152) emit a sound to indicate the instant of access of the smart storage device (100). Oleynik teaches this: ([0170] System is guiding the user with GUI screen or voice commands 1012 until completion of the recipe with every single step of the recipe creation process, with exact timing” and [0305] “Container is also able to make sound indication when any of those parameters are not right using integrated speaker 235 or LED lights 236 inbuilt into the lid. Those two indicators can be helpful to people with different kinds of disabilities”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the system that uses the smart containers, as taught by Agarwal, could use a voice activated device, as taught by Oleynik, to be helpful to people with different kinds of disabilities, as suggested by Oleynik in at least [0305].
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY S. BURSUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3627