DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/08/2026 and 12/16/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. A certified copy of application NO 20221018 was filed on 12/16/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Austrheim et al. (NO 344852 B1), hereinafter “Austrheim“ in view of Lindbo et al. (US 20180319590 A1), hereinafter “Lindbo”.
Examiner Note: Multiple embodiments from Austrheim are used in the rejection of the claims. Austrheim states that the vehicle can be any type of known automated container handling vehicles disclosed in WO2014/090684 A1, in NO317366 or in WO2015/193278 A1 (page. 13, lines 5-7). Further, Austrheim clearly states that the embodiments can be combined together (page 17, lines 7-8, page 17, line 28 to page 18, line 7).
Regarding claim 1, Austrheim discloses a container handling vehicle for moving in two perpendicular horizontal directions on a rail system, the rail system comprising a first set of parallel rails and a second set of parallel rails arranged perpendicular to the first set of parallel rails (page 12, lines 22-35; rail system 108, container handling vehicle 30), the container handling vehicle comprising:
a vehicle frame (page 13 line 41 to page 14, line 8; Vehicle 30);
a lifting device comprising a lifting frame for releasably connecting to a storage container (page 14, lines 10-18, Lifting device 50),
the lifting frame featuring a centre opening through which an item arranged in the storage container is retrieved, the lifting frame being vertically moveable between a lower position and an upper position (page 14, lines 10-15; page 17, line 28 to page 18, line 7; Figs. 6A & 6B, the container lifting device 50 in Fig. 6A, is similar to the disclosed container lifting device 50 of the first embodiment which is able to lift the target container above the top level of the grid. Lifting a target container to a level above the grid contemplates movement between lower and upper positions. The lifting device also has a central opening AO on lifting frame); and
a robotic item picker (page 17, lines 12-25, robotic picker 40);
wherein the robotic item picker is configured to transfer the item to the storage container when the storage container is connected to the lifting frame and the lifting frame is in the upper position (page 16, lines 28-33; the robotic picker is actuated to transfer the product into the bin 6).
Austrheim does not explicitly disclose an internal storage space arranged in an upper portion of the vehicle frame; or the robotic item picker is configured to transfer the item between the internal storage space and the storage container when the storage container is connected to the lifting frame and the lifting frame is in the upper position.
Lindbo discloses a robotic picking vehicle with an internal storage space arranged in an upper portion of the vehicle frame (para. [0113]-[0114]; storage means within the cavity 40 of the vehicle);
the robotic item picker is configured to transfer the item between the internal storage space and the storage container when the storage container is connected to the lifting frame and the lifting frame is in the upper position (para. [0114]; inventory item 28 picked and placed in the internal storage means).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container handling vehicle of Austrheim and incorporate the teachings in Lindbo of providing an internal storage space arranged in an upper portion of the vehicle frame and transferring an item between the internal storage space and the storage container when the storage container is connected to the lifting frame and the lifting frame is in the upper position to permit batch picking, reduce repeated vehicle travel and increase picking throughput (Lindbo: para. [0077], [0114]).
Regarding claim 2, Austrheim in view of Lindbo teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Austrheim further discloses the robotic item picker is configured to move above the lifting frame when the lifting frame is in the upper position (col. 18, lines 12-27; Fig. 6b; picker shown above lifting frame as well as a second location to transfer items).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container handling vehicle of Austrheim in view of Lindbo and incorporate the teachings in Lindbo of an internal storage space accessible by the picker so that the picker will be above both the lifting frame and the internal storage space when the frame is in the upper position. A person of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand the advantage of locating the internal storage of Lindo in the modified vehicle of Austrheim so the gripper has easy access to both compartments without modifying the primary operational construction of the picker.
Regarding claim 3, Austrheim in view of Lindbo teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Lindbo discloses what Austrheim lacks, specifically, a robotic item picker is moveably connected to a rail or beam assembly configured to allow the robotic item picker to move in the two perpendicular horizontal directions (para. [0085]; 8d, 9a; picking means 150 movable in the x-y-z directions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the robotic picker arm of Austrheim and incorporate the teachings in Lindbo of a robotic item picker that is moveably connected to a rail or beam assembly configured to allow the robotic item picker to move in the two perpendicular horizontal directions to provide precise and repeatable pick and place movement across the working area while reducing equipment footprint and collision risk. This modification represents the substitution of one known positioning mechanism for another to obtain the predictable result of picking and transferring the items, with the expected result of precise pick and place movement while avoiding interference with adjacent equipment.
Regarding claim 4, Austrheim in view of Lindbo teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Austrheim further discloses the robotic item picker comprises an item interaction device being moveable in a vertical direction (page 17, lines 13-18, Fig. 4a; vertically movable holding mechanism 49).
Regarding claim 5, Austrheim in view of Lindbo teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Lindbo further discloses wherein the lifting frame is adjacent to the internal storage space when the lifting frame is in the upper position (para. [0114]; inventory item 28 picked and placed in the internal storage means).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container handling vehicle of Austrheim and incorporate the teachings in Lindbo of providing an internal storage space arranged in an upper portion of the vehicle frame, and further locate the internal storage space adjacent to the lifting frame when the lifting frame is in the upper position to allow easy access for the item picker to both storage locations as well as improve picking throughput.
Regarding claim 6, Austrheim in view of Lindbo teaches all the limitations of claim 5. Austrheim further discloses at least one lifting shaft, wherein the lifting frame is suspended from the at least one lifting shaft by lifting bands that are spooled on or off the at least one lifting shaft to raise or lower the lifting frame relative to the vehicle frame ((col. 13, lines 5-7; ; applicant discloses the vehicle can be the vehicle discloses in prior art (WO 2015193278 A1; page 12, line 33 to page 13, line 12) which discloses the operational arrangement of applicants claimed lifting arrangement).
Regarding claim 7, Austrheim in view of Lindbo teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Austrheim further discloses a wheel assembly configured for moving the container handling vehicle along any of the first set of parallel rails and the second set of parallel rails, the wheel assembly comprising at least four wheels (col. 13, line 41 to col. 14, line 8; Fig. 1D).
Regarding claim 8, Austrheim in view of Lindbo teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Austrheim further discloses the storage system comprising a framework structure providing a plurality of storage columns for accommodating a vertical stack of storage containers, and a rail system upon which the container handling vehicle may move in two perpendicular directions above the plurality of storage columns (page 12, lines 16-35; Fig. 1A & 1B; Framework 100, storage columns 112, vehicles 200, 300 that move in two perpendicular directions).
Regarding claim 9, Austrheim in view of Lindbo teaches all the limitations of claim 8. Austrheim further discloses the lifting frame is configured to releasably connect to an upper storage container of a stack of storage containers when the lifting frame is in the lower position (page 14, lines 10-18; page 17, line 28 to page 18, line 7; Fig. 3c; lifting frame 50 with connection interface CI).
Regarding claim 10, Austrheim in view of Lindbo teaches all the limitations of claim 8. Austrheim further discloses a method of retrieving an item from a storage container in a storage system, the method comprising :
moving the container handling vehicle to arrange the lifting frame above a storage column accommodating the storage container (page 10, lines 27-28);
lowering the lifting frame into the storage column (page 14, lines 19-23);
connecting the lifting frame to the storage container (page 14, lines 19-23);
raising the lifting frame to the upper position (page 14, lines 10-18); and
moving the robotic item picker to retrieve the item from the storage container (page 14, lines 24-28).
Regarding claim 11, Austrheim in view of Lindbo teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Austrheim further discloses moving the robotic item picker to deposit the item in the internal storage space (page 14, lines 24-28; the container carrier of Austrheim in view of Lindbo possesses an internal storage container).
Regarding claim 12, Austrheim in view of Lindbo teaches all the limitations of claim 11. Austrheim discloses a reversible lifting mechanism. The lifting device is configured to lower the connection interface in to the storage column, to connect to and to release a container and then raise the container above the grid for carrying (page 14, lines 10-23). Thus, as shown in the rejection of claim 11, Austrheim discloses the following container handling operations.
moving the container handling vehicle to arrange the lifting frame above a storage column accommodating the storage container (page 10, lines 27-28);
lowering the lifting frame into the storage column (page 14, lines 19-23);
connecting the lifting frame to the storage container (page 14, lines 19-23);
raising the lifting frame to the upper position (page 14, lines 10-18); and
moving the robotic item picker to retrieve the item from the storage container (page 14, lines 24-28);
lowering the container back into the storage column (page 9, lines 15-16);
releasing the container (page 9, lines 17-20); and
raising the empty frame to its transport position (col. 9, lines 11-14).
Lindbo discloses a multiple bin consolidation method in which a robotic picking device,
moves to a first bin location and picks a first item by a picking means and places the first item in to an internal storage location (para. [0115]);
moves to a second bin location and picks a second item by a picking means and places the second item in to an internal storage location (para. [0115]);
moves to a third bin location (para. [0115]); and
transfers the first item and the second item from the internal storage to a delivery container (para. [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container handling vehicle of Austrheim in view of Lindbo and further incorporate the teachings in Lindbo of consolidating items from storage containers to improve the efficiency of the container handling system by reducing the movement the robotic devices make around the grid to pick inventory items (Lindbo: para. [0120]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that implementing Lindbo's expressly disclosed procedure of consolidating items from multiple bins using Austrheim's reversible lifting device would require repeating Austrheim's disclosed container handling cycle for each successive source container during consolidation process. After an item is retrieved from the first container, the first container would be lowered into the storage column and releases so the lifting device could be engaged with a different container. Th empty lifting frame would necessarily be needed to be lifted so the vehicle is allowed to travel to the next container location and the disclosed connect and lift cycle repeated. Repeating the same known lift cycle for the successive containers would not alter the function or operating principle of Austrheim's container handling system and would predictably allow the single lifting device to service multiple containers required by Lindbo's consolidation process.
Regarding claim 13, Austrheim in view of Lindbo teaches all the limitations of claim 12. Austrheim further discloses moving the container handling vehicle to a port (page 4, lines 13-22); and
lowering the lifting frame to release the third storage container for transfer to an access station (page 4, lines 13-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container handling vehicle of Austrheim in view of Lindbo and further incorporate applicant’s admitted known process of transferring containers to a port and lowering the consolidated container using Austrheim’s container handling vehicle to allow the completed order to reach the desired further processing station.
Regarding claim 14, Austrheim in view of Lindbo teaches all the limitations of claim 10. 14. Austrheim discloses a reversible lifting mechanism. The lifting device is configured to lower the connection interface in to the storage column, to connect to and to release a container and then raise the container above the grid for carrying (page 14, lines 10-23). Thus, as shown in the rejection of claim 10, Austrheim discloses the following container handling operations.
Moving the robotic item picker to deposit the item in the internal storage space (page 14, lines 24-28);
lowering the lifting frame into a storage column (page 9, lines 15-16);
releasing the storage container to store the storage container in the storage column;
raising the lifting frame to the upper position (page 9, lines 17-20);
moving the container handling vehicle to arrange the lifting frame above a storage column accommodating a second storage container accommodating a second item (page 14, lines 10-18);
lowering the lifting frame into the storage column lowering the lifting frame into the storage column (page 14, lines 19-23);
connecting the lifting frame to the second storage container connecting the lifting frame to the storage container (page 14, lines 19-23);
raising the lifting frame to the upper position raising the lifting frame to the upper position (page 9, lines 17-20).
Lindbo discloses a multiple bin consolidation method in which a robotic picking device,
moves to a first bin location and picks a first item by a picking means and places the first item in to an internal storage location (para. [0115]);
moves to a second bin location and picks a second item by a picking means and places the second item in to an internal storage location (para. [0115]);
moves to a third bin location (para. [0115]); and
transfers the first item and the second item from the internal storage to a delivery container (para. [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container handling vehicle of Austrheim in view of Lindbo and further incorporate the teachings in Lindbo of consolidating items from storage containers to improve the efficiency of the container handling system by reducing the movement the robotic devices make around the grid to pick inventory items (Lindbo: para. [0120]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that implementing Lindbo's expressly disclosed procedure of consolidating items from multiple bins using Austrheim's reversible lifting device would require repeating Austrheim's disclosed container handling cycle for each successive source container during consolidation process. After an item is retrieved from the first container, the first container would be lowered into the storage column and releases so the lifting device could be engaged with a different container. Th empty lifting frame would necessarily be needed to be lifted so the vehicle is allowed to travel to the next container location and the disclosed connect and lift cycle repeated. Repeating the same known lift cycle for the successive containers would not alter the function or operating principle of Austrheim's container handling system and would predictably allow the single lifting device to service multiple containers required by Lindbo's consolidation process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. SOLOVIANENKO et al. (US 20210171282) discloses an automated container handling device with an internal storage provided as a transporting platform intended for placing materials during movement, a transfer unit with a box gripper to lift and lower storage containers from the storage column, and a manipulator mounted on rails that allow the item picker to move in the two perpendicular horizontal directions (para. [0094]-[0096]; Figs. 2, 9, 10).
ZOMBORI (US 20170121110) discloses a warehouse cargo handling equipment with wheels that allow the vehicle to move in two perpendicular tracks, an internal storage in the form of gathering bins carried on the frame, a gantry type manipulator mounted on rails that allow the item picker to move in the two perpendicular horizontal directions, (para. [0033]-[0035], [0042]; Figs. 1-2, 5).
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655