Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 1/27/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the prior drawing objections, prior 112(b) rejections, Applicant’s amendments overcome all prior objections/rejections.
Regarding the prior art rejection of claim 1, in paragraph 2 of page 10 through paragraph 1 of page 11 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant’s arguments are directed to that the prior art “Patten” fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the amended limitation “and where a surface roughness of the outer layer reduces vortex induced vibrations of the blade connecting tension member” of amended claim 1.
Examiner appreciates Applicant’s remarks linking the discussions of the 1/16/2026 interview and the relevant MPEP sections to the claim 1 amendment.
However, respectfully, the arguments are not persuasive. Discussion elaborating follows:
The limitation “and where a surface roughness of the outer layer reduces vortex induced vibrations of the blade connecting tension member” is a functional limitation.
Regarding functional limitations, courts have established that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2114(II).
It has also been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
In this case, the device in the prior art reference has all the necessary structure (Patten’s cable also has: a core, and a surface texture providing layer having a rough inner layer and a smooth outer layer) and therefore performs the claimed function (the smooth layer reduces vortices, or, put differently, the surface roughness of the outer layer reduces vortices) in the same manner as Applicant’s device. Since the prior art discloses all of the same structural elements which Applicant claims, the prior art structure would be expected to perform the same as Applicant’s structure, the prior art’s outer layer (or the surface roughness of the outer layer) being capable of reducing vortex induced vibrations of the blade connecting tension member. This is true even if the prior art does not specify that the smooth outer layer is explicitly for a purpose of reducing vortices; the smooth outer layer nonetheless reduces vortices (or, put differently, the smooth outer layer has a roughness that nonetheless reduces vortices).
A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
A recitation of the intended use, or intended result, of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is also noted that Applicant's specification at the top of page 21 identifies "The surface roughness defined by the outer layer 12, with the braided inner layer underneath, ensures that vortex induced vibrations of the blade connecting tension member 8, as air moves along the blade connecting tension member 8, are reduced." which reinforces that covering a braided (i.e. relatively rough) inner layer with a relatively smooth outer layer has the effect/result of reducing vortices. This completely applies to Patten’s cable, same as it does to Applicant’s cable.
In paragraph 1 of page 11 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant’s arguments are further directed to that “Applicant asserts MPEP § 2112.01(1) is not satisfied, as the features of Patten's tether do not have the same functions as recited in claim 1 - i.e., vortex induced vibrations are not mitigated in Patten”. This statement is, respectfully, not persuasive because Patten’s cable in fact does mitigate vortex induced vibrations (reasons discussed above), it is just that Patten may not specify in his disclosure that his cable is explicitly for that purpose/function.
For the reasons identified directly above, and because each claimed limitation is mapped to the same prior art of the previous office action, the arguments are not persuasive. Please see mapping of amended limitations to prior art below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120051914 A1 (hereinafter Dehlsen) in view of US 20160056621 A1 (hereinafter Patten).
Examiner’s note: All mapping below (references made to reference characters, figures, paragraphs, etc.) is with regard to the base reference (the first reference identified above) unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 1, Dehlsen discloses:
A wind turbine comprising a tower, a nacelle mounted on the tower, a hub mounted rotatably on the nacelle, and three or more wind turbine blades, wherein each wind turbine blade extends between a root end connected to the hub, and a tip end arranged opposite to the root end (Fig 1 shows all this),
the wind turbine further comprising blade connecting tension members (40, 42, 44, 46, 48; Fig 1),
each blade connecting tension member extending between a connection point at one wind turbine blade of the three or more wind turbine blades and a connection point at a neighbouring wind turbine blade of the three or more wind turbine blades (Fig 1 shows this),
where connection points of the three or more wind turbine blade are arranged at a distance from the root end and at a distance from the tip end of a respective wind turbine blade (Fig 1 shows this),
Dehlsen may not explicitly disclose:
wherein each blade connecting tension member comprises:
a tension member core,
and a surface texture providing layer arranged circumferentially with respect to the tension member core, thereby modifying a surface texture of an outer surface of the blade connecting tension member,
and wherein the surface texture providing layer comprises an inner layer arranged circumferentially with respect to the tension member core and an outer layer arranged circumferentially with respect to the inner layer,
wherein the inner layer defines a higher surface roughness than the outer layer.
However, Patten, in the same field of endeavor, wind turbines, teaches:
A cable 500 (Fig 5a, Fig 5b) suitable for use with wind turbine components (title; para 0001) which comprises:
a tension member core (512; Fig 5a),
and a surface texture providing layer (520 combined with 530, 540; Fig 5a; wherein each surface inherently has a texture) arranged circumferentially with respect to the tension member core (Fig 5a shows this), thereby modifying a surface texture (wherein a texture may be “the way that something feels when you touch it” per https://www.britannica.com/dictionary/texture) of an outer surface (the radially outer-most surface of 512, wherein 512 may be Zylon material per para 0092 and 540 may be other materials per para 0125),
and wherein the surface texture providing layer comprises an inner layer (520 combined with 530) arranged circumferentially with respect to the tension member core (Fig 5a shows this) and an outer layer (540; Fig 5a) arranged circumferentially with respect to the inner layer (Fig 5a shows this),
wherein the inner layer defines a higher surface roughness than the outer layer (evident from Figs 5a and 5b, a general roughness across a surface generally defined by the plurality of the conductors 530 and the interstices 580 would be higher/rougher than a general roughness across the radially outer-most surface of jacket 540, both general surface roughnesses obtained in a circumferential direction as identified by the arrows of reference characters A-A in Fig 5a; note that para 0121 identifies via use of the term “may” that fill material 590 is optional. In other words, it is plainly evident from Fig 5a that the surface defined by the plurality of the conductors 530 is rougher than the surface of jacket 540, because the conductors 530 are a grouping of cables which define a bumpy/uneven/irregular surface, and the jacket 540 is obviously shown having a relatively smooth/even/regular surface.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Dehlsen to include Patten’s teachings as described above, having Dehlsen’s blade connecting tension members constructed as Patten’s cable, in order to utilize a design which may for example “reduce a size of the tether, reduce a weight of the tether, reduce a drag on the tether, and/or improve the resistance of the tether to various loads, such as fatigue loads” (para 0004).
and where a surface roughness of the outer layer reduces vortex induced vibrations of the blade connecting tension member (functional limitation).
Examiner’s note: Regarding limitations identified as “functional limitation”:
Courts have established that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2114(II).
It has also been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
In this case, the device in the prior art reference has all the necessary structure (Patten’s cable also has: a core, and a surface texture providing layer having a rough inner layer and a smooth outer layer) and therefore performs the claimed function (the smooth layer reduces vortices, or, put differently, the surface roughness of the outer layer reduces vortices) in the same manner as Applicant’s device. Since the prior art discloses all of the same structural elements which Applicant claims, the prior art structure would be expected to perform the same as Applicant’s structure, the prior art’s outer layer (or the surface roughness of the outer layer) being capable of reducing vortex induced vibrations of the blade connecting tension member. This is true even if the prior art does not specify that the smooth outer layer is explicitly for a purpose of reducing vortices; the smooth outer layer nonetheless reduces vortices (or, put differently, the smooth outer layer has a roughness that nonetheless reduces vortices).
A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
A recitation of the intended use, or intended result, of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is also noted that Applicant's specification at the top of page 21 identifies "The surface roughness defined by the outer layer 12, with the braided inner layer underneath, ensures that vortex induced vibrations of the blade connecting tension member 8, as air moves along the blade connecting tension member 8, are reduced." which reinforces that covering a braided (i.e. relatively rough) inner layer with a relatively smooth outer layer has the effect/result of reducing vortices. This completely applies to Patten’s cable, same as it does to Applicant’s cable.
Regarding claim 4, Dehlsen, as modified above, discloses:
the outer layer is or comprises a thermoplastic shrink foil, a coating or an extruded layer (Patten para 0125: “jacket 540 may be extruded”).
Regarding claim 5, Dehlsen, as modified above, discloses:
the inner layer is or comprises a woven or braided layer (Patten para 0127 identifies that the cable may include a “braided layer may be located between the plurality of electrical conductors 530 and the jacket 540”).
Regarding claim 7, Dehlsen, as modified above, discloses:
the tension member core is made from a polymer material (Patten 512 may be Zylon material per para 0092).
Regarding claim 10, Dehlsen, as modified above, discloses:
the wind turbine is a pitch controlled wind turbine (Dehlsen abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Art Golik/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745