DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (WO 2021221118).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 12, Chen et al. teaches a laminated film having excellent optical characteristics, i.e. optical film and made from a resin composition comprising a resin component and a fibrous alumina filler, and wherein the resin component contains a resin that has an imide structure and an amide structure; and the fibrous alumina filler is dispersed in the resin composition, while having an average fiber diameter of from 4 nm to 30 nm and an average fiber length of from 200 nm to 4,000 nm (See Abstract). Chen et al. discloses the polyamine-imide resin has colorless transparency (page 6), i.e. light-transmitting matrix.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see MPEP 2144.05.
Given the overlap between the film of Chen et al. and that presently claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a film that is both disclosed by Chen et al. and encompassed by the present claims and thereby arrive that the claimed invention.
Given that Chen et al. teaches a laminated film made from materials and structure identical to those presently claimed, the laminated film of Chen et al. would necessarily have the creep index as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 3, Chen et al. teaches an average fiber diameter of from 4 nm to 30 nm and an average fiber length of from 200 nm to 4,000 nm which clearly results in an aspect ratio as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Chen et al. teaches an amount of fibrous alumina filler is 4 to 50% by mass which would necessarily overlap the claimed range of 3 to 50 phr, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 9, given that Chen et al. teaches a laminated film made from materials and structure identical to those presently claimed, the laminated film of Chen et al. would necessarily have the Martens hardness as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 10, given that Chen et al. teaches a laminated film made from materials and structure identical to those presently claimed, the laminated film of Chen et al. would necessarily have the Vickers hardness as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 11, given that Chen et al. teaches a laminated film made from materials and structure identical to those presently claimed, the laminated film of Chen et al. would necessarily have the creep stress as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 13, Chen et al. teaches a display member for display panels having the laminated film as a cover window (page 13).
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787