DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "20" and "26" both point to the detachable retention plate in Figure 8 (“20” should point to the fixed cast part next to the plate according to the specification). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, “the lower second seat sidewall diverge” should read “the lower second seat sidewall diverges”
In claim 10, “the retention plate” should read “the detachable retention plate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 202155203 U).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a swing jaw of a jaw crusher comprising a cast swing jaw frame 5 and a retention seat 8 for a toggle seat 7, the retention seat 8 including a first retention seat part 8, wherein the retention seat 8 includes a detachable retention plate 1 configured to couple to the first retention seat part so as to clamp the toggle seat 7 therebetween in a wedged clamping arrangement (all illustrated in Figure 1 shown below).
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on claim 1, Zhang discloses that the first retention seat part 8 is integrally cast with the cast swing jaw frame 5 (see Figure 1 below).
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on claim 1, Zhang discloses that the retention seat 8 upon assembly includes opposed sidewalls, wherein a lower sidewall of the opposed sidewalls diverges towards a rear wall of the retention seat 8 (walls pointed to in Figure 1 below) to wedge the toggle seat 7 in position in the assembled retention seat 8.
Regarding claim 4, which is dependent on claim 1, Zhang discloses that the retention seat 8 upon assembly includes opposed sidewalls that diverge towards a rear wall of the retention seat (walls pointed to in Figure 1 below) to wedge the toggle seat 7 in position in the assembled retention seat 8.
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on claim 1, Zhang discloses that the first retention seat part includes a first sidewall and a rear wall of the retention seat 8, and wherein the detachable retention plate 1 includes a second sidewall of the retention seat 8 (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent on claim 1, Zhang discloses that the cast swing jaw frame 5 includes a recess for the detachable retention plate 1, and wherein the detachable retention plate 1 includes a first part dimensioned to be accommodated in the recess and a second part that extends proud of the recess and includes the second sidewall of the retention seat 8 (Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 8, which is dependent on claim 1, Zhang discloses that the toggle seat 7 includes a rear seat wall, a front seat wall having an elongated plate-receiving groove, an upper first seat sidewall and a lower second seat sidewall, wherein the lower second seat sidewall diverges towards the rear seat wall (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, which is dependent on claim 1, Zhang discloses that the toggle seat 7 includes a rear seat wall, a front seat wall having an elongated plate-receiving groove, a first seat sidewall and a second seat sidewall, wherein the first seat sidewall and second seat sidewall diverge towards the rear seat wall (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, which is dependent on claim 1, Zhang discloses that the retention plate 1 is configured to be bolted 2 to the cast swing jaw frame 5 (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, which is dependent on claim 1, Zhang discloses that the retention seat 8 includes two or more detachable retention plates 1/9 (in Figures 1 and 4 respectively).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses a jaw crusher comprising a fixed jaw and a swing jaw according to claim 1 (Figure 6 below; see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Xu (CN 111482223 A).
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent on claim 1, Zhang discloses a rear wall in the retention seat but is silent on a support recess extending into the retention seat beyond the rear wall and configured to receive a support flange of the toggle seat for supporting the toggle seat in a suspended position. However, Xu teaches that the retention seat 181 includes a rear wall and a support recess extending into the retention seat 181 beyond its rear wall and configured to receive a support flange 183 (which is a fixing bolt in this case) of the toggle seat 182 for supporting the toggle seat 182 in a suspended position by way of bolting onto the retention seat 181 (Figure 2 below, 4th paragraph of Specific Implementation Examples in translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a support recess for Zhang’s retention seat to contain and support a bolted toggle seat.
Conclusion
/ORLANDO J RIOS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725