DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Amendment/Request for Reconsideration filed on August 05, 2026. Claims 1, 4, 8-10, 84, 86, and 88-89 have been amended and are hereby entered. Claims 11-83 have been canceled. Claims 1-10 and 84-89 are currently pending and have been examined. This action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10 and 84-89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 13-14, recites “wherein the heating element is disposed at an outer surface of an inner coating of the at least one of the side walls”. However, claim 1, lines 11-12, previously recites wherein “the side walls comprise a thermal barrier layer coated on opposite sides, each side by a protective layer of quick curing material”. It is presently unclear whether the “inner coating of the at least one of the side walls” refers to one of the previously claimed protective layers “coated on opposite sides” of the thermal barrier layer, or to an entirely separate coating or layer. As such, the structure of the side walls and the arrangement of the heating element and protective layers are unclear, and the claim is therefore rendered indefinite. Claims 2-10 and 84-89 are similarly rejected by virtue of dependency upon claim 1.
Claim 8, lines 1-3, recites “wherein an inner coating configured to be inward facing and in contact with the plant growing medium further comprises aerogel”. However, claim 1, lines 13-14, previously recites “an inner coating of the at least one of the side walls”. It is presently unclear whether the “inner coating” of claim 8 is a same or a different coating relative to the “inner coating” of claim 1. As such, the structure and arrangement of the side walls and its layers are unclear, and the claim is therefore rendered indefinite.
Claim 9, lines 1-2, recites “wherein the heating element is disposed between the aerogel and the protective layer on an inner side of the side walls”. It is additionally understood that the aerogel forms an inner coating (see claim 8, lines 1-3, wherein “an inner coating…further comprises aerogel”). With these facts in mind, it is presently unclear how the following statements can be true simultaneously:
From claim 1: “the inner coating thermally separates the thermal barrier layer from thermal energy generated by the heating element”
From claim 9: “the heating element is disposed between the aerogel and the protective layer on an inner side of the side walls”
In particular, it is unclear how the heating element may be both separated from the thermal barrier layer by the inner coating (aerogel) and disposed between the inner coating (aerogel) and the protective layer. Furthermore, with recitation of the element “the protective layer”, it is unclear as to which of the previously introduced protective layers and/or coatings claim 9 refers. As such, the structure and arrangement of the side walls and its layers are unclear, and the scope of the claim is therefore rendered indefinite.
Claim 10, line 3, recites “the protective layer on the inner side of the side walls”. However, claim 1, line 11, previously recites “a thermal barrier coated on opposite sides, each side by a protective layer”, claim 1, line 14, previously recites “an inner coating of the at least one of the side walls”, and claim 9, line 2 previously recites “the protective layer on an inner side of the walls”. It is presently unclear whether “the protective layer on the inner side of the side walls” of claim 10 refers to any of the previously recited layers and/or coatings, or to an entirely separate layer. As such, the structure and arrangement of the side walls and its layers are unclear, and the scope of the claim is therefore rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delogne (US 3,676,953 A), hereinafter Delogne, in view of Kochman (US 2017/0202158 A1), hereinafter Kochman, and Phelps et al. (CA 2665314 A1), hereinafter Phelps.
Annotated Figure 1. Kochman Fig. 5, Plan View (Examiner-Annotated)
Regarding claim 1, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne discloses a modular gardening box (title; abstract) comprising:
a plant growing volume (interior of container 1, delineated by walls 2 and plate 6) defined by four side walls (lateral walls 2), wherein the plant growing volume is configured to hold a plant growing medium (fig. 2, interior of container capable of holding plant growing medium);
a wicking bed (water-tight tray 18) disposed below the plant growing volume (fig. 2) comprising a liquid reservoir (drainage chamber 9; fig. 2), wherein the plant growing medium is moisturized by liquids in the liquid reservoir by wicking (moisturized via wicks 15; col 2, lines 64-72); and,
a heating element (perforated plate 6 comprising resistance 16) disposed in at least one of the side walls (fig. 2-3, perforated plate 6 is located within the bounds of lateral walls 2) and configured such that heat generated by the heating element is directed into the plant growing medium (fig. 2-3; col 2, line 73-col 3, line 5, heat generated by resistance 16 of perforated plate 6 is directed into growing medium within container 1).
Delogne does not appear to specifically disclose:
wherein:
the side walls comprise a thermal barrier layer coated on opposite sides, each side by a protective layer of quick curing material, and the protective layer is heat resistant, wherein the heating element is disposed at an outer surface of an inner coating of the at least one of the side walls, such that the inner coating thermally separates the thermal barrier layer from thermal energy generated by the heating element.
However, Kochman is in the field of heated plant cultivation apparatuses (title; abstract) and teaches:
wherein:
the side walls comprise a thermal barrier layer (wall of plastic plant growth container 1, capable of at least partially blocking thermal energy) coated on opposite sides, each side by a protective layer of material (coated by heating element holding means 12 and insulation medium 10, which provide physical protection; see annotated fig. 1), and the protective layer is heat resistant (heat element holding means 12 and insulation medium 10 are at least to some degree resistant to heat), wherein the heating element (heating element panel 11) is disposed at an outer surface of an inner coating of the at least one of the side walls (annotated fig. 1, heat element holding means 12 may be considered an innermost coating of the protective layers/coatings; heating element panel 11 is disposed at an outer surface of heat element holding means 12), such that the inner coating thermally separates the thermal barrier layer from thermal energy generated by the heating element (annotated fig. 1, heating element holding means 12 separates wall of plastic plant growth container 1 from heating element panel 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modular gardening box with side walls and heating element of Delogne to incorporate the teachings of a thermal barrier layer and protective layers as taught by Kochman with a reasonable expectation of success to insulate the gardening box such that heat is better retained and not wasted (para [0029]).
Additionally, Phelps is in the field of protective linings (abstract) and teaches a protective layer (second elastomeric polyurea/urethane hybrid layer 18) of quick curing material (para [0060], layer 18 is capable of curing within 10 seconds after application, which aligns with Applicant’s definition of “quick curing”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modular gardening box with side walls of Delogne to incorporate the teachings of a protective layer of quick curing material as taught by Phelps with a reasonable expectation of success to provide protection to the side walls from environmental conditions (para [0003]), wherein application of said layer is performed with reduced manufacturing times.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the protective layer (from Phelps, second elastomeric polyurea/urethane hybrid layer 18) comprises aromatic polyurea (from Phelps, para [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the protective layer (from Phelps, second elastomeric polyurea/urethane hybrid layer 18) comprises polyurethane (from Phelps, para [0038]).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the protective layer (from Phelps, second elastomeric polyurea/urethane hybrid layer 18) comprises a material hardness with shore durometer between 25D and 60D (from Phelps, para [0051], elastomeric aromatic polyurea/urethane hybrid layer 18 has Shore D hardness less than 65; see Table 2, second elastomeric polyurea/urethane hybrid is disclosed as having a hardness of 45 D).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne discloses the modular gardening box of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the quick curing material (from Phelps, material of second elastomeric polyurea/urethane hybrid layer 18) cures within 10 seconds after application (from Phelps, para [0060]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Delogne (US 3,676,953 A), hereinafter Delogne, in view of Kochman (US 2017/0202158 A1), hereinafter Kochman, and Phelps et al. (CA 2665314 A1), hereinafter Phelps, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Paul (WO 2012/000063 A1), hereinafter Paul.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the thermal barrier layer comprises expanded polystyrene.
However, Paul is in the field of plant cultivation (title; abstract) and discloses wherein the thermal barrier layer (expanded polystyrene sheet 24) comprises expanded polystyrene (page 8/29, lines 9-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modular planting box with thermal barrier layer of Delogne as modified to have made the thermal barrier layer of expanded polystyrene as taught by Paul with a reasonable expectation of success to provide insulative structural support to the planting box while keeping the planting box lightweight for easier transportation.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Delogne (US 3,676,953 A), hereinafter Delogne, in view of Kochman (US 2017/0202158 A1), hereinafter Kochman, and Phelps et al. (CA 2665314 A1), hereinafter Phelps, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lu et al. (CN 111296131 A), hereinafter Lu.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the heating element comprises a graphene heat trace.
However, Lu is in the field of cultivation apparatuses (title) and teaches wherein the heating element (graphene heating film 16) comprises a graphene heat trace (fig. 4; page 19/20, under “Example 2”, “graphene heating film is electrified for heating”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modular gardening box with heating element of Delogne as modified to have made the heating element a graphene heat trace as taught by Lu with a reasonable expectation of success to utilize materials well understood in the art to effectively heat the gardening box (page 15/20, second paragraph). Furthermore, no criticality appears to be disclosed regarding the material choice of graphene, as the specification notes that materials other than graphene may be used to form the heating element (see Specification, para [0082]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Delogne (US 3,676,953 A), hereinafter Delogne, in view of Kochman (US 2017/0202158 A1), hereinafter Kochman, and Phelps et al. (CA 2665314 A1), hereinafter Phelps, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ma et al. (CN 109328745 A), hereinafter Ma.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein an inner coating configured to be inward facing and in contact with the plant growing medium further comprises aerogel.
However, Ma is in the field of plant cultivation (title) and teaches wherein an inner coating (aerogel felt 3) configured to be inward facing and in contact with the plant growing medium (fig. 2) further comprises aerogel (page 13/15, seventh paragraph, “providing the double-layer heat insulation layer combined of aerogel felt groove”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modular gardening box with layered side walls of Delogne as modified to incorporate aerogel into the inner coating as taught by Ma with a reasonable expectation of success to better insulate the gardening box such that the temperature of the plant and plant growing medium are less affected by external environmental temperatures (page 13/15, seventh paragraph). Furthermore, no criticality appears to be disclosed regarding the material choice of aerogel, as the specification notes that materials other than aerogel may be used to form the inner coating (see Specification, para [0081]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Delogne (US 3,676,953 A), hereinafter Delogne, in view of Kochman (US 2017/0202158 A1), hereinafter Kochman, Phelps et al. (CA 2665314 A1), hereinafter Phelps, and Ma et al. (CN 109328745 A), hereinafter Ma, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Bowles (US 11,388,862 B2), hereinafter Bowles.
Regarding claim 9, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 8, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the heating element is disposed between the aerogel and the protective layer on the inner side of the side walls.
However, Bowles is in the field of plant cultivation (title; abstract) and teaches wherein the heating element (thermoelectric device 65) is disposed between the aerogel (first thermal insulation 76a) and the protective layer (waterblock 94; fig. 6) on the inner side of the side walls (walled structure of thermoelectric heat exchanger assembly 56; fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modular gardening box with heating element, aerogel layer, and protective layer of Delogne as modified to have arranged the heating element between the aerogel and the protective layer as taught by Bowles with a reasonable expectation of success to protect the heating element from moisture or other environmental factors.
Regarding claim 10, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 9, and further discloses further comprising a conductive substrate (from Bowles, thermal conduction plate 70) sandwiched between the heating element (from Bowles, thermoelectric device 65) and an outer surface of the protective layer (from Bowles, waterblock 94; fig. 6) on the inner side of the side walls (from Bowles, walled structure of thermoelectric heat exchanger assembly 56; fig. 6).
Claim(s) 84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Delogne (US 3,676,953 A), hereinafter Delogne, in view of Kochman (US 2017/0202158 A1), hereinafter Kochman, and Phelps et al. (CA 2665314 A1), hereinafter Phelps, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pierce (US 2016/0081283 A1), hereinafter Pierce.
Regarding claim 84, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose further comprising:
a connection pipe fluidly connected to the liquid reservoir; and,
a flow inducing feature fluidly connected to the liquid reservoir through the connection pipe, wherein the flow inducing feature is disposed vertically above the liquid reservoir and is exposed to an external environment and ambient air, such that a pressure differential between the ambient air and the liquid reservoir induces an airflow between the external environment and the liquid reservoir.
However, Pierce is in the field of plant cultivation (title; abstract) and teaches further comprising:
a connection pipe (hose fitting 55) fluidly connected to the liquid reservoir (segregated cells 72 containing liquid; fig. 3); and,
a flow inducing feature (direct supply tube 88) fluidly connected to the liquid reservoir through the connection pipe (fig. 3), wherein the flow inducing feature is disposed vertically above the liquid reservoir (fig. 3) and is exposed to an external environment and ambient air (fig. 3), such that a pressure differential between the ambient air and the liquid reservoir induces an airflow between the external environment and the liquid reservoir (fig. 3, direct supply tube 88 is capable of inducing airflow between external environment and cells 72 via pressure differential).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modular gardening box with liquid reservoir of Delogne as modified to incorporate the connection pipe and flow inducing feature as taught by Pierce with a reasonable expectation of success to allow gas and liquid exchange between an external environment and the reservoir, thereby allowing fresh air and water to be more easily circulated into the system.
Claim(s) 85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Delogne (US 3,676,953 A), hereinafter Delogne, in view of Kochman (US 2017/0202158 A1), hereinafter Kochman, and Phelps et al. (CA 2665314 A1), hereinafter Phelps, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (CN 111670723 A), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 85, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose further comprising:
a box cover comprising a protective cover and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to automatically activate the protective cover such that, in an activated mode, the protective cover sealingly encloses the plant growing volume.
However, Liu is in the field of plant cultivation (title) and teaches further comprising:
a box cover (shown in fig. 6) comprising a protective cover (cover body 13) and a controller (central controller 113), wherein the controller is configured to automatically activate the protective cover such that, in an activated mode, the protective cover sealingly encloses the plant growing volume (cultivating groove 12; page 19/22, fourth paragraph, “Then the central controller 113 controls the first cylinder 15 to shrink so that the first cylinder 15 is in the contracted state. At this time, the cover body 13 tightly matched with the cultivating groove 12, collecting box 11 on the through hole is covered by the cover body 13. a plurality of cultivation groove 12 are sealed, so that the plurality of cultivation groove 12 are in isolated state with the inner cavity of the collecting box 11”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modular gardening box of Delogne as modified to incorporate the box cover as taught by Liu with a reasonable expectation of success to protect plants from damage from wildlife or unwanted human interaction.
Claim(s) 86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Delogne (US 3,676,953 A), hereinafter Delogne, in view of Kochman (US 2017/0202158 A1), hereinafter Kochman, and Phelps et al. (CA 2665314 A1), hereinafter Phelps, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Poolar (US 2011/0271590 A1), hereinafter Poolar.
Regarding claim 86, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose further comprising:
a fill level sensor of the liquid reservoir configured to measure a fill level of liquid in the liquid reservoir;
a moisture sensor configured to measure a moisture level of the plant growing medium;
a data store comprising a soil profile comprising a minimum fill level of the liquid reservoir and a rate of change of the moisture level of the plant growing medium as a function of the moisture level and the fill level of the liquid reservoir; and,
a controller operably coupled to the fill level sensor and the moisture sensor, wherein
the controller regulates a moisture level of the plant growing medium by comparing a soil moisture profile comprising a level measurement of the fill level sensor and a rate of change of the moisture level of the plant growing medium to the soil profile, such that the controller generates a signal as a function of the level measurement and the minimum fill level specified in the soil profile.
However, Poolar is in the field of plant cultivation (title; abstract) and teaches further comprising:
a fill level sensor (water level sensor 72) of the liquid reservoir (water reservoir 16) configured to measure a fill level of liquid in the liquid reservoir (para [0037]);
a moisture sensor (humidity sensor 82) configured to measure a moisture level of the plant growing medium (soil 30; para [0038]);
a data store (control module 22) comprising a soil profile (“plant profiles” para [0038]) comprising a minimum fill level of the liquid reservoir and a rate of change of the moisture level of the plant growing medium as a function of the moisture level and the fill level of the liquid reservoir (para [0037]-[0038] and [0043]); and,
a controller (timing controller 88) operably coupled to the fill level sensor and the moisture sensor (para [0038] and [0043]), wherein
the controller regulates a moisture level of the plant growing medium by comparing a soil moisture profile comprising a level measurement of the fill level sensor and a rate of change of the moisture level of the plant growing medium to the soil profile, such that the controller generates a signal as a function of the level measurement and the minimum fill level specified in the soil profile (para [0037]-[0038] and [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modular gardening box with liquid reservoir of Delogne as modified to incorporate the fill level sensor, moisture sensor, data store, and controller as taught by Poolar with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for more precise and more automated control over watering of plants within the gardening box (para [0037]-[0038] and [0043]).
Claim(s) 87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Delogne (US 3,676,953 A), hereinafter Delogne, in view of Kochman (US 2017/0202158 A1), hereinafter Kochman, and Phelps et al. (CA 2665314 A1), hereinafter Phelps, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mikkelson (US 10,577,755 B1), hereinafter Mikkelson.
Regarding claim 87, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose further comprising:
a data store comprising a soil profile comprising a temperature threshold matrix;
a plurality of temperature sensors, wherein the plurality of temperature sensors are distributed throughout the plant growing medium; and,
a controller operably coupled to the plurality of temperature sensors, wherein the controller controls a temperature of the plant growing medium by (a) generating a 3D temperature matrix of the plant growing medium, and (b) comparing the 3D temperature matrix to the temperature threshold matrix of the soil profile, and (c) generating a temperature control signal as a function of a compare result.
However, Mikkelson is in the field of plant cultivation (title; abstract) and teaches further comprising:
a data store (“memory”, col 11, line 27) comprising a soil profile comprising a temperature threshold matrix (“desired soil profile temperatures”, col 8, lines 17-18);
a plurality of temperature sensors (environmental sensors 303; col 7, lines 54-67, sensors 303 may detect soil temperatures), wherein the plurality of temperature sensors are distributed throughout the plant growing medium (col 7, lines 54-67, sensors 303 are “in-ground wireless sensors” and may be distributed throughout different zones and at different depths); and,
a controller (control unit 325) operably coupled to the plurality of temperature sensors (col 8, lines 1-6), wherein the controller controls a temperature of the plant growing medium by (a) generating a 3D temperature matrix of the plant growing medium, and (b) comparing the 3D temperature matrix to the temperature threshold matrix of the soil profile, and (c) generating a temperature control signal as a function of a compare result (col 8, lines 1-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modular gardening box of Delogne as modified to incorporate the data store, plurality of temperature sensors, and controller as taught by Mikkelson with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for more precise and more automated control over watering of plants within the gardening box (col 8, lines 1-22).
Claim(s) 88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Delogne (US 3,676,953 A), hereinafter Delogne, in view of Kochman (US 2017/0202158 A1), hereinafter Kochman, and Phelps et al. (CA 2665314 A1), hereinafter Phelps, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Benfey et al. (EP 3380831 B1), hereinafter Benfey.
Regarding claim 88, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose further comprising:
a data store comprising a soil profile comprising a target range of electrical potential as a function of a predetermined rate of ions flow;
a grounding system comprising a potential sensor disposed within the plant growing medium, an electrical ground, and a low power charge application device; and,
a controller operably coupled to the grounding system, wherein the controller is configured to actively control an impedance of the plant growing medium, wherein the controller controls the impedance of the plant growing medium from the low power charge application device to the electrical ground by:
(a) monitoring an electrical potential in the plant growing medium with measurements from the potential sensor,
(b) comparing the electrical potential to a target range of electrical potential as a function of a predetermined rate of ions flow specified in the soil profile, and,
(c) generating a signal to control the low power charge application device to adjust a current flow within the plant growing medium.
However, Benfey is in the field of plant cultivation (title) and teaches further comprising:
a data store (computer readable medium/memory 408) comprising a soil profile (“baseline signal response”, para [0041]) comprising a target range of electrical potential as a function of a predetermined rate of ions flow (para [0047]);
a grounding system (shown in fig. 4A) comprising a potential sensor (first conductor plate 452) disposed within the plant growing medium (fig. 4A), an electrical ground (electrode 138 coupled to ground, fig. 4A), and a low power charge application device (power supply 402); and,
a controller (microprocessor 416) operably coupled to the grounding system (fig. 4A), wherein the controller is configured to actively control an impedance (impedance 410) of the plant growing medium, wherein the controller controls the impedance of the plant growing medium from the low power charge application device to the electrical ground by:
(a) monitoring an electrical potential in the plant growing medium with measurements from the potential sensor (para [0023], “at least one of the plurality of conductor plates 126 is a part of a root sensor that is configured to detect a change in impedance…”, wherein conductor plate 126 is analogous to first conductor plate 452),
(b) comparing the electrical potential to a target range of electrical potential as a function of a predetermined rate of ions flow specified in the soil profile (para [0041]), and,
(c) generating a signal to control the low power charge application device to adjust a current flow within the plant growing medium (para [0113]-[0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modular gardening box of Delogne as modified to incorporate the data store, grounding system, and controller as taught by Benfey with a reasonable expectation of success to better monitor the growth and condition of plants within the gardening box over time (para [0001]).
Claim(s) 89 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Delogne (US 3,676,953 A), hereinafter Delogne, in view of Kochman (US 2017/0202158 A1), hereinafter Kochman, and Phelps et al. (CA 2665314 A1), hereinafter Phelps, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Main (US 2021/0015056 A1), hereinafter Main, and Theilen (US 2008/0030021 A1), hereinafter Theilen.
Annotated Figure 2. Theilen Fig. 3, Cross-Sectional View (Examiner-Annotated)
Regarding claim 89, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. § 112 issues identified above, Delogne as modified discloses the modular gardening box of claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose further comprising a port member configured as a bulkhead, comprising:
an inner module and an outer module, wherein each of the inner module and the outer module comprises a sealing member and at least one one-way engagement feature, wherein: once the engagement features of the inner module and the outer module are registered and engaged with each other in one direction, movement of the inner module and the outer module in an opposite direction is prevented, such that the sealing members press against a wall of the side walls such that leaking is prevented.
However, Main is in the field of plant cultivation (title; abstract) and teaches further comprising a port member (bulkhead fitting 116) configured as a bulkhead (fig. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modular gardening box with reservoir of Delogne as modified to incorporate the port member as taught by Main with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for easy refilling of the reservoir (para [0079]).
Additionally, Theilen is in the field of plant fluid supply (title) and teaches the port member (bulkhead fitting 10) configured as a bulkhead (fig. 3) comprising:
an inner module and an outer module (see annotated fig. 2), wherein each of the inner module and the outer module comprises a sealing member (inner module comprises O-ring 28, outer module comprises sealing washer 50) and at least one one-way engagement feature (inner module comprises threads 30, outer module comprises threads 86), wherein: once the engagement features of the inner module and the outer module are registered and engaged with each other in one direction, movement of the inner module and the outer module in an opposite direction is prevented, such that the sealing members press against a wall of the side walls such that leaking is prevented (see annotated fig. 2, once threads 30 of inner module and threads 86 of outer module are engaged, separation of inner and outer modules by pulling apart is prevented).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modular gardening box with reservoir and port of Delogne as modified to incorporate the inner module and outer module as taught by Theilen with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an effective seal around the perimeter of the port, thereby reducing liquid leakage and waste (para [0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s conditional request for interview, filed August 05, 2026, is acknowledged. However, the application as it stands is not believed to be in a condition such that an interview would promote compact prosecution. As such, this office action is being forwarded to Applicant to provide Applicant an appropriate amount of time to review the enclosed objections and rejections and respond accordingly.
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, pages 2 of 6), filed August 05, 2026, regarding the specification and drawing objections have been acknowledged. The previous objections to the specification and drawings have been withdrawn; however, Applicant is suggested to clarify in the specification where different embodiments are defined using language such as but not limited to: “In a first embodiment…”, “In a second embodiment…”, “In an alternative embodiment…”, etc. such that different embodiments shown within the drawings and their corresponding descriptions in the specification can be identified.
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, pages 4-5 of 6), filed August 05, 2026, regarding the rejection of at least claim(s) 1 under § 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Delogne (US 3,676,953 A) in view of Kochman (US 2017/0202158 A1) does not disclose all limitations of claim 1 as amended. Applicant further asserts that “Neither Delogne’s asbestos-cement lateral walls with a heated perforated plate, nor Kochman's preformed polymer-film holding means and metallized-polymer-film insulation medium disposed on opposite sides of a molded plastic container wall, is a thermal barrier layer that has been coated on opposite sides by a protective layer of quick curing material, and neither reference discloses an inner coating that thermally separates such a thermal barrier layer from the thermal energy generated by the heating element”.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, the Examiner respectfully asserts that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, Delogne as modified by Kochman does teach at least a thermal barrier layer (from Kochman, wall of plastic plant growth container 1) that has been coated on opposite sides by a protective layer (from Kochman, heating element holding means 12 and insulation medium 10). Phelps et al. (CA 2665314 A1) is herein further incorporated to teach the protective layer of quick curing material (from Phelps, second elastomeric polyurea/urethane hybrid layer 18; para [0060]). In said combination of references, the inner coating (from Kochman, heating element holding means 12, which is an inner one of the protective layers coating the thermal barrier layer) thermally separates such a thermal barrier layer (from Kochman, wall of plastic plant growth container 1) from the thermal energy generated by the heating element (from Kochman, heating element panel 11; see annotated fig. 1 above).
Applicant further asserts that a “preformed film laid against a molded container wall is not a coating applied to and cured upon a thermal barrier layer”.
However, the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim (e.g., “coating applied to and cured upon a thermal barrier layer”) is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. In the instant case, the final product of the combination of Delogne as modified by Kochman and Phelps broadly comprises a thermal barrier layer coated on opposite sides (from Kochman, wall of plastic plant growth container 1 coated with “polymer film” heating element holding means 12 and “metallized polymer film” insulation medium 10; see Kochman, paras [0028]-[0029]), each side by a protective layer of quick curing material (from Phelps, second elastomeric polyurea/urethane hybrid layer 18; para [0060]). Therefore, the manner in which the layers and/or coatings are formed holds no patentable weight.
Applicant further argues that the “Office identifies no reference, no admission, and no properly taken official notice” regarding inclusion of a “quick curing” material.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, it is noted that no official notice has been taken. However, for the purpose of compacting prosecution, the prior art of Phelps has been incorporated into the rejection of the claims as amended in order to teach a “the protective coating of quick curing material” in conjunction with the teachings of Delogne and Kochman, which teach the remaining limitations of at least amended claim 1.
For at least these reasons, the prior art of Delogne as modified by Kochman and Phelps is considered to meet all limitations of amended claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647