DETAILED ACTION
The present Office Action is in response to Applicants’ filing of August 27, 2026. Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are pending in the application, with Claim 1 being the only one in independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0289697 (“Meerbeek”).
Regarding Claim 1, Meerbeek discloses a method of commissioning a plurality of luminaires in a building (“later commissioning stage”; [0098]) having a lighting controller (lighting controller 500 in Fig. 5; [0053]) in accordance with computer-implemented logical grouping of the plurality of luminaires in the building (floor plan layout; [0069]-[0098]; Figs. 1-7), the method comprising the steps of:
providing a digital graphical plan of a region of the building with the plurality of luminaires graphically represented in the digital graphical plan (digital floor plan layout; [0069]-[0098]; Figs. 1, 7; [0097], “The user may take a picture of a room with the target lighting infrastructure (i.e., the environment 2) using the camera of a smartphone (user terminal 8”)),
identifying, by automated pattern recognition ([0078], “image-analysis techniques), representations of the plurality of luminaires in the digital graphical plan ([0070]) as well as their respective locations ([0069]; [0078]-[0079]; [0097], “known image analysis techniques can be used to identify luminaires, their location, shape, size, their orientation”), wherein the type of each said luminaire is identified based on bitmap pattern ([0069]-[0070], “the processor 509 identifies a property of a luminaire 4”; [0078]-[0079]; [0097]),
automatically grouping the identified luminaires ([0070]; [0076], “light_types . . . light_names”),
selecting a scene template corresponding to the grouping of the identified luminaires ([0071]; [0083], “the processor 509 may use a first search result image . . . to render a lighting scene”),
storing the grouping result and the scene template selection in a computer- readable configuration file ([0098]), and
using the lighting controller to commission the plurality of luminaires based on the computer-readable configuration file (later commissioning stage; [0098]).
Regarding Claim 2, Meerbeek further discloses wherein the grouping is a function of at least one parameter ([0078]).
Regarding Claim 3, Meerkeek further discloses wherein the parameter comprises at least one of: a distance between locations of the luminaires; a luminaire type; a building property automatically identified by pattern recognition; a predefined minimum and/or maximum group size; a geometrical group pattern; a learned user selection ([0078]).
Regarding Claim 5, Meerkeek further discloses wherein a priority of the at least one parameter is user configurable ([0068]-[0069]; [0078]).
Regarding Claim 6, Meerkeek further discloses wherein the scene template is selected based on at least one of: group size, luminaire type, room type ([0071]; [0083]).
Regarding Claim 7, Meerkeek further discloses wherein the scene template comprises a configuration of at least one of: light intensity, light color, light direction ([0071]; [0083]).
Regarding Claim 8, Meerkeek further discloses the step of displaying the grouping and/or the scene template selection to a user (Fig. 6; GUI, [0071]; [0083]).
Regarding Claim 9, Meerkeek further discloses the steps of receiving user input and adapting the grouping and/or the scene template selection, based on the received user input (Fig. 6; [0083]-[0087]).
Regarding Claim 10, Meerkeek further discloses the step of training the automated pattern recognition based on the received user input ([0071]; [0078]; [0083]).
Regarding Claim 11, Meerkeek further discloses a computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the method according to claim 1 (Fig. 5; [0053]-[0059]; [0098]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Initially, the examiner thanks Applicants’ representative for the detailed description of what they considered to be their invention in the “Background” and “Present Invention” sections of pages 1-3 of their Remarks; however, several of the features discussed therein are not positively recited in the currently pending claims. For example, how are the luminaires automatically grouped (i.e., using the following input parameters (one or more of these parameters can be set): grouping by luminaire type (yes, no); relative maximum distance between luminaires in group; group pattern (group shape and count); group size (i.e. number of luminaires in a group; and an image algorithm, e.g. using boundary following algorithm to find isolated rooms (small room -> 1 group), see Fig. 7), or how are the scene templates selected (i.e., scene templates are then applied depending on the given configuration. For example, group size greater than 5: apply X, Y scene templates, if single luminaire: apply Z scene template. If room type equals "meeting room": apply W scene template. The algorithm may also identify objects in rooms (i.e. identify the room type: meeting room, we, etc.) and make decisions on which scene templates to apply for specific rooms).
The examiner suggests amending the claims to further define the presently broadly claimed limitations “automatically grouping the identified luminaires” and “selecting a scene template corresponding to the grouping of identified luminaires” to further recite features of what they consider to be their invention. Amendments along these lines would go a long way in advancing the prosecution of their application.
Further, regarding Applicants’ main argument on page 4 of their Remarks that “The cited Meerbeek et al. reference does not use bitmap recognition to identify luminaire type, and it does not automatically identify luminaires and their locations from a digital graphical plan, let alone doing so in order to set group and scene configurations which are saved in a configuration file for later use,” the examiner cannot concur with Applicants’ arguments because, Meerbeek clearly discloses identifying, by automated pattern recognition, see, [0078], “image-analysis techniques”, representations of the plurality of luminaires in the digital graphical plan, see, [0070] as well as their respective locations [0069], [0078]-[0079], [0097], “known image analysis techniques can be used to identify luminaires, their location, shape, size, their orientation”, wherein the type of each said luminaire is identified based on bitmap pattern, see, [0069]-[0070], “the processor 509 identifies a property of a luminaire 4”, [0078]-[0079], [0097], automatically grouping the identified luminaires, see, [0070]; [0076], “light_types . . . light_names”, and selecting a scene template corresponding to the grouping of the identified luminaires, see, [0071], [0083], “the processor 509 may use a first search result image . . . to render a lighting scene,” and storing the grouping result and the scene template selection in a computer- readable configuration file, see, [0098].
For at least the reasons stated above, the rejection of amended Claim 1, and the claims depending therefrom, are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PEDRO C FERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845