DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the low flow compressor is mounted to an enclosure of the economizer at an interface between the economizer and the low flow compressor in claim 10” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 12 and 18 recite the phrase “and/or” which renders the claim indefinite.
This language is indefinite because it is not clear what is being claimed and what the scope is.
No person of the ordinary skill in the art would know what “and/or” means with reasonable
certainty. Therefore, the scope is unclear and for purposes of examination, the limitations that follow “and/or” will be considered in the alternative.
Claim 10 recite “wherein the low flow compressor is mounted to an enclosure of the economizer at an interface between the economizer and the low flow compressor”. However, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim are. It is unclear to the Examiner where explicitly is the low flow compressor mounted at an interface between the economizer and the low flow compressor, as it is difficult to understand the claimed subject matter without proper illustration. Therefore, as best understood, if the prior art comprises the claimed structure, it will be presumed that the system can operate as intended.
Claims 2-9, 11, 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Welch (US 20100269524 A1, hereinafter Welch).
Regarding claim 1, Welch teaches a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, or refrigeration (HVAC&R) system (system 10), comprising: an economizer (economizer 14) configured to receive a heat transfer fluid (liquid refrigerant, paragraph 0024) from a condenser (via refrigerant line 24, as shown figure 3), wherein the economizer is configured to separate the heat transfer fluid into liquid heat transfer fluid (as described in paragraph 0024) and vapor heat transfer fluid (as described in paragraph 0026); and a low flow compressor (compressor 20) configured to receive the vapor heat transfer fluid from the economizer (as described in paragraph 0026), pressurize the vapor heat transfer fluid, and direct the vapor heat transfer fluid to the condenser (as described in paragraph 0026).
Further, it is understood, claim 1 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 11, Welch teaches wherein the economizer (economizer 14) is configured to direct the liquid heat transfer fluid (liquid refrigerant, paragraph 0024) to an evaporator (evaporator 16, paragraph 0024) configured to place the liquid heat transfer fluid in a heat exchange relationship (as shown on figure 3) with a conditioning fluid (a process fluid--for example, water, ethylene glycol, calcium chloride brine, sodium chloride brine, or any other suitable liquid--enters evaporator 16 via the return line and exits evaporator 16 via the supply line, paragraph 0024).
Further, it is understood, claim 11 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20100269524 A1, hereinafter Welch) in view of Tesla (US 1061142 A, hereinafter Tesla).
Regarding claim 2, Welch teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the low flow compressor comprises a shaft and a plate coupled to the shaft, wherein the shaft is configured to rotate the plate to cause the plate to direct the vapor heat transfer fluid through the low flow compressor via boundary layer effects.
However, Tesla teaches wherein the low flow compressor (compressor, figure 2) comprises a shaft (shaft 2) and a plate (disks 1) coupled to the shaft (as shown on figure 2), wherein the shaft is configured to rotate the plate to cause the plate to direct the vapor heat transfer fluid through the low flow compressor via boundary layer effects (power being applied to the shaft and the runner set in rotation in the direction of the solid arrow the fluid by reason of its properties of adherence and viscosity, upon entering. through, the inlets 10 and coming in contact with the disks 1 is taken hold of by the same and subjected to two forces, one acting tangentially in the direction of rotation, and the other radially outward. 'The combined effect of these tangential and centrifugal forces is to propel the fluid with continuously increasing velocity in a spiral path until it reaches the outlet 11 from which it is ejected, pg1 line 96 to pg2 line 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the teachings of Welch to include wherein the low flow compressor comprises a shaft and a plate coupled to the shaft, wherein the shaft is configured to rotate the plate to cause the plate to direct the vapor heat transfer fluid through the low flow compressor via boundary layer effects in view of the teachings of Tesla in order to yield the predictable result of providing practicable and efficient use of machines for the compression of gases.
Further, it is understood, claim 2 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claims 3, 13 and 19, the combined teachings teach wherein the plate (disks 1 of Tesla) comprises a flat geometry (as shown on figure 2 of Tesla).
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch, as modified by Tesla, as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Park et al (KR 20210085933 A, hereinafter Park).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the economizer is a first economizer, the HVAC&R system comprises a second economizer configured to receive the liquid heat transfer fluid from the first economizer and to separate the liquid heat transfer fluid into additional liquid heat transfer fluid and additional vapor heat transfer fluid, and the second economizer is configured to direct the additional vapor heat transfer fluid to the low flow compressor.
However, Park teaches wherein the economizer (gas-liquid separator 420) is a first economizer (gas-liquid separator 420), the HVAC&R system (turbo chiller, figure 4) comprises a second economizer (gas-liquid separator 410) configured to receive the liquid heat transfer fluid from the first economizer (gas-liquid separator 420 supplies the refrigerant separated in a liquid state to the gas-liquid separator 410, paragraph 0049) and to separate the liquid heat transfer fluid into additional liquid heat transfer fluid (gas-liquid separator 410 supplies the refrigerant separated in a liquid state to the evaporator 700, paragraph 0053) and additional vapor heat transfer fluid (via gas supply pipe 411, as shown on figure 4), and the second economizer (gas-liquid separator 410) is configured to direct the additional vapor heat transfer fluid to the low flow compressor (gas-liquid separator 410 supplies a gaseous refrigerant between the first and second compression stages 110 and 120 when the refrigerant exists, paragraph 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the combined teachings to include wherein the economizer is a first economizer, the HVAC&R system comprises a second economizer configured to receive the liquid heat transfer fluid from the first economizer and to separate the liquid heat transfer fluid into additional liquid heat transfer fluid and additional vapor heat transfer fluid, and the second economizer is configured to direct the additional vapor heat transfer fluid to the low flow compressor in view of the teachings of Park in order to yield the predictable result of improving the refrigeration capacity of the refrigerator.
Further, it is understood, claim 4 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch, as modified by Tesla and Park, as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Beeler (US 20130068314 A1, hereinafter Beeler).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the plate is a first plate, the low flow compressor comprises a second plate coupled to the shaft, and the shaft is configured to rotate the second plate to cause the second plate to direct the additional vapor heat transfer fluid received from the second economizer through the low flow compressor via boundary layer effects.
However, Beeler teaches wherein the plate is a first plate (left plate, figure 2), the low flow compressor (BLDT 40, corresponding to compressor of Tesla) comprises a second plate (right plate, figure 2) coupled to the shaft (shaft, paragraph 0062), and the shaft is configured to rotate the second plate to cause the second plate to direct the additional vapor heat transfer fluid (as described in paragraph 0073) received from the second economizer (vessel 10, paragraph 0078) through the low flow compressor (BLDT 40, corresponding to compressor of Tesla) via boundary layer effects (figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the combined teachings to include wherein the plate is a first plate, the low flow compressor comprises a second plate coupled to the shaft, and the shaft is configured to rotate the second plate to cause the second plate to direct the additional vapor heat transfer fluid received from the second economizer through the low flow compressor via boundary layer effects in view of the teachings of Beeler in order to yield the predictable result of harnessing the kinetic energy of the flowing fluid increases economic efficiency of the process.
Further, it is understood, claim 5 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch, as modified by Tesla, Park and Beeler, as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Conrad et al (US 6174127 B1, hereinafter Conrad).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the first plate and the second plate are arranged in a series flow arrangement along the shaft, the second plate is configured to direct the additional vapor heat transfer fluid received from the second economizer to the first plate, and the first economizer is configured to direct the vapor heat transfer fluid to the first plate and to bypass the second plate.
However, Conrad teaches wherein the first plate (left first set of disks 12, figure 5) and the second plate (right second set of disks 12, figure 5) are arranged in a series flow arrangement along the shaft (along shaft 20, as shown on figure 5), the second plate (right second set of disks 12, figure 5) is configured to direct the additional vapor heat transfer fluid (via fluid inlet 60, figure 5) received from the second economizer (corresponding to gas-liquid separator 410 of Park, as modified) to the first plate (left first set of disks 12, figure 5), and the first economizer (corresponding to gas-liquid separator 420 of Park, as modified) is configured to direct the vapor heat transfer fluid (via inlet 60, figure 5) to the first plate (left first set of disks 12, figure 5) and to bypass the second plate (right second set of disks 12, figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the combined teachings to include wherein the first plate and the second plate are arranged in a series flow arrangement along the shaft, the second plate is configured to direct the additional vapor heat transfer fluid received from the second economizer to the first plate, and the first economizer is configured to direct the vapor heat transfer fluid to the first plate and to bypass the second plate in view of the teachings of Conrad in order to yield the predictable result of transmitting motive force between a fluid and a plurality of spaced apart rotatable members.
Further, it is understood, claim 6 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20100269524 A1, hereinafter Welch) in view of Sandoval et al (US 20110097189 A1, hereinafter Sandoval).
Regarding claim 7, Welch teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the low flow compressor comprises: a shaft and a plate coupled to the shaft, wherein the plate encircles the shaft, and the shaft is configured to rotate the plate to cause the plate to direct the vapor heat transfer fluid through the low flow compressor; and a motor coupled to the shaft and configured to drive rotation of the shaft.
However, Sandoval teaches wherein the low flow compressor (compressor 210) comprises: a shaft (shaft 110) and a plate (disks 102) coupled to the shaft (figure 1b), wherein the plate encircles the shaft (figure 1b), and the shaft is configured to rotate the plate to cause the plate to direct the vapor heat transfer fluid through the low flow compressor (compressor 210 can compress the operating fluid in a plurality serial of stages, as further described in paragraph 0110); and a motor (starter motor, paragraph 0116) coupled to the shaft and configured to drive rotation of the shaft (as described in paragraph 0116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the teachings of Welch to include wherein the low flow compressor comprises: a shaft and a plate coupled to the shaft, wherein the plate encircles the shaft, and the shaft is configured to rotate the plate to cause the plate to direct the vapor heat transfer fluid through the low flow compressor; and a motor coupled to the shaft and configured to drive rotation of the shaft in view of the teachings of Sandoval in order to yield the predictable result of enhancing the operation of the microturbine.
Further, it is understood, claim 7 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach wherein the motor (motor 106 of Welch) is a direct drive motor (directly connected to compressor 20, figure 3 of Welch).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach wherein the motor (motor 106 of Welch) is a single speed motor (any other suitable motor type, paragraph 0021 of Welch).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20100269524 A1, hereinafter Welch) in view of Hill et al (US 6941769 B1, hereinafter Hill).
Regarding claim 10, Welch teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the low flow compressor is mounted to an enclosure of the economizer at an interface between the economizer and the low flow compressor.
However, Hill teaches wherein the low flow compressor (compressor 102) is mounted to an enclosure of the economizer (of flash tank 110, figure 1) at an interface (upper portion of flash tank 110, figure 1) between the economizer (flash tank 110, figure 1) and the low flow compressor (compressor 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the teachings of Welch to include wherein the low flow compressor is mounted to an enclosure of the economizer at an interface between the economizer and the low flow compressor in view of the teachings of Hill in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the remaining refrigerant staying in liquid state or phase at intermediate pressure.
Claims 12, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20100269524 A1, hereinafter Welch) in view of Sandoval et al (US 20110097189 A1, hereinafter Sandoval).
Regarding claim 12, Welch teaches a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, or refrigeration (HVAC&R) system (system 10), comprising: an economizer (economizer 14) configured to separate a heat transfer fluid into liquid heat transfer fluid and vapor heat transfer fluid (as described in paragraph 0024); and a compressor (compressor 20) configured to receive the vapor heat transfer fluid from the economizer (as described in paragraph 0026).
Welch teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the compressor comprises a shaft and a plate coupled to the shaft, the shaft is configured to rotate the plate to drive flow of the vapor heat transfer fluid through the compressor via boundary layer effects imparted by a surface of the plate and to pressurize the vapor heat transfer fluid to produce pressurized vapor heat transfer fluid, and wherein the compressor is configured to direct the pressurized vapor heat transfer fluid to a heat exchanger of the HVAC&R system.
However, Sandoval teaches wherein the compressor (compressor 210) comprises a shaft (shaft 110) and a plate (disks 102, figure 8f) coupled to the shaft (figure 8f), the shaft is configured to rotate the plate to drive flow of the vapor heat transfer fluid (paragraph 0104) through the compressor via boundary layer effects imparted by a surface of the plate (paragraphs 0104-0105) and to pressurize the vapor heat transfer fluid to produce pressurized vapor heat transfer fluid (as described in paragraph 0143), and wherein the compressor (compressor 210) is configured to direct the pressurized vapor heat transfer fluid to a heat exchanger (fluid heat exchanger, paragraph 0009) of the HVAC&R system (corresponding to system 10 of Welch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the teachings of Welch to include wherein the compressor comprises a shaft and a plate coupled to the shaft, the shaft is configured to rotate the plate to drive flow of the vapor heat transfer fluid through the compressor via boundary layer effects imparted by a surface of the plate and to pressurize the vapor heat transfer fluid to produce pressurized vapor heat transfer fluid, and wherein the compressor is configured to direct the pressurized vapor heat transfer fluid to a heat exchanger of the HVAC&R system in view of the teachings of Sandoval in order to yield the predictable result of maximizing, increasing, or improving the transfer of kinetic energy between the disks and the operating fluid.
Further, it is understood, claim 12 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach wherein the plate (disks 102, figure 7 of Sandoval) is one of a plurality of plates coupled to the shaft (as shown on figure 7 of Sandoval), wherein the plurality of plates is spaced apart from one another (figure 7 of Sandoval) along the shaft (shaft 110 of Sandoval) to form gaps along the shaft between adjacent plates of the plurality of plates (as shown on figure 7 of Sandoval).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, or refrigeration (HVAC&R) system (system 10 of Welch), comprising: a first compressor (compressor 20 of Welch) configured to direct a heat transfer fluid (as described in paragraph 0026 of Welch) to a condenser (condenser 12 of Welch); an economizer (economizer 14 of Welch) configured to receive the heat transfer fluid (liquid refrigerant, paragraph 0024 of Welch) from the condenser (condenser 12 of Welch), wherein the economizer is configured to separate the heat transfer fluid into liquid heat transfer fluid (as described in paragraph 0024 of Welch) and vapor heat transfer fluid (as described in paragraph 0026 of Welch); and a second compressor (compressor 210 of Sandoval) comprising a plate (disks 102, figure 8f of Sandoval), wherein the second compressor (compressor 210 of Sandoval) is configured to receive the vapor heat transfer fluid from the economizer (corresponding to economizer 14 of Welch), wherein the second compressor is configured to rotate the plate to direct the vapor heat transfer fluid (paragraph 0104 of Sandoval) to the condenser (fluid heat exchanger, paragraph 0009 of Sandoval) via boundary layer effects imparted on the vapor heat transfer fluid by a surface of the plate (paragraphs 0104-0105 of Sandoval).
Further, it is understood, claim 18 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch as modified by Sandoval and Park, as applied to claim 15 above, and in further view of Crispel et al (US 20250003643 A1, hereinafter Crispel).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the first economizer and the second economizer are disposed within an enclosure, and wherein the low flow compressor is mounted to the enclosure.
However, Crispel teaches wherein the first economizer (first tank 50) and the second economizer (second tank 100) are disposed within an enclosure (enclosure 5, as shown on figure 2), and wherein the low flow compressor (compressor 20) is mounted to the enclosure (as shown on figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the combined teachings to include wherein the first economizer and the second economizer are disposed within an enclosure, and wherein the low flow compressor is mounted to the enclosure in view of the teachings of Crispel in order to yield the predictable result of increasing the cooling power of a refrigeration device.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch as modified by Sandoval, as applied to claim 12 above, and in further view of Sendf et al (US 20240361066 A1, hereinafter Sendf).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach comprising: a motor of the compressor, wherein the motor is coupled to the shaft and configured to drive rotation of the shaft; and a control system, wherein the control system is configured to operate the motor without a variable speed drive (VSD).
However, Sendf teaches comprising: a motor of the compressor (a motor of the compressor 102, paragraph 0048), wherein the motor is coupled to the shaft and configured to drive rotation of the shaft (compressor is interpreted to include a shaft for the driving of the compressor 102); and a control system (controller 202), wherein the control system (controller 202) is configured to operate the motor without a variable speed drive (VSD) (as described in paragraph 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the combined teachings to include comprising: a motor of the compressor, wherein the motor is coupled to the shaft and configured to drive rotation of the shaft; and a control system, wherein the control system is configured to operate the motor without a variable speed drive (VSD) in view of the teachings of Sendf in order to yield the predictable result of using the motor to drive the compressor.
Further, it is understood, claim 17 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch as modified by Sandoval, as applied to claim 18 above, and in further view of Huang et al (CN 210320448 U, hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the first compressor is configured to pressurize the heat transfer fluid by a first amount of pressurization, the second compressor is configured to pressurize the vapor heat transfer fluid by a second amount of pressurization, and wherein the first amount of pressurization is greater than the second amount of pressurization.
However, Huang teaches wherein the first compressor (high pressure stage compression part 100) is configured to pressurize the heat transfer fluid (via first air supply inlet 101, figure 2) by a first amount of pressurization (via first air supply inlet, abstract), the second compressor (low-pressure stage compression part 200) is configured to pressurize the vapor heat transfer fluid (via second air inlet 201, figure 2) by a second amount of pressurization (via second air inlet, abstract), and wherein the first amount of pressurization is greater than the second amount of pressurization (via the high/low stage compression parts of compressors 100/200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the combined teachings to include wherein the first compressor is configured to pressurize the heat transfer fluid by a first amount of pressurization, the second compressor is configured to pressurize the vapor heat transfer fluid by a second amount of pressurization, and wherein the first amount of pressurization is greater than the second amount of pressurization in view of the teachings of Huang in order to yield the predictable result of effectively improving the performance and the reliability of the cycle.
Further, it is understood, claim 20 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Conclusion
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763