Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected because the claims do not define “PAGs”.
Claim 14 is rejected because the term “characterized” is not conventional U.S. claim language.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected because there is no antecedent support in claim 1 for “the emissions of total volatile organic compounds”.
Claim 18 is rejected because it is not clear if there exist more than one glycerol compound. Perhaps the claim should read –wherein the polyol is glycerol--?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 11, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laemmle (US 4,452,711-appears on the PTO 1449).
Laemmle teaches a lubricating composition for use as a metalworking fluid comprising water, 10% by weight of a triblock copolymer mixture polyoxypropylene-polyoxyethylene-polyoxypropylene (commercial polyalkylene glycol product Pluronic 17R4 with a molar mass Mn of about 2700), 1% by weight of polyoxyethylene (12) lauryl ether (corresponds to an alkoxylated fatty alcohol), 3% by weight of isostearic acid and 1% by weight of diethanolamine (corresponds to 4% by weight of an anti-corrosion system comprising an acid and a base)(see Example 8; col. 3, lines 20-46; claims 1,14 and 15). Laemmle provides an aqueous metalworking lubricant composition having acceptable load bearing and friction-modifying properties, corrosion-inhibition ability and chemical stability under ordinary operating conditions, and avoidance of deposits on tools and workpieces following metalworking operations ( rolling, drawing, ironing, machining and others) in which the composition is used (see col. 2, lines 20-27; col. 3, lines 1-6). Carboxylic acids of C11-C36 mono- or dicarboxylic may be used in amounts from about 0.5-10 wt% (see col. 2, lines 54-59). Alkanolamines such as triethanolamine, diethanolamine and ethyldiisopropanolamine, etc. may be used in amounts from about 0.5-10 wt % (see col. 2, lines 60-63; col. 4, lines 20-29). The lubricant may also include 0.5-10 wt % of a water-soluble polyoxyethylene or polyoxypropylene alcohol (polyalkylene glycol) (see col. 4, lines 54-59).
Accordingly, Laemmle teaching all the limitations of the claims anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, 12-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laemmle (US 4,452,711-appears on the PTO 1449).
Laemmle teaches a lubricating composition for use as a metalworking fluid comprising water, 10% by weight of a triblock copolymer mixture polyoxypropylene-polyoxyethylene-polyoxypropylene (commercial polyalkylene glycol product Pluronic 17R4 with a molar mass Mn of about 2700), 1% by weight of polyoxyethylene (12) lauryl ether (corresponds to an alkoxylated fatty alcohol), 3% by weight of isostearic acid and 1% by weight of diethanolamine (corresponds to 4% by weight of an anti-corrosion system comprising an acid and a base (see Example 8; col. 3, lines 20-46; claims 1,14 and 15).
Laemmle provides an aqueous metalworking lubricant composition having acceptable load bearing and friction-modifying properties, corrosion-inhibition ability and chemical stability under ordinary operating conditions, and avoidance of deposits on tools and workpieces following metalworking operations ( rolling, drawing, ironing, machining and others) in which the composition is used (see col. 2, lines 20-27; col. 3, lines 1-6). Carboxylic acids of C11-C36 mono- or dicarboxylic may be used in amounts from about 0.5-10 wt% (see col. 2, lines 54-59). Alkanolamines such as triethanolamine, diethanolamine and ethyldiisopropanolamine, etc. may be used in amounts from about 0.5-10 wt % (see col. 2, lines 60-63; col. 4, lines 20-29). The lubricant may also include 0.5-10 wt % of a water-soluble polyoxyethylene or polyoxypropylene alcohol (polyalkylene glycol) (see col. 4, lines 54-59). Laemmle meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
Laemmle does not specifically teach that the composition comprises 30% of polyalkylene glycol. However, no unobviousness is seen in this difference because Laemmle teaches that the composition contains up to 20 % polyoxyalkylene block copolymers as well as up to 10 % polyalkylene alcohol. The combination of these compounds would amount to the claimed 30%.
With respect to claim 9, Laemmle does not specifically teach the viscosity of the polyalkylene glycol (PAG). However, no unobviousness is seen in this difference because it would be reasonable to expect that the PAG would meet this limitation because the compounds are used in an aqueous composition and are used in the same desired environment as Applicant uses his composition.
With respect to the limitation regarding the composition being a concentrate or a ready to use composition, no unobviousness is seen in this difference because the skilled artisan would recognize that concentrates may be diluted to the desired concentration and the skilled artisan would also recognize that for ease of use a ready to use composition may be more convenient.
With respect to emissions of total volatile organic compounds at 80 C being lower than 200 ppm, it would be reasonable to expect that Laemmle would meet this limitation because Laemmle teaches using the same composition in a metalworking process.
With respect to claim 17, Laemmle teaches that the composition has acceptable load bearing and friction modifying properties which would reduce the energy used during the process and increase the productivity of the process.
Claims 3, 8, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laemmle (US 4,452,711) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Knecht (US 3,536,622-appears on PTO-892).
Laemmle has been discussed above. Laemmle does not specifically teach that the composition contains a polyol (glycerol). However, Knecht teaches this difference.
Knecht teaches aqueous metalworking compositions comprising bases and acids (see abstract; col. 1, lines 57-60). Knecht teaches that the composition contains 2 to 8 wt% of an alcohol, such as a polyol (see co. 2, lines 49-66; abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add a polyol to an aqueous metalworking composition because Knecht teaches that such a compound acts as a coupling agent and prevent freezing.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references teach the general state of the art.
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 18875993/20260625