Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2024, 06/13/2025, and 07/01/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 12-17, 22-23, 29, and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 17, “…substrate; a flexible…” should be “…substrate; and a flexible…” for clarity.
Although the courts have found that the use of the term “and/or” would not be indefinite, (Employers Mut. Liability Ins. Co. v. Tollefsen, 219 Wis. 434 (1935)), the board did note that the preferred way of writing the claim is through use of “at least one of A and B" in the future. Therefore, the Examiner object to the terms "and/or" in claims 1, 9, 12-16, 22-23, 29, and 35 such that it is written in accordance with the courts preferred way.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 16, the limitation “wherein the control system uses a machine learning model to determine or predict the level of fluid, the change of the level of fluid, the composition of fluid and/or the change of the composition of fluid in the part of the patient or other subject's body” is indefinite. It is unclear what is input to the machine learning model to determine fluid level. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes the “signal from the radiofrequency sensor” (see claim 1) is input to the machine learning model to determine the fluid level.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15, 17, 22-23, 27, 29, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hyde et al. (US 20160213303 A1, published July 28, 2016), hereinafter referred to as Hyde.
Regarding claim 1, Hyde teaches a level and/or fluid composition monitoring system (Fig. 4, hand-held hydration monitor 200) comprising:
a radiofrequency sensor configured to be included in at least one of: an item of furnishing or another item for use by a patient or other subject; or an outdoor or sports item or an outdoor sports area (see para. 0071 – “In an aspect, the micro-impulse radar component 210 [radiofrequency sensor] includes bistatic micro-impulse radar 430…For example, a transmit antenna can be associated with the hand-held hydration monitor and at least one receive antenna located in a separate location, e.g., on the other side of a sports field, facility, gym, or arena.”); and
a control system configured to receive a signal from the radiofrequency sensor and to determine a level of fluid and/or a composition of fluid in a part of a patient or other subject's body in vivo based on the signal (see para. 0057 – “Circuitry 260 further includes hydration determination circuitry 266 configured to receive information associated with one or more reflected pulses from a target tissue associated with the target location on the subject and to compare the information associated with the one or more reflected pulses from the target tissue with the stored information associated with the reference reflected pulses correlated with the reference hydration states to determine a relative hydration state [level of fluid] of the target tissue.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 2, Hyde further teaches wherein the radiofrequency sensor is configured to transmit a first signal to the part of the patient or other subject's body and to receive a second signal from the part of the patient or other subject's body (see para. 0059 – “In an aspect, antenna 214 is configured to transmit one or more pulses towards the target tissue.”; see para. 0069 – “In an aspect, receiver 400 is configured to receive signals from at least one antenna 214, the received signals including one or more reflected pulses from the target tissue.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 3, Hyde further teaches wherein the second signal (receive signal) comprises a portion of the first signal that has been reflected by the part of the patient or other subject's body and wherein the signal is or comprises the second signal (see para. 0059 – “In an aspect, antenna 214 is configured to transmit one or more pulses towards the target tissue.”; see para. 0069 – “In an aspect, receiver 400 is configured to receive signals from at least one antenna 214, the received signals including one or more reflected pulses from the target tissue.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 4, Hyde further teaches wherein the system comprises an array of radiofrequency sensors comprising the radiofrequency sensor, one or more radiofrequency sensors of the array of radiofrequency sensors being configured to transmit the first signal to the part of the patient or other subject's body and to receive the second signal from the part of the patient or other subject's body (see para. 0059 – “In an aspect, antenna 214 is configured to transmit one or more pulses towards the target tissue.”; see para. 0069 – “In an aspect, receiver 400 is configured to receive signals from at least one antenna 214, the received signals including one or more reflected pulses from the target tissue.”; see para. 0072 – “In an aspect, the multistatic micro-impulse radar component includes multiple spatially diverse monostatic radar or bistatic radar components with a shared area of coverage. For example, the multistatic radar can include one receiver and two transmitters, or two receivers and one transmitter, or multiple receivers and multiple transmitters.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 5, Hyde further teaches wherein at least one of:
at least one or each radiofrequency sensor of the array of radiofrequency sensors is operable between a first configuration, in which the at least one or each radiofrequency sensor of the array of radiofrequency sensors transmits the first signal or receives the second signal and a second configuration, in which the at least one or each radiofrequency sensor of the array of radiofrequency sensors transmits or receives no signal (see para. 0212 – “In an aspect, micro-impulse radar control circuitry 1974 includes circuitry 2330 configured to automatically actuate [first configuration, transmit/receive signals] the micro-impulse radar component if the determined registration value meets or exceeds a threshold registration value…In an aspect, the micro-impulse radar control circuitry includes circuitry configured to block actuation of the micro-impulse radar component if the determined registration value fails to meet or exceed a threshold registration value. For example, the hand-held hydration monitor can be configured to prevent scanning [second configuration, transmit/receive no signal] of the subject until the appropriate scanning location on the subject is detected.”); and
the array of radiofrequency sensors is configured such that a phase of a first signal transmitted by at least one of the radiofrequency sensors of the array of radiofrequency sensors is shifted relative to a phase of a first signal transmitted by at least one other of the radiofrequency sensors of the array of radiofrequency sensors.
Furthermore, regarding claim 6, Hyde further teaches wherein the radiofrequency sensor is a second radiofrequency sensor and the system comprises a first radiofrequency sensor, the first radiofrequency sensor being configured to transmit a first signal to the part of the patient or other subject's body and the second radiofrequency sensor being configured to receive a second signal from the part of the patient or other subject's body (see para. 0059 – “In an aspect, antenna 214 is configured to transmit one or more pulses towards the target tissue.”; see para. 0069 – “In an aspect, receiver 400 is configured to receive signals from at least one antenna 214, the received signals including one or more reflected pulses from the target tissue.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 7, Hyde further teaches wherein second signal comprises a portion of the first signal that has been transmitted through the part of the patient or other subject's body and wherein the signal is or comprises the second signal (see para. 0059 – “In an aspect, antenna 214 is configured to transmit one or more pulses towards the target tissue.”; see para. 0069 – “In an aspect, receiver 400 is configured to receive signals from at least one antenna 214, the received signals including one or more reflected pulses from the target tissue.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 8, Hyde further teaches wherein the system comprises a first array of radiofrequency sensors comprising the first radiofrequency sensor and a second array of radiofrequency sensors comprising the second radiofrequency sensor, one or more radiofrequency sensors of the first array of radiofrequency sensors being configured to transmit the first signal to the part of the patient or other subject's body and one or more radiofrequency sensors of the second array of radiofrequency sensors being configured to receive the second signal from the part of the patient or other subject's body (see para. 0059 – “In an aspect, antenna 214 [first radiofrequency sensor] is configured to transmit one or more pulses towards the target tissue.”; see para. 0069 – “In an aspect, receiver 400 [second radiofrequency sensor] is configured to receive signals from at least one antenna 214, the received signals including one or more reflected pulses from the target tissue.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 9, Hyde further teaches wherein the first and second radiofrequency sensors and/or the first and second arrays of radiofrequency sensors are configured to be included in one or more items of furnishing or one or more other items such that the first and second radiofrequency sensors and/or the first and second arrays of radiofrequency sensors are on opposite sides of the part of the patient or other subject's body (see para. 0071 – “In an aspect, the micro-impulse radar component 210 [radiofrequency sensor] includes bistatic micro-impulse radar 430…For example, a transmit antenna can be associated with the hand-held hydration monitor and at least one receive antenna located in a separate location, e.g., on the other side of a sports field, facility, gym, or arena.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 10, Hyde further teaches wherein at least one of:
at least one or each radiofrequency sensor of the first array of radiofrequency sensors is operable between a first configuration, in which the at least one or each radiofrequency sensor of the first array of radiofrequency sensors transmits the first signal and a second configuration, in which the at least one or each radiofrequency sensor of the first array of radiofrequency sensors transmits no signal (see para. 0212 – “In an aspect, micro-impulse radar control circuitry 1974 includes circuitry 2330 configured to automatically actuate [first configuration, transmit/receive signals] the micro-impulse radar component if the determined registration value meets or exceeds a threshold registration value…In an aspect, the micro-impulse radar control circuitry includes circuitry configured to block actuation of the micro-impulse radar component if the determined registration value fails to meet or exceed a threshold registration value. For example, the hand-held hydration monitor can be configured to prevent scanning [second configuration, transmit/receive no signal] of the subject until the appropriate scanning location on the subject is detected.”);
the first array of radiofrequency sensors is configured such that a phase of a first signal transmitted by at least one of the radiofrequency sensors of the first array of radiofrequency sensors is shifted relative to a phase of a first signal transmitted by at least one other of the radiofrequency sensors of the first array of radiofrequency sensors.
Furthermore, regarding claim 11, Hyde further teaches wherein at least one or each radiofrequency sensor of the second array of radiofrequency sensors is operable between a first configuration, in which the at least one or each radiofrequency sensor of the second array of radiofrequency sensors receives the second signal and a second configuration, in which the at least one or each radiofrequency sensor of the second array of radiofrequency sensors receives no signal (see para. 0212 – “In an aspect, micro-impulse radar control circuitry 1974 includes circuitry 2330 configured to automatically actuate [first configuration, transmit/receive signals] the micro-impulse radar component if the determined registration value meets or exceeds a threshold registration value…In an aspect, the micro-impulse radar control circuitry includes circuitry configured to block actuation of the micro-impulse radar component if the determined registration value fails to meet or exceed a threshold registration value. For example, the hand-held hydration monitor can be configured to prevent scanning [second configuration, transmit/receive no signal] of the subject until the appropriate scanning location on the subject is detected.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 12, Hyde further teaches wherein the control system is configured to determine a reflection coefficient and/or a transmission coefficient based on the signal (see para. 0286 – “In an aspect, the method includes comparing the information [coefficient] associated with the received one or more reflected pulses from the tissue associated with the location on the subject with the stored information associated with the reference reflected pulses correlated with the reference hydration states when the determined registration value meets or exceeds a threshold registration value [coefficient].”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 13, Hyde further teaches wherein the control system is configured to at least one of:
compare the determined reflection coefficient and/or transmission coefficient to one or more pre-determined reflection coefficients and/or transmission coefficients, respectively, the one or more pre-determined reflection coefficients and/or transmission coefficients being associated with a level of fluid in the part of the patient or other subject's body, a level of fluid in a same part of another patient or subject's body, a composition of fluid in the part of the patient or other subject's body and/or a composition of fluid in the same part of other patient or subject's body (see para. 0286 – “In an aspect, the method includes comparing the information [coefficient] associated with the received one or more reflected pulses from the tissue associated with the location on the subject with the stored information associated with the reference reflected pulses correlated with the reference hydration states when the determined registration value meets or exceeds a threshold registration value [predetermined coefficient].”); and
determine the level of fluid, a change of the level of fluid, the composition of fluid and/or a change of the composition of fluid in the part of the patient or other subject's body based on the comparison between the determined reflection coefficient and/or transmission coefficient and the one or more pre-determined reflection coefficients and/or transmission coefficients, respectively (see para. 0330 – “The micro-impulse radar control circuitry is configured to actuate the micro-impulse radar component [to determine hydration level] in response to the registration value [coefficient]. For example, a registration value of 1 would automatically result in actuation of the micro-impulse radar component. For example, a registration value of less than 1 that meets or exceeds a threshold value [predetermined coefficient], e.g., a registration value of 0.9, might also automatically result in actuation of the micro-impulse radar component.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 14, Hyde further teaches wherein the control system is configured to determine the level of fluid, the change of the level of fluid the composition of fluid, the change of the composition of fluid in the part of the patient or other subject's body over a period of time based on a comparison between a plurality of determined reflection coefficients and/or transmission coefficients and the one or more pre-determined reflection coefficients or transmissions coefficients, respectively (see para. 0330 – “The micro-impulse radar control circuitry is configured to actuate the micro-impulse radar component [to determine hydration level] in response to the registration value [coefficient]. For example, a registration value of 1 would automatically result in actuation of the micro-impulse radar component. For example, a registration value of less than 1 that meets or exceeds a threshold value [predetermined coefficient], e.g., a registration value of 0.9, might also automatically result in actuation of the micro-impulse radar component.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 15, Hyde further teaches wherein the control system is configured to alert a user of the system, depending on the determined level of fluid, the determined change of the level of fluid, the determined composition of fluid and/or the determined change of the composition of fluid in the part of the patient or other subject's body (see para. 0248 – “In an aspect, the method includes reporting the determined relative hydration state of the target tissue of the subject to a user through the user interface. For example, the method can include reporting the determined relative hydration state of the target tissue as a textual message on a display of the hydration monitor.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 17, Hyde further teaches wherein the radiofrequency sensor comprises at least one of: a flexible, bendable or rigid substrate; and a flexible, bendable or rigid conductive element (see para. 0068 – “In an aspect, micro-impulse radar component 210 can include at least one antenna 214 formed as electrical traces [conductive element] on a circuit board [substrate] of computing component 240.”).
Regarding claim 22, Hyde teaches an item of furnishing or another item for use by a patient or other subject comprising:
a fluid level and/or fluid composition monitoring system according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above),
wherein the radiofrequency sensor is included in the item of furnishing or other item (see para. 0071 – “In an aspect, the micro-impulse radar component 210 [radiofrequency sensor] includes bistatic micro-impulse radar 430…For example, a transmit antenna can be associated with the hand-held hydration monitor and at least one receive antenna located in a separate location, e.g., on the other side of a sports field, facility, gym, or arena.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 23, Hyde further teaches wherein the item of furnishing comprises at least one of: an item of furnishing for use in an outdoor or sports environment; an item of furniture for the patient or other subject to sleep or rest on; an item associated with furniture; and a decorative item (see para. 0071 – “In an aspect, the micro-impulse radar component 210 [radiofrequency sensor] includes bistatic micro-impulse radar 430…For example, a transmit antenna can be associated with the hand-held hydration monitor and at least one receive antenna located in a separate location, e.g., on the other side of a sports field, facility, gym, or arena.”); or
wherein the other item comprises at least one of: an item or part of a vehicle; an apparatus configured to support and/or restrain a baby or infant in a vehicle; an item or part of a shelter or dwelling; or an item of furnishing of the shelter or dwelling.
Furthermore, regarding claim 27, Hyde further teaches wherein the radiofrequency sensor is included in the item of furnishing or other item so as to be in proximity to the part of the patient or other subject's body to be monitored (see para. 0053 – “For example, the hand-held hydration monitor may be mounted on the wall of an athletic facility (e.g., a gym) or a medical facility (e.g., an emergency room or other triage center), and configured to automatically determine a hydration state of a subject standing at an appropriate distance from the monitor.”).
Regarding claim 29, Hyde teaches an outdoor or sports item or an outdoor or sports area comprising:
a fluid level and/or fluid composition monitoring system according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above),
wherein the radiofrequency sensor is included in the outdoor or sports item or the outdoor or sports area (see para. 0071 – “In an aspect, the micro-impulse radar component 210 [radiofrequency sensor] includes bistatic micro-impulse radar 430…For example, a transmit antenna can be associated with the hand-held hydration monitor and at least one receive antenna located in a separate location, e.g., on the other side of a sports field, facility, gym, or arena.”).
Regarding claim 35, Hyde teaches an in vivo method of monitoring a level of fluid and/or a composition of fluid, the method comprising:
providing a fluid level and/or fluid composition monitoring system according to claim1 (see claim 1 above),
wherein the radiofrequency sensor is included in the item of furnishing or other item, the item of furnishing or other item being used by the patient or other subject, or wherein the radiofrequency sensor is included in the outdoor or sports item or the outdoor or sports area (see para. 0071 – “In an aspect, the micro-impulse radar component 210 [radiofrequency sensor] includes bistatic micro-impulse radar 430…For example, a transmit antenna can be associated with the hand-held hydration monitor and at least one receive antenna located in a separate location, e.g., on the other side of a sports field, facility, gym, or arena.”);
receiving a signal from the radiofrequency sensor; and determining a level of fluid and/or a composition of fluid in the part of the patient or other subject's body based on the signal (see para. 0057 – “Circuitry 260 further includes hydration determination circuitry 266 configured to receive information associated with one or more reflected pulses from a target tissue associated with the target location on the subject and to compare the information associated with the one or more reflected pulses from the target tissue with the stored information associated with the reference reflected pulses correlated with the reference hydration states to determine a relative hydration state [level of fluid] of the target tissue.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyde in view of Ertin et al. (US 20250194949 A1, published June 19, 2025 with a priority date of March 18, 2022), hereinafter referred to as Ertin.
Regarding claim 16, Hyde teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 1 above.
Hyde teaches determining fluid level, but does not explicitly teach determining fluid level via a machine learning model.
Whereas, Ertin, an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the control system uses a machine learning model to determine or predict the level of fluid, the change of the level of fluid, the composition of fluid and/or the change of the composition of fluid in the part of the patient or other subject's body (see para. 0119-0120 – “Lung fluid detection networks 2018 and 2020 are trained so that the networks 2018, 2020 are able to train encoding feature extractions at 2014, 2016…The final estimate at 2022 is in the form of thicknesses of each tissue layer and the liquid content of each tissue layer. The final estimate at 2022 will include the percentage liquid of the lung tissue.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified determining fluid level, as disclosed in Hyde, by determining fluid level via a machine learning model, as disclosed in Ertin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to automatically identify where the lung tissue is located without input from a human, as taught in Ertin (see para. 0119).
Claims 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyde in view of Sayrafian-Pour et al. (US 20240423493 A1, published December 26, 2024 with a priority date of October 28, 2021), hereinafter referred to as Sayrafian-Pour.
Regarding claim 18, Hyde teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 17 above.
Hyde teaches the RF sensor comprises a substrate and conductive elements, and covering the RF sensor (Fig. 1, housing of hydration monitor 100 (which includes RF sensor) as covering), but does not explicitly teach the housing is flexible.
Whereas, Sayrafian-Pour, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the radiofrequency sensor comprises a first cover portion and a second cover portion, the first and second cover portions being flexible or bendable and configured to encase the flexible, bendable or rigid substrate and the flexible, bendable or rigid conductive element (see para. 0034 – “In an embodiment, with reference to FIG. 10, lung fluid monitor 200 includes housing member 207 on which the radiation source 201 and the radiation detector 204 [RF sensor] are disposed. In an embodiment, housing member 207 is wearable garment that is worn by a human. Exemplary wearable garments include a shirt, vest, coat, undergarment (e.g., undershirt, brassiere, and the like), and the like [flexible covering].”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the RF sensor housing, as disclosed in Hyde, by having flexible housing, as disclosed in Sayrafian-Pour. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide an inexpensive monitoring system to detect the status of pulmonary edema, as taught in Sayrafian-Pour (see para. 0030).
Regarding claim 21, Hyde teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 1 above, and
Hyde further teaches wherein the part of the patient or other subject's body comprises one or more organs of the patient or other subject (see para. 0316 – “A specific target location (e.g., the torso) on each individual is scanned using the hand-held hydration monitor.”).
Hyde teaches determining fluid level in an organ (e.g., torso), but does not explicitly teach the one or more organs of the patient or other subject comprising at least one of: brain, lungs, kidneys, liver, bladder and heart.
Whereas, Sayrafian-Pour, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches the part of the patient or other subject's body comprises one or more organs of the patient or other subject, the one or more organs of the patient or other subject comprising at least one of: brain, lungs, kidneys, liver, bladder and heart (see para. 0048 – “Lung fluid monitor 200 measures increase or decrease of fluid in lung 208. Consecutive or periodic measurements are involved to compare relative radio frequency readings with previous readings to determine whether fluid amount is increasing, decreasing, or the same.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified determining fluid level in an organ, as disclosed in Hyde, by determining fluid level in lungs, as disclosed in Sayrafian-Pour. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to detect or monitor pulmonary edema or equivalently changes in the amount of fluid in each lung, as taught in Sayrafian-Pour (see para. 0085).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Volosin et al. (US 20210161480 A1, published June 3, 2021) discloses performing at least one of a predictive analysis and a trend analysis of the plurality of physiological to determine a current clinical condition of the patient.
Engel (US 20100234716 A1, published September 16, 2010) discloses an adherent device having a support configured to transmit a signal into a body of a patient, and receive a reflected portion of the signal, and adhere to the skin of the patient to determine fluid content in the lung.
Iskander et al. (US 20140323823 A1, published October 30, 2014) discloses a microwave transmission sensor and a micro wave reception sensor placed on a patient's chest in spaced apart side-by-side configuration for monitoring patient vital signs, lung water content and other critical measurements.
Oziel et al. (US 20180064364 A1, published March 8, 2018) discloses signal processing analysis techniques may be applied to measured VIPS phases and/or magnitude data for multiple radio frequencies, either alone or in combination. Useful combinations for analysis include theoretically and empirically derived formulae that use weighted combinations of VIPS phases and amplitude data to create indicators that correlate with blood volume, cerebrospinal fluids, edema, or other relevant fluid characteristics.
Berry Ann et al. (US 20230397872 A1, published December 14, 2023 with a priority date of June 8, 2022) discloses the RF sensor can be configured to use RF-based techniques to assess fluid levels and accumulation in body tissue of the patient.
Margaliot (US 20160287151 A1, published October 6, 2016) discloses an RF generator connected to a transmitting antenna for transmitting the generated RF radiation waves towards the examined tissue, a reception antenna for receiving the waves reflected from the examined tissue, a processor for processing the signal picked up by the reception antenna, and an indicator unit for displaying or otherwise providing an output signal, e.g., an alarm, indicative of the degree of osmolality/hydration state of the body.
Davoudi et al. (US 20240423539 A1, published December 26, 2024 with a priority date of August 19, 2021) discloses the output amount of thoracic fluid may be further classified into “low”, “normal”, “high”, “very high”, etc., and periodically determine amounts of thoracic fluid, which may be used to show the patient's amount of thoracic fluid over time.
/N.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3798