Claims 1-16 are pending in the application. Claims 1-16 are rejected.
The 112 rejection has been maintained.
The rejection over Dey has been withdrawn in view of the present amendment and response. Dey fails to disclose a hollow core insulator wherein the polyol composition has a viscosity at 25oC ranging from 1000 to 3000 mPas.
The rejections over Andries, and further in view of McCann have been withdrawn in view of the present amendment and response. Andries fails to disclose a hollow core insulator wherein the polyol composition has a viscosity at 25oC ranging from 1000 to 3000 mPas.
The rejection over Andries in view of Beisele has been withdrawn in view of the present amendment and response. Neither Andries nor Beisele discloses a polyol composition having a viscosity at 25oC ranging from 1000 to 3000 mPas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim looks confusing for the following reasons. It is not clear whether the claim refers to the components (A) and (B) in their entirety rather than a shorthand reference to claim 15. Additionally, it is unclear whether the entire process of claim 15 is required to be present in claim 16. In order to avoid the issue of confusion, it is suggested to restate the components (A) and (B) rather than refer to claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0286897 to Andries et al. (hereinafter “Andries”) in view of US 2018/0051124 to Beisele et al. (hereinafter “Beisele”) and JP 2002212254 to Deguchi et al. (hereinafter “Deguchi”).
As to claims 1 and 5, Andries discloses a polyol composition comprising 95 parts by weight of four polyether polyols having an average hydroxyl functionality of greater than 2, and 20 parts by weight of castor oil (paragraphs 33-36; and 54). The combined content of the polyether polyols and castor oil is at least 80% by weight of the total weight of the polyol composition (paragraphs 44 and 54). Andries also discloses a two-constituent composition comprising a composition A which is the polyol composition, and a component B which is a polyisocyanate having at least methyl diphenyl diisocyanate (MDI), and an average NCO functionality of 3 or greater (paragraphs 27 and 28).
Andries discloses that the polyol composition further includes a foam stabilizer such as polysiloxane polyalkylene oxide copolymer to stabilize or regulate the cells of the polyurethane foam (paragraph 46).
Andries does not explicitly disclose (i) a content of the foam stabilizer; (ii) the polyol composition comprising 5 to 30 wt% of one or more mineral oil, and (iii) the polyol composition has a viscosity at 25oC ranging from 1000 to 3000 mPas
Beisele, however, discloses a polyol composition for forming of a polyurethane foam comprising: a polyether polyol, a polyolefin polyol and a polyester polyol obtained by epoxidation of an unsaturated fatty acid ester and subsequent ring-opening reaction with a compound containing active hydrogen (abstract). The polyol composition further includes 9-15wt% of a NYRLEX 820 naphthenic mineral oil; and 3 wt% of TEGOSTAB B 8863 polyether modified polysiloxane (table 1-continued; paragraphs 77, 78, 83, and 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the mineral oil disclosed in Beisele into the polyol composition disclosed in Andries motivated by the desire to facilitate processing and handling of the material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the content of the foam stabilizer of Andries in the range as disclosed in Beisele, motivated by the desire to ensure sufficient regulation of the foam cells.
Deguchi, however, discloses a polyurethane foam obtained from a composition comprising a polyol component and an isocyanate component in the presence of a catalyst, a foam stabilizer and a blowing agent (abstract, and paragraph 11). The polyol component comprises two or three polyoxyalkylene polyols and has a viscosity of less than 2500 mPas (abstract; and table 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the viscosity of the polyol composition of Andries having a viscosity in the range disclosed in Deguchi, motivated by the desire to facilitate mixing and processing of the material, thereby providing a polyurethane foam with excellent surface appearance.
As to claim 2-4, Andries discloses a polyol composition comprising 0-40 wt% of b4 polyol having a hydroxyl number of 250 mg KOH/g and 60-100 wt% of b1, b2, b3 polyols having a hydroxyl number of 36 mg KOH/g (paragraphs 44 and 54). The contents of the b1, b2, b3 and b4 overlap the claimed ranges.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the contents of the b1, b2, b3 and b4 polyols in the ranges instantly claimed motivated by the desire to provide a polyurethane foam having a resilience of at most 40%.
As to claim 6, Andries discloses that the polyol composition further includes a foam stabilizer such as polysiloxane polyalkylene oxide copolymer to stabilize or regulate the cells of the polyurethane foam (paragraph 46).
As to claim 7, Andries discloses that the polyol composition further includes a catalyst, fire retardants, pigments, surfactants (paragraph 46).
As to claim 8, Andries fails to teach the polyol composition comprising an epoxy component.
Beisele, however, discloses a polyol composition for forming of a polyurethane foam comprising: a polyether polyol, a polyolefin polyol and a polyester polyol obtained by epoxidation of an unsaturated fatty acid ester and subsequent ring-opening reaction with a compound containing active hydrogen (abstract). The polyol composition further includes 9-15wt% of a NYRLEX 820 naphthenic mineral oil; and 3 wt% of TEGOSTAB B 8863 polyether modified polysiloxane (table 1-continued; paragraphs 77, 78, 83, and 84). The polyol composition also contains a thermal aging stabilizer including polypropylene glycol diglycidyl ether (paragraphs 44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a thermal aging stabilizer disclosed in Beisele into the polyol composition disclosed in Andries motivated by the desire to protect the polyurethane foam from the detrimental effects of heat exposure, thereby enhancing the durability of the foam material.
As to claim 9, Andries fails to teach the polyol composition comprising fume silica as a rheological modifier.
Beisele, however, discloses a polyol composition for forming of a polyurethane foam comprising: a polyether polyol, a polyolefin polyol and a polyester polyol obtained by epoxidation of an unsaturated fatty acid ester and subsequent ring-opening reaction with a compound containing active hydrogen (abstract). The polyol composition further includes 9-15wt% of a NYRLEX 820 naphthenic mineral oil; and 3 wt% of TEGOSTAB B 8863 polyether modified polysiloxane (table 1-continued; paragraphs 77, 78, 83, and 84). The polyol composition also contains a thixotropic agent including fumed silica (paragraphs 45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a thixotropic agent disclosed in Beisele into the polyol composition disclosed in Andries motivated by the desire to stabilize the viscosity and flow properties of the composition.
As to claim 10, Andries discloses that the polyol composition is free of polyolefin polyols (paragraph 54).
As to claims 11 and 12, Andries discloses that a two-constituent composition comprising a composition A which is the polyol composition, and a component B which is a polyisocyanate having at least methyl diphenyl diisocyanate (MDI), and an average NCO functionality of 3 or greater (paragraphs 27, 28).
As to claims 13 and 14, Andries discloses that a polyurethane foam is obtained by reacting the polyisocyanate component and the polyol component at an NCO index of 0.6:1 to 0.95:1, in the presence of a blowing agent (paragraph 18). The NCO index or a molar ratio of the NCO groups of component B to the sum of the reactive hydrogen atoms in the component A overlaps the claimed range.
In the case, where the claimed ranges overlap or touch the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The claim is not rendered unobvious because discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Difference in the NCO index will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that the NCO index is critical or provides unexpected results. Therefore, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the NCO index in the range instantly claimed, motivated by the desire to provide a viscoelastic, flexible polyurethane foam having a reduced density with a resilience of at most 40%. This is in line with In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 which holds discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
The claim is not rendered obvious in view of the combined disclosures of Andries and Beisele because the combination of the cited references fails to disclose a polyol composition having a viscosity at 25oC ranging from 1000 to 3000 mPas. However, new combination of Andries, Beisele and Deguchi suggests the claimed invention.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andries further in view of Beisele, Deguchi and US 2013/0000047 to McCann et al. (hereinafter “McCann”).
Andries discloses a polyol composition comprising 95 parts by weight of four polyether polyols having an average hydroxyl functionality of greater than 2, and 20 parts by weight of castor oil (paragraphs 33-36; and 54). The combined content of the polyether polyols and castor oil is at least 80% by weight of the total weight of the polyol composition (paragraphs 44 and 54). Andries also discloses a two-constituent composition comprising a composition A which is the polyol composition, and a component B which is a polyisocyanate having at least methyl diphenyl diisocyanate (MDI), and an average NCO functionality of 3 or greater (paragraphs 27 and 28).
Andries discloses that the polyol composition further includes a foam stabilizer such as polysiloxane polyalkylene oxide copolymer to stabilize or regulate the cells of the polyurethane foam (paragraph 46).
Andries does not explicitly disclose (i) the content of the foam stabilizer; (ii) the polyol composition comprising 5 to 30 wt% of one or more mineral oil, (iii) the polyol composition having a viscosity at 25oC ranging from 1000 to 3000 mPas, and (iv) a hollow core insulator filled with the viscoelastic polyurethane foam.
Beisele, however, discloses a polyol composition for a polyurethane foam comprising: a polyether polyol, a polyolefin polyol and a polyester polyol obtained by epoxidation of an unsaturated fatty acid ester and subsequent ring-opening reaction with a compound containing active hydrogen (abstract). The polyol composition further includes 9-15wt% of a NYRLEX 820 naphthenic mineral oil; and 3 wt% of TEGOSTAB B 8863 polyether modified polysiloxane (table 1-continued; paragraphs 77, 78, 83, and 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the mineral oil disclosed in Beisele into the polyol composition disclosed in Andries motivated by the desire to facilitate processing and handling of the material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the content of the foam stabilizer of Andries in the range as disclosed in Beisele, motivated by the desire to ensure sufficient regulation of the foam cells.
Deguchi, however, discloses a polyurethane foam obtained from a composition comprising a polyol component and an isocyanate component in the presence of a catalyst, a foam stabilizer and a blowing agent (abstract, and paragraph 11). The polyol component comprises two or three polyoxyalkylene polyols and has a viscosity of less than 2500 mPas (abstract; and table 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the viscosity of the polyol composition of Andries having a viscosity in the range disclosed in Deguchi, motivated by the desire to facilitate mixing and processing of the material, thereby providing a polyurethane foam with excellent surface appearance.
Andries discloses that the viscoelastic polyurethane foam used in the furniture industries including seating, cushioning and mattress (paragraph 50). Andries does not explicitly disclose a hollow core insulator filled with the viscoelastic polyurethane foam.
McCann, however, discloses an inflatable mattress comprising a mattress body defining a plurality of cavities, a plurality of inflatable tubes insertably and removably positioned within the plurality of cavities, wherein the inflatable tube has a hollow core and a viscoelastic polyurethane foam filling the hollow core thereof (figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fill the hollow core of the inflatable tube disclosed in McCann with the viscoelastic polyurethane foam disclosed in Andries, motivated by the desire to provide a lightweight mattress with excellent cushioning properties.
Response to Arguments
The claim is not rendered obvious in view of the combined disclosures of Andries and McCann because the combination of the cited references fails to disclose a hollow core insulator wherein a polyol composition has a viscosity at 25oC ranging from 1000 to 3000 mPas. However, new combination of Andries, Beisele, Deguchi and McCann, suggests the claimed invention.
Applicant asserts that the Examiner does not explain why a person of ordinary skill would be motivated to fill the polyurethane foam disclosed in Andries in the hollow core of McCann.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As previously discussed, Andries discloses that the viscoelastic polyurethane foam used in the furniture industries including seating, cushioning and mattress (paragraph 50). McCann discloses an inflatable mattress comprising a mattress body defining a plurality of cavities, a plurality of inflatable tubes insertably and removably positioned within the plurality of cavities, wherein the inflatable tube has a hollow core and a viscoelastic polyurethane foam filling the hollow core thereof (figure 5).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to fill the viscoelastic polyurethane foam of Andries in the hollow tubes of McCann to provide a lightweight mattress with excellent cushioning properties. That is a motivation to modify the references. Accordingly, a prima facie case of obviousness is said to exist.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788