Detailed Action
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JUNG (US 20130176521 A1).
Regarding claim 9, JUNG discloses a liquid crystal element (Fig. 2; liquid crystal display device 10) comprising:
a first substrate (Fig. 2; substrate 101) having a first insulating film on one surface side (Fig. 2; an insulating layer IL1 formed between a TFT circuit layer and an electrode layer PE; [0105]);
a second substrate (Fig. 2; substrate 201) having a second insulating film on one surface side (Fig. 2; an insulating layer OC or IL2 formed between a color filter layer CF and a common electrode layer CE; [0115]), the second substrate disposed with a gap provided between the first substrate and the second substrate (substrate 101 is separated from substrate 201 with a gap in-between), with the first insulating film and the second insulating film facing each other (insulating layer IN1 and insulating layer IN2 facing each other);
a liquid crystal layer (Fig. 2; liquid crystal layer 300) disposed in the gap between the first substrate (substrate 101) and the second substrate (substrate 201);
a first polymer layer (Figs. 2-3 and 8-9; first polymer layer 170) having a polymer disposed in a direction inclined relative to the one surface of the first substrate on a surface of the first insulating film facing the liquid crystal layer (Figs. 2-3 and 8-9 and [0055], [0104], [0109], [0113]; first polymer layer 170 or 160 includes polymer chains 171a and 172a inclined relative to the surface of the substrate 101), and
a second polymer layer (Figs. 2-3 and 8-9; second polymer layer 270) having a polymer disposed in a direction inclined relative to the one surface of the second substrate on a surface of the second insulating film facing the liquid crystal layer (Figs. 2-3 and 8-9 and [0055], [0114], [0119] and [0123]; second polymer layer 270 or 260 includes polymer chains 273a and 274a inclined relative to the surface of the substrate 201).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20180059487 A1) in view of MIZUSAKI (US 20190302540 A1).
Regarding claim 1, PARK discloses a production method of a liquid crystal element (e.g., Figs. 3-5, 7-11, and 14-20; a production of a liquid crystal display) comprising:
(a) forming a first insulating film (Fig. 3; insulating film 132; [0071]) on one surface side of a first substrate (substrate 110);
(b) forming a second insulating film (Fig. 3; insulating film 240; [0074]) on one surface side of a second substrate (substrate 210);
(c) forming a liquid crystal layer (Fig. 3; liquid crystal layer 300; [0067]) between the one surface of the first substrate (substrate 110) and the one surface of the second substrate (substrate 110); and
(d) by applying light irradiation to the liquid crystal layer from a direction oblique to an other surface facing at least one of the one surface of the first substrate or the second substrate (Fig. 20 and [0147]; light irradiation from an oblique direction), forming a first polymer layer having a polymer disposed in a direction inclined relative to the one surface of the first substrate on a surface of the first insulating film facing the liquid crystal layer (Figs. 4 and 18 and [0100]-[0101], [0138]; a polymer layer 411 including a polymer RMP is formed on the substrate 110, alignment and inclined direction of polymers is determined by the direction of the irradiation light), and forming a second polymer layer having a polymer disposed in a direction inclined relative to the one surface of the second substrate on a surface of the second insulating film facing the liquid crystal layer (Figs. 5 and 19; and [0100]-[0101], [0138]; a polymer layer 421 including a polymer RMP is formed on the substrate 210, alignment and inclined direction of polymers is determined by the direction of the irradiation light), wherein the liquid crystal material used to form the liquid crystal layer in the above-described (c) contains a monomer that is photopolymerizable (Figs. 8, 10-111, and 15-16 and [0111], [0136] and [0138]; liquid crystal material layer 300 includes contains monomer RM that is photopolymerizable).
PARK does not disclose the monomer contained in the liquid crystal layer is a trans body having a double bond in the center. However, MIZUSAKI discloses a liquid crystal display and production method of a liquid crystal display, wherein the liquid crystal material used to form the liquid crystal layer contains a monomer that is photopolymerizable and is a trans body having a double bond in the center. (e.g., Figs. 1-5; [0057] and [0076] including [C7]; liquid crystal material layer 19 contains a photopolymerizable monomer 31 having a trans body with a double bond in the center). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from MIZUSAKI to the liquid crystal display device of JUNG. The combination/motivation would allow for a more uniform and stable pre-tilt angle across the pixels and improve display performance.
Regarding claim 2, PARK in view of MIZUSAKI discloses the production method of a liquid crystal element according to claim 1, PARK discloses wherein the oblique direction during the light irradiation in the above-described (d) is a direction that forms an angle between 30° and 60* with respect to the other surface of either the first substrate or the second substrate (Fig. 20 and [0147]; incident angle of light irradiation).
Regarding claim 3, PARK in view of MIZUSAKI discloses the production method of a liquid crystal element according to claim 1, MIZUSAKI discloses wherein the monomer is a monomer that can be polymerized by ultraviolet light ([0057], [0094], and [0101]; polymerizable monomer with ultraviolet light). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from MIZUSAKI to the liquid crystal display device of JUNG for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 4, PARK in view of MIZUSAKI discloses the production method of a liquid crystal element according to claim 1, MIZUSAKI discloses wherein the monomer has two or more polymerization sites ([0076] including [C7]; the structure contains two primary polymerization sites). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from MIZUSAKI to the liquid crystal display device of JUNG for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 5, PARK in view of MIZUSAKI discloses the production method of a liquid crystal element according to claim 1, MIZUSAKI discloses wherein the monomer is a monomer that contains a chalcone group ([0076] and [0094]; monomer contains a chalcone group). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from MIZUSAKI to the liquid crystal display device of JUNG for the same reason above.
7. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20180059487 A1) in view of MIZUSAKI (US 20190302540 A1) and further in view of LIU (US 20100045913 A1).
Regarding claim 6, PARK in view of MIZUSAKI discloses the production method of a liquid crystal element according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first insulating film and the second insulating film are inorganic insulating films formed using silica or titania. However, LIU discloses a liquid crystal display device, wherein the first insulating film and the second insulating film (Figs. 1 and 10; insulating film 230 or 430 and insulating film 232 or 432) are inorganic insulating films formed using silica or titania ([0038]; silicon dioxide). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LIU to the liquid crystal display device of PARK in view of MIZUSAKI, which would provide different materials for insulation.
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20180059487 A1) in view of MIZUSAKI (US 20190302540 A1) and further in view of LEE (US 20150062517 A1).
Regarding claim 7, PARK in view of MIZUSAKI discloses the production method of a liquid crystal element according to claim 1, MIZUSAKI discloses wherein the first insulating film and the second insulating film are alignment films (alignment films 26 and 16), but does not disclose wherein the first insulating film and the second insulating film are vertical alignment films having an inorganic main chain and side chains, and which have not been subjected to an alignment treatment. However, LEE (e.g., Figs. 2 and 10-14) discloses a liquid crystal display, wherein the first insulating film and the second insulating film are vertical alignment films (alignment layers 11 and 21) having an inorganic main chain and side chains, and which have not been subjected to an alignment treatment (Figs. 5-7 and [0011], [0079], [0085]; inorganic alignment layer include a main chain such as polysiloxane and a side chain connected to the main chain). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LEE to the liquid crystal display device of PARK in view of MIZUSAKI. The combination/motivation would be to provide an alignment film using inorganic-organic hybrid materials to obtain exceptional thermal stability, optical transparency, and highly tunable surface interactions.
9. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20180059487 A1) in view of MIZUSAKI (US 20190302540 A1) and further in view of JUNG (US 20130176521 A1).
Regarding claim 8, PARK in view of MIZUSAKI discloses the production method of a liquid crystal element according to claim 1, but does not disclose disposing a mask as claimed. However, JUNG discloses wherein the above-described (d) includes disposing a mask (Fig. 4; mask 530) on the other surface side of the first substrate or the second substrate to partially block light from the liquid crystal layer and applying the light irradiation through the mask (Figs. 4 and 6-9; light irradiation using mask 530), and further applying the light irradiation each time the disposition of the mask is changed (Figs. 4 and 6-9; light irradiation using mask 530). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from JUNG to the liquid crystal display device of PARK in view of MIZUSAKI. The mask as disclosed by JUNG would allow precise control of light irradiation of photopolymerization.
10. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over JUNG (US 20130176521 A1) in view of LIU (US 20100045913 A1).
Regarding claim 10, JUNG discloses the liquid crystal element according to claim 9, but does not disclose wherein the first insulating film and the second insulating film are inorganic insulating films formed using silica or titania. However, LIU discloses a liquid crystal display device, wherein the first insulating film and the second insulating film (Figs. 1 and 10; insulating film 230 or 430 and insulating film 232 or 432) are inorganic insulating films formed using silica or titania ([0038]; silicon dioxide). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LIU to the liquid crystal display device of JUNG, which would provide different materials for insulation.
11. Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over JUNG (US 20130176521 A1) in view of NAKAI (US 20120099064 A1).
Regarding claim 11, JUNG discloses the liquid crystal element according to claim 9, but does not disclose wherein the liquid crystal layer is uniformly aligned due to the alignment regulating force exerted by the first polymer layer and/or the second polymer layer. However, NAKAI discloses a liquid crystal display device, wherein the liquid crystal layer is uniformly aligned due to the alignment regulating force exerted by the first polymer layer and/or the second polymer layer (Figs. 1-3 and [0014], [0016], [0079], [0082], [0085], [0089]-[0090], and [0093]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from NAKAI to the liquid crystal display device of JUNG. The combination/motivation would allow for a more uniform and stable pre-tilt angle across the pixels and improve display performance.
Regarding claim 12, JUNG discloses the liquid crystal element according to claim 9, but does not disclose wherein the polymer of each of the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer is a polymerized monomer having a trans body with a double bond in the center. However, NAKAI discloses a liquid crystal display device, wherein the polymer of each of the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer is a polymerized monomer having a trans body with a double bond in the center (e.g., Figs. 1-3; Claim 1 and [0093]; each of the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer is a polymerized monomer having a trans body with a double bond in the center). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from NAKAI to the liquid crystal display device of JUNG. The combination/motivation would allow for a more uniform and stable pre-tilt angle across the pixels and improve display performance.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623