DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses legal terminology, specifically, “disclosed” and “disclosure”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation of method step(s) “the upper portion . . . is separated upward from the lower portion” in this apparatus claim renders the claim indefinite, because it is unclear a device must actually perform these steps, or merely be capable of such performance, in order to read upon these limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(p). Clarification is required. For examination purposes, the examiner is considering the above limitation to mean “the upper portion . . . is [capable of being] separated upward from the lower portion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 11-12, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR20140038252).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a laundry treating apparatus (100) comprising: a cabinet (110) comprising a top panel (111), a side panel (116), and a rear panel (119); a drum (130) provided in the cabinet to receive laundry; and a handle unit (300, 400) coupled to the cabinet, the handle unit being configured to be held by a user (Fig. 2), wherein the handle unit comprises: an upper portion (300) coupled to the top panel (Fig. 2); and a lower portion (400) disposed under the upper portion and coupled to the upper portion and to one of the side panel and the rear panel (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches an upper portion (300) configured to be coupled to the lower portion (400) from above (Fig. 4) and can be separated upward from the lower portion (implied by Figs. 5 & 9).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches an upper portion (300) coupled to the top panel (111) at a rear of the top panel (Fig. 2), and wherein the lower portion (400) is configured to be coupled to the rear panel (119) at a rear of the rear panel (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches a top panel (111) that comprises an upper surface portion (A in Fig. 2 Annotated) defining an upper surface of the cabinet (110); & a rear bent portion (B) extending downward from a rear end of the upper surface portion, and wherein the upper portion (300) is configured to be coupled to the rear bent portion at a rear of the top panel (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches an upper portion (300) that comprises an upper coupling surface (350) located on the lower portion (400) and coupled to the lower portion while facing the lower portion (Fig. 4); and a top panel coupling surface (310) connected to the upper coupling surface and coupled to the top panel (111) while facing the top panel (Figs. 2 & 4).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a lower portion (400) that comprises a holding surface (410) disposed at a lower end of the lower portion and formed to be held by a user; and a lower coupling portion (450) protruding upward (Fig. 11) from the holding surface to be coupled (Fig. 4) to the upper portion (300).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches an upper portion (300) comprising an upper guide portion (313) protruding toward a top panel (111), and wherein the top panel comprises an upper guide insertion portion (191) into which the upper guide portion is inserted (Fig. 4 & par. 31).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches an upper guide portion (313) provided in plural (Fig. 8), wherein the handle unit further comprises an upper portion fastening member (210) configured to penetrate the upper portion (300) to be inserted into the top panel (111), and wherein the upper portion fastening member penetrates the upper portion between the plurality of upper guide portions and is inserted into the top panel (implied by Figs. 4-5 & par. 24).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches an upper portion (300) that comprises a fastening guide portion (351) protruding downward (Figs. 4 & 7) to be accommodated (Fig. 4) in the lower portion (400).
Claim(s) 1, 5-12, & 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu (20060272363).
Regarding claim 1, Chu teaches a laundry treating apparatus (1) comprising: a cabinet (10, 20, 30, 40, 50) comprising a top panel (10), a side panel (30), and a rear panel (40); a drum provided in the cabinet to receive laundry (implied by par. 2 & 54); and a handle unit (110a, 120a”, 200 - see Fig. 12) coupled to the cabinet, the handle unit being configured to be held by a user (implied by par. 90), wherein the handle unit comprises: an upper portion (111a; or 111a & 120a”) coupled to the top panel (implied by Fig. 8); and a lower portion (112a & 120a”; or 112a) disposed under the upper portion and coupled to the upper portion (Fig. 12) and to one of the side panel and the rear panel (implied by Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Chu teaches an upper portion (111a) coupled to the top panel (10) at a rear of the top panel (implied by Fig. 8), and wherein lower portion (112a, 120a”) configured to be coupled to the rear panel (40) at a rear of the rear panel (implied by Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Chu teaches a top panel (10) comprising: an upper surface portion (C in Fig. 8 Annotated) defining an upper surface of the cabinet (Fig. 8); and a rear bent portion (D) extending downward from a rear end of the upper surface portion, and wherein an upper portion (111a) can be coupled to the rear bent portion at a rear of the top panel (implied by Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Chu teaches an upper portion (111a, 120a”) comprising an upper coupling surface (120a”) located on the lower portion (112a) and coupled to the lower portion while facing the lower portion (Fig. 12); and a top panel coupling surface (111a) connected to the upper coupling surface and coupled to the top panel (10) while facing the top panel (implied by Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8, Chu teaches a lower portion (112a, 120a”) that comprises: a holding surface (170) disposed at a lower end of the lower portion (Fig. 12) and formed to be held by a user (implied by par. 90, which characterizes 170 as “finger contact recesses”); and a lower coupling portion (180) protruding upward from the holding surface to be coupled (via portion of 120a” between 111a & 180) to the upper portion (111a).
Regarding claim 9, Chu teaches a convex portion (E in Fig. 12 Annotated) protruding downward and a concave portion (F) depressed upward are alternately arranged (Fig. 12) on a holding surface (170).
Regarding claim 10, Chu teaches a structure wherein, based on a width direction of the cabinet (1), a length of the upper portion (111a, 120”) is longer (Fig. 12) than a length of the lower portion (112a).
Regarding claim 11, Chu teaches an upper portion (111a, 120”) that comprises an upper guide portion (131) protruding toward the top panel (implied by Figs. 8-9), and wherein the top panel (10) comprises an upper guide insertion portion (13) into which the upper guide portion is inserted (par. 72).
Regarding claim 12, Chu teaches an upper guide portion (131) provided in plural (implied by Fig. 9), wherein the handle unit (110a, 120a”, 200) further comprises an upper portion fastening member (200) configured to penetrate the upper portion to be inserted into the top panel (10), and wherein the upper portion fastening member penetrates the upper portion between the plurality of upper guide portions and is inserted into the top panel (implied by Figs. 8-9 & par. 73).
Regarding claim 16, Chu teaches a surface (H) of the handle unit (110a, 120a”, 200) located opposite a cabinet (10, 20, 30, 40, 50) that is depressed toward the cabinet to define a holding space (G).
Regarding claim 17, Chu teaches a holding space (G) defined in the lower portion (112a) so as to be open upward and backward (implied by Fig. 12), and wherein the upper portion (111a, 120a”) is configured to be coupled to the lower portion to cover the holding space from above (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 18, Chu teaches a lower portion (112a) comprising a plurality of lower coupling portions (J) coupled to the upper portion (111a, 120”), and wherein the holding space (G) is disposed between the plurality of lower coupling portions (Fig. 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20140038252) in view of Lee (KR20070067462). Kim teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including upper (300) and lower (400) portions; but fail(s) to teach a handle fastening member. However, Lee teaches a fastening member (i.e., screw that penetrates 18 & 32) configured to penetrate an upper portion (72) downward and to be inserted into a lower portion (31), wherein the fastening member is exposed upward from the upper portion (via 18). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a fastening member, as taught by Lee, to the handle of Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent accidental disconnection of the upper & lower portions.
Claims 13-15 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20140038252) in view of Kim (20050012439).
Regarding claims 13-15, Kim ‘252 teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including a lower portion (400); but fail(s) to teach a lower guide portion or an additional protruding portion. However, Kim ‘439 teaches connecting means (42, 216) comprising a lower guide portion (one of 216) protruding toward a rear panel (40), and wherein the rear panel comprises a lower guide insertion portion (one of 42) into which the lower guide portion is inserted (par. 50); and an additional protruding portion (other of 216) protruding parallel to the lower guide portion (Fig. 5), and wherein the additional protruding portion is configured to be supported by the rear panel (via other of 42 - see par. 50). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add connecting means, as taught by Kim ‘439, to the structure of Kim ‘252, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to facilitate alignment of the screws holes of the lower portion & rear panel, thereby increasing the speed & efficiency of manufacturing (as suggested by par. 43 & 50 of Kim ‘439). Hence, Kim ‘252 as modified would teach a lower portion fastening member (230 of Kim ‘252) configured to penetrate the lower portion (400 of Kim ‘252) between (as in Fig. 5 of Kim ‘439) the lower guide portion (one of 216 of Kim ‘439) and the additional protruding portion (other of 216 of Kim ‘439) to be inserted (Fig. 4 & par. 24 of Kim ‘252) into the rear panel (119 of Kim ‘252).
Regarding claim 20, Kim ‘252 teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including an upper portion (300) and a lower portion (400); but fail(s) to teach plural fastening guide portions. However, Kim ‘439 teaches connecting means (42-43, 216, & K in Fig. 5 Annotated) comprising plural fastening guide portions (216); and a coupling portion (K) disposed between the plurality of fastening guide portions (Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a connecting means, as taught by Kim ‘439, to the handle of Kim ‘252, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent accidental disconnection of the upper & lower portions. Hence, Kim ‘252 as modified would teach an upper portion (300 of Kim ‘252) comprising a fastening guide portion (216 of Kim ‘439) protruding downward to be accommodated in the lower portion (400 of Kim ‘252), wherein the fastening guide portion is provided in plural (as in Fig. 5 of Kim ‘439), wherein the upper portion comprises an upper coupling portion (K of Kim ‘439) coupled to the lower portion, and wherein the upper coupling portion is disposed between the plurality of fastening guide portions (as in Fig. 5 of Kim ‘439).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (20060272363) in view of Kim (20050012439). Chu teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including a lower portion (112a); but fail(s) to teach a lower guide portion or an additional protruding portion. However, Kim ‘439 teaches connecting means (42, 216) comprising a lower guide portion (one of 216) protruding toward a rear panel (40), and wherein the rear panel comprises a lower guide insertion portion (one of 42) into which the lower guide portion is inserted (par. 50); and an additional protruding portion (other of 216) protruding parallel to the lower guide portion (Fig. 5), and wherein the additional protruding portion is configured to be supported by the rear panel (via other of 42 - see par. 50). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add connecting means, as taught by Kim ‘439, to the structure of Chu, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to facilitate alignment of the screws holes of the lower portion & rear panel, thereby increasing the speed & efficiency of manufacturing (as suggested by par. 43 & 50 of Kim ‘439). Hence, Chu as modified would teach a lower portion fastening member (200 of Chu) configured to penetrate the lower portion (112a of Chu) between (as in Fig. 5 of Kim ‘439) the lower guide portion (one of 216 of Kim ‘439) and the additional protruding portion (other of 216 of Kim ‘439) to be inserted (implied by Fig. 8 & par. 74 of Chu) into the rear panel (40 of Chu).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW ING whose telephone number is (571)272-6536. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Troy can be reached at (571) 270-3742. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW W ING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637