DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (JP 2009286457 (A)) which in figures 4 and 5 disclose the following claimed invention:
In re claim 1: a container 1 formed from a polymeric (PET) parison 11 by injection blow molding, the container 1 comprising: a finish 2 defining an opening (opening in2); a body 3 defining an internal volume of the container 1; and a base 4 including a standing ring (ring at the perimeter of the base 4) configured to support the container 1 upright when seated on a flat surface (see figure 4), an inner surface of the base 4 defines a lower end (adjacent 5) of the internal volume, the inner surface slopes downward from a sidewall to a radial center of the base 4 such that the radial center (adjacent 5) is a lowermost portion of the inner surface of the base 4 and the inner surface provides a funnel directing contents of the internal volume down to the radial center of the base 4 (see figure 4 directly above).
It should be noted that, the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. (Same cite as above).
Takahashi et al. further discloses:
In re claim 2: the standing ring (ring at the perimeter of the base 4) has a thickness that is greater than a remainder of the base 4 (see figure 4 directly above).
In re claim 3: the standing ring (ring at the perimeter of the base 4) has a thickness that is greater than a sidewall thickness of the body 3 (see figure 4 directly above).
In re claim 4: the standing ring (ring at the perimeter of the base 4) has a thickness that is greater than any other thickness of the container 1 (see figure 4 directly above).
In re claim 8: the container is a monolithic container 1 formed entirely by injection blow molding a parison (see [0006]-[0007]).
It should be noted that, the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. (Same cite as above).
In re claim 9: the base 4 is monolithic (see figures 4 and 5).
In re claim 12: the base 4 includes an outer surface surrounded by the standing ring (ring at the perimeter of the base 4), the outer surface is angled outward such that a lowermost portion of the outer surface is at the radial center (adjacent 5) of the base 4 (see figure 4 directly above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 10-11 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (JP 2009286457 (A)) in view of Dhuppad et al. (US 2021/0220574). Takahashi et al. discloses the claimed invention as discussed above with the exception of the following claimed limitations that are taught by Dhuppad et al.:
In re claim 5: a container 210 that is a spray bottle (see figure 2 and [0022] of Dhuppad et al.).
In re claim 6: a spray tip in cooperation with the finish; and a tube 250 extending from the spray tip nearly to the radial center 230 of the base 220 (see figure 2 and [0022] of Dhuppad et al.).
In re claim 7: the tube 250 extends along a longitudinal axis of the container 230, the longitudinal axis extending through a radial center of the finish and the radial center of the base 230 (see figure 2 and [0072]-[0073] of Dhuppad et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to replace the pump tip assembly of Takahashi et al. with a spray tip assembly as taught by Dhuppad et al. in order to allow for the liquid to be removed in a desired way depending on the liquid being stored (see figure 2, [0022] and [0072]-[0073] of Dhuppad et al.).
In re claim 10: the inner surface of the base 220 has a V-shape in cross-section (see figure 2 of Dhuppad et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to replace the U-shaped cross-section of Takahashi et al. with the V-shaped cross-section as taught by Dhuppad et al. as a slightly improved means to direct contents to the center of the base when in use (see figure 2 of Dhuppad et al.).
In re claim 11: the container 210 is formed from high-density polyethylene (see [0082] of Dhuppad et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to replace the PET material of Takahashi et al. with the HDPE material as taught by Dhuppad et al. as an equivalent material in order to provide the correct protection for the liquid that will be stored within the container (see [0082] of Dhuppad et al.). Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In re claim 13: Takahashi et al. discloses a container 1 formed from a polymeric material (PET), the container 1 comprising: a finish 2 defining an opening (opening in 2); a pump tip 22 in cooperation with the finish 2; a body 3 defining an internal volume of the container 1; a base 4 including a standing ring (ring at the perimeter of the base 4) configured to support the container 1 upright when seated on a flat surface (see figure 4), an inner surface of the base 4 defines a lower end (adjacent 5) of the internal volume, the inner surface slopes downward from a sidewall to a radial center (adjacent 5) of the base 4 such that the radial center (adjacent 5) is a lowermost portion of the inner surface of the base 4 and the inner surface provides a funnel directing contents of the internal volume down to the radial center (adjacent 5) of the base 4; and a tube 23 extending from the pump tip 22 nearly to the radial center (adjacent 5) of the base 4, the tube 23 extending along a longitudinal axis of the container 1, the longitudinal axis extending through a radial center of the finish 2 and the radial center of the base 4; wherein the finish 2, the body 3 , and the base 4 including the standing ring (ring at the perimeter of the base 4) are monolithic (see figure 4 of Takahashi et al. above).
Takahashi et al. discloses the claimed invention as discussed above with the exception of the following claimed limitation that is taught by :
a container 210 that is a spray bottle with a spray tip (see figure 2 and [0022] of Dhuppad et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to replace the pump tip assembly of Takahashi et al. with a spray tip assembly as taught by Dhuppad et al. in order to allow for the liquid to be removed in a desired way depending on the liquid being stored (see figure 2, [0022] and [0072]-[0073] of Dhuppad et al.).
In re claim 14: the finish 2, the body 3, and the base 4 are formed entirely from a parison 11 by injection blow molding (see [0006]-[0007] of Takahashi et al.).
It should be noted that, the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. (Same cite as above).
In re claim 15: the inner surface of the base 220 has a V-shape in cross-section (see figure 2 of Dhuppad et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to replace the U-shaped cross-section of Takahashi et al. with the V-shaped cross-section as taught by Dhuppad et al. as a slightly improved means to direct contents to the center of the base when in use (see figure 2 of Dhuppad et al.).
In re claim 16: the container 210 is formed from high-density polyethylene (see [0082] of Dhuppad et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to replace the PET material of Takahashi et al. with the HDPE material as taught by Dhuppad et al. as an equivalent material in order to provide the correct protection for the liquid that will be stored within the container (see [0082] of Dhuppad et al.). Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In re claim 17: the base 4 includes an outer surface surrounded by the standing ring (ring at the perimeter of the base 4), the outer surface is angled outward such that a lowermost portion of the outer surface is at the radial center (adjacent 5) of the base 4 (see figure 4 above of Takahashi et al.).
In re claim 18: the standing ring has a thickness that is greater than a remainder of the base the standing ring (ring at the perimeter of the base 4) has a thickness that is greater than a remainder of the base 4 (see figure 4 above of Takahashi et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892 for prior art that teaches and suggest structural limitations of the claimed and disclosed invention.
/ERNESTO A GRANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735