Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, line 3, “first on” should be changed to –first of—
In claim 11, line 4, “first on” should be changed to –first of—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, 10, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by KR-20160014548-A, hereinafter referred to as “KR’548.” Note, the supplied English translation of KR’548 is relied upon below for citations.
As per claim 1, KR’548 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions that is executable by at least one processor (page 5 – processor 28 and memory 30) of an apparatus to cause the apparatus to perform a method comprising: acquiring a first density map of an inspection image corresponding to a region of interest using a first density function (see bottom of page 3 – SEM inspection image with directionality map containing vectors at each pixel point (direction and magnitude) by applying a gradient operator); acquiring a second density map of a reference image corresponding to the region of interest using a second density function (see top of page 4 – CAD data produces a simulated reference image and corresponding directionality map (vectors with direction and magnitude); and aligning the inspection image and the reference image based on the acquired first and second density maps (see bottom half of page 7 – the SEM image map and the reference CAD image map are correlated in order to co-register the two maps). The examiner notes that, as broadly claimed, a “density map” is considered a mapping of an image where each pixel is given a magnitude. Groupings of pixels with similar magnitudes thus constitute a density mapping.
As per claim 2, KR’548 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the first density function and the second density function are the same (see bottom of page 3 – applying a gradient operator to each pixel).
As per claim 3, KR’548 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the first density function and the second density function are different from each other (see middle of page 4 where optionally post-processing is performed on one or both of the directionality maps in order to modify the magnitudes of at least some of the directional vectors. Applying this option to only a single one of the two directional mappings would inherently create the use of first and second density functions different from each other).
As per claim 4, KR’548 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein: acquiring the first density map comprises acquiring a first range of density values including a first density value; acquiring the second density map comprises acquiring a second range of density values including a second density value; and the first density value is a first peak density value within the first range of values and the second density value is a second peak density value within the second range of values (see bottom of page 3 to the top of page 4 – as broadly claimed, both directional mappings will inherently have one or more pixels with peak magnitude values that, when correlated, lead to peaks in the correlation map).
As per claim 9, KR’548 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the set of instructions that is executable by the at least one processor of the apparatus causes the apparatus to further perform: determining a region-density based misalignment index based on the acquired first and second density maps (see correlation map at bottom of page 7); wherein aligning the inspection image and the reference image based on the acquired first and second density maps comprises aligning the inspection image and the reference image based on the region-density based misalignment index (again, see page 7).
As per claim 10, KR’548 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the set of instructions that is executable by the at least one processor of the apparatus causes the apparatus to further perform: determining a first metric based on the first of the acquired first and second density maps; wherein the region-density based misalignment index is determined based on the first metric (as broadly claimed, see page 7 and the correlation step 74 where “a first metric” is the slope-based correlation that is based upon the first density map of the actual image).
As per claim 12, KR’548 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the first metric is based on one of a cross-correlation, a normalized cross-correlation, an Fl score, and an area under curve (AUC) of a receiver operating characteristic (ROC) curve (see page 7 – a cross-correlation between slope of the first and second density maps).
As per claim 13, KR’548 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the inspection image is a charged particle beam image (SEM – see page 2).
As per claim 14, KR’548 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13, wherein the charged particle beam image is a SEM image (see page 2).
As per claim 15, KR’548 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the reference image is based on one of a design layout file and a reference SEM image (CAD file – see abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR’548 in view of the IEEE article “A Review and Analysis of Automatic Optical Inspection and Quality Monitoring Methods in Electronics Industry” to Abu et al, hereinafter “Abu.”
KR’548 discloses an inspection methos that compares density maps of a reference CAD image to that of an acquired SEM image of an inspection piece as noted above.
KR’548 fails to disclose acquiring a first binary transformation of the inspection image using a first binary function and acquiring a second binary transformation of the reference image using a second binary function wherein the first density map applyies the first density function to the first binary transformation and the second density map applies the second density function to the second binary transformation. Claims 7 and 8 relate to the first binary function and the second binary function being the same (cl. 7) or different (cl.8).
However, in the same field of endeavor of defect detection, Abu discloses optical segmentation methods for use in identifying defects in inspection imaging on page 183215, right column, under the heading “a: THRESHOLDING” wherein as part of the identification, the pixels are subjected to binarization wherein magnitudes above a threshold are set to logic 1, and values below the threshold are set to logic 0. The process of directionality mapping performed by KR’548 would then be performed on the binarized images. It is noted that the particular threshold is user selectable (global thresholding vs. adaptive thresholding), and is considered a key factor by Abu, page 183215, middle of column 2. Thus, thresholds of the same, or different magnitudes are contemplated by Abu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed binarization of the reference CAD image and the acquired SEM image of KR’548 before the directionality mapping and cross-correlation is performed by KR’548 as taught by the binarization of Abu, with the rationale being that binarization would maximize the between-class variance of the histogram as taught by Abu at the middle of page 183215, col. 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DAVID OMETZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2672
/DAVID OMETZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672