DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, 14, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 1: Line 8 of the claim recites “the confocal Raman microscope” but there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation previously in the claim. However, because Applicant’s as-filed specification page 12, ¶ 60 discloses “The optical alignment system 560 can include for example a Raman-based system such as a confocal Raman microscope system.”, the examiner is interpreting the claimed “optical alignment and detection system” in line 5 to be synonymous with said confocal Raman microscope. Because the scope of the claim appears to be understood by the examiner in this manner, the examiner is interpreting the recitation of “the confocal Raman microscope” to be interchangeably used with the optical alignment and detection system such that the scope of the claim is not unclear with regard to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) but rather a formality issue (i.e. lack of antecedent basis). For the purpose of expedient examination, the examiner is interpreting line 8 of the claim to instead read as --a confocal Raman microscope-- which could constitute a proper correction to remedy the above noted issue.
As to claims 11, 14, and 15: Each of said claims also recites “the confocal Raman microscope” (see line 3 of claim 11, line 2 of claim 14, and lines 2-3 of claim 15) and accordingly each suffers from a similar issue as claim 1 and could be corrected in a similar manner (i.e. reciting --a confocal Raman microscope-- instead).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaither et al. US Pat 6,408,702 B1 (hereafter Gaither) in view of Shen et al. US PG-PUB 2010/0245816 A1 (hereafter Shen).
As to claim 1: Gaither discloses a sampling device (see fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 7-10) comprising:
a body (148; see figs. 3 and 9 as well as col. 5, lines 35-41) defining a sample receiving space (see figs. 3 and 9);
a sample collection port (not labeled but see col. 5, lines 35-41 regarding particles that enter hood apparatus 25 to enter the sample receiving space 148 as disclosed) in communication with the sample receiving space (see fig. 3);
a sample support surface (130; see fig. 9) positioned within the sample receiving space (see fig. 9); and
an optical alignment and detection system (see fig. 2 and col. 5, lines 44-52);
wherein the sample collection port is configured to receive a sample from a stream of material and permit delivery of the sample to the sample support surface within the sample receiving space (see figs. 1, 3, and 9 as well as col. 5, lines 35-52).
Gaither does not explicitly teach:
wherein a confocal Raman microscope (see the claim objection of claim 1 for an informality issue) is configured to measure properties of the sample when the sample is supported on the sample support surface.
However, Shen teaches a confocal Raman microscope may be configured to measure properties of a sample when the sample is supported on a sample support surface (see fig. 1 and ¶ 25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gaither such that a confocal Raman microscope is configured to measure properties of the sample when the sample is supported on the sample support surface because such optical characterization of a sample provides the useful and predictable results of non-destructively ascertaining chemical and visual information from a sample of interest which is highly reproducible and can be used in a wide range of applications such as nanostructures, quantum dots, and molecules of biological samples, such as suggested in ¶ 35 of Shen. Accordingly, such a modification would greatly improve the flexibility of Gaither’s measurement device while retaining non-destructive testing and allowing for determining of pertinent physical and chemical parameters of samples placed therein.
As to claim 2: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sampling device of claim 1, further comprising a sample collection tube (62 of Gaither; see col. 4, lines 36-49) coupled to and extending outwardly from the body (see fig. 3 of Gaither), the sample collection tube having an interior space in communication with the sample receiving space of the body (see fig. 3 of Gaither regarding the open/hollow space of the sample collection tube 62), wherein the collection tube defines the sample collection port (see fig. 3 of Gaither).
As to claim 3: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sampling device of claim 2, wherein the sample collection tube (62 of Gaither) is selectively moveable to a collecting position in which the sample collection port is oriented to receive the sample from the stream of material (see col. 4, lines 7-19 of Gaither with regard to motion of hood 25).
As to claim 4: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sampling device of claim 3, further comprising a rotational actuator (not explicitly disclosed in Gaither but see col. 4, lines 7-19 with regard to the disclosed rotation of the hood; the hardware necessary to carry out this function is considered to be a rotational actuator) coupled to the sample collection tube (62 of Gaither), wherein the rotational actuator is configured to selectively rotate at least a portion of the sample collection tube to selectively position the sample collection tube in the collection position (see Gaither col. 4, lines 7-19)
As to claim 5: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sampling device of claim 4, wherein the rotational actuator (not explicitly disclosed in Gaither but see col. 4, lines 7-19 with regard to the disclosed rotation of the hood; the hardware necessary to carry out this function is considered to be a rotational actuator) is configured to rotate the entire sample collection tube (see Gaither col. 4, lines 7-19).
As to claim 6: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sampling device of claim 4, wherein the rotational actuator (not explicitly disclosed in Gaither but see col. 4, lines 7-19 with regard to the disclosed rotation of the hood; the hardware necessary to carry out this function is considered to be a rotational actuator) is configured to selectively rotate the at least a portion of the sample collection tube (62 of Gaither) in a non-collecting position in which the sample collection port is not configured to receive material from the stream of material (see Gaither col. 4, lines 7-19).
As to claim 7: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sampling device of claim 4, wherein the stream of material moves in a first direction along a material flow axis (see fig. 1 of Gaither regarding particle motion direction indicated by arrow 23), and wherein in the collecting position, the sample collection port (not labeled but see Gaither col. 5, lines 35-41 regarding particles that enter hood apparatus 25 to enter the sample receiving space 148 as disclosed) of the sample collection tube (62 of Gaither) is positioned upstream of the sample receiving space of the body along the material flow axis (see Gaither col. 5, lines 55-59).
As to claim 8: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sampling device of claim 7, wherein the first direction is a downward direction, wherein the material flow axis is a vertical axis (see fig. 1 of Gaither; a reference frame may be defined with vertical along the direction indicated by arrow 23), and wherein in the sample collection position, the sample collection port of the sample collection tube is positioned above the sample receiving space of the body along the vertical axis (see fig. 1 of Gaither in view of the depiction in fig. 3).
As to claim 9: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sampling device of claim 8, wherein in the sample collecting position, the sample collection port (not labeled but see Gaither col. 5, lines 35-41 regarding particles that enter hood apparatus 25 to enter the sample receiving space 148 as disclosed) of the sample collection tube (62 of Gaither) faces in an upward direction along the vertical axis (see fig. 1 of Gaither with the frame of reference defined as disclosed above regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claim 8).
As to claim 10: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sampling device of claim 1, further comprising a plunger (137 of Gaither; see col. 5, lines 23-24) that is selectively moveable within the sample receiving space, wherein the plunger defines the sample support surface (see figs. 3 and 9 of Gaither as well as details in col. 5, lines 23-27).
As to claim 11: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sampling device of claim 10, further comprising a compression structure (126 and 128 of Gaither; see col. 5, lines 20-28) positioned within the sample receiving space of the body (148 of Gaither) between the plunger (137 of Gaither) and the confocal Raman microscope (see fig. 1 of Shen in view of figs. 3 and 9 of Gaither), wherein the compression structure (126 of Gaither) is selectively moveable between an open position and a closed position (see Gaither col. 5, lines 20-34), wherein in the closed position, the compression structure does not permit passage of the sample and is configured to cooperate with the plunger to compress the sample when the plunger is advanced toward the confocal Raman microscope (see col. 5, lines 20-34 in view of ¶ 25 of Shen).
As to claim 12: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sampling device of claim 11, wherein the compression structure comprises an actuated block (128 of Gaither; see fig. 3 and col. 5, lines 20-34).
As to claim 13: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sampling device of claim 10, wherein the body (148 of Gaither) defines a sample outlet port in communication with the sample receiving space (see fig. 9 of Gaither regarding the opening defined by 140 as disclosed in col. 5, lines 35-37).
As to claim 14: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sampling device of claim 13, wherein the body (148 of Gaither) defines at least one sweep port (144 of Gaither; see fig. 9) positioned between the sample outlet port (140 of Gaither) and the confocal Raman microscope (see fig. 9 of Gaither in view of fig. 1 of Shen), wherein the at least one sweep port is configured to receive gas that flows through the sample receiving space to cause the sample to exit the sample receiving space through the sample outlet port (see Gaither col. 5, lines 25-28).
As to claim 16: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches the sample device of claim 1, wherein the optical alignment and detection system is a Raman-based system (see fig. 1 of Shen and ¶ 25).
As to claim 17: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches a system (see fig. 1 of Gaither) comprising:
a reactor configured to produce a stream of material (see Gaither fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 35-40); and
a sampling device according to claim 1, wherein the sample collection port of the sampling device is configured to receive a sample from the stream of material (see Gaither col. 4, lines 7-18).
As to claim 19: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches a method comprising:
performing a reaction within a reactor to produce a stream of material (see Gaither col. 4, lines 19-34);
receiving, with the sample collection port (not labeled but see Gaither col. 5, lines 35-41 regarding particles that enter hood apparatus 25 to enter the sample receiving space 148 as disclosed) of the sampling device of claim 1 (see Gaither fig. 1), a sample from the stream of material (see Gaither col. 4, lines 35-49).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaither et al. US Pat 6,408,702 B1 (hereafter Gaither) in view of Shen et al. US PG-PUB 2010/0245816 A1 (hereafter Shen) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Jorgensen US PG-PUB 2022/0390334 A1 (hereafter Jorgensen).
As to claim 15: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as described above regarding claim 14, including a sample receiving space of a body (148 of Gaither) between a plunger (137 of Gaither) and a confocal Raman microscope (see fig. 3 of Gaither in view of fig. 1 of Shen), and a sweep port (144 of Gaither; see fig. 9), but does not explicitly teach:
further comprising a shield structure positioned within the sample receiving space of the body between the plunger and the confocal Raman microscope, wherein the shield structure is selectively moveable between an open position and a closed position, wherein in the closed position, the shield structure does not permit passage of the sample and is configured to direct gas entering the at least one sweep port toward the sample outlet port.
However, Jorgensen teaches a sampling apparatus comprising a shield structure (52; see ¶ 154) positioned with a sample receiving space of a body, wherein the shield structure is selectively movable and does not permit passage of a sample (see figs. 1 and 2 as well as ¶ 154) and is configured to direct gas entering at least one port toward a sample outlet port (see ¶ 154).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Gaither by further including a shield structure positioned within the sample receiving space of the body between the plunger and the confocal Raman microscope, wherein the shield structure is selectively moveable between an open position and a closed position, wherein in the closed position, the shield structure does not permit passage of the sample and is configured to direct gas entering the at least one sweep port toward the sample outlet port because such a shield element can reduce disturbances that could affect a sampled material that may be introduced through a conduit, such as suggested in Jorgensen ¶ 81, and thus would serve to improve the reliability of sample measurements taken by Gaither’s sampling system.
Claims 18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaither et al. US Pat 6,408,702 B1 (hereafter Gaither) in view of Shen et al. US PG-PUB 2010/0245816 A1 (hereafter Shen) as applied above, and further in view of Ayala et al. US PG-PUB 2005/0063893 A1 (hereafter Ayala).
As to claim 18: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as described above regarding claim 17, including a reactor (see Gaither fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 35-40), but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the reactor is a gravity-fed reactor of a furnace.
However, Ayala teaches a reactor that is a gravity-fed reactor of a furnace (see fig. 1 and ¶ 103 regarding particulate material gravity fed through a pipe 38).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Gaither such that the reactor is a gravity-fed reactor of a furnace because such a gravity-fed reactor is an art recognized means of achieving the useful and predictable result of recovering particulates processed in a sampling apparatus, such as suggested in ¶ 107 of Ayala, and thus reduces operating cost of such a reactor by minimizing waste passing therethrough.
As to claim 20: Gaither as modified by Shen teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as described above regarding claim 19, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the reaction is a graphitization reaction.
However, Ayala teaches a method with a reaction that is a graphitization reaction (see ¶ 108).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Gaither such that the reaction is a graphitization reaction because such graphitization is an art recognized method of achieving the useful and predictable result of producing carbon based materials with improved properties, such as thermal conductivity, as suggested in ¶ 41 of Ayala, and accordingly would improve the flexibility of Gaither’s sampling system by allowing it to be used for a variety of purposes such as chemical synthesis as also suggested in ¶ 41 of Ayala.
As to claim 21: Gaither as modified by Shen and Ayala teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the reactor is a reactor that is a gravity-fed reactor of a furnace (see fig. 1 and ¶ 103 regarding particulate material gravity fed through a pipe 38).
Conclusion
/JOHN M ROYSTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2855