Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scheek et al. (US2020/0296502A1)
As to Claim 1, Scheek teaches an audio device (loudspeaker device 10, Figure 1A, 1B) comprising: a first motor (30, [0033]); a second motor (two motors 30’); and a first diaphragm (first diaphragm 12) and a second diaphragm (second diaphragm 14) arranged opposite to each other (Figure 1A, 1B, [0029) and each driven by both of the first motor(30) and the second motor(30’), respectively, The second diaphragm 14 has a plurality of motors 30′ operatively coupled thereto. The motors 30′ are also provided on the frame 16. In the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B, there are two motors 30′ which are provided on the second support member 38 in a spaced apart manner. Each motor 30′ comprises a magnet 32′ that is attached to the second support member 38, and a voice coil 34′ provided on a former 36′. The former 36′ of each motor 30′ is attached to the second diaphragm 14. See at least [0035]).
As to Claim 2, Scheek teaches the limitations of Claim 2 and wherein a first end of the first motor ( motors 30, 30’) is arranged at the first diaphragm(first diaphragm 12), a first end of the second motor is arranged at the first diaphragm, a second end of the first motor is arranged at the second diaphragm, and a second end of the second motor is arranged at the second diaphragm, ([0035] teaches the second diaphragm 14 has a plurality of motors 30′ operatively coupled thereto. The motors 30′ are also provided on the frame 16. In the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B, there are two motors 30′ which are provided on the second support member 38 in a spaced apart manner. Each motor 30′ comprises a magnet 32′ that is attached to the second support member 38, and a voice coil 34′ provided on a former 36′. The former 36′ of each motor 30′ is attached to the second diaphragm 14. In alternative embodiments of the present disclosure the voice coils may be formed without a former, also known as formerless voice coils or air coils, in which case the voice coils would be directly attached to the diaphragms 12, 14. See at least [0035]).
As to Claim 3, Scheek teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and wherein the first motor (130, Figure 2C) and the second motor (130’) are arranged opposite to each other (Figure 2C, abstract, first and second diaphragms (12, 14) arranged co-axially in an opposed relation to each other to cancel mechanical vibrations.) across a clearance formed between the first diaphragm (112) and the second diaphragm (114).
As to Claim 4, Scheek teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and wherein the first motor (130, Figure 2C) and the second motor (130’) are arranged opposite to each other
(Figure 2C) in a direction orthogonal to a driven direction of the first diaphragm (112) and the second diaphragm (114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheek et al. (US20200296502), hereinafter “Scheek” in view of Concessi (US10609488B1).
As to Claim 9, Scheek teaches comprising: an audio device (loudspeaker device 10, Figure 1A, 1B) comprising: a first motor (30, [0033]); a second motor (two motors 30’); and a first diaphragm (first diaphragm 12) and a second diaphragm (second diaphragm 14) each driven by both of the first motor (30) and the second motor (30’), The second diaphragm 14 has a plurality of motors 30′ operatively coupled thereto. The motors 30′ are also provided on the frame 16. In the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B, there are two motors 30′ which are provided on the second support member 38 in a spaced apart manner. Each motor 30′ comprises a magnet 32′ that is attached to the second support member 38, and a voice coil 34′ provided on a former 36′. The former 36′ of each motor 30′ is attached to the second diaphragm 14. See at least [0035]). Regarding the following: the audio device shaped to seat within a vehicle component or enclosure, including: a first motor and a second motor each extending in a vertical direction of the vehicle component or enclosure while the audio device is seated within the vehicle component or enclosure. Scheek teaches on [0037] this configuration results in the motors 30, 30′ of the first and second diaphragms 12, 14 being arranged in the same lateral plane, reducing the transverse profile, or height, of the loudspeaker device 16. Further, loudspeaker device 10 does not increase the lateral profile compared to a single-driver system since the diaphragms are coaxially aligned. As seen on Figure 2A, 2B the speakers are coaxially arranged in vertical direction. Scheek does not explicitly teach the audio device shaped to seat within a vehicle component or enclosure. However, Concessi in related field (audio transducers) teaches transducers positioned in a seat of a vehicle is well-known in the art. See at least Concessi on col. 2 lines 25-40. It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to house the audio transducer as taught by Scheek within a vehicle component due to its compact size desirable in a vehicle housing. See at least Scheek on [0003].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The independent Claim 13, identifies a uniquely distinct feature of “…an audio output from a low-profile audio device including a first diaphragm, a second diaphragm aligned with the first diaphragm and arranged opposite to the first diaphragm in a direction perpendicular to a major axis and a minor axis of the first diaphragm, a first transducer aligned with a second transducer between the first diaphragm and the second diaphragm, and a third transducer aligned with a fourth transducer between the first diaphragm and the second diaphragm.” The closest prior art to Scheek (US20200296502) teaches a loudspeaker device 10, Figure 1A, 1B two motors 30, 30’, first diaphragm 12 and second diaphragm 14 each driven by both of the first motor (30) and the second motor (30’), respectively. The second diaphragm 14 has a plurality of motors 30′ operatively coupled thereto. The motors 30′ are also provided on the frame 16. In the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B, there are two motors 30′ which are provided on the second support member 38 in a spaced apart manner. Each motor 30′ comprises a magnet 32′ that is attached to the second support member 38, and a voice coil 34′ provided on a former 36′. The former 36′ of each motor 30′ is attached to the second diaphragm 14. See at least [0035]). The prior art fails to anticipate or render the independent claims obvious.
Conclusion
/SUNITA JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691