DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As indicated in the previously issued Office Action, the claim 37 recitation of “wherein the intermediate layer is uncoated” conflicts with the claim 23 recitation of “wherein the first outer layer, the second outer layer, or both are heat sealed to the intermediate layer to seal the intermediate layer therein”. Note that if the first outer layer and/or second outer layer is heat sealed to the intermediate layer, then the intermediate layer is “coated” with said first outer layer and/or second outer layer. Accordingly, exactly what structure/configuration is sought? Please review/revise/clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 4,429,015 to Sheptak (“Sheptak”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0137961 to Davis et al. (“Davis”) and further in view of CA 2773070 C to Propst et al. (“Propst”).
Regarding claim 1, Sheptak discloses a tag (e.g. identification card 1, as shown in figs. 1-5 and discussed at col. 3, lines 1-5; the Office notes that paragraph 72 of Applicants’ filed specification indicates that Applicants’ fig. 3 illustrates a desired horticultural tag 10 of the invention; accordingly, the Office encourages Applicants to compare the structure of Applicants’ fig. 3 to that of Sheptak figs. 1-5) comprising: a) a first outer layer (e.g. upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11, as shown in figs. 2-3 and discussed at col. 3, lines 4-5) made from a polymer (e.g. thermoplastic material bonded to polymer material, as discussed at col. 2, lines 5-9); b) a second outer layer (e.g. lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11, as shown in figs. 2-3 and discussed at col. 3, lines 4-5) made from a polymer (e.g. thermoplastic material bonded to polymer material, as discussed at col. 2, lines 5-9); and c) an intermediate layer (e.g. core component 10, as shown in figs. 2-3 and discussed at col. 3, lines 3-5) made from a paperboard (e.g. paper or cardboard discussed at col. 3, lines 9-14; note that paperboard is a type of paper; also note that paragraph 39 of Applicants’ filed specification indicates that the paperboard material may be boxboard, kraftboard, laminated board, solid bleached board, solid unbleached board, containerboard, cupstock, which are forms of cardboard).
Sheptak does not disclose said tag (1) specifically being a “horticultural” tag.
Davis teaches the concept of providing a horticultural tag (e.g. durable plant tag 226, as shown in figs. 2A-E; note the presence of a spike 234 shaping that enables the plant tag 226 to be inserted into soil per para. 54, and the plant-identifying indicia disposed upon the plant tag 226 as shown in fig. 2A).
Given that Sheptak concerns a generic multi-layer identification card assembly (1, as shown in figs. 1-5) bearing identifying indicia thereon (see figs. 1-2) and Davis concerns a multi-layer (see figs. 2D-E) plant identification card/tag assembly (figs. 2A-E) bearing identifying indicia thereon (see fig. 2A), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the Sheptak identification card assembly 1 with the Davis plant tag spike 234 shaping and plant identifying indicia shown in fig. 2A, in order to provide the benefit of yielding a resultant Sheptak card assembly that is capable of being inserted into soil near plants, and identifying said plants as desired.
Sheptak also does not disclose wherein the paperboard (aforementioned paper or cardboard) is infused with wax prior to (note that the instant claim is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of forming such) joining the first outer layer (aforementioned upper instance of laminae 11), the second outer layer (aforementioned lower instance of laminae 11), or both (aforementioned upper instance and lower instance of laminae 11, together) to the intermediate layer (10).
Propst teaches the concept of infusing (i.e. impregnating or permeating, per pg. 4, lines 10 and 19) a material (e.g. medium used to form a corrugated box, as discussed at pg. 4, lines 11 and 18; note that cardboard material is used to form corrugated boxes) with wax (e.g. hot wax discussed at pg. 4, lines 10 and 19).
Given that Sheptak concerns an assembly utilizing a paper or cardboard core component 10 therein (col. 3, lines 9-14) and Propst teaches a wax impregnation and permeation technique that imparts water resistance to paper and kraft/cardboard materials (pg. 3, lines 27-29), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the Propst wax impregnation and permeation teachings to the Sheptak paperboard core component 10 before being joined with its outer laminae 11 layers, in order to provide the benefit of yielding a resultant Sheptak assembly in which its core component 10 is rendered water-resistant, as taught by Propst (pg. 3, lines 27-29).
Regarding claim 2, Sheptak in view of Davis and further in view of Propst discloses the horticultural tag of claim 1, where the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), or both (aforementioned Sheptak upper instance and lower instance of laminae 11, together) are made from a thermoplastic material (e.g. thermoplastic material bonded to polymer material, as discussed at Sheptak col. 2, lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 3, Sheptak in view of Davis and further in view of Propst discloses the horticultural tag of claim 1, wherein the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11) is made from polyethylene (per Sheptak col. 5, lines 3-6, layer 17 may be made of low density polyethylene; see the construction of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11 layers shown in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Sheptak in view of Davis and further in view of Propst discloses the horticultural tag of claim 1, wherein the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11) is made from polyethylene (per Sheptak col. 5, lines 3-6, layer 17 may be made of low density polyethylene; see the construction of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11 layers shown in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Sheptak in view of Davis and further in view of Propst discloses the horticultural tag of claim 1, wherein the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11) or both (aforementioned Sheptak upper instance and lower instance of laminae 11, together) are made from low density polyethylene (LDPE) (per Sheptak col. 5, lines 3-6, layer 17 may be made of low density polyethylene; see the construction of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11 layers shown in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Sheptak in view of Davis and further in view of Propst discloses the horticultural tag of claim 1, wherein the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11) and the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11) are make from the same material (per Sheptak col. 5, lines 3-6, layer 17 may be made of low density polyethylene; see the construction of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11 layers shown in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Sheptak in view of Davis and further in view of Propst discloses the horticultural tag of claim 1, wherein the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11) and the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11) are made from different materials (per Sheptak col. 5, lines 3-6, each instance of layer 17 may be made of low density polyethylene, ethylene-ethacrylate, ethylene methacrylate, etc. as desired; see the construction of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11 layers shown in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Sheptak in view of Davis and further in view of Propst discloses the horticultural tag of any of claim 1, wherein the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11) and the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11) include a surface finish (e.g. Sheptak final layer 17, as shown in fig. 4 and discussed at col. 5, lines 3-9; see the construction of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11 layers shown in fig. 4) comprising one of a matte surface finish or a gloss surface finish (Sheptak col. 5, lines 3-9; note that the material recited therein may be provided in matte or glossy finishes as desired).
Regarding claim 12, Sheptak in view of Davis and further in view of Propst discloses the horticultural tag of claim 1, wherein the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), or both (aforementioned Sheptak upper instance and lower instance of laminae 11, together) include printing (Sheptak col. 3, lines 28-29).
Regarding claim 13, Sheptak in view of Davis and further in view of Propst discloses the horticultural tag of claim 1, wherein the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), or both (aforementioned Sheptak upper instance and lower instance of laminae 11, together) are made from (i.e. contain therein) a bio-based plastic (e.g. uniaxially oriented polymer material discussed at Sheptak col. 2, lines 50-54; the Office acknowledges paragraph 111 of Applicants’ filed specification defining a “bio-based plastic” as one that is compostable; note that uniaxially oriented polymers including PLA and PBAT are compostable) and the horticultural tag (Sheptak 1, as modified in the rejection of claim 1, supra) is compostable (see discussion set forth supra; also note that the instant claim is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of using or disposing of such).
Claims 23-24, 27, 32, 34 and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheptak in view of Davis.
Regarding claim 23, Sheptak discloses a tag (e.g. identification card 1, as shown in figs. 1-5 and discussed at col. 3, lines 1-5; the Office notes that paragraph 72 of Applicants’ filed specification indicates that Applicants’ fig. 3 illustrates a desired horticultural tag 10 of the invention; accordingly, the Office encourages Applicants to compare the structure of Applicants’ fig. 3 to that of Sheptak figs. 1-5) comprising: a) a first outer layer (e.g. upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11, as shown in figs. 2-3 and discussed at col. 3, lines 4-5) made from a thermoplastic (e.g. thermoplastic material bonded to polymer material, as discussed at col. 2, lines 5-9); b) a second outer layer (e.g. lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11, as shown in figs. 2-3 and discussed at col. 3, lines 4-5) made from a thermoplastic (e.g. thermoplastic material bonded to polymer material, as discussed at col. 2, lines 5-9); and c) an intermediate layer (e.g. core component 10, as shown in figs. 2-3 and discussed at col. 3, line 3) made from a paperboard (e.g. paper or cardboard discussed at col. 3, lines 9-14; note that paperboard is a type of paper; also note that paragraph 39 of Applicants’ filed specification indicates that the paperboard material may be boxboard, kraftboard, laminated board, solid bleached board, solid unbleached board, containerboard, cupstock, which are forms of cardboard), wherein the first outer layer (aforementioned upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), the second outer layer (aforementioned lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), or both (aforementioned upper instance and lower instance of laminae 11, together) are heat sealed (col. 2, lines 64-68; note that the instant claim is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of producing such) to the intermediate layer (10) to seal (col. 2, lines 64-68) the intermediate layer (10) therein (figs. 1-3 and 5).
Sheptak does not disclose said tag (1) specifically being a “horticultural” tag.
Davis teaches the concept of providing a horticultural tag (e.g. durable plant tag 226, as shown in figs. 2A-E; note the presence of a spike 234 shaping that enables the plant tag 226 to be inserted into soil per para. 54, and the plant-identifying indicia disposed upon the plant tag 226 as shown in fig. 2A).
For the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra, it would have been obvious to provide the Sheptak identification card assembly 1 with the Davis plant tag spike 234 shaping and plant identifying indicia shown in fig. 2A.
Regarding claim 24, Sheptak in view of Davis discloses the horticultural tag of claim 23, where the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), or both (aforementioned Sheptak upper instance and lower instance of laminae 11, together) are made from (i.e. contain therein) a plant-based plastic or bioplastic (e.g. uniaxially oriented polymer material discussed at Sheptak col. 2, lines 50-54; the Office acknowledges paragraph 56 of Applicants’ filed specification indicating that a plant-based plastic or bioplastic material may be PLA or PBAT; note that uniaxially oriented polymers can be in PLA and PBAT form).
Regarding claim 27, Sheptak in view of Davis discloses the horticultural tag of claim 23, where in the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11) or both (aforementioned Sheptak upper instance and lower instance of laminae 11, together) are biodegradable (e.g. include uniaxially oriented polymer material therein, as discussed at Sheptak col. 2, lines 50-54; the Office acknowledges paragraph 56 of Applicants’ filed specification indicating that a plant-based plastic or bioplastic material may be PLA or PBAT; note that uniaxially oriented polymers can be in PLA and PBAT form; also note that the instant claim is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of using or disposing of such)
Regarding claim 32, Sheptak in view of Davis discloses the horticultural tag of claim 23, wherein the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), or both (aforementioned Sheptak upper instance and lower instance of laminae 11, together) are heat sealed (Sheptak col. 2, lines 22-33; note that the instant claim is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of producing such) around peripheral edges (e.g. outer edges, as shown in Sheptak figs. 2 and 5) of the intermediate layer (Sheptak 10) such that the intermediate layer (Sheptak 10) is fully covered (Sheptak figs. 2 and 5) by the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), or both (aforementioned Sheptak upper instance and lower instance of laminae 11, together).
Regarding claim 34, Sheptak in view of Davis discloses the horticultural tag of claim 23, wherein the horticultural tag (Sheptak 1, as modified in the rejection of claim 1, supra) is moisture wicking, moisture resistant (note the presence of instances of Sheptak multi-ply extrusion laminae 11, as shown in figs. 2-3), or both.
Regarding claim 37, Sheptak in view of Davis discloses the horticultural tag of claim 23, wherein the intermediate layer (Sheptak 10) is uncoated (Sheptak fig. 3; note the manner in which at least external side edges of core component 10 may be uncoated).
Regarding claim 38, Sheptak in view of Davis discloses the horticultural tag of claim 23, wherein the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), or both are extruded (Sheptak col. 2 lines 5-6; note that the instant claim is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of producing such) over (Sheptak figs. 2-5) the intermediate layer (Sheptak 10) to form a multi-layer material (e.g. assembly shown in Sheptak figs. 1-5), and the resultant multi-layer material (aforementioned assembly shown in Sheptak figs. 1-5) is die (note that the instant claim is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of producing such) cut (Sheptak col. 1, lines 40-41; also see configurations shown in figs. 1-5) to form (note that the instant claim is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of producing such) the horticultural tag (Sheptak 1, as modified in the rejection of claim 1, supra).
Regarding claim 39, Sheptak in view of Davis discloses the horticultural tag of claim 23, wherein the horticultural tag (Sheptak 1, as modified in the rejection of claim 1, supra) is corona treated (note that the instant claim is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of producing such) to ensure adhesion during printing on (note that the instant claim is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of producing such) the first outer layer (Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), the second outer layer (Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), or both (aforementioned Sheptak upper instance and lower instance of laminae 11, together).
Regarding claim 40, Sheptak in view of Davis discloses the horticultural tag of claim 38, wherein the horticultural tag (Sheptak 1, as modified in the rejection of claim 1, supra) is heat-sealed (Sheptak col. 2, lines 64-68; note that the instant claim is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of producing such) after (note that the instant claim is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of producing such) die (note that the instant claim is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of producing such) cutting (Sheptak col. 1, lines 40-41; also see configurations shown in figs. 1-5).
Claims 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheptak in view of Davis and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0102080 to Mallik (“Mallik”).
Regarding claim 25, Sheptak in view of Davis discloses the horticultural tag of claim 23, but does not disclose wherein the first outer layer (aforementioned Sheptak upper instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), the second outer layer (aforementioned Sheptak lower instance of multi-ply extrusion laminae 11), or both (aforementioned Sheptak upper instance and lower instance of laminae 11, together) are made from polybutylene succinate (PBS).
Mallik teaches the concept of providing a label (14, as shown in figs. 1-2 and discussed at para. 23) utilizing polybutylene succinate (PBS) (para. 13).
Given that Sheptak concerns a multilayer informational assembly (figs. 1-5) that can contain polymer outer laminae layers (col. 2, lines 5-9) and Mallik concerns a multi-layer informational assembly (fig. 2) that contains a more specific PBS polymer material therein (para. 13), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Mallik polybutylene succinate (PBS) material within the Sheptak label layers as desired, in order to provide the benefit of yielding a resultant Sheptak label assembly having a moisture vapor transmission rate as desired, as taught by Mallik (para. 12).
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicants’ argument that the shape of a tag does not automatically make it a horticultural tag (Arguments/Remarks pg. 7), the Office respectfully asserts that Applicants’ claim 1 indicates that a horticultural tag merely consists of a polymer first outer layer, a polymer second outer layer, and a paperboard intermediate layer that is infused with wax. Accordingly, Applicants’ are encouraged to see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra.
In response to Applicants’ argument that the Office Action does not show that Davis provides the structure (“paper board is infused with wax”) of a horticultural tag (Arguments/Remarks pg. 7), the Office respectfully asserts that within the rejection of claim 1, supra, the Davis reference is not relied upon for teachings of a “paper board infused with wax”. Accordingly, Applicants are encouraged to see the actual combination of references set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra.
In response to Applicants’ argument that Propst does not teach infusion of the paperboard and performing that infusion before assembly (Arguments/Remarks pg. 8), the Office respectfully asserts that as indicated supra, Propst teaches the concept of impregnating or permeating a medium/structure with hot wax at pg. 4, lines 10 and 19. With regard to performing such operation specifically “before assembly”, note that claim 1 is drawn to a horticultural tag- not a method of producing such.
In response to Applicants’ argument that the Office Action does not explain why a person of ordinary skill in the art would replace Davis’s construction with Sheptak’s laminated construction (Arguments/Remarks pgs. 9-10), the Office respectfully asserts that Applicants evidently misunderstand the actual nature of the modification set forth within the rejection of claim 23. Said modification simply applies the Davis plant tag spike 234 shaping and plant identifying indicia teachings to the Sheptak identification assembly 1, so that the Sheptak identification assembly 1 can be placed into soil near a plant and utilized to identify said plant. The combination does not “replace Davis’s construction with Sheptak’s laminated construction”. In the event that Applicants’ Representative would like further guidance with regard to this matter, Applicants’ Representative is encouraged to telephone Examiner at any time.
In response to Applicants’ argument that modifying Sheptak with the teachings of Davis would require an alteration in the principle of operation of Davis (Arguments/Remarks pg. 10), the Office respectfully asserts that simply applying the Davis plant tag spike 234 shaping and plant identifying indicia teachings to the Sheptak identification assembly 1 does not involve any alteration of Davis whatsoever. Rather, the Sheptak assembly is altered in having the Davis teachings applied to it.
In response to Applicants’ argument that attempting to combine the laminated structure of Sheptak’s identification card assembly with the durable plant tags of Davis would require a “substantial reconstruction and redesign of the elements” of the references (Arguments/Remarks pg. 10), the Office respectfully asserts that simply applying the Davis plant tag spike 234 shaping and plant identifying indicia teachings to the Sheptak identification assembly 1 would require mere modifications of a small part of the Sheptak assembly’s perimeter shaping and its indicia displayed thereon.
In response to Applicants’ argument that Sheptak provides no teaching of uniaxially oriented polymer material (Arguments/Remarks pg. 10), the Office respectfully asserts that Sheptak col. 2, lines 50-54 indeed teaches the potential use of the broad class of “uniaxially oriented polymer materials”.
In response to Applicants’ argument that Davis teaches away from any compostable or biodegradable material (Arguments/Remarks pg. 10), the Office respectfully asserts that within the rejection of claim 24, Davis is not relied upon for any teaching of “compostable or biodegradable material”. Rather, Davis is simply relied upon for its plant tag spike 234 shaping and plant identifying indicia teachings.
In response to Applicants’ argument that Mallik requires high rates of moisture vapor transmission, equating to a low level of moisture resistance, whereas Applicants’ invention utilizes renewable materials yet still provides proper moisture resistance (Arguments/Remarks pg. 11), the Office respectfully asserts that Applicants’ argument does not set forth an indication of why the Mallik reference’s teachings may not be applied to the Sheptak assembly.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN V LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637