DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 12/17/2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 12/17/2024.
Claims 1-10 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority to KR10-2022-0076216, filed on 06/22/2022; KR10-2022-0111337, filed on 09/02/2022; and is a 371 of PCT/KR2023/004348, filed on 09/02/2022. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “collision detection sensor” (claim 1), “one or more tethers” (claim 9) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 9, line 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “each chamber” should read, “the main chamber and the upper chamber”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10, line 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the outer panel of each chamber” should read, “the outer panel”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10, lines 4-5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the inner panel in each chamber area” should read, “the inner panel”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2020/0101923) in view of Dong (KR 20200063876), as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an airbag apparatus of a vehicle {“airbag system for a vehicle” [0021]}, the airbag apparatus comprising:
a housing {upper portion of the frame of the seatback: “The inflator I may be installed to the upper portion of the frame of the seatback S together with the airbag cushion 100” [0022]} installed in a backrest {S} of a seat {Fig. 1};
an inflator {I: “the airbag cushion 100 may include a main chamber 10, which is configured to be inflated by receiving gas from the inflator I” [0023]} ignited according to a detection signal of a collision detection sensor {“the controller 200 may be configured to detect a vehicle collision using various crash sensors, such as an infrared sensor, an ultrasonic sensor and an impact sensor mounted within the vehicle, and determine the operation timing of the inflator I to execute the deployment of the airbag cushion 100. Accordingly, in response to determining that a side collision will occur, the controller 200 may be configured to immediately deploy the airbag cushion 100” [0039]} to generate gas upon a vehicle collision; and
an airbag cushion {100} which is stored in the housing {“the upper portion of the frame of the seatback S” [0022]; “The airbag cushion 100 may be deployed by receiving gas from the inflator I. The inflator I may be installed to the upper portion of the frame of the seatback S together with the airbag cushion 100” [0022]}, and inflates and deploys to cover an upper body and a head portion of an occupant {P (Fig. 2)} by receiving the gas generated from the inflator {I} upon the vehicle collision [0039],
wherein the airbag cushion {100} compensates for a distance between the occupant {P} and the backrest {S} upon the vehicle collision, and inflates and deploys from the backrest {S} toward a rear of the occupant {P} to prevent the occupant {P} rebounded by a front airbag {steering wheel airbag (Fig. 6)} from being injured due to a collision with the backrest {S: “the controller 200 may be configured to detect a vehicle collision using various crash sensors, such as an infrared sensor, an ultrasonic sensor and an impact sensor mounted within the vehicle, and determine the operation timing of the inflator I to execute the deployment of the airbag cushion 100” [0039]}.
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose the airbag cushion is stored in the housing in a rolled or folded state.
Dong teaches the airbag cushion {40} is stored in a housing {20 (Fig. 1)} in a rolled or folded state {Figs. 7-9}, and inflates and deploys to cover and upper body and a head portion of an occupant {“The upper body of the occupant receiving gas generated from the inflator 30 when the vehicle is collided while being rolled or folded inside the inflator 30 and the housing 20 that are ignited by the collision detection sensor to generate gas. And an airbag cushion 40 that is expanded and expanded to surround the head” [0038]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the airbag apparatus, as disclosed by Kim, such that the airbag cushion is stored in the housing in a rolled or folded state, as taught by Dong, in order to “prevent the occupant of the occupant rebound by the collision with the front airbag from injuring the occupant due to collision with devices inside the vehicle, such as the seat back 11” [0036].
Regarding claim 2, Kim and Dong disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Kim further discloses the airbag cushion {100} includes a main chamber {50 (Figs. 4-5)} that inflates and deploys toward a rear of a neck and the upper body of the occupant {P (Fig. 2): “chamber 50 supports the neck of the occupant P, thereby absorbing impacts applied to the neck and preventing neck bending. In particular, the connection chamber 50 may include a first extending portion 51, which extends from the upper portion of the seatback S toward the occupant P, a bent portion 52, which is bent and extends upwards from the first extending portion 51, and a second extending portion 53, which extends upwards from the bent portion 52” [0033]}, and an upper chamber {10+30} that inflates and deploys toward a rear of a head of the occupant {P} from an upper portion of the main chamber {50 (Fig. 2)}, and
wherein the upper chamber {10+30} receives gas from the main chamber {50} and inflates and deploys downward {see how 30 is angled downward in Fig. 5} based on a portion {portion of 10 connected to 50 (Fig. 5)} connected to the main chamber {50} so as to cover the head portion of the occupant {P (Fig. 2)}.
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Dong disclose all the aspects of claim 2. Kim further discloses the upper chamber {10+30} includes a rear surface chamber {10} corresponding to a rear surface of the head of the occupant {P (Fig. 2)}, an upper surface chamber {30} surrounding an upper surface of the head of the occupant {P (Fig. 2)}; and a pair of side chambers {20} surrounding both sides of the head of the occupant {P (Fig. 2)}.
Regarding claim 4, Kim and Dong disclose all the aspects of claim 3. Kim further discloses the upper surface chamber {30} is supplied with gas from the main chamber {50} and inflates and deploys forward along the upper surface of the head of the occupant {P (Fig. 2)} about a portion {10} connected to the main chamber {50} so as to surround the head of the occupant {P (Fig. 2)}, and the pair of side chambers {20} are supplied with gas from the main chamber {50 (Fig. 5): “gas may be supplied to the connection chamber 50 from the inflator I, and may be subsequently moved to the main chamber 10 and the other chambers via the connection chamber 50” [0033]}, and inflates and deploys forward along both sides of the head of the occupant {P (Fig. 2)} about a portion {portion of 20 connected to 50 (Figs. 4-5)} connected to the main chamber {50}.
Regarding claim 5, Kim and Dong disclose all the aspects of claim 2. Kim further discloses the airbag cushion {100} inflates from the backrest {S} toward a rear of the occupant {P (Fig. 6)} and then inflates and deploys forward along both sides of the occupant {via 20 (Figs. 2-3, 6)}.
Regarding claim 6, Kim and Dong disclose all the aspects of claim 5. Kim further discloses the airbag cushion {100} further includes a pair of lateral chambers {20} which inflate and deploy from both sides of the main chamber {50 (Figs. 4-5): “gas may be supplied to the connection chamber 50 from the inflator I, and may be subsequently moved to the main chamber 10 and the other chambers via the connection chamber 50” [0033]} toward both sides of the upper body of the occupant {P} to prevent the occupant {P} from moving in a lateral direction {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 7, Kim and Dong disclose all the aspects of claim 6. Kim further discloses the pair of lateral chambers {20} inflate and deploy by rotating inward toward the occupant {P (Fig. 2)} about a portion connected to the main chamber {50 (Figs. 3-4)}.
Regarding claim 8, Kim and Dong disclose all the aspects of claim 7. Kim further discloses the upper chamber {10+30} and the pair of lateral chambers {20} are respectively supplied with gas generated from the inflator {I} through the main chamber {50} to inflate and deploy {“gas may be supplied to the connection chamber 50 from the inflator I, and may be subsequently moved to the main chamber 10 and the other chambers via the connection chamber 50” [0033]}.
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Dong disclose all the aspects of claim 2. Kim further discloses a deployment shape of each chamber {10, 20, 30, 50} provided in the airbag cushion {100} is defined by one or more tethers {40} installed inside or outside {“a plurality of fixing tethers 40 may be provided, and each of the plurality of fixing tethers 40 may be connected to a respective one of both sides of the upper chamber 30 (e.g., a first side of the upper chamber), and may also be connected to a respective adjacent one of the side chambers 20, which are formed at both sides of the main chamber 10” [0031]}.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Dong as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Yong (KR 102096845).
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Dong disclose all the aspects of claim 9. Dong further teaches the airbag cushion {40} is manufactured in a bag shape by sewing an inner panel {41} in contact with the occupant {“The airbag cushion 40 includes an inner panel 41 in contact with the occupant” [0044]} and an outer panel {42} disposed on an opposite side of the occupant {“an outer panel 42 in contact with the opposite side of the inner panel 41, that is, the backrest 11” [0044]}, and the outer panel {42} of each chamber is configured such that a vertical length of the outer panel {42} is shorter than that of the inner panel {41} in the main chamber area {50: “in the main chamber 50 region, the outer panel 42 may have a shorter vertical length than the inner chamber 41” [0047]}.
However, Dong does not teach the outer panel of each chamber is configured such that at least one of a horizontal length and a vertical length of the outer panel is longer than that of the inner panel in each chamber area.
Yong teaches the outer panel {42: “The airbag cushion 40 includes an inner panel 41 in contact with an occupant during expansion and an outer panel 42 facing the opposite side of the inner panel 41, and sewing the inner panel 41 and the outer panel 42” [0046]} of each chamber is configured such that a horizontal length of the outer panel {42} is longer than that of the inner panel {41} in each chamber area {“the outer panel 42 of the airbag cushion 40 may be provided longer than the horizontal length of the inner panel 41” [0081]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the airbag apparatus, as disclosed by Kim and Dong, such that the outer panel of each chamber is configured such that at least one of a horizontal length and a vertical length of the outer panel is longer than that of the inner panel in each chamber area, as taught by Yong, so that “the airbag cushion 40 is deployed toward the front from the far side of the occupant” [0080].
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614