This is a first office action on the merits of application SN 18/876,016 and filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the standard twist-lock style connectors of claim 2, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,709,458 in view of US Patent 5,639,174 to Gonska. The claims of Patent 12,709,458 recite a platform with all the details claimed except side wing extensions.
Gonska teaches a platform with two side wing extensions (14,22). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the platform of the claims of Patent 12,709,458 by adding side extension to the ends as taught by Gonska to allow for stacking and to act as a ramp.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 5,639,174 to Gonska.
Gonska teaches
1. A transport platform comprising - a center platform (12) comprising two side rails (26) connected with two or more cross beams (12b) and two end sills (28, as best seen in figures 4 and 7); and - two side wing extensions (14, 22) reversibly attached to the center platform; wherein the side wing extensions can be detached, stacked, and secured on top of the center platform (as best seen in figures 1-3, the side wing extension are stacked and secured and considered cable of being detached via reversing the attachment that is shown in figure 7 or cutting the pin 42).
2. wherein the side wing extensions are reversibly attached to the center platform using standard twist-lock style connectors (18, as best seen in figure 14; or the connector 42 as best seen in figure 5-13).
3. wherein the side rails and end sills are connected using standardized ISO 1161 style corner castings (20a, 20b, 20c; Col 2, lines 31-43).
4. further comprising multiple tie-down points, threaded and pass-through bolt locations, hooks, forklift slots, D-rings, or shipping container style corner castings (20a, 20b, 20c).
7. further comprising one or more corner castings (20a,20b,20c).
8. wherein the center platform comprises 8 corner castings, and each side wing comprises four corner castings (as best seen in figure 1-4).
9. further comprising one or more bottom corner castings (20a, 20b,20c).
10. further comprising one or more cross beams (12b, as best seen in figure 4).
11. comprising four cross beams (12b, as best seen in figure 4).
13. further comprising four lifting points (20a or 20b or 20c) for dual crane lifting operations set at end corners of the center platform.
18. configured to accept jack legs (the corner castings are considered capable of receiving jack legs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5,639,174 to Gonska.
Gonska is silent to the material of the platform and the panel and therefore does not expressly disclose the platform is Corten steel and the panel is steel mesh. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the beams and rails from Corten steel and the panel from steel mesh, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07
Regarding claim 15,
Gonska is silent to the shape of the rails of the platform and therefore does not expressly disclose the rail is an “I” beam. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the beams as an “I” shaped beam as a matter of design choice since applicant has not disclosed that having this shape solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the box shape would perform equally well. It has also been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known shape on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.04
Claim(s) 14, 16, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5,639,174 to Gonska in view of US Patent Publication 2008/0250986 to Boon.
Gonska discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except forklift tubes.
Boon teaches a platform with side rails (5) having rectangular openings (12) that align with the hollow rectangular tubes (9) for fork lift tines (par 44).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the platform of Gonska by having openings align with the cross beam as taught by Boon to receive fork lift tines.
Claim(s) 15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5,639,174 to Gonska in view of US Patent 7,565,868 to Relland.
Gonska discloses every element as claimed an discussed above except a notch in the top center of the cross beam.
Relland teaches a platform with a side rail (2) that is a steel “I” beam (Col 2, lines 1-7) as best seen in figure 1 and 4. Cross beams (3) connect to the rails as best seen I figure 2. A notch (14, 19) in the cross beam allows for a shackle (18).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the platform of Gonska by adding a notch and making the rails I beams as taught by Relland to allow room for a tie down and lift shackle and as functional equivalent beam shapes.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY M AYRES/Examiner, Art Unit 3637