DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 were submitted on December 16, 2024. In Preliminary Amendment, submitted December 16, 2024, claims 1-14 were cancelled, and claims 15-34 were added. No new matter was added in the Preliminary Amendment. Therefore, claims 15-34 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 16, 2024, April 16, 2025, and May 4, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 202211408433.1, filed on November 10, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-22, 24, and 26-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tessler (US 20180165656) (hereafter Tessler) in view of Wass (“The Ultimate Webinar Email Sequence – A Blueprint”; May 8, 2019) (hereafter Wass).
In regards to claim 15, Tessler discloses a method for live stream reservation, comprising: presenting a first interface element associated with a reservation of a live stream in an application, the first interface element comprising at least first information about the live stream; and (Para. 83-84) (“Method 700 can begin at block 702. At block 702, a host or host user creates a meeting invitation. The meeting invitation can be customized in one or more ways to include a desired message or body, which can be written by the host during the meeting invitation creation or can be loaded from a template. … The meeting invitation can include a meeting date and time (i.e. the first interface element comprising at least first information about the live stream) … meeting invites (i.e. presenting a first interface element associated with a reservation of a live stream in an application) are transmitted to the one or more invitees selected by the host during the meeting invitation creation. The meeting invites can be transmitted to the meeting invitees via email or various other forms of online communication. In some instances, the meeting invitation can comprise the host's written message and a link or button for the invitee to click in order to view more information … the meeting invitation (e.g., link or button) might be configured such that the meeting invitation can be displayed, presented, or managed in a third party communication platform or customer relationship management (CRM) platform. In some embodiments, an API can be provided in order to communicatively couple or otherwise integrate the meeting invitation generation, scheduling, and management system disclosed above with such third party communication or CRM platforms. Once the meeting invitation is received by a given invitee, the method either proceeds to a block 706 if the meeting invitation is declined, or a block 708 if the meeting invitation is accepted.”)
Tessler discloses in response to receiving a predetermined operation for the first interface element, triggering the reservation for the live stream; and (Para. 84) (“Once the meeting invitation is received by a given invitee, the method … proceeds to … a block 708 if the meeting invitation is accepted (i.e. in response to receiving a predetermined operation for the first interface element, triggering the reservation for the live stream)”)
Tessler discloses triggering a presentation of a second interface element comprising at least second information about the live stream, (Para. 33, 86) (“where the host user has enabled supplemental meeting components to be customized and added to the meeting and/or meeting invitation by one or more invitees, then invitee user interface layer 102 will prompt (i.e. triggering a presentation of a second interface element comprising at least second information about the live stream) an invited user to access service aggregator API 140 in order to make a selection in accordance with specified supplemental meeting component parameters given by the host user (i.e. second information about the live stream). … invitee user interface layer 102 might instead retrieve information relating to supplemental meeting components and options and repackage this information for display such that the invited user instead interacts with invitee user interface layer 102 directly.” “At block 708, taken if the meeting invitation is accepted, the system creates a meeting object, which represents the meeting (i.e. a second interface element comprising at least second information about the live stream) to be provided between the host user and at least the accepting invitee. In instances where the meeting will be between the host user and multiple invitees, then the meeting object can be created for the first invitee to respond and any subsequent accepting invitees can be added to the already existing meeting object.”)
Tessler does not explicitly disclose, however Wass, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the second interface element of Tessler being enabled to be shared via the application of Tessler. (Pg 9-10) (“Hopefully, people are now queuing on your landing page ready to sign up. Once they do, send them a confirmation (i.e. the second interface element of Tessler) email immediately. It’s ok to rely on the built-in emails of your webinar software. They get the basics right. You’ll want to…confirm in clear language that they’re now registered for the webinar, provide the date & time of the webcast, include the link for joining the session, have a call-to-action” Figure on Pg 10 (i.e. the second interface element of Tessler) includes call to action “Spread the Word” with the ability to share the event (i.e. the second interface element of Tessler being enabled to be shared via the application of Tessler).)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the live session system of Tessler with the interfaces of Wass in order to improve reach and results of the live event (Wass – Pg. 1)
In regards to claim 16, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 15. Tessler discloses wherein a visual pattern of at least one of the first interface element and is customizable by an initiator of the live stream. (Para. 48, 83) (“User interface 200 further includes an invitation settings portion 210, which allows various aspects of the meeting invitation to be customized by the host user. As mentioned previously, these customizations can be input by the host user during creation of the meeting invitation, or might be pre-loaded or pre-configured based on one or more saved settings associated with the host user.” “The meeting invitation can be customized in one or more ways to include a desired message or body (i.e. a visual pattern of at least one of the first interface element is customizable by an initiator of the live stream)”)
In regards to claim 17, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 15. Tessler discloses wherein a visual pattern of at least one of the first interface element is related to a content of the live stream. (Para. 25, 48, 83) (“a template for a meeting invitation might include the sentence ‘I would enjoy the opportunity to hear more about yourself and <your company>’ (i.e. a visual pattern of at least one of the first interface element is related to a content of the live stream)” “User interface 200 further includes an invitation settings portion 210, which allows various aspects of the meeting invitation to be customized by the host user. As mentioned previously, these customizations can be input by the host user during creation of the meeting invitation” “At block 702, a host or host user creates a meeting invitation. The meeting invitation can be customized in one or more ways to include a desired message or body, which can be written by the host during the meeting invitation creation or can be loaded from a template. … The meeting invitation can include a meeting date and time (i.e. a visual pattern of at least one of the first interface element is related to a content of the live stream))”)
In regards to claim 18, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 15. Tessler discloses wherein the first information comprises summary information about the live stream, (Para. 25, 48, 83) (“a template for a meeting invitation might include the sentence ‘I would enjoy the opportunity to hear more about yourself and <your company>’ (i.e. the first information comprises summary information about the live stream)” “User interface 200 further includes an invitation settings portion 210, which allows various aspects of the meeting invitation to be customized by the host user. As mentioned previously, these customizations can be input by the host user during creation of the meeting invitation” “At block 702, a host or host user creates a meeting invitation. The meeting invitation can be customized in one or more ways to include a desired message or body, which can be written by the host during the meeting invitation creation or can be loaded from a template. … The meeting invitation can include a meeting date and time (i.e. the first information comprises summary information about the live stream))”)
Tessler does not explicitly disclose, however Wass, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the second information comprising detailed information about the live stream. (Pg. 9-10) (“Once they do, send them a confirmation … 1. confirm in clear language that they’re now registered for the webinar 2. provide the date & time of the webcast 3. include the link for joining the session 4.have a call-to-action asking them to add the webinar to their calendar” Figure on Pg. 10 – provides specific link to the event, name of event, agenda of the event, presenters in the event (i.e. the second information comprising detailed information about the live stream).)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the live session system of Tessler with the interfaces of Wass in order to improve reach and results of the live event (Wass – Pg. 1)
In regards to claim 19, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 15. Tessler does not explicitly disclose, however Wass, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the second interface element further comprises at least one of: information about a current user of the application, or a unique identification associated with the reservation of the live stream. (Figure, pg. 10) (The figure on pg. 10 shows a confirmation screen (i.e. second interface element) confirming registration of the user by name (i.e. information about a current user of the application) and a unique URL (i.e. a unique identification associated with the reservation of the live stream).)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the live session system of Tessler with the interfaces of Wass in order to improve reach and results of the live event (Wass – Pg. 1)
In regards to claim 20, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 19. Tessler does not explicitly disclose, however Wass, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the unique identification depends on an order in which the current user reserves the live stream. (Figure, pg. 10) (The figure on pg. 10 shows a confirmation screen confirming registration of the user and providing a unique URL (i.e. wherein the unique identification depends on an order in which the current user reserves the live stream) in response to the user having registered.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the live session system of Tessler with the interfaces of Wass in order to improve reach and results of the live event (Wass – Pg. 1)
In regards to claim 21, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 15. Tessler does not explicitly disclose, however Wass, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the second interface element further comprises visual coding associated with the live stream, the visual coding being enabled to direct to a page displayed for the live stream. (Figure, pg. 10) (The figure on pg. 10 shows a confirmation screen confirming registration of the user and providing a unique URL (i.e. the second interface element further comprises visual coding associated with the live stream, the visual coding being enabled to direct to a page displayed for the live stream) in response to the user having registered.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the live session system of Tessler with the interfaces of Wass in order to improve reach and results of the live event (Wass – Pg. 1)
In regards to claim 22, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 15. Tessler does not explicitly disclose, however Wass, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the second interface element being enabled to be shared via the application comprises at least one of: saving in local storage, or sharing with a further application other than the application. (Figures, pg. 9-10) (The figure on pg. 9 illustrates an add to calendar button (i.e. enabled to be shared via the application comprises at least one of: saving in local storage) and a “spread the word” section with buttons to share with twitter, linked in, and facebook (i.e. sharing with a further application other than the application); the figure on pg. 10 an add to your calendar button (i.e. enabled to be shared via the application comprises at least one of: saving in local storage) as well as direct links to twitter, linkedin, facebook, and Instagram (i.e. sharing with a further application other than the application).)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the live session system of Tessler with the interfaces of Wass in order to improve reach and results of the live event (Wass – Pg. 1)
In regards to claim 24, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 15. Tessler discloses wherein presenting the first interface element comprises: presenting a media content in the application, the first interface element being comprised in the media content. (Para. 54) (“User interface 200 also includes a message composition portion 230, which provides entry fields 232 for the manual entry of text or media content to comprise the body of the meeting invitation (e.g., the text to be presented to invitees upon receiving or opening the meeting invitation).”)
In regards to claim 26, Tessler discloses an electronic device comprising: at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions for execution by the at least one processing unit, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit, causing the electronic device to perform acts comprising: presenting a first interface element associated with a reservation of a live stream in an application, the first interface element comprising at least first information about the live stream; and (Para. 83-84, 93-96) (“Method 700 can begin at block 702. At block 702, a host or host user creates a meeting invitation. The meeting invitation can be customized in one or more ways to include a desired message or body, which can be written by the host during the meeting invitation creation or can be loaded from a template. … The meeting invitation can include a meeting date and time (i.e. the first interface element comprising at least first information about the live stream) … meeting invites (i.e. presenting a first interface element associated with a reservation of a live stream in an application) are transmitted to the one or more invitees selected by the host during the meeting invitation creation. The meeting invites can be transmitted to the meeting invitees via email or various other forms of online communication. In some instances, the meeting invitation can comprise the host's written message and a link or button for the invitee to click in order to view more information … the meeting invitation (e.g., link or button) might be configured such that the meeting invitation can be displayed, presented, or managed in a third party communication platform or customer relationship management (CRM) platform. In some embodiments, an API can be provided in order to communicatively couple or otherwise integrate the meeting invitation generation, scheduling, and management system disclosed above with such third party communication or CRM platforms. Once the meeting invitation is received by a given invitee, the method either proceeds to a block 706 if the meeting invitation is declined, or a block 708 if the meeting invitation is accepted.” “a conventional system bus computing system architecture 800 wherein the components of the system are in electrical communication with each other using a bus 805. Exemplary system 800 includes a processing unit (CPU or processor) 810 and a system bus 805 that couples various system components including the system memory 815, such as read only memory (ROM) 820 and random access memory (RAM) 825, to the processor 810. … The processor 810 can include any general purpose processor and a hardware module or software module, such as module 1 832, module 2 834, and module 3 836 stored in storage device 830, configured to control the processor 810 as well as a special-purpose processor where software instructions are incorporated into the actual processor design … The storage device 830 can include software modules 832, 834, 836 for controlling the processor 810.”)
Tessler discloses in response to receiving a predetermined operation for the first interface element, triggering the reservation for the live stream; and (Para. 84) (“Once the meeting invitation is received by a given invitee, the method … proceeds to … a block 708 if the meeting invitation is accepted (i.e. in response to receiving a predetermined operation for the first interface element, triggering the reservation for the live stream)”)
Tessler discloses triggering a presentation of a second interface element comprising at least second information about the live stream, (Para. 33, 86) (“where the host user has enabled supplemental meeting components to be customized and added to the meeting and/or meeting invitation by one or more invitees, then invitee user interface layer 102 will prompt (i.e. triggering a presentation of a second interface element comprising at least second information about the live stream) an invited user to access service aggregator API 140 in order to make a selection in accordance with specified supplemental meeting component parameters given by the host user (i.e. second information about the live stream). … invitee user interface layer 102 might instead retrieve information relating to supplemental meeting components and options and repackage this information for display such that the invited user instead interacts with invitee user interface layer 102 directly.” “At block 708, taken if the meeting invitation is accepted, the system creates a meeting object, which represents the meeting (i.e. a second interface element comprising at least second information about the live stream) to be provided between the host user and at least the accepting invitee. In instances where the meeting will be between the host user and multiple invitees, then the meeting object can be created for the first invitee to respond and any subsequent accepting invitees can be added to the already existing meeting object.”)
Tessler does not explicitly disclose, however Wass, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the second interface element of Tessler being enabled to be shared via the application of Tessler. (Pg 9-10) (“Hopefully, people are now queuing on your landing page ready to sign up. Once they do, send them a confirmation (i.e. the second interface element of Tessler) email immediately. It’s ok to rely on the built-in emails of your webinar software. They get the basics right. You’ll want to…confirm in clear language that they’re now registered for the webinar, provide the date & time of the webcast, include the link for joining the session, have a call-to-action” Figure on Pg 10 (i.e. the second interface element of Tessler) includes call to action “Spread the Word” with the ability to share the event (i.e. the second interface element of Tessler being enabled to be shared via the application of Tessler).)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the live session system of Tessler with the interfaces of Wass in order to improve reach and results of the live event (Wass – Pg. 1)
In regards to claim 27, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 26. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 16.
In regards to claim 28, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 26. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 17.
In regards to claim 29, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 26. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 18.
In regards to claim 30, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 26. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 19.
In regards to claim 31, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 30. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 20.
In regards to claim 32, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 26. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 21.
In regards to claim 33, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 26. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 22.
In regards to claim 34, Tessler discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, the computer program, when executed by a processor, implementing acts comprising: presenting a first interface element associated with a reservation of a live stream in an application, the first interface element comprising at least first information about the live stream; (Para. 83-84, 93-96, 102) (“Method 700 can begin at block 702. At block 702, a host or host user creates a meeting invitation. The meeting invitation can be customized in one or more ways to include a desired message or body, which can be written by the host during the meeting invitation creation or can be loaded from a template. … The meeting invitation can include a meeting date and time (i.e. the first interface element comprising at least first information about the live stream) … meeting invites (i.e. presenting a first interface element associated with a reservation of a live stream in an application) are transmitted to the one or more invitees selected by the host during the meeting invitation creation. The meeting invites can be transmitted to the meeting invitees via email or various other forms of online communication. In some instances, the meeting invitation can comprise the host's written message and a link or button for the invitee to click in order to view more information … the meeting invitation (e.g., link or button) might be configured such that the meeting invitation can be displayed, presented, or managed in a third party communication platform or customer relationship management (CRM) platform. In some embodiments, an API can be provided in order to communicatively couple or otherwise integrate the meeting invitation generation, scheduling, and management system disclosed above with such third party communication or CRM platforms. Once the meeting invitation is received by a given invitee, the method either proceeds to a block 706 if the meeting invitation is declined, or a block 708 if the meeting invitation is accepted.” “a conventional system bus computing system architecture 800 wherein the components of the system are in electrical communication with each other using a bus 805. Exemplary system 800 includes a processing unit (CPU or processor) 810 and a system bus 805 that couples various system components including the system memory 815, such as read only memory (ROM) 820 and random access memory (RAM) 825, to the processor 810. … The processor 810 can include any general purpose processor and a hardware module or software module, such as module 1 832, module 2 834, and module 3 836 stored in storage device 830, configured to control the processor 810 as well as a special-purpose processor where software instructions are incorporated into the actual processor design … The storage device 830 can include software modules 832, 834, 836 for controlling the processor 810.” “The computer-readable storage devices, mediums, and memories can include a cable or wireless signal containing a bit stream and the like. However, when mentioned, non-transitory computer-readable storage media expressly exclude media such as energy, carrier signals, electromagnetic waves, and signals per se.”)
Tessler discloses in response to receiving a predetermined operation for the first interface element, triggering the reservation for the live stream; and (Para. 84) (“Once the meeting invitation is received by a given invitee, the method … proceeds to … a block 708 if the meeting invitation is accepted (i.e. in response to receiving a predetermined operation for the first interface element, triggering the reservation for the live stream)”)
Tessler discloses triggering a presentation of a second interface element comprising at least second information about the live stream, (Para. 33, 86) (“where the host user has enabled supplemental meeting components to be customized and added to the meeting and/or meeting invitation by one or more invitees, then invitee user interface layer 102 will prompt (i.e. triggering a presentation of a second interface element comprising at least second information about the live stream) an invited user to access service aggregator API 140 in order to make a selection in accordance with specified supplemental meeting component parameters given by the host user (i.e. second information about the live stream). … invitee user interface layer 102 might instead retrieve information relating to supplemental meeting components and options and repackage this information for display such that the invited user instead interacts with invitee user interface layer 102 directly.” “At block 708, taken if the meeting invitation is accepted, the system creates a meeting object, which represents the meeting (i.e. a second interface element comprising at least second information about the live stream) to be provided between the host user and at least the accepting invitee. In instances where the meeting will be between the host user and multiple invitees, then the meeting object can be created for the first invitee to respond and any subsequent accepting invitees can be added to the already existing meeting object.”)
Tessler does not explicitly disclose, however Wass, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the second interface element of Tessler being enabled to be shared via the application of Tessler. (Pg 9-10) (“Hopefully, people are now queuing on your landing page ready to sign up. Once they do, send them a confirmation (i.e. the second interface element of Tessler) email immediately. It’s ok to rely on the built-in emails of your webinar software. They get the basics right. You’ll want to…confirm in clear language that they’re now registered for the webinar, provide the date & time of the webcast, include the link for joining the session, have a call-to-action” Figure on Pg 10 (i.e. the second interface element of Tessler) includes call to action “Spread the Word” with the ability to share the event (i.e. the second interface element of Tessler being enabled to be shared via the application of Tessler).)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the live session system of Tessler with the interfaces of Wass in order to improve reach and results of the live event (Wass – Pg. 1)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tessler in view of Wass and further in view of Smith (US 11037076) (hereafter Smith).
In regards to claim 23, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 15. Tessler in view of Wass does not explicitly disclose, however Smith, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the first interface element is a sticker with a first size, the second interface element is a ticket with a second size, the second size being greater than the first size. (Col. 10, Ln. 23-37; Col. 13, Ln. 33-44; Figure 2C and 2L) (“one exemplary embodiment of a screen display 107C (i.e. the first interface element of Tessler is a sticker with a first size) for a portable computing device 105 running a ticket management application (TM-App) program 103 that produces a message 205 and confirmation on-screen button about the cancellation policy for reservations made with the system 101. … If the subscriber agrees to the cancellation policy, the on-screen button of ‘Let's do this!’ may be selected.” “FIG. 2L, this figure illustrates one exemplary embodiment of a screen display 107L for a portable computing device 105 running a ticket management application (TM-App) program 103 that produces a message 225 that lists an actual location of a seat within the venue 112 for a live event (i.e. the second interface element of Wass is a ticket with a second size, the second size being greater than the first size).” Figure 2C illustrates a pop-out message providing information about the reservation, and an actionable action for reserving access to the event (i.e. the first interface element of Tessler is a sticker with a first size). Figure 2L illustrates a full screen user interface displaying ticket data (i.e. the second interface element of Wass is a ticket with a second size, the second size being greater than the first size).)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the live session system of Tessler in view of Wass with the interfaces of Smith in order to improve user experience in the reservation process (Smith – Col. 1, Ln. 41-52)
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tessler in view of Wass and further in view of Cvent (“Effective Techniques for Webinar Promotion”; October 27, 2022) (hereafter Cvent).
In regards to claim 25, Tessler in view of Wass discloses the limitations of claim 15. Tessler in view of Wass does not explicitly disclose, however Cvent, in the same field of endeavor, discloses further comprising: in response to detecting a trigger for sharing when the second interface element of Wass is presented, performing a sharing of the second interface element. (pg. 7) (“The first basic thing you need is a landing page (i.e. the second interface element of Wass). Further, optimize it for social media sharing, making it easier for your followers to share webinar details. You can optimize your landing page for social media by adding share buttons. This is because it leads to a 7 times increase in the number of shares for a given page (i.e. detecting a trigger for sharing when the second interface element of Wass is presented, performing a sharing of the second interface element). The more social proof displayed, the more the landing page visitors would consider your webinar unique and not-to-be-missed. … Optimized share message: Tailor each social media post according to the individual platform. One way to stay ahead in this promotional game is to pre-write the updates along with the right visuals, as the latter can increase engagement.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the live session system of Tessler in view of Wass with the page sharing of Cvent in order to improve they system’s ability to utilize the power of social media in promotion. (Cvent – Pg. 7)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Devoy – US 2022/0191594 – discusses interfaces related to invitations to live-streamed events.
Jones – US 2013/0227434 – discusses interfaces related to invitations to live-streamed events.
/DAVID G. GODBOLD/Examiner, Art Unit 3628