DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on December 17, 2024. Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1 and 14 are independent.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GB2208921.3, filed on 06/17/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ottusch (DE-102019202238-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ottusch teaches a control system for controlling an engine and an electric machine of a vehicle (see Ottusch, Abstract, figure 1, paragraphs 9, regarding a (hybrid) motor vehicle 10 with internal combustion engine 1 and an electric machine 2, both controlled by control unit 3), the control system comprising one or more controllers, the control system configured to:
receive a first input signal indicative of an engine idle torque requirement during engine idling (see Ottusch, figure 4, paragraphs 15-16 and 21-22, regarding curve 31 at constant ( continuous horizontal line after time t5) rotational moment M (output torque) of internal combustion engine 1, exemplary of a first signal indicative of an (optimal) engine idle torque requirement during engine idling).
compare an instantaneous torque requirement with a reference engine idling torque associated with use of a base ignition retardation value (see Ottusch, figures 1-4, paragraphs 10, 18 and 20, regarding curve total moment 33 representative of a target moment (instantaneous torque requirement) of hybrid vehicle 10 based on internal combustion engine 1 moment curve 31, representative of an optimal reference engine idling torque associated with use of a base ignition retardation value when the optimal ignition angle ZWopt- generates maximum torque M and located before the TDC (top dead center) position of the piston in the combustion chamber); and
output a control signal to control output torque of the engine in dependence on the comparison, wherein if the instantaneous torque requirement is less than the reference engine idling torque, the control signal requests the reference engine idling torque with the base ignition retardation value, and the control system is configured to control the electric machine to impose a retarding torque on the engine to generate electrical energy, thereby reducing a net torque (see Ottusch, figure 4, paragraphs 6 and 21-22, regarding controlling/requesting/maintaining reference (optimal) engine idling torque with the base ignition retardation value (line 31) by controlling the electric machine with (imposing) a retarding torque on the electric engine to reduce the net torque (line 33) by the negative torque output of the electric machine (subtracting line 32) to maintain a net torque output of the combustion engine for engine idling (line 31)).
Regarding claim 2, Ottusch teaches the control system of claim 1, including wherein the control system is configured to receive a second input signal indicative of an electric machine torque requirement during the engine idling, and wherein the instantaneous torque requirement is based on the first input signal and the second input signal (see Ottusch, figures 3-4, paragraphs 6, 16 and 21-22, regarding curve total moment 33 representative of a target moment (instantaneous torque requirement) based on torque output of internal combustion engine (first input signal) line 31 and torque output of electric machine (second input signal) line 32).
Regarding claim 3, Ottusch teaches the control system of claim 1, including wherein the base ignition retardation value is a value selected from the range zero to five degrees of ignition retardation (see Ottusch, figure 2, paragraph 10, regarding graph of torque M generated by the internal combustion engine 1 is ideally represented in relation to an ignition angle ZW, wherein the optimal reference engine idling torque associated with use of a base ignition retardation value when the optimal ignition angle ZWopt- generates maximum torque M and located before the TDC (top dead center) position of the piston in the combustion chamber, such that a few more degrees of retardation (to the immediate right) at ZWopt -the maximum torque M does not change, therefore the base ignition retardation value can be a value in the range of zero to approximately five degrees of ignition retardation).
Regarding claim 4, Ottusch teaches the control system of claim 1, including wherein the reference engine idling torque is a minimum idling torque achievable with use of the base ignition retardation value (see Ottusch, figures 1-4, paragraphs 10, 18 and 20, regarding internal combustion engine 1 moment curve 31, representative of an optimal (minimal) reference engine idling torque associated with use of a base ignition retardation value when the optimal ignition angle ZWopt- generates maximum torque M and located before the TDC (top dead center) position of the piston in the combustion chamber).
Regarding claim 5, Ottusch teaches the control system of claim 4, including wherein the reference engine idling torque is a minimum idling torque achievable with use of a minimum engine air charge and the base ignition retardation value (see Ottusch, figures 1-4, paragraphs 10, 18 and 20, regarding internal combustion engine 1 moment curve 31, representative of an optimal (minimal) reference engine idling torque associated with use of a base ignition retardation value when the optimal ignition angle ZWopt- generates maximum torque M and located before the TDC (top dead center) position of the piston in the combustion chamber, and therefore, the engine air charge at the base ignition retardation value would also be at an optimal (minimum) value)).
Regarding claim 6, Ottusch teaches the control system of claim 1, including wherein the reference engine idling torque is a modelled value based on in-vehicle sensor data (see Ottusch, paragraph 23, regarding “It should also be noted that even when the internal combustion engine is operated with a reduced efficiency, the torque output of the internal combustion engine (for example, at the reference engine idling torque) can be influenced (modelled via sensed data) by the filling, i.e., by the amount of fuel and air that is introduced into the combustion chamber of the internal combustion engine”, wherein, for example, modelled values can be in-vehicle measurements of fuel and air sensor data).
Regarding claim 7, Ottusch teaches the control system of claim 6, including wherein the modelled value is from an engine airflow model, and wherein the in-vehicle sensor data comprises engine airflow measurements (see Ottusch, paragraph 23, regarding “It should also be noted that even when the internal combustion engine is operated with a reduced efficiency, the torque output of the internal combustion engine (for example, at the reference engine idling torque) can be influenced (modelled via sensed data) by the filling, i.e., by the amount of fuel and air (flow) that is introduced into the combustion chamber of the internal combustion engine”, wherein, for example, modelled engine airflow can be based in-vehicle air (flow) sensor data measurements).
Regarding claim 8, Ottusch teaches the control system of claim 1, including wherein when the instantaneous torque requirement is greater than the reference engine idling torque, the control signal requests more torque than the reference engine idling torque (see Ottusch, figure 4, paragraphs 6 and 21-22, regarding curve 33 (instantaneous torque requirement) greater than curve 31 (reference engine idling torque)).
Regarding claim 9, Ottusch teaches the control system of claim 8, including wherein requesting more torque than the reference engine idling torque comprises requesting the instantaneous torque requirement (see Ottusch, figure 4, paragraphs 6 and 21-22, regarding curve 33 (instantaneous torque requirement) greater than curve 31 (reference engine idling torque), exemplary of requesting more torque than the reference engine idling torque to reduce the net torque of the combustion engine to the reference engine idling torque by a retarding torque of the electric machine that generates electrical energy to charge the on-board electrical storage).
Regarding claim 10, Ottusch teaches the control system of claim 9, including wherein requesting more torque than the reference engine idling torque comprises requesting the instantaneous torque requirement if a noise vibration and harshness, NVH, condition is satisfied (see Ottusch, figure 2, paragraph 14, regarding excessively early ignition timing causing knocking events (NVH – noise vibration and harshness condition) requiring more torque than the reference engine idling torque to return to smooth running).
Regarding claim 11, Ottusch teaches the control system of claim 10, including wherein the NVH condition comprises a noise vibration and harshness, NVH, torque limit, wherein the NVH torque limit is dependent on engine speed and/or wherein the NVH torque limit is dependent on an engine mode (see Ottusch, figure 2, paragraph 14, regarding excessively early ignition timing causing knocking events (NVH – noise vibration and harshness condition) requiring more torque than the reference engine idling torque to return to smooth running).
Regarding claim 12, Ottusch teaches the control system of claim 10, including wherein if the instantaneous torque requirement exceeds the NVH torque limit, the control signal to control output torque of the engine is modified towards the NVH torque limit (see Ottusch, figure 2, paragraph 14, regarding selection (modification) of the engine to operate towards a “knock limit”, exemplary of an NVH torque limit).
Regarding claim 13, Ottusch also teaches a vehicle comprising the control system of claim 1 (see Ottusch, figure 1, paragraph 9, regarding motor vehicle 10 comprising control system component control unit 3).
Regarding claim 14, independent claim 14 is method of controlling an engine and an electric machine of a vehicle, the method identical to the function of the control system for controlling an engine and an electric machine of a vehicle of independent claim 1, therefore, claim 14 is also rejected under 35 USC § 102 for the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Ottusch teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium having stored thereon software that, when executed, is arranged to perform the method according to claim 14 (see Ottusch, figure 1, paragraph 9, regarding motor vehicle 10 comprising control system component control unit 3, exemplary of a vehicle ECU that executes instructions stored as a program on a non-transitory computer readable medium component of the ECU).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/P.Y.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
March 6, 2026
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661