DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 11/05/2025, cancelled claims 21-34 and 36-41.
Claims 1-20 and 35 are pending and examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 depends from claim 2, wherein claim 2 recites a compound of Formula I:
.
However, the stereochemistry of many of the bonds of the compounds in claim 5 are outside the scope of the stereochemistry of bonds depicted in Formula I.
For example, see the first compound in claim 5, which depicts dash bonds where Formula I depicts wedge bonds:
.
Additionally, the final compound of claim 5 is missing a “F,” which is outside of the scope of instant Formula I:
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-In claim 2, which depends from claim 1 and is a prodrug of the compound of claim 1, it is not clear why the stereochemistry of
in claim 2, is different from the stereochemistry of
in claim 1. It is not clear if a stereochemistry typo was made, or if the difference in stereochemistry means that compounds of Formula I at the arrowed bonds’ positions can have any type of spatial arrangement, or if these compounds must have the spatial arrangement depicted by the solid bonds of Formula I.
In view of compact prosecution, for the purpose of applying prior art, the arrowed bonds of the compound of Formula I are interpreted as having any type of special arrangement at these positions.
-The compounds of claims 6, 10, and 14 are prodrug compounds or salts of claim 1 and have the following structures:
,
, and
, respectively. However, the compound of claim 1 has the following structure:
. As such, it is not clear how the 8-membered, bridged nitrogen heteroring depicted in the compound of claim 1, is related as a prodrug to the compound of Formulas II or III or IV, since Formulas II-IV depict a spirocyclic piperidine attached to a hydantoin ring at the 8-membered, bridged nitrogen heteroring position of the compound of claim 1.
And further regarding Formulas III and IV, it is not clear how the fluorine substituted pyrrolizidine depicted in the compound of claim 1 is related as a prodrug to the compound of Formula III which depicts a fluroethylene group substituted at the fluorine position of the pyrrolizidine ring of claim 1, and it is not clear how the fluorine substituted pyrrolizidine depicted I the compound of claim 1 is related as a prodrug to the compound of Formula IV which depicts an ethylene group substituted at the fluorine position of the pyrrolizidine ring of claim.
All other claims not specifically recited are rejected for depending from an indefinite claim and failing to cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)-Written Description
Claims 1, 18-20, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2163.
Independent claim 1 recites, “A prodrug of a compound of the following structure:
or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.”
However, the specification only provides 4 sub-genuses of the prodrug of the compound of instant claim 1, wherein three of the sub-genuses do not share the same core structure with the compound of claim 1:
,
,
and
The specification exemplifies 80 compounds, wherein compounds 1-26 are those of Formula I, compounds 27-69 are those of Formula II, compounds 70-76 are those of Formula III, and compounds 77-80 are those of Formula IV. However, the specification only provides data on the stability of the compounds as prodrugs in Compounds 1-76 (Table 1, pgs. 182-138) , i.e., Formulas I-III and compounds 1-67 (Table 2, pgs. 185-186), i.e., Formulas I-II. Thus no data on compound IV is provided or any other prodrug outside the scope of compounds of Formulas I-III.
As seen in Tables 1 and 2, the t1/2(min) values range from 1 to >289 in compounds having the same core structure (compounds of Formulas I-III); compounds of the same core structure, have drastically different t1/2(min) values. Thus, it is not possible to determine a structure-function relationship amongst the prodrugs of the compounds of instant claim 1 or the prodrugs of Formulas I-IV that is critical to impart their usefulness as prodrugs of the compound of claim 1.
Bundgaard (Design of Programs, PTO-892) teaches that the necessary conversion or activation of prodrugs to the parent drug molecules in the body can take place by a variety of reactions (pg. 1). Several types of bio-reversible derivatives have been exploited for utilization in designing prodrugs (pg. 2).
Bundgaard teaches esters as prodrugs for compounds containing carboxyl and hydroxyl groups (pg. 3), teaches that sulphate esters of alcohols and phenols have long been considered as prodrug forms useful for obtaining injectable preparations (pg. 9), and that N-Mannich bases are useful prodrugs for NH-acidic compounds, such as amides, imides, carbamates, hydantoins and urea derivatives (pg. 10). Bundgaard further teaches n-hydroxymethyl derivatives, N-acyloxyalkyl derivatives, N-acyl derivatives, quaternary derivatives of tertiary amines, Schiff bases, enaminones, azo compounds, oxazolidines, 4-imidazolidinones, oximes, oxazolidines, thiazolidines, acetals, ketals, enol esters, barbituric acids, hydantoins, oxazolidinediones, lactones, derivatives of CH-acidic compounds, enzyme specified prodrugs of acyclovir, glycosidic prodrugs, and macromolecules such as proteins, nucleic acids, and antibodies, as prodrugs (pgs. 16, 21, 24, 36, 38, 39, 42, 43, 45, 47, 48, 51, 53, 55, 75-79).
Thus, the prior art teaches prodrugs as compounds containing chemical and biological groups ranging in structure and function from esters to macromolecules.
While [00056] of the specification defines prodrug as:
, this definition is not a limiting definition. [0056] generically defines prodrugs by what the do, but fails to define the instantly claimed prodrug as recited in claim 1.
As discussed in MPEP 2163II.A(3)(ii), the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A)above), reduction to drawing (see i)(B)above), or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the inventor was in possession of the claimed genus. . .A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The instant specification only provides 4 possible generic compounds of “prodrug” wherein the disclosure, through preferred examples, teaches that prodrugs of a given compound can be compounds that do not even share the same core structures:
COMPOUND of CLAIM 1
DESCRIBED PRODRUGS OF THE COMPOUND
The species disclosed in the specification are very limited in scope when compared to the expansive scope of the “prodrug of a compound of
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof” recited in claim 1.
As a result, there is a vast scope in the claims that has no representation at all or homology to the disclosed species; the disclosure does not adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus of prodrug of
through the disclosure of sufficient species that are “representative of the full variety or scope of the genus.” In addition, there is no establishment of a reasonable structure-function correlation in the disclosure or the art.
Such a disclosure does not embrace widely variant species given the unpredictable nature of the art with respect to utility as evidenced by Tables 1 and 2 of the specification. Thus, a representative number of adequately described species were not disclosed for the genus such that one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the Applicant had possession of the full scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 18-20 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2023/018812 to Yamano (effectively filed 08/10/2021, PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1, Yamano teaches the following prodrugs of the compound of instant claim 1.
(pg. 162, #15);
(pg. 173).
Regarding claims 1-3, Yamano teaches:
(pg. 177), which meets the limitations of instant Formula 1 when R1 is H and R2 is CH2-O-R3, wherein R3 is a C1 alkyl.
Regarding claim 18, Yamano teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising its compounds in combination with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (pg. 326, claim 40).
Regarding claims 19-20 and 35, ‘Yamano teaches a method of treating cancer wherein one or more cells express KRAS G12D mutant protein, by administering an effective amount of its compounds to a subject (pgs. 327-329, claims 43-44, 48-55). Since Yamano teaches treating a cancer with KRAS G12D mutant protein, then the cancer has necessarily been determined to be associated with a wild type KRAS mutation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 5, 18-20 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023/018812 to Yamano (effectively filed 08/10/2021, PTO-892).
Yamano is applied to claims 1-3, 18-20, and 35 as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 5, while Yamano teaches
, it differs from that of instant claim 5 in that it does not teach:
.
Yamano additionally teaches that its R6 position, the aryl substituent, can be substituted with a C1-4 alkoxy (pgs. 278-279, claim 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the chain length of the alkyl group in the alkoxy group of
of Yamano, to arrive at
. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success because:
-Yamano teaches that the length of its alkyl groups in its alkoxy groups can be modified in length from C1 to C4, and
-Compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious); Aventis Pharma Deutschland v. Lupin Ltd., 499 F.3d 1293, 84 USPQ2d 1197 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (5(S) stereoisomer of ramipril obvious over prior art mixture of stereoisomers of ramipril.), MPEP 2144.09.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification to predictably arrive at a structurally and functionally similar compound.
Free of the Prior Art
Claims 4 and 6-17 are free of the prior art.
The closest prior art is WO 2023/018812 to Yamano, whose teachings are detailed above.
Yamano additionally teaches compounds such as:
.
However, Yamano does not teach a compound of instant Formula I wherein R1 is H and R2 is selected from the groups recited in instant claim 4, and Yamano does not teach compounds of instant Formulas II-IV, wherein the piperidine is spirocyclicly bound to a hydantoin ring.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAUREN WELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622