DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 16 December 2024 for application number 18/875,669. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, Claims.
Claims 1-13, 30-36, and 40-46 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 8/15/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, 30-32, 41-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Philip et al. (NPL titled “Multimedia Networking and Communication: Principles and Challenges”).
Regarding claim 1, Philip discloses a method for encoding data defining an image (section 2.3), the method comprising the steps of:
(a) splitting the image into a number of image portions (p. 22, “slices”); and
(b) processing each of the image portions, the processing including the steps of:
i. segmenting the portion into image blocks, the image blocks in the portion having a uniform block size (p. 99, “a frame is divided into a number of macroblocks (MB), each containing a luminance block (of size 16x16) and two chrominance blocks (e.g., 8x8 Cb and 8x8 Cr));
ii. applying a frequency-based transform to each of the image blocks, thereby providing transformed image data in which the image data is represented as coefficients defining a linear combination of predetermined basis functions having different spatial frequencies (p. 38, “DCT transform”; fig. 2.4);
iii. quantising the coefficients (fig. 2.4); and
iv. converting the quantised coefficients into bits of binary code (fig. 2.4, “Entropy coding”);
the processing for each of the image portions being independent of the other image portions (p. 22, “slices are the basic output of the video encoder and form an independently accessible entity”).
Regarding claim 2, see teachings of claim 1. Philip further discloses further comprising the step of concatenating the bits of binary code for each of the image portions (section 2.4, bitstream).
Regarding claim 3, see teachings of claims 1-2. Philip further discloses further comprising the step of interleaving the concatenated bits of binary code into a number of data packets (fig. 2.4, packets).
Regarding claim 4, see teachings of claims 1-3. Philip further discloses further comprising the step of transmitting the interleaved concatenated bits of binary code (fig. 2.3, sender).
Regarding claim 5, see teachings of claim 1. Philip further discloses further comprising the step of interleaving the bits of binary code for each of the image portions, and transmitting the interleaved bits of binary code for each of the image portions independently of the other image portions (p. 22, the encoder can decide to allocate either a fixed number of MBs or a fixed number of bits to a slice. The later mode of operation, with a predefined data size of a slice).
Regarding claim 6, see teachings of claim 1. Philip further discloses the method further comprising the step of providing an image portion header for each of the image portions (p. 22, slice header).
Regarding claim 7, see teachings of claims 1 and 6. Philip further discloses wherein the image portion header comprises a number of bits encoding a size of said each of the image portions (section 2.4.2).
Regarding claim 8, see teachings of claims 1 and 6. Philip further discloses wherein the image portion header comprises a number of bits encoding one or more encoding parameters applied during encoding of said each of the image portions (p. 22, a slice header, which contains syntactic and semantic resynchronization information).
Regarding claim 11, see teachings of claim 1. Philip further discloses wherein the step of quantising the coefficients is performed at a quantisation level that determines a resolution of quantised data, and wherein the quantisation level is uniform for all the blocks in any one of the portions (section 2.5.2, uniform quantizer).
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. The claims recites the decoding method which is the inverse process of the encoding method of claim 1. The encoding/decoding differences are routine functional counterparts and do not render the pending claims patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 31, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6. The claims recites the decoding method which is the inverse process of the encoding method of claim 6. The encoding/decoding differences are routine functional counterparts and do not render the pending claims patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7. The claims recites the decoding method which is the inverse process of the encoding method of claim 7. The encoding/decoding differences are routine functional counterparts and do not render the pending claims patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 41, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 42, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 43, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 44, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 45, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 30.
Regarding claim 46, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philip et al. (NPL titled “Multimedia Networking and Communication: Principles and Challenges”) in view of Harmanci et al. (US 2009/0060362).
Regarding claim 9, see teachings of claim 1. Philip does not explicitly disclose wherein, for each portion, the uniform block size is selected from a set of predetermined block sizes.
In the same field of endeavor, Harmanci discloses wherein, for each portion, the uniform block size is selected from a set of predetermined block sizes (par. 50).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with motivation to modify Philip to include the teachings of Harmanci in order to optimize transforms (Harmanci, par. 50).
Regarding claim 10, see teachings of claim 1. Philip does not explicitly disclose wherein the uniform block size for a first of the image portions is different to the uniform block size for a second of the image portions.
In the same field of endeavor, Harmanci discloses wherein the uniform block size for a first of the image portions is different to the uniform block size for a second of the image portions (par. 50).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with motivation to modify Philip to include the teachings of Harmanci in order to optimize transforms (Harmanci, par. 50).
Regarding claim 12, see teachings of claims 1 and 11. Philip does not explicitly disclose wherein the quantisation level for a first of the image portions is different to the quantisation level for a second of the image portions.
In the same field of endeavor, Harmanci discloses wherein the quantisation level for a first of the image portions is different to the quantisation level for a second of the image portions (par. 50).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with motivation to modify Philip to include the teachings of Harmanci in order to optimize transforms (Harmanci, par. 50).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 33-36, 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, none of the references, alone or in combination, discloses wherein the image comprises a region of interest, the method further comprising the step of identifying a first of the image portions in which first image portion the region of interest is found; and a second of the image portions in which second image portion the region of interest is not found, and encoding the first image portion using a smaller block size and/or a finer quantisation level than those used for the second image portion (p. 23, ROI; and common knowledge).
Regarding claims 33-35, none of the references, alone or in combination, discloses wherein the step of converting the said each of the sections of binary code into blocks of data comprises identifying, in the sections of binary code, bits representing component term a vector encoding a predetermined selection of the coefficients, and checking that a sum of the components is equivalent to a predetermined value parameter K.
Regarding claim 36, none of the references, alone or in combination, discloses further comprising the steps of:(i) identifying, from the coefficients, a plurality of reference coefficients and a plurality of predictions, each prediction being associated with a reference coefficient or a prior prediction;(ii) determining a coefficient from a prediction by adding the prediction to its associated reference coefficient or prior prediction; and(iii) imposing a cap on a magnitude of the predictions.
Regarding claim 40, none of the references, alone or in combination, discloses further comprising the step of identifying, in the bit stream bitstream, an image header string; determining the number of times the image header string is repeated; and, for each bit in the image header string, applying a voting procedure to determine a value of each said bit.
Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in attached PTO-892, which are not relied upon for the claim rejections, since these references are pertinent to the disclosure.
Conclusion
/NGUYEN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486