DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saylor (WO 2015179538) hereafter Saylor.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Saylor discloses a color-enhancing polarizing multilayer film (fig. 1B, 102, par. [0022]) comprising: a polarizing layer (fig. 1B, 206, par. [0022][0120]) having a front face and a back face; a first protective layer (11); a second protective layer (13); and one or more isotropic dyes comprised in at least one of the first or second protective layers (par. [0087][0007][0121]); wherein the first protective layer is placed on the front face of the polarizing layer and the second protective layer is placed on the back face of the polarizing layer (par. [0120][0022]) and wherein the one or more isotropic dyes represent at least 90 wt.% of the total content of dyes comprised in the first and second protective layers (fig. 1B, par. [0022][0120][0087]-[0094])).
Regarding claim 2, Saylor discloses the multilayer film of claim 1, wherein the one or more isotropic dyes represent at least 90 wt.% of the total content of dyes comprised in layers other than the polarizing layer (par. [0116][0121]).
Regarding claim 3, Saylor discloses the multilayer film of claim 1,wherein substantially all the dyes comprised in the first and second protective layers are comprised in the first protective layer or substantially all the dyes comprised in comprised in the first and second protective layers are comprised in the second protective layer(fig. 1B, par. [0022][0120][0087]-[0094])).
Regarding claim 4, Saylor discloses the multilayer film of claim 1,wherein the dyes comprised in the first and second protective layers are substantially free of anisotropic dyes (par. [0094]).
Regarding claim 5, Saylor discloses the multilayer film of claim 1, wherein the one or more isotropic dyes comprised in at least one of the first or second protective layers comprise at least one narrow band isotropic dye and optionally at least one broad band isotropic dye (par. [0136]-[0137]).
Regarding claim 6, Saylor discloses the multilayer film of claim 5, wherein the at least one broad band isotropic dye is chosen from the group consisting of: Solvent Yellow 93, Solvent Orange 60, Solvent Red 52, Solvent Red 111, Solvent Red 169, Solvent Violet 13, Solvent violet 14, Solvent Violet 31, Solvent Violet 36, Solvent Violet 38, Solvent Violet 50, Solvent Blue 101, Solvent Blue 104, Solvent Blue 138 and Solvent Green 3(fig. 1B, par. [0022][0120][0087]-[0094]).
Regarding claim 7, Saylor discloses the multilayer film of claim 5,wherein the at least one narrow band isotropic dye presents, in the layer of the multilayer film in which it is comprised, a maximum of a narrow band absorption peak at 400 to 700 nm (fig. 9).
Regarding claim 8, Saylor discloses the multilayer film of claim 5,wherein the at least one narrow band isotropic dye is chosen from the group consisting of: Epolight 5841, Epolight 5819 and Epolight 6698 (fig. 1B, par. [0022][0120][0087]-[0094]).
Regarding claim 9, Saylor discloses the multilayer film of claim 1,wherein the first and second protective layers independently comprise, as base material, a thermoplastic polymer selected from a polycarbonate, a polyester, a polyacrylate, and mixtures thereof (par. [0120]).
Regarding claim 10, Saylor discloses the multilayer film of claim 1,wherein the polarizing layer comprises polyvinyl alcohol as base material (par. [0120]).
Regarding claim 11, Saylor discloses the multilayer film of claim 1, wherein the first protective layer is a uniaxially stretched layer (par. [0120]).
Regarding claim 12, Saylor discloses an ophthalmic lens, comprising the multilayer film of any one of claim 1 and a substrate injection-molded onto the multilayer film (fig. 5, 400).
Regarding claim 14, Saylor discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising stretching the first protective layer, wherein stretching is performed prior to laminating (par. [0120]).
Regarding claim 15, Saylor discloses a method for producing the ophthalmic lens comprising the multilayer film of claim 1 and a substrate injection-molded onto the multilayer film comprising injection molding the substrate onto the multilayer film (fig. 5, 400).
Conclusion
Ogaya (20160349538) is being cited herein to show a reference that discloses some similar features to that of the claimed invention.
/JAMES C. JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872