DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 12/18/2025 has been received and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 07/30/2025 has been received and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 12/16/2024 has been received and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 20 at lines 16, 25, and 29, the term “the acquiring module” is labeled 303, however, in Fig. 3 the “acquiring module” is labeled 301. On page 25 at line 1, the term “the position assembly” is labeled 508, however, in Fig. 5, the “power source” is labeled 508.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In January, 2019 (updated October 2019), the USPTO released new examination guidelines setting forth a two-step inquiry for determining whether a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter. According to the guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claims 1, 10, and 11 are directed toward non-statutory subject matter, as shown below:
STEP 1: Do claims 1, 10, and 11 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes. The claims are directed toward a method including at least one step, an apparatus, and an apparatus.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Claim 1. A method for determining an available range, applicable to a hybrid electric vehicle, the method comprising:
acquiring a residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle, and a first fuel consumption amount per unit distance and a first electricity consumption amount per unit distance;
determining a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount;
and determining the available range of the residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle based on the residual fuel amount, the first fuel consumption amount, and the first equivalent consumption amount.
The method in claim 1, specifically the limitations emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. It merely consists of determining a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio and determining the available range of the residual fuel amount. This is equivalent to a person mentally evaluating the first electricity consumption amount and the conversion ratio to determine the product, and evaluating the residual fuel amount, the first fuel consumption amount, and the first equivalent consumption amount to determine the available range of the residual fuel amount.
Claim 10. A hybrid electric vehicle, comprising:
a processor and a memory storing one or more program codes, wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more program codes, is caused to:
acquire a residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle, and a first fuel consumption amount per unit distance and a first electricity consumption amount per unit distance;
determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount;
and determine an available range of the residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle based on the residual fuel amount, the first fuel consumption amount, and the first equivalent consumption amount.
The method in claim 10, specifically the limitations emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. It merely consists of determining a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio and determining the available range of the residual fuel amount. This is equivalent to a person mentally evaluating the first electricity consumption amount and the conversion ratio to determine the product, and evaluating the residual fuel amount, the first fuel consumption amount, and the first equivalent consumption amount to determine the available range of the residual fuel amount.
Claim 11. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing one or more program codes, wherein the one or more program codes, when loaded and run by a processor, cause the processor to:
acquire a residual fuel amount in a hybrid electric vehicle, and a first fuel consumption amount per unit distance and a first electricity consumption amount per unit distance;
determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount;
and determine an available range of the residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle based on the residual fuel amount, the first fuel consumption amount, and the first equivalent consumption amount.
The method in claim 11, specifically the limitations emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. It merely consists of determining a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio and determining the available range of the residual fuel amount. This is equivalent to a person mentally evaluating the first electricity consumption amount and the conversion ratio to determine the product, and evaluating the residual fuel amount, the first fuel consumption amount, and the first equivalent consumption amount to determine the available range of the residual fuel amount.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
In the present case, claims 1, 10, and 11 include additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract ideas, as identified below (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the abstract “idea”).
Claim 1. A method for determining an available range, applicable to a hybrid electric vehicle, the method comprising:
acquiring a residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle, and a first fuel consumption amount per unit distance and a first electricity consumption amount per unit distance;
determining a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount;
and determining the available range of the residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle based on the residual fuel amount, the first fuel consumption amount, and the first equivalent consumption amount.
Claim 1 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The step of “acquiring a residual fuel amount…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of extra solution activity.
Claim 10. A hybrid electric vehicle, comprising:
a processor and a memory storing one or more program codes, wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more program codes, is caused to:
acquire a residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle, and a first fuel consumption amount per unit distance and a first electricity consumption amount per unit distance;
determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount;
and determine an available range of the residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle based on the residual fuel amount, the first fuel consumption amount, and the first equivalent consumption amount.
Claim 10 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The step of “acquire a residual fuel amount…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of extra solution activity. The limitations “A hybrid electric vehicle, comprising: a processor and a memory storing one or more program codes, wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more program codes, is caused to…” are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The hybrid electric vehicle, comprising: a processor and a memory storing one or more program codes merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgments in a generic or general purpose computing environment. The hybrid electric vehicle, comprising: a processor and a memory storing one or more program codes are recited at a high level of generality and merely automate the acquiring and determining steps. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 11. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing one or more program codes, wherein the one or more program codes, when loaded and run by a processor, cause the processor to:
acquire a residual fuel amount in a hybrid electric vehicle, and a first fuel consumption amount per unit distance and a first electricity consumption amount per unit distance;
determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount;
and determine an available range of the residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle based on the residual fuel amount, the first fuel consumption amount, and the first equivalent consumption amount.
Claim 11 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The step of “acquire a residual fuel amount…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of extra solution activity. The limitations “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing one or more program codes, wherein the one or more program codes, when loaded and run by a processor, cause the processor to…” are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing one or more program codes and processor merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgments in a generic or general purpose computing environment. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing one or more program codes and processor are recited at a high level of generality and merely automate the acquiring and determining steps. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, independent claims 1, 10, and 11 do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional limitation(s) of “A hybrid electric vehicle, comprising: a processor and a memory storing one or more program codes, wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more program codes, is caused to…” and “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing one or more program codes, wherein the one or more program codes, when loaded and run by a processor, cause the processor to…” is/are merely means to apply the exception and do not amount to “significantly more”, as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “acquiring a residual fuel amount…” and “acquire a residual fuel amount…” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because the specification does not provide any indication that the acquiring and determining steps are performed using anything other than a conventional computer. See also MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures |, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TL! Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and O/P Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere performance of an action is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Thus, since claims 1, 10, and 11 are: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claims 1, 10, and 11 are directed towards non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims 2-9 and 12-20 further limit the abstract idea without integrating the abstract idea into practical application or adding significantly more, such as the limitations in claim 2 that amount to insignificant extra solution activity using a similar analysis applied to claim 1 above.
As such, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more, and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 10-12, 14, 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LENG (CN 104442817 B) in view of Wang (US 20120116620 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, LENG teaches A method for determining an available range, applicable to a hybrid electric vehicle, the method comprising: acquiring a residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle, and a first fuel consumption amount per unit distance and a first electricity consumption amount per unit distance (See at least paragraph [0008], “the present invention provides a method for displaying the remaining driving range of a hybrid electric vehicle. The method includes: when the current driving range is less than a first distance, displaying the remaining fuel driving range and displaying the remaining electric driving range are correlated with the vehicle's historical fuel consumption level and historical electric consumption level; and when the current driving range is greater than a second distance, displaying the remaining fuel driving range and displaying the remaining electric driving range are not correlated with the vehicle's historical fuel consumption level and historical electric consumption level”, paragraph [0019], “According to one embodiment of the present invention, in order to calculate and display the remaining driving range of fuel and the remaining driving range of battery, the driving range calculation unit 10 can be configured to obtain the remaining fuel quantity, the current state of charge of the power battery and the current driving range from the HCU, that is, the driving range from the starting point of this trip to the current point. In this embodiment, the driving range calculation unit 10 can be configured to calculate the remaining power based on the current state of charge of the power battery and the capacity of the power battery”, paragraph [0027], “First average fuel consumption rate = (equivalent total fuel consumption from the starting point to the current point + historical equivalent total fuel consumption) / (mileage driven from the starting point to the current point + historical total mileage)”, and paragraph [0028], “First average energy consumption rate = (equivalent total energy consumption from the starting point to the current point + historical equivalent total energy consumption) / (distance traveled from the starting point to the current point + historical total distance traveled).” The first average fuel consumption rate and first average energy consumption rate correspond to the first fuel consumption amount per unit distance and the first electricity amount per unit distance, respectively.); and determining the available range of the residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle based on the residual fuel amount, the first fuel consumption amount (See at least paragraph [0022], “According to one embodiment of the present invention, when the current driving mileage is less than a first distance, the remaining driving mileage calculation unit can estimate and display the remaining driving mileage based on the fuel consumption level and electricity consumption level from the starting point to the current point, as well as the vehicle's historical fuel consumption level and historical electricity consumption level. In other words, when the current mileage is less than the first distance, the historical fuel /electricity consumption level is combined with the fuel/electricity consumption level within the current mileage to make an estimate, as shown in the following formula for example” and paragraph [0025], “Average remaining driving range = Remaining fuel level / First average fuel consumption rate.”).
LENG does not explicitly disclose, however, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount (See at least paragraph [0052], “With reference to FIG. 3, a plot 100 of the two above noted simulations (i.e., Fuel.sub.ref in sub-block 56 and Fuel in sub-block 58) is shown. As can be understood from plot 100, for the same travel distance, one spent more electricity (`.DELTA.SOC`) and the other spent more fuel (`.DELTA.Fuel`). (Note that the straight lines in plot 100 simply connect the beginning and ending SOCs for simple illustration and do not represent the SOC depletion rate.) Such .DELTA.SOC and .DELTA.Fuel can be viewed as `equivalent` in achieving identical driving distance. Thus, for each specific driving pattern and for a specific remaining charge LSOC, a `SOC to Fuel` equivalence factor .alpha. is calculated in sub-block 60 using the following equation: .alpha. = Factor k ( S O C t ) = .DELTA. Fuel .DELTA. S O C = Fuel ref - Fuel S O C t - S O C min ##EQU00001##”, paragraph [0055], “Upon completion of the above procedures on a given driving pattern, a table is constructed to represent the `SOC to Fuel` equivalence factors as a function of SOC for the given driving pattern. As shown in block 54, the above procedures are iterated for all driving patterns to thereby produce a distinct `Equivalence Factor Table` 62 for each driving pattern (descriptively labeled "`SOC to Fuel` Equivalence Factor Tables"). For instance, if the number of driving patterns is `NumPattern`, then there are NumPattern of such tables 62”, and paragraph [0060], “In online step4 shown in block 74, the equivalent `.DELTA.Fuel` of the remaining `.DELTA.SOC` is calculated in accordance with the following equation: .DELTA.Fuel.sub.equivalent=(SOC.sub.t-SOC.sub.min)*.alpha..sub.- t. The determined equivalent .DELTA.Fuel (i.e., .DELTA.Fuel.sub.equivalent) is output from block 74 to block 76.” The ‘SOC to Fuel’ equivalence factor corresponds to the conversion ratio.); and the first equivalent consumption amount (See at least paragraph [0061], “In online step5 shown in block 78, the distance to empty value at time t (i.e., `DTE.sub.t`) is calculated in accordance with the following equation: DTE.sub.t=(Fuel Left+.DELTA.Fuel.sub.equivalent)*FE_Average.sub.k.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of LENG with the teachings of Wang such that the hybrid electric vehicle system of LENG is further configured to determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0052], [0055], [0060], [0061].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more accurate distance-to-empty information, therefore allowing drivers to evaluate vehicle performance and minimize trip cost, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0004].).
Regarding Claim 2, LENG and Wang teach The method according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. LENG teaches acquiring a ratio of the residual fuel amount to the average fuel consumption amount, wherein the ratio indicates an amount of unit distances corresponding to the residual fuel amount (See at least paragraph [0018], “The driving range calculation unit 10 can be connected to the hybrid vehicle control unit (HCU) via a CAN bus to obtain the information needed to calculate the remaining driving range of the hybrid vehicle. In this article, the remaining driving range refers to the remaining driving range currently displayed to the driver by the instrument panel, which includes two parts: the remaining driving range on fuel and the remaining driving range on electricity. On the other hand, the driving range calculation unit 10 can also pre-store information that characterizes the vehicle's historical fuel consumption and electricity consumption levels, such as historical total driving mileage, historical equivalent total electricity consumption, and historical equivalent total electricity consumption” and paragraph [0025], “Average remaining driving range = Remaining fuel level / First average fuel consumption rate.”).
LENG does not explicitly disclose, however, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein determining the available range of the residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle based on the residual fuel amount, the first fuel consumption amount, and the first equivalent consumption amount comprises: determining a sum of the first fuel consumption amount and the first equivalent consumption amount as an average fuel consumption amount per unit distance (See at least paragraph [0061], “In online step5 shown in block 78, the distance to empty value at time t (i.e., `DTE.sub.t`) is calculated in accordance with the following equation: DTE.sub.t=(Fuel Left+.DELTA.Fuel.sub.equivalent)*FE_Average.sub.k” and paragraph [0066], “In online step9 shown in block 94, the `Equivalent Trip FE` for the distance occurred is calculated in accordance with the following equation: FE.sub.equiv=distance traveled/(Fuel used+.DELTA.Fuel equivalent). The equivalent trip FE for the distance occurred (i.e., FE.sub.equiv) is then output from block 94 to block 96.”); and determining a product of the ratio and the unit distance as the available range of the residual fuel amount (See at least paragraph [0049], “In offline step1 shown in block 52 (descriptively labeled "Calculate Average FE for each Drive Pattern"), the average fuel economy in MPG for each drive pattern assuming charge sustaining at the minimum SOC is calculated. This is done by calling a MIL simulation using the following equation: FE_Average.sub.k=SIM(MIL, DrivingPattern.sub.k, SOC.sub.min, SOC.). SOC.sub.min is the minimum SOC of the PHEV. This information is required for the DTE calculation. The average fuel economy (FE_Average) varies with different driving patterns (e.g., FE_Average.sub.k is a function of DrivingPattern.sub.k, FE_Average.sub.k+1 is a function of DrivingPattern.sub.k+1, etc.) so that the DTE prediction can be timely updated upon the current driving condition to fit the driver's perception. The calculated results are stored in a CAL table 53 (descriptively labeled "Average_FE_Table (For all Patterns)" to be used online” and paragraph [0061], “In online step5 shown in block 78, the distance to empty value at time t (i.e., `DTE.sub.t`) is calculated in accordance with the following equation: DTE.sub.t=(Fuel Left+.DELTA.Fuel.sub.equivalent)*FE_Average.sub.k.” The system’s average fuel economy is expressed in miles per gallon (MPG), such that multiplying the fuel amount by the average fuel economy corresponds to multiplying a ratio of the fuel amount to fuel consumption by a unit distance.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of LENG with the teachings of Wang such that the hybrid electric vehicle system of LENG is further configured to determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount; determine a sum of the first fuel consumption amount and the first equivalent consumption amount as an average fuel consumption amount per unit distance; and determine a product of the ratio and the unit distance as the available range of the residual fuel amount, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0049], [0052], [0055], [0060], [0061], [0066].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more accurate distance-to-empty information, therefore allowing drivers to evaluate vehicle performance and minimize trip cost, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0004].).
With respect to claim 12, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 2, which is commensurate in scope to claim 12, with claim 2 being drawn to a method for determining an available range and claim 12 being drawn to a corresponding hybrid electric vehicle.
With respect to claim 19, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 2, which is commensurate in scope to claim 19, with claim 2 being drawn to a method for determining an available range and claim 19 being drawn to a corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
Regarding Claim 4, LENG and Wang teach The method according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. LENG teaches further comprising: acquiring a second electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by electric energy and a second fuel consumption amount per unit distance in a case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by fuel (See at least paragraph [0029], “It should be noted that in this article and below, equivalent total fuel consumption refers to the amount consumed when driving the same distance using only gasoline, while equivalent total electricity consumption refers to the amount consumed when driving the same distance using only electricity”, paragraph [0039], “Second average fuel consumption rate = Equivalent total fuel consumption within the second distance before the current point / Second distance”, and paragraph [0040], “Second average power consumption rate = Equivalent total power consumption within the second distance before the current point / Second distance.”).
LENG does not explicitly disclose, however, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and determining a ratio of the second fuel consumption amount to the second electricity consumption amount as the conversion ratio (See at least paragraph [0052], “With reference to FIG. 3, a plot 100 of the two above noted simulations (i.e., Fuel.sub.ref in sub-block 56 and Fuel in sub-block 58) is shown. As can be understood from plot 100, for the same travel distance, one spent more electricity (`.DELTA.SOC`) and the other spent more fuel (`.DELTA.Fuel`). (Note that the straight lines in plot 100 simply connect the beginning and ending SOCs for simple illustration and do not represent the SOC depletion rate.) Such .DELTA.SOC and .DELTA.Fuel can be viewed as `equivalent` in achieving identical driving distance. Thus, for each specific driving pattern and for a specific remaining charge LSOC, a `SOC to Fuel` equivalence factor .alpha. is calculated in sub-block 60 using the following equation: .alpha. = Factor k ( S O C t ) = .DELTA. Fuel .DELTA. S O C = Fuel ref - Fuel S O C t - S O C min ##EQU00001##.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of LENG with the teachings of Wang such that the hybrid electric vehicle system of LENG is further configured to determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount; and determine a ratio of the second fuel consumption amount to the second electricity consumption amount as the conversion ratio, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0052], [0055], [0060], [0061].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more accurate distance-to-empty information, therefore allowing drivers to evaluate vehicle performance and minimize trip cost, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0004].).
With respect to claim 14, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 4, which is commensurate in scope to claim 14, with claim 4 being drawn to a method for determining an available range and claim 14 being drawn to a corresponding hybrid electric vehicle.
With respect to claim 20, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 4, which is commensurate in scope to claim 20, with claim 4 being drawn to a method for determining an available range and claim 20 being drawn to a corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
Regarding Claim 8, LENG and Wang teach The method according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. LENG teaches wherein in a case that the first electricity consumption amount is negative, a fourth fuel consumption amount in the first fuel consumption amount is converted to the first electricity consumption amount, wherein the fourth fuel consumption amount is less than the first fuel consumption amount; or in a case that the first electricity consumption amount is positive, the first electricity consumption amount is used to drive the hybrid electric vehicle (See at least paragraph [0027], “First average fuel consumption rate = (equivalent total fuel consumption from the starting point to the current point + historical equivalent total fuel consumption) / (mileage driven from the starting point to the current point + historical total mileage”, paragraph [0028], “First average energy consumption rate = (equivalent total energy consumption from the starting point to the current point + historical equivalent total energy consumption) / (distance traveled from the starting point to the current point + historical total distance traveled)”, paragraph [0029], “It should be noted that in this article and below, equivalent total fuel consumption refers to the amount consumed when driving the same distance using only gasoline, while equivalent total electricity consumption refers to the amount consumed when driving the same distance using only electricity.”).
With respect to claim 18, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 8, which is commensurate in scope to claim 18, with claim 8 being drawn to a method for determining an available range and claim 18 being drawn to a corresponding hybrid electric vehicle.
With respect to claim 21, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 8, which is commensurate in scope to claim 21, with claim 8 being drawn to a method for determining an available range and claim 21 being drawn to a corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
Regarding Claim 10, LENG teaches A hybrid electric vehicle, comprising: acquire a residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle, and a first fuel consumption amount per unit distance and a first electricity consumption amount per unit distance (See at least paragraph [0008], “the present invention provides a method for displaying the remaining driving range of a hybrid electric vehicle. The method includes: when the current driving range is less than a first distance, displaying the remaining fuel driving range and displaying the remaining electric driving range are correlated with the vehicle's historical fuel consumption level and historical electric consumption level; and when the current driving range is greater than a second distance, displaying the remaining fuel driving range and displaying the remaining electric driving range are not correlated with the vehicle's historical fuel consumption level and historical electric consumption level”, paragraph [0019], “According to one embodiment of the present invention, in order to calculate and display the remaining driving range of fuel and the remaining driving range of battery, the driving range calculation unit 10 can be configured to obtain the remaining fuel quantity, the current state of charge of the power battery and the current driving range from the HCU, that is, the driving range from the starting point of this trip to the current point. In this embodiment, the driving range calculation unit 10 can be configured to calculate the remaining power based on the current state of charge of the power battery and the capacity of the power battery”, paragraph [0027], “First average fuel consumption rate = (equivalent total fuel consumption from the starting point to the current point + historical equivalent total fuel consumption) / (mileage driven from the starting point to the current point + historical total mileage)”, and paragraph [0028], “First average energy consumption rate = (equivalent total energy consumption from the starting point to the current point + historical equivalent total energy consumption) / (distance traveled from the starting point to the current point + historical total distance traveled).” The first average fuel consumption rate and first average energy consumption rate correspond to the first fuel consumption amount per unit distance and the first electricity amount per unit distance, respectively.); and determine an available range of the residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle based on the residual fuel amount, the first fuel consumption amount (See at least paragraph [0022], “According to one embodiment of the present invention, when the current driving mileage is less than a first distance, the remaining driving mileage calculation unit can estimate and display the remaining driving mileage based on the fuel consumption level and electricity consumption level from the starting point to the current point, as well as the vehicle's historical fuel consumption level and historical electricity consumption level. In other words, when the current mileage is less than the first distance, the historical fuel /electricity consumption level is combined with the fuel/electricity consumption level within the current mileage to make an estimate, as shown in the following formula for example” and paragraph [0025], “Average remaining driving range = Remaining fuel level / First average fuel consumption rate.”).
LENG does not explicitly disclose, however, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a processor and a memory storing one or more program codes, wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more program codes, is caused to: determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount (See at least paragraph [0043], “Flowchart 50 represents control logic which may be implemented by controller 22 using hardware, software, or combination of hardware and software. For example, the various functions may be performed using a programmed microprocessor. The control logic may be implemented using any of a number of known programming or processing techniques or strategies and is not limited to the order or sequence illustrated. For instance, interrupt or event-driven processing is employed in real-time control applications, rather than a purely sequential strategy as illustrated. Likewise, pair processing, multitasking, or multi-threaded systems and methods may be used”, paragraph [0052], “With reference to FIG. 3, a plot 100 of the two above noted simulations (i.e., Fuel.sub.ref in sub-block 56 and Fuel in sub-block 58) is shown. As can be understood from plot 100, for the same travel distance, one spent more electricity (`.DELTA.SOC`) and the other spent more fuel (`.DELTA.Fuel`). (Note that the straight lines in plot 100 simply connect the beginning and ending SOCs for simple illustration and do not represent the SOC depletion rate.) Such .DELTA.SOC and .DELTA.Fuel can be viewed as `equivalent` in achieving identical driving distance. Thus, for each specific driving pattern and for a specific remaining charge LSOC, a `SOC to Fuel` equivalence factor .alpha. is calculated in sub-block 60 using the following equation: .alpha. = Factor k ( S O C t ) = .DELTA. Fuel .DELTA. S O C = Fuel ref - Fuel S O C t - S O C min ##EQU00001##”, paragraph [0055], “Upon completion of the above procedures on a given driving pattern, a table is constructed to represent the `SOC to Fuel` equivalence factors as a function of SOC for the given driving pattern. As shown in block 54, the above procedures are iterated for all driving patterns to thereby produce a distinct `Equivalence Factor Table` 62 for each driving pattern (descriptively labeled "`SOC to Fuel` Equivalence Factor Tables"). For instance, if the number of driving patterns is `NumPattern`, then there are NumPattern of such tables 62”, and paragraph [0060], “In online step4 shown in block 74, the equivalent `.DELTA.Fuel` of the remaining `.DELTA.SOC` is calculated in accordance with the following equation: .DELTA.Fuel.sub.equivalent=(SOC.sub.t-SOC.sub.min)*.alpha..sub.- t. The determined equivalent .DELTA.Fuel (i.e., .DELTA.Fuel.sub.equivalent) is output from block 74 to block 76.” The ‘SOC to Fuel’ equivalence factor corresponds to the conversion ratio.); and the first equivalent consumption amount (See at least paragraph [0061], “In online step5 shown in block 78, the distance to empty value at time t (i.e., `DTE.sub.t`) is calculated in accordance with the following equation: DTE.sub.t=(Fuel Left+.DELTA.Fuel.sub.equivalent)*FE_Average.sub.k.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of LENG with the teachings of Wang such that the hybrid electric vehicle system of LENG is further configured to utilize a processor and a memory storing one or more program codes, wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more program codes, is caused to: determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0043], [0052], [0055], [0060], [0061].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more accurate distance-to-empty information, therefore allowing drivers to evaluate vehicle performance and minimize trip cost, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0004].).
Regarding Claim 11, LENG teaches acquire a residual fuel amount in a hybrid electric vehicle, and a first fuel consumption amount per unit distance and a first electricity consumption amount per unit distance (See at least paragraph [0008], “the present invention provides a method for displaying the remaining driving range of a hybrid electric vehicle. The method includes: when the current driving range is less than a first distance, displaying the remaining fuel driving range and displaying the remaining electric driving range are correlated with the vehicle's historical fuel consumption level and historical electric consumption level; and when the current driving range is greater than a second distance, displaying the remaining fuel driving range and displaying the remaining electric driving range are not correlated with the vehicle's historical fuel consumption level and historical electric consumption level”, paragraph [0019], “According to one embodiment of the present invention, in order to calculate and display the remaining driving range of fuel and the remaining driving range of battery, the driving range calculation unit 10 can be configured to obtain the remaining fuel quantity, the current state of charge of the power battery and the current driving range from the HCU, that is, the driving range from the starting point of this trip to the current point. In this embodiment, the driving range calculation unit 10 can be configured to calculate the remaining power based on the current state of charge of the power battery and the capacity of the power battery”, paragraph [0027], “First average fuel consumption rate = (equivalent total fuel consumption from the starting point to the current point + historical equivalent total fuel consumption) / (mileage driven from the starting point to the current point + historical total mileage)”, and paragraph [0028], “First average energy consumption rate = (equivalent total energy consumption from the starting point to the current point + historical equivalent total energy consumption) / (distance traveled from the starting point to the current point + historical total distance traveled).” The first average fuel consumption rate and first average energy consumption rate correspond to the first fuel consumption amount per unit distance and the first electricity amount per unit distance, respectively.); and determine an available range of the residual fuel amount in the hybrid electric vehicle based on the residual fuel amount, the first fuel consumption amount (See at least paragraph [0022], “According to one embodiment of the present invention, when the current driving mileage is less than a first distance, the remaining driving mileage calculation unit can estimate and display the remaining driving mileage based on the fuel consumption level and electricity consumption level from the starting point to the current point, as well as the vehicle's historical fuel consumption level and historical electricity consumption level. In other words, when the current mileage is less than the first distance, the historical fuel /electricity consumption level is combined with the fuel/electricity consumption level within the current mileage to make an estimate, as shown in the following formula for example” and paragraph [0025], “Average remaining driving range = Remaining fuel level / First average fuel consumption rate.”).
LENG does not explicitly disclose, however, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing one or more program codes, wherein the one or more program codes, when loaded and run by a processor, cause the processor to: determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount (See at least paragraph [0043], “Flowchart 50 represents control logic which may be implemented by controller 22 using hardware, software, or combination of hardware and software. For example, the various functions may be performed using a programmed microprocessor. The control logic may be implemented using any of a number of known programming or processing techniques or strategies and is not limited to the order or sequence illustrated. For instance, interrupt or event-driven processing is employed in real-time control applications, rather than a purely sequential strategy as illustrated. Likewise, pair processing, multitasking, or multi-threaded systems and methods may be used”, paragraph [0052], “With reference to FIG. 3, a plot 100 of the two above noted simulations (i.e., Fuel.sub.ref in sub-block 56 and Fuel in sub-block 58) is shown. As can be understood from plot 100, for the same travel distance, one spent more electricity (`.DELTA.SOC`) and the other spent more fuel (`.DELTA.Fuel`). (Note that the straight lines in plot 100 simply connect the beginning and ending SOCs for simple illustration and do not represent the SOC depletion rate.) Such .DELTA.SOC and .DELTA.Fuel can be viewed as `equivalent` in achieving identical driving distance. Thus, for each specific driving pattern and for a specific remaining charge LSOC, a `SOC to Fuel` equivalence factor .alpha. is calculated in sub-block 60 using the following equation: .alpha. = Factor k ( S O C t ) = .DELTA. Fuel .DELTA. S O C = Fuel ref - Fuel S O C t - S O C min ##EQU00001##”, paragraph [0055], “Upon completion of the above procedures on a given driving pattern, a table is constructed to represent the `SOC to Fuel` equivalence factors as a function of SOC for the given driving pattern. As shown in block 54, the above procedures are iterated for all driving patterns to thereby produce a distinct `Equivalence Factor Table` 62 for each driving pattern (descriptively labeled "`SOC to Fuel` Equivalence Factor Tables"). For instance, if the number of driving patterns is `NumPattern`, then there are NumPattern of such tables 62”, and paragraph [0060], “In online step4 shown in block 74, the equivalent `.DELTA.Fuel` of the remaining `.DELTA.SOC` is calculated in accordance with the following equation: .DELTA.Fuel.sub.equivalent=(SOC.sub.t-SOC.sub.min)*.alpha..sub.- t. The determined equivalent .DELTA.Fuel (i.e., .DELTA.Fuel.sub.equivalent) is output from block 74 to block 76.” The ‘SOC to Fuel’ equivalence factor corresponds to the conversion ratio.); and the first equivalent consumption amount (See at least paragraph [0061], “In online step5 shown in block 78, the distance to empty value at time t (i.e., `DTE.sub.t`) is calculated in accordance with the following equation: DTE.sub.t=(Fuel Left+.DELTA.Fuel.sub.equivalent)*FE_Average.sub.k.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of LENG with the teachings of Wang such that the hybrid electric vehicle system of LENG is further configured to utilize a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing one or more program codes, wherein the one or more program codes, when loaded and run by a processor, cause the processor to: determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0043], [0052], [0055], [0060], [0061].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more accurate distance-to-empty information, therefore allowing drivers to evaluate vehicle performance and minimize trip cost, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0004].).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LENG (CN 104442817 B) in view of Wang (US 20120116620 A1) and HAHNE (DE 102013013540 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, LENG and Wang teach The method according to claim 2, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. further comprising: determining a ratio of the residual fuel amount to a first consumption amount threshold as the available range of the residual fuel amount in a case that the average fuel consumption amount is less than the first consumption amount threshold; or LENG teaches determining a ratio of the residual fuel amount to a second consumption amount (See at least paragraph [0037], “Average remaining driving range = Remaining fuel level / Second average fuel consumption rate” and paragraph [0039], “Second average fuel consumption rate = Equivalent total fuel consumption within the second distance before the current point / Second distance.”).
LENG and Wang do not explicitly disclose, however, HAHNE, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a threshold; in a case that the average fuel consumption amount is greater than the second consumption amount threshold (See at least paragraph [0047], “The determination of the first remaining range can be carried out on the basis of a first consumption model characterizing an energy-saving driving mode and the determination of the second remaining range can be carried out on the basis of a second consumption model characterizing an energy-intensive driving mode. For example, the first remaining range is determined based on an average fuel consumption and the determined fill level of the fuel tank. The second remaining range can be determined, for example, on the basis of the ascertained instantaneous state of charge or the ascertained instantaneous capacity of the battery on the basis of a maximum consumption value characterizing an energy-intensive manner of travel” and paragraph [0055], “In addition or as an alternative to step 90, in a further refinement of the method, an instantaneous energy consumption of the first motor and/or of the second motor can be ascertained and an instantaneous power consumption of the first motor and/or of the second motor and/or an instantaneous speed of the hybrid vehicle can be automatically limited if the ascertained instantaneous energy consumption exceeds a third predetermined threshold value for a predetermined duration. The hybrid vehicle can thus also be placed in a kind of emergency mode in the mentioned case.” The maximum consumption value corresponds to a consumption amount threshold, wherein the system further determines when an energy consumption exceeds a predetermined threshold value.); wherein the first consumption amount threshold is less than second consumption amount threshold (See at least paragraph [0047], “The determination of the first remaining range can be carried out on the basis of a first consumption model characterizing an energy-saving driving mode and the determination of the second remaining range can be carried out on the basis of a second consumption model characterizing an energy-intensive driving mode. For example, the first remaining range is determined based on an average fuel consumption and the determined fill level of the fuel tank. The second remaining range can be determined, for example, on the basis of the ascertained instantaneous state of charge or the ascertained instantaneous capacity of the battery on the basis of a maximum consumption value characterizing an energy-intensive manner of travel” and paragraph [0055], “In addition or as an alternative to step 90, in a further refinement of the method, an instantaneous energy consumption of the first motor and/or of the second motor can be ascertained and an instantaneous power consumption of the first motor and/or of the second motor and/or an instantaneous speed of the hybrid vehicle can be automatically limited if the ascertained instantaneous energy consumption exceeds a third predetermined threshold value for a predetermined duration. The hybrid vehicle can thus also be placed in a kind of emergency mode in the mentioned case.” The average consumption associated with the energy-saving condition corresponds to a lower consumption threshold than the maximum consumption value associated with the energy-intensive condition.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of LENG with the teachings of Wang and HAHNE such that the hybrid electric vehicle system of LENG is further configured to determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount; determine a sum of the first fuel consumption amount and the first equivalent consumption amount as an average fuel consumption amount per unit distance; and determine a product of the ratio and the unit distance as the available range of the residual fuel amount, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0049], [0052], [0055], [0060], [0061], [0066].), and utilize a threshold; in a case that the average fuel consumption amount is greater than the second consumption amount threshold, as taught by HAHNE (See paragraph [0047], [0055].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more accurate distance-to-empty information, therefore allowing drivers to evaluate vehicle performance and minimize trip cost, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0004].), and to provide a further improved determination of the remaining range of the hybrid vehicle, as taught by HAHNE (See paragraph [0003].).
With respect to claim 13, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 3, which is commensurate in scope to claim 13, with claim 3 being drawn to a method for determining an available range and claim 13 being drawn to a corresponding hybrid electric vehicle.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LENG (CN 104442817 B) in view of Wang (US 20120116620 A1) and Dufford (US 20140200793 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, LENG and Wang teach The method according to claim 4, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. LENG does not explicitly disclose, however, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a process of determining the ratio of the second fuel consumption amount to the second electricity consumption amount as the conversion ratio is performed (See at least paragraph [0052], “With reference to FIG. 3, a plot 100 of the two above noted simulations (i.e., Fuel.sub.ref in sub-block 56 and Fuel in sub-block 58) is shown. As can be understood from plot 100, for the same travel distance, one spent more electricity (`.DELTA.SOC`) and the other spent more fuel (`.DELTA.Fuel`). (Note that the straight lines in plot 100 simply connect the beginning and ending SOCs for simple illustration and do not represent the SOC depletion rate.) Such .DELTA.SOC and .DELTA.Fuel can be viewed as `equivalent` in achieving identical driving distance. Thus, for each specific driving pattern and for a specific remaining charge LSOC, a `SOC to Fuel` equivalence factor .alpha. is calculated in sub-block 60 using the following equation: .alpha. = Factor k ( S O C t ) = .DELTA. Fuel .DELTA. S O C = Fuel ref - Fuel S O C t - S O C min ##EQU00001##.”).
LENG and Wang do not explicitly disclose, however, Dufford, in the same field of endeavor, teaches each predetermined time interval, and acquiring the second electricity consumption amount in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by electric energy and the second fuel consumption amount in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by fuel comprises: acquiring the second electricity consumption amount in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by electric energy and the second fuel consumption amount in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by fuel each predetermined time interval (See at least paragraph [0040], “Referring to FIG. 4, a decision flowchart diagram shows a method of determining and displaying a fuel-equivalent distance-per-energy rate according to an embodiment of the present invention. The electronic control unit 102 may be configured to determine the fuel consumption rate in step 402, integrate the fuel consumption rate over the time period in step 408 in order to determine the fuel consumption sum amount in step 412. The fuel consumption sum amount determined in step 412 may initially be in any unit of fuel amount and converted to a number of gallons or liters of fuel consumed. Simultaneously in real time during the operation of the vehicle 100, the electronic control unit 102 may determine the non-fuel consumption rate in step 404, and integrate the non-fuel consumption rate over the time period in step 406 in order to determine the non-fuel consumption sum amount using a constant conversion rate in step 422” and paragraph [0043], “Referring to FIG. 4, in step 444, the electronic control unit 102 or another controller/processor may improve an engine operation, a charging/discharging operation, power control, an HVAC operation, tuning or other operations of the units of the vehicle 100 based on the determined fuel-equivalent distance-per-energy rate in step 432 in order to achieve a higher overall energy consumption efficiency. Step 444 may also be based on the fuel-equivalent cost amount determined in step 436 in order to change operations of the various units of the vehicle 100 in real time in order to minimize the fuel-equivalent cost amount. Such a feedback system enhances an overall energy efficiency of the vehicle 100 and/or minimizes the cost of total energy consumption in real time. Each step is repeated periodically (e.g., every 500 milliseconds) as shown in step 446, thereby allowing the feedback system of step 444 and the displayed images and indicators in steps 436, 438, 440 and 442 to depend upon the real time energy consumption values.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of LENG with the teachings of Wang and Dufford such that the hybrid electric vehicle system of LENG is further configured to determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount; and determine a ratio of the second fuel consumption amount to the second electricity consumption amount as the conversion ratio, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0052], [0055], [0060], [0061].), and utilize each predetermined time interval, and acquiring the second electricity consumption amount in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by electric energy and the second fuel consumption amount in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by fuel comprises: acquiring the second electricity consumption amount in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by electric energy and the second fuel consumption amount in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by fuel each predetermined time interval, as taught by Dufford (See paragraph [0040], [0043].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more accurate distance-to-empty information, therefore allowing drivers to evaluate vehicle performance and minimize trip cost, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0004].), and to provide a more accurate assessment of the distance the vehicle can travel per an amount of energy consumed, as taught by Dufford (See paragraph [0005].).
With respect to claim 15, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 5, which is commensurate in scope to claim 15, with claim 5 being drawn to a method for determining an available range and claim 15 being drawn to a corresponding hybrid electric vehicle.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LENG (CN 104442817 B) in view of Wang (US 20120116620 A1) and Yu (US 20140163789 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, LENG and Wang teach The method according to claim 4, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. LENG and Wang do not explicitly disclose, however, Yu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: acquiring a third electricity consumption amount and a third fuel consumption amount consumed by a target distance of the hybrid electric vehicle, wherein the third electricity consumption amount is an electricity amount consumed in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by electric energy, and the third fuel consumption amount is a fuel amount consumed in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by fuel (See at least paragraph [0014], “FIG. 6 illustrates battery power as a function of vehicle speed and demand power at the wheel that is determined as a function of energy consumption ratio of fuel consumption rate to electricity consumption rate with respect to battery SOC” and paragraph [0028], “During the extended CD state 216, the PHEV powertrain is managed in a blended operating mode in which the engine and the battery are optimally coordinated in satisfying the drive power demand (torque demand) based on the control strategy examples provided in FIG. 2b, FIG. 2c, and FIG. 2d. The drive power allocation to both energy sources is dynamically adjusted in order to achieve an optimum Energy Consumption Ratio (ECR) that minimizes the Fuel Consumption Rate (FCR) with respect to the Electricity Depletion Rate (EDR). The fuel consumption rate may be based on distance or time and the electricity depletion rate may be based on distance or time.”); and acquiring an adjusted conversion ratio by adjusting the conversion ratio based on a ratio of the third fuel consumption amount to the third electricity consumption amount and the conversion ratio (See at least paragraph [0024], “The change in energy consumption ratio .DELTA..lamda. can be calculated in different ways, an example is calculated in the spatial domain in the Battery Depletion Control block 126 with the following equation: .DELTA..lamda.=.lamda.(k)-.lamda.(k-1)=Ctrl.sub.fb(.epsilon..sub.SOC)” and paragraph [0025], “The value of .lamda. is determined from a setpoint and adjusted according to the .DELTA..lamda. in block 128.” The system adjusts the energy consumption ratio from a previous value based on a determined change in the energy consumption ratio to acquire an adjusted energy consumption ratio.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of LENG with the teachings of Wang and Yu such that the hybrid electric vehicle system of LENG is further configured to determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount; and determine a ratio of the second fuel consumption amount to the second electricity consumption amount as the conversion ratio, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0052], [0055], [0060], [0061].), and acquire a third electricity consumption amount and a third fuel consumption amount consumed by a target distance of the hybrid electric vehicle, wherein the third electricity consumption amount is an electricity amount consumed in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by electric energy, and the third fuel consumption amount is a fuel amount consumed in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by fuel; and acquire an adjusted conversion ratio by adjusting the conversion ratio based on a ratio of the third fuel consumption amount to the third electricity consumption amount and the conversion ratio, as taught by Yu (See paragraph [0014], [0024], [0025], [0028].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more accurate distance-to-empty information, therefore allowing drivers to evaluate vehicle performance and minimize trip cost, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0004].), and to minimize energy operational costs and emissions without compromising vehicle drivability and system constraints, as taught by Yu (See paragraph [0003].).
With respect to claim 16, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 6, which is commensurate in scope to claim 16, with claim 6 being drawn to a method for determining an available range and claim 16 being drawn to a corresponding hybrid electric vehicle.
Regarding Claim 7, LENG, Wang, and Yu teach The method according to claim 6, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. LENG and Wang do not explicitly disclose, however, Yu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein acquiring the adjusted conversion ratio by adjusting the conversion ratio based on the ratio of the third fuel consumption amount to the third electricity consumption amount and the conversion ratio comprises: acquiring the adjusted conversion ratio by increasing the conversion ratio by a first ratio in a case that the ratio of the third fuel consumption amount to the third electricity consumption amount is greater than the conversion ratio (See at least paragraph [0019], “Next, the trip specific optimal fuel consumption to electricity depletion ratio index is adaptively searched online through a feedback control mechanism such that the overall controlled energy consumption process achieves approximately the preplanned optimal process”, paragraph [0024], “The change in energy consumption ratio .DELTA..lamda. can be calculated in different ways, an example is calculated in the spatial domain in the Battery Depletion Control block 126 with the following equation: .DELTA..lamda.=.lamda.(k)-.lamda.(k-1)=Ctrl.sub.fb(.epsilon..sub.SOC)”, and paragraph [0025], “The value of .lamda. is determined from a setpoint and adjusted according to the .DELTA..lamda. in block 128.” The system increases the energy consumption ratio from a previous value by a determined change in the energy consumption ratio to acquire an adjusted energy consumption ratio that is greater than the previous energy consumption ratio.); determining a product of the conversion ratio and a second ratio as the adjusted conversion ratio in a case that the ratio of the third fuel consumption amount to the third electricity consumption amount is greater than the conversion ratio; acquiring the adjusted conversion ratio by reducing the conversion ratio by a third ratio in a case that the ratio of the third fuel consumption amount to the third electricity consumption amount is less than the conversion ratio; or determining a product of the conversion ratio and a fourth ratio as the adjusted conversion ratio in a case that the ratio of the third fuel consumption amount to the third electricity consumption amount is less than the conversion ratio.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of LENG with the teachings of Wang and Yu such that the hybrid electric vehicle system of LENG is further configured to determine a product of the first electricity consumption amount and a conversion ratio as a first equivalent consumption amount, wherein the conversion ratio is a ratio of a fuel consumption amount to an electricity consumption amount per unit distance in a history driving process of the hybrid electric vehicle, and the first equivalent consumption amount refers to a fuel consumption amount converted from the first electricity consumption amount; and determine a ratio of the second fuel consumption amount to the second electricity consumption amount as the conversion ratio, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0052], [0055], [0060], [0061].), and acquire a third electricity consumption amount and a third fuel consumption amount consumed by a target distance of the hybrid electric vehicle, wherein the third electricity consumption amount is an electricity amount consumed in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by electric energy, and the third fuel consumption amount is a fuel amount consumed in the case that the hybrid electric vehicle is driven by fuel; acquire an adjusted conversion ratio by adjusting the conversion ratio based on a ratio of the third fuel consumption amount to the third electricity consumption amount and the conversion ratio; and acquire the adjusted conversion ratio by increasing the conversion ratio by a first ratio in a case that the ratio of the third fuel consumption amount to the third electricity consumption amount is greater than the conversion ratio, as taught by Yu (See paragraph [0014], [0019], [0024], [0025], [0028].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more accurate distance-to-empty information, therefore allowing drivers to evaluate vehicle performance and minimize trip cost, as taught by Wang (See paragraph [0004].), and to minimize energy operational costs and emissions without compromising vehicle drivability and system constraints, as taught by Yu (See paragraph [0003].).
With respect to claim 17, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 7, which is commensurate in scope to claim 17, with claim 7 being drawn to a method for determining an available range and claim 17 being drawn to a corresponding hybrid electric vehicle.
Conclusion
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666