DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8-9, 11, 14-15, 17, 19, 22-23, and 26-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bossen (US 20220303561 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Bossen discloses an apparatus for video decoding (figs. 5 and 7), comprising one or more processors and at least one memory ([0005], [0015], [0016], and [0207]), wherein said one or more processors are configured to:
obtain a first set of data corresponding to a prediction block for a block of a picture ([0004] to [0005], [0015] to [0017] receive a first array of prediction sample values, receive a second array of prediction sample values);
obtain a second set of data corresponding to decoded prediction residuals for said block of said picture ([0004] to [0005], [0015] to [0017] receive a first array of prediction sample values, receive a second array of prediction sample values);
adjust said second set of data to form an adjusted second set of data, based on at least a blending parameter ([0004] to [0005], [0015] to [0017] for determining a scale value based on a color component index value and a video sampling format of the video data, and generating a third array of prediction sample values by applying a blending matrix to the first array of prediction sample values and the second array of prediction sample values, wherein the blending matrix is based on the scale value and perform video coding using the third array of prediction sample values); and
combine said first set of data and said adjusted second set of data to form a decoded version of said block of said picture (Addition of fig. 2B, [0083] and [0084], 210 of fig. 6 and 312 of fig. 7 show reconstructed video block as decoded version of said block of said picture).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Bossen teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 15, Bossen further teaches wherein said second set of data is scaled to form said adjusted second set of data ([0004] to [0005] and [0015] to [0017] generating a third array of prediction sample values by applying a blending matrix to the first array of prediction sample values and the second array of prediction sample values, wherein the blending matrix is based on the scale value; [0165] to [0199] blending matrices (wValue values) are produced [0201] and [0206]).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Bossen teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 15, Bossen further teaches wherein said first set of data is scaled when combining with said adjusted second set of data ([0004] to [0005] and [0015] to [0017] generating a third array of prediction sample values by applying a blending matrix to the first array of prediction sample values and the second array of prediction sample values, wherein the blending matrix is based on the scale value; [0165] to [0199] blending matrices (wValue values) are produced; [0201] and [0206]).
Regarding claims 8 and 22, Bossen teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 15, Bossen further teaches wherein said at least a blending parameter for adjusting said second set of data is constrained to an interval between 1 - d and 1 + d, wherein d depends on a quantization parameter for de-quantizing transform coefficients of said block (figs. 2A and 2B, [0084] The value of a quantization scaling factor, may be determined by a quantization parameter, QP. Further, a QP value for a set of transform coefficients may be derived using a predictive quantization parameter value (which may be referred to as a predictive QP value or a QP predictive value) and an optionally signaled quantization parameter delta value (which may be referred to as a QP delta value or a delta QP value), [0141] Coefficient quantization unit 206 may be further configured to determine quantization parameters and output QP data (e.g., data used to determine a quantization group size and/or delta QP values) that may be used by a video decoder to reconstruct a quantization parameter to perform inverse quantization during video decoding, [0205] Video decoder 300 and/or inverse quantization unit 304 may be configured to determine QP values used for inverse quantization based on values signaled by a video encoder and/or through video properties and/or coding parameters).
Regarding claims 9 and 23, Bossen teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 15, Bossen further teaches wherein a value of a blending parameter for a prediction residual of a sample in said block depends on a value of a prediction for said sample ([0004] to [0005] and [0015] to [0017] blending value as blending matrix, [0133] blending function, [0165] to [0199] blending matrices (wValue values)).
Regarding claim 11, Bossen teaches the method of claim 1, Bossen further teaches wherein a same blending parameter is applied to blocks with a same quantization parameter ([0084] It should be noted that in some examples, a scaling matrix may provide the same value for each entry (i.e., all coefficients are scaled according to a single value), figs. 2A and 2B, same size).
Regarding claim 14, Bossen teaches the method of claim 1, Bossen further teaches clipping, in a transform domain, a value of a sample in said a reconstructed version of said block to be between a lower bound and an upper bound, wherein said lower bound and said upper bound are based on a parameter indicating a quantization step for said block ([0084], [0141], and [0205] coefficient quantization unit may be further configured to determine quantization parameters and output QP data (e.g., data used to determine a quantization group size and/or delta QP values) that may be used by a video decoder to reconstruct a quantization parameter to perform inverse quantization during video decoding. It should be noted that in other examples, one or more additional or alternative parameters may be used to determine a level of quantization (e.g., scaling factors)), and a sum of a de-quantized transform coefficient and a transformed prediction for said sample ([0131] to [0132] Clip3, 312 of fig. 7 for summation).
Regarding claims 26 and 30, Bossen discloses an apparatus for video encoding (figs. 4-6), comprising one or more processors and at least one memory ([0005], [0015], [0016], and [0207]), wherein said one or more processors are configured to:
obtain a first set of data corresponding to a prediction block for a block of a picture ([0004] to [0005], [0015] to [0017] receive a first array of prediction sample values, receive a second array of prediction sample values);
obtain a second set of data corresponding to decoded prediction residuals for said block of said picture ([0004] to [0005], [0015] to [0017] receive a first array of prediction sample values, receive a second array of prediction sample values);
adjust said second set of data to form an adjusted second set of data, based on at least a blending parameter ([0004] to [0005], [0015] to [0017] for determining a scale value based on a color component index value and a video sampling format of the video data, and generating a third array of prediction sample values by applying a blending matrix to the first array of prediction sample values and the second array of prediction sample values, wherein the blending matrix is based on the scale value and perform video coding using the third array of prediction sample values); and
combine said first set of data and said adjusted second set of data to form a decoded version of said block of said picture (Addition of fig. 2B, [0083] and [0084], 210 of fig. 6 and 312 of fig. 7 show reconstructed video block as decoded version of said block of said picture).
Regarding claims 27 and 31, Bossen teaches the method of claim 26 and the apparatus of claim 30, Bossen further teaches wherein said second set of data is scaled to form said adjusted second set of data ([0004] to [0005] and [0015] to [0017] generating a third array of prediction sample values by applying a blending matrix to the first array of prediction sample values and the second array of prediction sample values, wherein the blending matrix is based on the scale value; [0165] to [0199] blending matrices (wValue values) are produced, [0201] and [0206]).
Regarding claims 28 and 32 , Bossen teaches the method of claim 26 and the apparatus of claim 30, Bossen further teaches wherein said at least a blending parameter for adjusting said second set of data is constrained to an interval between 1 - d and 1 + d, wherein d depends on a quantization parameter for de-quantizing transform coefficients of said block (figs. 2A and 2B, [0084] The value of a quantization scaling factor, may be determined by a quantization parameter, QP. Further, a QP value for a set of transform coefficients may be derived using a predictive quantization parameter value (which may be referred to as a predictive QP value or a QP predictive value) and an optionally signaled quantization parameter delta value (which may be referred to as a QP delta value or a delta QP value), [0141] Coefficient quantization unit 206 may be further configured to determine quantization parameters and output QP data (e.g., data used to determine a quantization group size and/or delta QP values) that may be used by a video decoder to reconstruct a quantization parameter to perform inverse quantization during video decoding, [0205] Video decoder 300 and/or inverse quantization unit 304 may be configured to determine QP values used for inverse quantization based on values signaled by a video encoder and/or through video properties and/or coding parameters).
Regarding claims 29 and 33, Bossen teaches the method of claim 26 and the apparatus of claim 30, Bossen further teaches wherein a value of a blending parameter for a prediction residual of a sample in said block depends on a value of a prediction for said sample ([0004] to [0005] and [0015] to [0017] blending value as blending matrix, [0133] blending function, [0165] to [0199] blending matrices (wValue values)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsukagoshi (US 20180213242 A1) discloses an image encoding unit configured to acquire a base stream including, as an access unit, encoded image data per picture in a base frame rate of image data acquired by performing blending processing in units of temporally successive two pictures in a high frame rate of image data.
Galpin et al. (US 20230171421 A1) discloses a unit is encoded in an intra mode, it performs intra prediction (260). In an inter mode, motion estimation (275) and compensation (270) are performed. The encoder decides (205) which one of the intra mode or inter mode to use for encoding the unit, and indicates the intra/inter decision by, for example, a prediction mode flag. The encoder may also blend (263) intra prediction result and inter prediction result, or blend results from different intra/inter prediction methods.
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425