DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
This action is in response to applicant filed on 12/17/2024. Claims 1-14 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 & 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cruz-Hernandez et al. (US 2016/0012690).
Regarding claim 1: Cruz-Hernandez disclose a method (Fig. 2, ¶0025-¶0030) of transmitting haptic data (arrow ‘to playback device’ from block 230 of Fig. 2) representative of a haptic effect (¶0026), the method comprising the steps of:
- obtaining haptic device data representative of haptic rendering capabilities of a haptic rendering device (Fig. 2, item 240, ¶0028);
- determining said haptic data by processing received haptic data (Fig. 2, item 210, ¶0026) representative of said haptic effect according to said haptic device data to adapt a rendering of said haptic effect to said haptic rendering capabilities (¶0028, Fig. 3 & ¶0031: one or more parameters of the haptic effect pattern transformation module can be adjusted to match the characteristics of a specific standard-definition haptic output device, and thus, provide an optimal experience for the specific standard-definition haptic output device); and
- transmitting said haptic data.(arrow ‘to playback device’ from block 230 of Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 2: Cruz-Hernandez disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein said received haptic data comprising a set of information comprising:
- targeted body part information representative of a targeted body part of a body model targeted by said haptic effect, and/or
- reference haptic device information representative of a reference haptic device for rendering said haptic effect, and/or
- rendering information representative of rendering parameters of said haptic effect, wherein said processing comprises:
- comparing said haptic device data with said set of information; and
- adjusting said received haptic data according to a result of said comparing when said result is representative of at least a difference between said haptic device data and said set of information.(¶0031: characteristic of a specific standard definition haptic output device))
Regarding claim 9: Cruz-Hernandez disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein said haptic device data comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of the following:
- first data representative of a number of body parts targeted by said haptic rendering device; and/or
- second data representative of an identifier of each of said body parts; and/or
- third data representative of a set of haptic perception modalities comprising at least a haptic perception modality; and/or
- fourth data representative of a number of haptic actuators of said haptic rendering device; and/or
- fifth data representative of a spatial distribution of said haptic actuators; and/or
- sixth data representative of whether said haptic actuators are all of a same type; and/or
- seventh data representative of a actuator type for each of said actuators; and/or
- eighth data representative of haptic rendering parameters for each of said haptic actuators; and/or
- nineth data representative of an ability to process Application Program Interface; and/or
- tenth data representative of a format of said haptic device data (¶0028).
Regarding claim 10: Claim 10 further define alternative third-eighth data of claim 9. Since the prior art relies on another alternative (tenth data) then the prior art meet claim 10.
Regarding claim 11: Cruz-Hernandez disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein said haptic device data is received from said haptic rendering device (¶0014, ¶0028).
Regarding claim 12: Cruz-Hernandez disclose an apparatus of transmitting haptic data representative of a haptic effect, wherein said apparatus comprising a memory associated with at least a processor configured to implement the method according to claim 1. (Fig.1, item 10,14,22 and rejection of claim 1)
Regarding claim 13: Cruz-Hernandez disclose a non-transitory processor readable medium having stored therein instructions for causing a processor to perform at least the steps of the method according to claim 1. (Fig.1, item 10,14,22 and rejection of claim 1)
Regarding claim 14: Cruz-Hernandez disclose A computer program product comprising instructions of program code for executing the method according to claim 1, when said program is executed on a computer. (Fig.1, item 10,14,22 and rejection of claim 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cruz-Hernandez et al. (US 2016/0012690) in view of Heubel (US 2018/0161671).
Regarding claim 3: Cruz-Hernandez disclose the method according to claim 2, but it does not explicitly disclose wherein said processing comprises:
- comparing said targeted body part information with first information comprised in said haptic device data and representative of a body part of said body model associated with said haptic rendering device; and
- adjusting said targeted body part information according to a result of said comparing when said result is representative of a difference between said first information and said targeted body part information.
In analogous art regarding haptic feedback, Heubel disclose a method - comparing said targeted body part information with first information comprised in said haptic device data and representative of a body part of said body model associated with said haptic rendering device; and
- adjusting said targeted body part information according to a result of said comparing when said result is representative of a difference between said first information and said targeted body part information.(¶0030 and ¶0033).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include the feature of - comparing said targeted body part information with first information comprised in said haptic device data and representative of a body part of said body model associated with said haptic rendering device; and
- adjusting said targeted body part information according to a result of said comparing when said result is representative of a difference between said first information and said targeted body part information, as disclose by Heubel, to the method of Cruz-Hernandez. The motivation is to provide a more targeted effect in order to provide a more immersive experience to the user.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cruz-Hernandez et al. (US 2016/0012690) in view of Guillotel et al. (US 2018/0200619)
Regarding claim 7: Cruz-Hernandez disclose the method according to claim 2, but it does not explicitly disclose wherein said rendering parameters comprise rendering parameters representative of frequency, rendering parameters representative of amplitude and/or rendering parameters representative of phase, said processing comprising:
- comparing said rendering information with information representative of a type of said haptic rendering device;
- filtering at least a part of said rendering parameters according to a result of said comparing when said result is representative of at least a difference between rendering capabilities associated with said type and said rendering information.
In analogous art regarding haptic feedback, Guillotel disclose wherein said rendering parameters comprise rendering parameters representative of frequency, rendering parameters representative of amplitude and/or rendering parameters representative of phase, said processing comprising:
- comparing said rendering information with information representative of a type of said haptic rendering device;
- filtering at least a part of said rendering parameters according to a result of said comparing when said result is representative of at least a difference between rendering capabilities associated with said type and said rendering information.(¶0063; body part position, ¶0080).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include the feature of wherein said rendering parameters comprise rendering parameters representative of frequency, rendering parameters representative of amplitude and/or rendering parameters representative of phase, said processing comprising:
- comparing said rendering information with information representative of a type of said haptic rendering device;
- filtering at least a part of said rendering parameters according to a result of said comparing when said result is representative of at least a difference between rendering capabilities associated with said type and said rendering information, as disclose by Guillotel, to the method of Cruz-Hernandez. The motivation is to add flexibility to the adjustment of the haptic effect.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 & 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record cited in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/OMAR CASILLASHERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689