DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the filing of 12/17/2024. Claims 13-24 are currently pending. The cancelation of claims 1-12 in a preliminary amendment is acknowledged. Claims 13-24 are newly added in the preliminary amendment.
Claim Interpretation
In this case, the following limitations use the word “means” and are thus being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
the “means for independent rotation” of claim 13 corresponding to element 8, the assembly of a drive unit 13 and a motion transmission element 14 which is in the form of a belt.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the “at least one system of handling horticultural products” of claim 13 corresponding to element 2, which is a conveyor having bodies 10;
the “at least one instrument for viewing the horticultural products” of claim 13 corresponding to element 3 which is electronic video cameras;
the “at least one electronic control and management unit” of claim 13 corresponding to element 9 which is a controller, a PLC, or a computer;
the “traction element” of claim 16 corresponding to element 12 which is a chain wound in a loop;
the “repositioning apparatus” of claim 19 corresponding to element 17 which is an actuator 18 that rotates; and
the “at least one preliminary rotation device” of claim 20 corresponding to a transmission element such as a belt or chain.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informality: line 2 reads “products they are” when it should read “products are.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation “such as a belt or the like” is indefinite because it is not clear if the limitation is a part of the claimed invention. In order to further prosecution, the limitation has been interpreted to not be a part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation “the pair of said consecutive bodies” in lines 7 lacks sufficient antecedent basis. In order to further prosecution, the limitation has been interpreted to recite “a pair of consecutive bodies.”
Regarding claim 21, the limitation “such as a belt, chain, or the like” is indefinite because it is not clear if the limitation is a part of the claimed invention. In order to further prosecution, the limitation has been interpreted to not be a part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21, the limitation “said bodies” in line 5 lacks sufficient antecedent basis. In order to further prosecution, the limitation has been interpreted to recite “bodies.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Njluland (US 2019/0076883 A1) in view of Gomez (US 2018/0044045 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Njluland discloses a packaging assembly for the preparation of packages of horticultural products, comprising: at least one system (12 – Fig. 1) for handling horticultural products (P – Fig. 1), configured at least for an advancement of the horticultural products one by one along a predefined path (from left to right along 12 and onto 16 – Fig. 1), at least one instrument (54 – Fig. 1) for viewing the horticultural products, which is arranged along said path and is configured at least for an acquisition of information regarding a first spatial orientation, assumed by each horticultural product advanced along said path (para. 0083, first sentence), at least one apparatus (28 – Fig. 1) for the transfer of horticultural products, which comprises a grip element (44 – Fig. 1) provided with 4 degrees of freedom (3 degrees of freedom from moving in X-Y-Z space and two more degrees of freedom from the rotation of 44 about 70 and 72 – Fig. 2, para. 0081) and configured for the transfer of the horticultural products one by one from a terminal portion of said path to a respective packaging area (para. 0080), in which it is possible to arrange at least one respective container of horticultural products (74 – Fig. 1), comprising: at least means for independent rotation of each horticultural product (16 – Fig. 1), which are arranged along said path, said means being configured to impart to each advancing horticultural product a selectively independent rotation about a first axis, which is substantially horizontal and transverse to an advancement direction (the means comprises two rollers, 22, 24 with respective shafts, 18, 20 for rotating the products, para. 0077; as can be seen in Fig. 1, the shafts point horizontal and transverse to the advancement direction, hence the products are rotated horizontal and transverse to the advancement direction), at least one electronic control and management unit (60 – Fig. 1), provided with instructions for control at least of said apparatus and of said means for independent rotation of each product on the basis at least of information acquired by said instrument, for a variation of a spatial orientation of each horticultural product, performed by said means and by said apparatus, until the horticultural product is oriented according to a target spatial orientation (para. 0079).
However, Njluland does not expressly disclose that the instrument is along a first portion of said path, the apparatus is downstream from the first portion at a terminal portion of said path, and the means is arranged along a second portion of said path downstream from the first portion since Njluland discloses that the instrument, apparatus, and means is located at materially the same location though Njluland does disclose an embodiment in which the apparatus is located at a terminal portion downstream from the instrument and means (the rightmost position of 91 as seen in Fig. 1, para. 0086, last two sentences).
Gomez disclose a packaging assembly comprising at least one system (70 – Fig. 7) for handling horticultural products one by one along a predefined path (from left to right in Fig. 7), at least one instrument for viewing the products (84 – Fig. 12) located at a first portion of said path (at 58 – Fig. 12; para. 0034), a station for a transfer of horticultural products located at a terminal portion of said path (at 52 – Fig. 7, the products are discharged at this portion, para. 0030), and at least means for rotation of each product (the machinery depicted in Fig. 9, paras. 0035-0039) located at a second portion of said path (at 60 – Fig. 12), wherein the first portion, the second portion, and the terminal portion are at different locations along said path with the second portion and the terminal portion downstream of the first portion (see Fig. 12). One of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the teaching of Gomez, would have recognized that the system, instrument, apparatus, and means of Gomez are analogous to the system, instrument, apparatus, and means of Njluland since they perform the same function and the instrument, apparatus, and means of Njluland may be placed at different locations as taught by Gomez without any loss of functionality.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the positions of the instrument, apparatus, and means of Njluland to be at a first portion, a terminal portion, and a second portion along said path as suggested by Gomez. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide the benefit of providing more space between the components in order to allow for easier access to the components for maintenance.
Njluland, as modified by Gomez further teaches (citations are to Njluland unless otherwise noted):
Claim 14, said grip element (44 – Fig. 1) is provided at least with the possibility to rotate about a second axis (70 – Fig. 2), which is substantially vertical (70 is clearly vertical in Fig. 2), the rotation about said second axis constituting one of said four degrees of freedom of said grip element (the rotation about 70 is interpreted to be one of the four degrees of rotation).
Claim 22, said instrument (54 – Fig. 1) is configured for the acquisition of data related to at least one parameter of interest of each advancing horticultural product, said at least one parameter being color and shape (para. 0054).
Claim 23, essentially all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 13.
However, Njluland, as modified by Gomez, does not disclose providing instructions for depositing in a destination chosen from a list of sorting options.
In this case, the examiner takes Official Notice that an electronic unit using a property of a product to sort the product according instructions for depositing in a list of sorting options, wherein the list comprises at least one container and at least one other collection element is old and well-known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the electronic unit of Njluland to provide it with instruction for depositing each horticultural product in a destination chosen from a list of sorting options, said list comprising at least one container and at least one other collection element, as a function of the data acquired regarding said at least one parameter of interest since sorting via properties is old and well-known and would provide the benefit of allowing the assembly to handle horticulture products of different types thereby improving the applicability of the assembly.
Claim 24, a packaging method for preparing packages of horticultural products which can move along a predefined path along which the horticultural products are made to advance one by one, comprising the following steps: a. acquiring information regarding a first spatial orientation assumed by each horticultural product (P – Fig. 1 and para. 0083, first sentence) advancing along a first portion of the path (at 58 – Fig. 12, Gomez), b. comparing a first spatial orientation with a target spatial orientation to be given to the horticultural products in respective packages to be prepared (although this is not expressly disclosed, this must necessarily occur in order to provide the intended rotation, para. 0083, first sentence), c. imparting to each horticultural product advancing along a second portion of the path (at 60 – Fig. 12, Gomez), downstream of the first portion, a selectively independent rotation about a first axis which is substantially horizontal and transverse to the advancement direction, with an extent chosen as a function of the comparison performed in said step b (para. 0083, as noted above in the rejection of claim 13, the first axis is horizontal and transverse), d. picking up one by one the horticultural products from a terminal portion (at 52 – Fig. 7, Gomez) of the path (para. 0080), e. imparting to each horticultural product picked up a rotation about a second substantially vertical axis (70 – Fig. 2), with an extent chosen as a function of the comparison performed in step b, until the target spatial orientation is given to each horticultural product (para. 0080, note that the rotation is necessarily chosen as a function of the comparison performed in step b since 60 sends control signals to 36, para. 0079), f. depositing each horticultural product in a respective container (para. 0080).
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Njluland (Us 2019/0076883 A1) in view of Gomez (US 2018/0044045 A1) and Mills (US 4726898).
Regarding claim 15, Njluland, as modified by Gomez, teaches essentially all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 13.
However, Njluland, as modified by Gomez, does not teach the handling system comprises a plurality of substantially axially symmetrical bodies.
Mills teaches a similar handling system (12 – Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of substantially symmetrical bodies (14 – Fig. 1) which are aligned and can move cyclically along a path (col. 2, lines 65-68), at least some pairs of said bodies, which are consecutive, defining respective reception and conveyance seats (see Fig. 4 where product F2 rests on a pair of 14) for corresponding products, which can be rested on said pairs substantially at an interspace between the respective two bodies (see again Fig. 4 where the product F2 rests substantially at a interspace between two 14). One of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the teaching of Mills, would have recognized that the handling system of Mills is analogous to the handling system of Njluland since both function to linearly transport a horticultural product.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have substituted the handling system of Njluland with the handling system of Mills since it is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to use known alternatives.
Njluland, as modified by Gomez and Mills, further teaches (citations are to Mills unless otherwise noted):
Claim 16, each one of said bodies (14 – Fig. 1) is supported by a traction element (16 – Fig. 1) with a possibility of rotation about an axis of symmetry thereof, which is parallel to said first axis (as can be seen in Fig. 4, the longitudinal axis of 14 is oriented at the midline of 16 and rotates about the longitudinal axis).
Claim 17, each one of said bodies (14 – Fig. 1) is supported by said traction element (16 – Fig. 1) with a possibility of rotation according to a mode chosen between free rotation and an at least partially braked rotation (col. 4, lines 12-29).
Regarding claim 18, Njluland, as modified by Gomez, teaches essentially all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 13 with Njluland further teaching that the means for independent rotation further comprises a drive unit (64 – Fig. 1), which is controlled by said electronic unit (signal 62 runs from 60 to 64 – Fig. 1).
However, Njluland does not expressly disclose a motion transmission element.
Mills teaches a similar means for independent rotation (the assembly of 60, 62, and 64 – Fig. 4), wherein the means comprises a drive unit (62 – Fig. 4) of a motion transmission element (60 – Fig. 4), said motion transmission element being wound and movable along a predefined trajectory and comprising a respective active segment which faces in a parallel arrangement a portion of a path (see Fig. 4, 60 is in the form of a belt whose upper face parallel to the path which is the direction of travel of F3 from left to right) and is proximate thereto, said motion transmission element being engageable with a pair of consecutive bodies (14 – Fig. 4; col. 4, lines 12-26) that transits along the portion (see Fig. 4), and being configured to impart to a respective horticultural product which rests on said pair a selectively independent rotation about a first axis (see the arrow indicating rotation of F3 – Fig. 4) as a consequence of an engagement of said motion transmission element with said pair of consecutive bodies and of a motion imparted selectively by said drive unit to said motion transmission element (col. 4, lines 12-26). One of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the teaching of Mills, would have recognized that the means of Mills is analogous to the means of Njluland since both are used for rotating a horticultural product.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have substituted the means of Njluland with the means of Mills since it is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to use known alternatives.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THOMAS M WITTENSCHLAEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
1/6/2026