DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/28/2026. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Komoro fails to disclose the claimed four-bar linkage system. This is not found persuasive because the technical features are known in the prior art as evidenced by the prior art rejection below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 06/17/2022. It is noted, however, that Applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 202221537124 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities: the examiner suggests removing all references to figures in parentheses for ease of reading the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “a support assembly (25) connected to the first drive rod (21) to support the sidewall (50) of an outer side of the roller turn-up mechanism” in lines 9-10 is unclear. The sidewall was previously discloses as a sidewall of a tire, and now the language requires a support assembly connected to the first drive rod to support the sidewall of an outer side of the roller turn-up mechanism rather than a sidewall of the tire. Is the sidewall intended to be supported on an outer side of the roller turn-up mechanism, or is this referring to a sidewall of an outer side of the roller turn-up mechanism? For the purposes of examination, the examiner assumes a support assembly connected to the first drive rod to support the sidewall on an outer side of the roller turn-up mechanism.
Claims 2-7 are indefinite by dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Guan et al. (CN 113681957, see US 20240375364 as English equivalent).
Regarding claim 1, Guan discloses a roller turn-up mechanism (Figs. 1-2), which is arranged on a spindle assembly (Fig. 1: 10) and comprises a plurality of first turn-up structures (Fig. 1: 40; Figs. 1-3: 41) arranged circumferentially around the spindle assembly ([0029]), characterized in that the first turn-up structure comprises: a roller assembly configured to roll a sidewall of a tire ([0035]) (Figs. 1-4); a first drive rod (Figs. 2-3: 4111) drivingly connected to the roller assembly, a first drive assembly (Figs. 2-3: 43) connected to the first drive rod to move the roller assembly in a radial direction of the tire through the first drive rod ([0032]); a support assembly (Figs. 2-3: 42) connected to the first drive rod (Figs. 2-3: 4111) to support the sidewall of an outer side of the roller turn-up mechanism (Fig. 3) ([0032]-[0033]); and a second drive assembly (Figs. 2-3: 51) connected to (Figs. 2-3: 51 connected to 42 via 52 and 4113) the support assembly (Figs. 2-4: 42) to drive the roller assembly to press the tire through the support assembly (Figs. 2-3); wherein the roller assembly is arranged on the support assembly (Figs. 2-4: 42), the roller assembly is rotationally arranged on an end of the support assembly (Figs. 2-4: 42), wherein the end of the support assembly (Figs. 2-4: 42) close to the roller assembly is rotationally connected to the first driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 4111); the first turn-up structure further comprises: a second driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 4112) connected to (Figs. 2-3: 51 connected to 4112 via 52 and 4113) the second drive assembly (Figs. 2-3: 51) and further rotationally connected to the first driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 4112) ([0033]); a third driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 4113) ([0033]), wherein an end of the third driving rod is rotationally connected to an end of the supporting assembly (Figs. 2-3: 42) away from the roller assembly, and the other end of the third driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 4113) is rotationally connected to the second driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 4112); wherein the second driving assembly (Figs. 2-3: 51) drives the second driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 4112) to rotate the first driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 4111) and the third driving rod respectively (Figs. 2-3: 4113) ([0033]).
Applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) to overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore not prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Alternatively, Applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b). Furthermore, the applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Regarding claim 6, Guan further discloses the roller turn-up mechanism further comprises: a second turn-up structure (Figs. 1, 4: 20), wherein the first turn-up structure (Figs. 1, 4: 40) and the second turn-up structure (Figs. 1, 4: 20) respectively turn up and roll the sidewall (Fig. 4), wherein the first turn-up structure is arranged on the spindle assembly (Fig. 1: 10), and the second turn-up structure is arranged on a side of the spindle assembly (Figs. 1, 4) ([0029]-[0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al. (CN 113681957, see US 20240375364 as English equivalent) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above.
Regarding claim 4, Guan further discloses the support assembly (Figs. 2-3: 42) comprises a plurality of support plates, and the plurality of support plates are arranged at intervals in a direction perpendicular to the sidewall to support the sidewall ([0029]).
While Guan discloses support plates instead of support rods, case law holds that changes in shape are matters of design choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant. See MPEP 2144.04. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the support plates in Guan to be support rods as it is a simple change in design shape.
Regarding claim 7, Guan further discloses the second turn-up structure comprises: two suspension arms (Fig. 4: 21) symmetrically arranged at intervals and configured to form a turn-up space between the two suspension arms (Figs. 1, 4) ([0029]-[0030]).
Guan further discloses the suspension arms are driven to move to roll the sidewalls on both sides of the tire (Fig. 4) ([0029]). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious that the suspension arms being driven would require a drive assembly, and as the suspension arms are not arranged on the spindle with the first and second drive assemblies, they would require a third drive assembly.
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, or alternatively find obvious, that moving the suspension arms to roll the sidewalls on both sides of the tire may be done in a limited number of ways: (1) simultaneously; or (2) not simultaneously. In other words, there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions that a skilled artisan may choose from with a reasonable expectation of success. Absent unexpected results, case law holds that when there is a finite number of identified and predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options with his or her technical grasp. See MPEP 2144.04(II)(B). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Guan such that the two suspension arms move simultaneously to roll the sidewalls on both sides of the tire.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, no prior art of record is considered to teach or suggest the combination of limitations of claims 1-2. In particular, the limitations “a fourth driving rod connected to the first driving assembly and further rotationally connected to the first driving rod, wherein the first driving assembly drives the first driving rod to rotate through the fourth driving rod.”
Claims 3 would be allowable by dependence on claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, no prior art of record is considered to teach or suggest the combination of limitations of claims 1 and 4-5. In particular, the limitations “a plurality of cylinders arranged on each of the supporting rods in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the cylinders are rotationally sleeved on the supporting rods.”
The closest prior art of record is considered to be Guan et al. (CN 113681957, see US 20240375364 as English equivalent).
Guan discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Guan further discloses a fourth driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 52). However, the fourth driving rod is not connected to the first driving assembly and further rotationally connected to the first driving rod, wherein the first driving assembly drives the first driving rod to rotate through the fourth driving rod. Instead the fourth driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 52) is connected to the second driving assembly (Figs. 2-3: 51) and further rotationally connected to the third driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 4113). Moreover, Guan may be interpreted such that there is a fourth driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 4112) connected to the first driving assembly (Figs. 2-3: 43) and further rotationally connected to the first driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 4111), wherein the first driving assembly drives the first driving rod to rotate through the fourth driving rod (Figs. 2-3). However, then the second driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 52) would be connected to the second drive assembly (Figs. 2-3: 51) and further rotationally connected to the third driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 4113) and not the first driving rod (Figs. 2-3: 4111). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would not have found it obvious to modify the specifically disclosed structure and connections of the driving rods and driving assemblies contrary to the teachings of Guan to obtain the claimed structure, especially without a teaching or motivation to do so.
Furthermore, as discussed above in claim 4, Guan discloses that the support assembly is comprised of support plates. While it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the support plates to be support rods, it would not have been obvious to further modify Guan with the specifically claimed structure of a plurality of cylinders arranged on each of the supporting rods in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the cylinders are rotationally sleeved on the supporting rods. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would not have found it obvious to modify the specifically disclosed structure contrary to the teachings of Guan to obtain the claimed structure, especially without a teaching or motivation to do so.
Contact Information
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749