DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8/24/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pantelopoulos et al. (US 20150286285), in view of Kreek et al. (US 20070097065), and further in view of Pantfoerder (US 20210397291).
As to claim 1, Pantelopoulos teaches a screen brightness adjustment method [abstract & fig. 16-18], applied to an electronic device (electronic device 100) [figs. 1 & 17-18], wherein the electronic device comprises a screen (display 150) [figs. 1 & 17-18] and an ambient light sensor (ambient light sensor 118) [figs. 1 & 17-18], and the method comprises:
receiving a first preset operation of turning on the screen by a user (watch check gesture, block 1600) [fig. 16 & para. 24 & 85];
in response to the first preset operation [fig. 16 & para. 88], collecting first light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, wherein the first light intensity data is used to update backlight brightness of the screen (block 1630) [fig. 16 & para. 88 & 93]; and
turning on the screen by using first backlight brightness corresponding to the first light intensity data (block 1650) [fig. 16 & para. 88-90 & 93].
Pantelopoulos does not explicitly teach periodically collecting, after the screen is turned on, second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data.
Kreek teaches the concept of a screen brightness adjustment method [abstract], that utilizes periodically collecting, after a screen (screen 24) [figs. 1-3 & para. 16-20] is turned on, second light intensity data by using an ambient light sensor (ambient light sensed by light sensor) [para. 19], and adjusting a backlight (screen 24 backlight) [figs. 1-3 & para. 16-20] brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [fig. 3 & para. 16-20].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Pantelopoulos, such that the method further utilizes periodically collecting, after the screen is turned on, second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data, as taught by Kreek, to improve image quality by adapting the screen to different lighting conditions as the user moves between different environments, as taught by Kreek [para. 3 & abstract].
Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek does not explicitly teach in response to the first preset operation, before turning on the screen, collecting first light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor.
Pantfoerder teaches the concept of a screen brightness adjustment method [abstract], wherein in response to a first preset operation (triggering activity) [para. 40], before turning on the screen (display device is off) [para. 40], collecting first light intensity data by using an ambient light sensor (ambient light sensor turning on to detect ambient light level) [para. 40], wherein the first light intensity data is used to update brightness of the screen [para. 40].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the screen brightness adjustment method of Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek, such that in response to the first preset operation, before turning on the screen, collecting first light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, as taught by Pantfoerder, to improve usability by reducing vision impairment of a user by reducing luminance shock, as taught by Pantfoerder [abstract].
As to claim 2, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the periodically collecting second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [see claim 1 above] comprises:
periodically collecting the second light intensity data based on a first preset period by using the ambient light sensor [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20]; and
adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen based on a second preset period by using second backlight brightness corresponding to second light intensity data that meets a preset condition in the second preset period [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20], wherein
the second preset period comprises n first preset periods [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20], the second light intensity data that meets the preset condition in the second preset period is smallest second light intensity data in n pieces of second light intensity data collected in the n first preset periods (when measured light is <=7) [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-21, table a & table b], and n is a positive integer.
As to claim 3, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the periodically collecting, after the screen is turned on, second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [see claim 1 above] comprises:
after first preset duration starting from a moment at which the screen is turned on [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20], periodically collecting the second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20], and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using the second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20].
As to claim 4, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the method according to any one of claims 1, wherein the turning on the screen by using first backlight brightness corresponding to the first light intensity data [see claim 1 above] comprises:
after second preset duration starting from a moment at which the first preset operation is received, turning on the screen by using the first backlight brightness corresponding to the first light intensity data [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20].
As to claim 5, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein after the collecting first light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and before the turning on the screen by using first backlight brightness corresponding to the first light intensity data [see claim 1 above], the method further comprises:
starting a dimming timer, wherein the dimming timer is used to time the first preset duration and the second preset duration [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20].
As to claim 6, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein after the periodically collecting, after the screen is turned on, second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [see claim 1 above], the method further comprises:
in response to the screen being turned off, stopping periodically collecting the second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor [Kreek: fig. 8 & para. 29 & 32].
As to claim 7, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the electronic device is a smartwatch [Pantelopoulos: figs. 1 & 17-18 & para. 107 & 22-25].
As to claim 8, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the first preset operation is a wrist lifting operation performed by the user after the user wears the smartwatch or a tap operation performed by the user on the smartwatch [Pantelopoulos: para. 24].
As to claim 9, Pantelopoulos teaches an electronic device (electronic device 100) [abstract & fig. 16-18], comprising:
a memory and one or more processors (non-transitory machine readable storage media 1704 & one or more processors 1702) [abstract & figs. 16-18 & para. 104-107], wherein the memory is coupled to the processor [fig. 17 & para. 104-107], the memory stores computer program code, the computer program code comprises computer instructions [para. 104-107], and when the computer instructions are executed by the processor [para. 104-107], the electronic device is enabled to perform a method [abstract & figs. 16-18], wherein the electronic device comprises a screen (display 150) [figs. 1 & 17-18] and an ambient light sensor (ambient light sensor 118) [figs. 1 & 17-18], and the method comprises:
receiving a first preset operation of turning on the screen by a user (watch check gesture, block 1600) [fig. 16 & para. 24 & 85];
in response to the first preset operation [fig. 16 & para. 88], collecting first light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, wherein the first light intensity data is used to update backlight brightness of the screen (block 1630) [fig. 16 & para. 88 & 93]; and
turning on the screen by using first backlight brightness corresponding to the first light intensity data (block 1650) [fig. 16 & para. 88-90 & 93].
Pantelopoulos does not explicitly teach periodically collecting, after the screen is turned on, second light intensity data by using the ambient tight sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data.
Kreek teaches the concept of a screen brightness adjustment method [abstract], that utilizes periodically collecting, after a screen (screen 24) [figs. 1-3 & para. 16-20] is turned on, second light intensity data by using an ambient tight sensor (ambient light sensed by light sensor) [para. 19], and adjusting a backlight (screen 24 backlight) [figs. 1-3 & para. 16-20] brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [fig. 3 & para. 16-20].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the electronic device of Pantelopoulos, such that the method further utilizes periodically collecting, after the screen is turned on, second light intensity data by using the ambient tight sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data, as taught by Kreek, to improve image quality by adapting the screen to different lighting conditions as the user moves between different environments, as taught by Kreek [para. 3 & abstract].
Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek does not explicitly teach in response to the first preset operation, before turning on the screen, collecting first light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor.
Pantfoerder teaches the concept of an electronic device that utilizes a screen brightness adjustment method [abstract & figs. 1 & 5a-5b], wherein in response to a first preset operation (triggering activity) [para. 40], before turning on the screen (display device is off) [para. 40], collecting first light intensity data by using an ambient light sensor (ambient light sensor turning on to detect ambient light level) [para. 40], wherein the first light intensity data is used to update brightness of the screen [para. 40].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the screen brightness adjustment method of the electronic device of Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek, such that in response to the first preset operation, before turning on the screen, collecting first light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, as taught by Pantfoerder, to improve usability by reducing vision impairment of a user by reducing luminance shock, as taught by Pantfoerder [abstract].
As to claim 10, Pantelopoulos teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (non-transitory machine readable storage media 1704) [abstract & figs. 16-18 & para. 104-107], comprising computer instructions [fig. 17 & para. 104-107], wherein when the computer instructions are run on an electronic device (electronic device 100) [abstract & fig. 16-18], the electronic device is enabled to perform a method [abstract & figs. 16-18], wherein the electronic device comprises a screen (display 150) [figs. 1 & 17-18] and an ambient light sensor (ambient light sensor 118) [figs. 1 & 17-18], and the method comprises:
receiving a first preset operation of turning on the screen by a user (watch check gesture, block 1600) [fig. 16 & para. 24 & 85];
in response to the first preset operation [fig. 16 & para. 88], collecting first light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, wherein the first light intensity data is used to update backlight brightness of the screen (block 1630) [fig. 16 & para. 88 & 93]; and
turning on the screen by using first backlight brightness corresponding to the first light intensity data (block 1650) [fig. 16 & para. 88-90 & 93].
Pantelopoulos does not explicitly teach periodically collecting, after the screen is turned on, second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data.
Kreek teaches the concept of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [fig. 2] utilized with a screen brightness adjustment method [abstract], that utilizes periodically collecting, after a screen (screen 24) [figs. 1-3 & para. 16-20] is turned on, second light intensity data by using an ambient light sensor (ambient light sensed by light sensor) [para. 19], and adjusting a backlight (screen 24 backlight) [figs. 1-3 & para. 16-20] brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [fig. 3 & para. 16-20].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Pantelopoulos, such that the method further utilizes periodically collecting, after the screen is turned on, second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data, as taught by Kreek, to improve image quality by adapting the screen to different lighting conditions as the user moves between different environments, as taught by Kreek [para. 3 & abstract].
Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek does not explicitly teach in response to the first preset operation, before turning on the screen, collecting first light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor.
Pantfoerder teaches the concept of a non-transitory computer readable medium that utilizes a screen brightness adjustment method [abstract & para. 35], wherein in response to a first preset operation (triggering activity) [para. 40], before turning on the screen (display device is off) [para. 40], collecting first light intensity data by using an ambient light sensor (ambient light sensor turning on to detect ambient light level) [para. 40], wherein the first light intensity data is used to update brightness of the screen [para. 40].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the screen brightness adjustment method of the non-transitory computer readable medium of Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek, such that in response to the first preset operation, before turning on the screen, collecting first light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, as taught by Pantfoerder, to improve usability by reducing vision impairment of a user by reducing luminance shock, as taught by Pantfoerder [abstract].
As to claim 11, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the computer-readable storage medium according to claim 10, wherein the periodically collecting second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [see claim 10 above] comprises:
periodically collecting the second light intensity data based on a first preset period by using the ambient light sensor [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20]; and
adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen based on a second preset period by using second backlight brightness corresponding to second light intensity data that meets a preset condition in the second preset period [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20], wherein
the second preset period comprises n first preset periods [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20], the second light intensity data that meets the preset condition in the second preset period is smallest second light intensity data in n pieces of second light intensity data collected in the n first preset periods (when measured light is <=7) [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-21, table a & table b], and n is a positive integer.
As to claim 12, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the computer-readable storage medium according to claim 10, wherein the periodically collecting, after the screen is turned on, second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [see claim 10 above] comprises:
after first preset duration starting from a moment at which the screen is turned on [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20], periodically collecting the second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20], and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using the second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20].
As to claim 13, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the computer-readable storage medium according to claim 10, wherein the turning on the screen by using first backlight brightness corresponding to the first light intensity data [see claim 10 above] comprises:
after second preset duration starting from a moment at which the first preset operation is received, turning on the screen by using the first backlight brightness corresponding to the first light intensity data [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20].
As to claim 14, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the periodically collecting second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [see claim 9 above] comprises:
periodically collecting the second light intensity data based on a first preset period by using the ambient light sensor [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20]; and
adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen based on a second preset period by using second backlight brightness corresponding to second light intensity data that meets a preset condition in the second preset period [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20], wherein
the second preset period comprises n first preset periods [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20], the second light intensity data that meets the preset condition in the second preset period is smallest second light intensity data in n pieces of second light intensity data collected in the n first preset periods (when measured light is <=7) [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-21, table a & table b], and n is a positive integer.
As to claim 15, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the electronic device according to claim 9,wherein the periodically collecting, after the screen is turned on, second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [see claim 9 above] comprises:
after first preset duration starting from a moment at which the screen is turned on [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20], periodically collecting the second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20], and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using the second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20].
As to claim 16, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the turning on the screen by using first backlight brightness corresponding to the first light intensity data [see claim 9 above] comprises:
after second preset duration starting from a moment at which the first preset operation is received, turning on the screen by using the first backlight brightness corresponding to the first light intensity data [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20].
As to claim 17, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the electronic device according to claim 15, wherein after the collecting first light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and before the turning on the screen by using first backlight brightness corresponding to the first light intensity data [see claim 9 above], the method further comprises:
starting a dimming timer, wherein the dimming timer is used to time the first preset duration and the second preset duration [Kreek: fig. 3 & para. 16-20].
As to claim 18, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein after the periodically collecting, after the screen is turned on, second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor, and adjusting the backlight brightness of the screen by using second backlight brightness corresponding to the second light intensity data [see claim 9 above], the method further comprises:
in response to the screen being turned off, stopping periodically collecting the second light intensity data by using the ambient light sensor [Kreek: fig. 8 & para. 29 & 32].
As to claim 19, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the electronic device is a smartwatch [Pantelopoulos: figs. 1 & 17-18 & para. 107 & 22-25].
As to claim 20, Pantelopoulos as modified by Kreek and Pantfoerder teaches the electronic device according to claim 19, wherein the first preset operation is a wrist lifting operation performed by the user after the user wears the smartwatch or a tap operation performed by the user on the smartwatch [Pantelopoulos: para. 24].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622