Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 18-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 112686974 A, hereinafter Wang), in view of Watanabe et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,717,848, hereinafter Watanabe).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an image-based animation generation method, comprising: ([0001] “This specification relates to the field of computer technology, and in particular to a method and apparatus for scaling animation trajectories.”)
determining a starting point and a termination point determining a starting point and a termination point of a target image in a set coordinate system; ([0019] “A first bounding box is established such that it encloses the starting twist point and the ending twist point. The absolute value of the difference between the coordinates of the starting twist point and the ending twist point along each axis is used as the size of the first bounding box.”)
determining a motion vector of the target image based on the starting point and the termination point, wherein the motion vector is a direction vector pointing from the starting point to the termination point; ([0010] “Calculate the scaling vector for the target segment of the animation trajectory to be distorted and the target segment of the world trajectory to be distorted into the target character”)
and controlling the target image to move from the starting point to the termination point according to the motion curve to generate a motion animation of the target image. ([0011] “Based on the scaling vector and the progress parameter corresponding to the current frame, the target segment of the animation trajectory is adjusted to obtain the motion parameter information of the target character in the target segment of the world trajectory.”)
Wang fails to teach determining a motion curve of the target image based on the motion vector, wherein the motion curve comprises a transverse motion curve and a longitudinal motion curve. However, this is known in the art as taught by Watanabe.
Watanabe teaches determining a motion curve of the target image based on the motion vector, wherein the motion curve comprises a transverse motion curve and a longitudinal motion curve (Fig. 3, where “The start and end point coordinates of the set vectors are assumed as shown in FIG. 3.” [col. 5, lines 13-14], and “Interpolation of the path is performed using the following third order polynomial using time as a parameter.” [col. 5, lines 47-48]. Note: the Examiner interprets “a transverse motion curve” to be the x-coordinates of the motion curve, and “a longitudinal motion curve” as the y-coordinates of the motion curve based on the specifications, see [0044].).
Watanabe is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relates to determining motion curves for computer graphics ([col. 1, lines 13-16] “More particularly, the present invention relates to a method of setting object display attributes and a method ,of generating an object motion path, suitable for three-dimensional computer graphics.”). Watanabe further teaches that “it is necessary to enter a large amount of information to animate the graphic image” [col. 1, lines 35-37], therefore, “It is an object of the present invention to define motions such that the definitions can be easily coupled to provide smooth coupling of the motions.” [col. 1, lines 53-55]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Watanabe to Wang in order to animate graphic images with defined and smooth motions without too much information.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wang and Watanabe teaches the method of claim 1, wherein controlling the target image to move from the starting point to the termination point according to the motion curve to generate the motion animation of the target image comprises: obtaining an animation progress corresponding to a current time, (Wang; [0104] “using it as the progress parameter corresponding to the current frame”)
wherein the animation progress is a ratio of a duration between the current time and a starting time to a total duration of the animation; (Wang; [0104] “The progress parameter corresponding to the current frame can be calculated by one of the following: calculating the proportion of the first time interval to the time interval between the starting twist point and the ending twist point”)
determining position information of the target image at the current time based on the animation progress and the motion curve; (Wang; [0131] “The animation trajectory scaling method according to this embodiment applies the motion parameter information obtained after adjustment based on the scaling vector and progress parameter to the target character in the current frame. This ensures the continuity of speed, position, and rotation of the movement”)
and rendering the target image to a current image based on the position information, to generate the motion animation of the target image (Wang; [0130] “The target character moves in each frame according to the position vector and rotation parameter values obtained by interpolating the progress parameters of each frame, forming a distorted world trajectory target segment.”).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1, but in a device form. The combination of Wang and Watanabe further teaches an electronic device, comprising: (Wang; [0001] “This specification relates to the field of computer technology, and in particular to a method and apparatus for scaling animation trajectories. This specification also relates to a computing device”)
at least one processor; and (Wang; [0056-0057] “According to a third aspect of the embodiments of this specification, a computing device is provided, comprising: Memory and processor;”)
a storage, configured to store at least one program, (Wang; [0058] “The memory is used to store computer-executable instructions”)
wherein the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to: (Wang; [0058] “and the processor is used to execute the computer-executable instructions to implement the following method:”).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1, but in a medium form. The combination of Wang and Watanabe teaches a non-transitory storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions, wherein when executed by a computer processor, the computer-executable instructions are used for implementing the image-based animation generation method comprising: (Wang; [0062] “According to a fourth aspect of the embodiments of this specification, a computer-readable storage medium is provided that stores computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, implement the steps of the animation trajectory scaling method”).
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 12, therefore, will be rejected under the same rationale as claim 12.
Claims 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Watanabe, and further in view of Cordara et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,013,487, hereinafter Cordara).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wang and Watanabe teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the motion curve of the target image based on the motion vector comprises: obtaining direction information, (Watanabe; [col. 2, lines 1-6] “In order to facilitate designation of the position of an object, and the magnitude and direction of an object velocity, the position of an object is displayed as the start point of a vector representation, and the magnitude and direction of an object velocity are displayed as the length and orientation of the vector.”)
angle information with coordinate axes (Watanabe; [col. 18, lines 62 – col. 19, line 1] “As shown in FIG. 24, a rotation of an object is designated by a rotary angle and angular velocity with respect to the X, Y, and Z axes of a parent object. Such designations are performed a plurality of times, and interpolation is carried out between respective designated points serving as start and end points, thereby obtaining the whole rotary angles and angular velocities.”)
and bounding box information of the motion vector, wherein a bounding box is a rectangular bounding box that surrounds the motion vector (Wang; [0138] “Figure 7 shows a schematic diagram of the bounding box derived from the starting and ending twist points before and after the animation trajectory. In Figure 7, the starting and ending twist points are the vertices of the diagonal of the bounding box”)
and determining the motion curve of the target image based on the direction information, the angle information, and the bounding box information (Wang; [0165] “Determine the size of the first bounding box of the target segment of the animation trajectory and the size of the second bounding box of the target segment of the world trajectory, and calculate the scaling vector based on the size of the first bounding box and the size of the second bounding box”).
Watanabe is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relates to determining motion curves for computer graphics ([col. 1, lines 13-16] “More particularly, the present invention relates to a method of setting object display attributes and a method ,of generating an object motion path, suitable for three-dimensional computer graphics.”). Watanabe further teaches that “it is necessary to enter a large amount of information to animate the graphic image” [col. 1, lines 35-37], therefore, “It is an object of the present invention to define motions such that the definitions can be easily coupled to provide smooth coupling of the motions.” [col. 1, lines 53-55]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Watanabe to Wang in order to animate graphic images with defined and smooth motions without too much information.
The combination of Wang and Watanabe fails to teach wherein a bounding box is a rectangular bounding box that surrounds the motion vector and each edge of the rectangular bounding box is parallel to a coordinate axis.
The combination of Wang and Watanabe fails to teach wherein a bounding box is a rectangular bounding box that surrounds the motion vector and each edge of the rectangular bounding box is parallel to a coordinate axis. However, this is known in the art as taught by Cordara.
Cordara teaches wherein a bounding box is a rectangular bounding box that surrounds the motion vector and each edge of the rectangular bounding box is parallel to a coordinate axis; (FIG. 3, where “FIG. 3 exemplifies the calculation of the bounding box for a base vectorial graphic primitive corresponding to a rectangle” [col. 7, lines 16-18], and “The bounding box is therefore the rectangle having a first side 305a given by a vertical segment (parallel to the axis y of the system of coordinates 300) of a straight line x=min… a second side 305b given by a vertical segment of a straight line x=max… a third side given by a horizontal segment (parallel to the axis x of the system of coordinates 300) of a straight line y=min… and a fourth side given by a horizontal segment of a straight line y=max” [col. 10, lines 17-30]).
Cordara is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to bounding boxes for vector representations ([Abstract] “Method for determining the bounding box of a computerized graphic shape comprising one or more primitives described in vectorial mode”). Cordara further teaches that it is known in the art for “the term ‘bounding box’ there is intended the smallest rectangle that circumscribes a digital graphic shape when the latter is positioned on a page (for instance a Web page), or however displayed on a screen, for instance the screen of a Personal Computer, or printed on a support of paper or other material.” [col. 1, lines 22-27]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Cordara to the combination of Wang and Watanabe to have a bounding box surrounding the vector and parallel to the coordinate axis to be positioned onto a page or screen.
Figure 3 – Cordata et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,013,487)
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 2, therefore, rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Watanabe and Cordara, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (JP 2021086183 A, hereinafter Suzuki) and Sato (U.S. 2007/0211025 A1).
The combination of Wang, Watanabe, and Cordara teaches the method of claim 2, wherein, …the bounding box information comprises size information of the bounding box and distances between edges of the bounding box and boundaries of a screen; wherein the size information comprises a height and a width, and the edges of the bounding box comprise an upper edge, a lower edge, a left edge, and a right edge (Cordara; [col. 10, lines 17-30] “If the base primitive is a segment, possibly also having thickness (so as to define a rectangle), as shown in FIG. 3, for the calculation of the bounding box 305 the coordinates (x.sub.A,y.sub.A), (x.sub.B,y.sub.B), (x.sub.C,y.sub.C), (x.sub.D,y.sub.D) of the points P.sub.A, P.sub.B, P.sub.C and P.sub.D (in a determined reference system of coordinates 300) are used. The bounding box is therefore the rectangle having a first side 305a given by a vertical segment (parallel to the axis y of the system of coordinates 300) of a straight line x=min (x.sub.A, x.sub.B, x.sub.C, x.sub.D), a second side 305b given by a vertical segment of a straight line x=max (x.sub.A, x.sub.B, x.sub.C, x.sub.D), a third side given by a horizontal segment (parallel to the axis x of the system of coordinates 300) of a straight line y=min (y.sub.A, y.sub.B, y.sub.C, y.sub.D), and a fourth side given by a horizontal segment of a straight line y=max (y.sub.A, y.sub.B, y.sub.C, y.sub.D).” Note: it is not explicitly taught a height and a width, but it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the height and width of the bounding box from the coordinates of all of the edges. Sides 305a-305d correspond to the left, right, lower, and upper side respectively.)
Cordara is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to bounding boxes for vector representations ([Abstract] “Method for determining the bounding box of a computerized graphic shape comprising one or more primitives described in vectorial mode”). Cordara further teaches that it is known in the art of computer graphics that “The bounding box, also known in literature as ‘Minimum Bounding Rectangle’ (MBR), has the followings features: it has to be calculated as the smallest rectangle that contains the complex image without intersecting it” [col. 3, lines 49-52]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Cordara to the combination of Wang, Watanabe, and Cordara to calculate and obtain the size information in the claimed invention in the art of bounding boxes.
The combination of Wang, Watanabe, and Cordara fails to teach the direction information comprises any one of the motion vector pointing to a first quadrant, the motion vector pointing to a second quadrant, the motion vector pointing to a third quadrant, or the motion vector pointing to a fourth quadrant. However, this is known in the art as taught by Suzuki.
Suzuki teaches the direction information comprises any one of the motion vector pointing to a first quadrant, the motion vector pointing to a second quadrant, the motion vector pointing to a third quadrant, or the motion vector pointing to a fourth quadrant (Figure 7, where “Figure 7 shows the starting points of each motion vector within the divided region aligned with the origin of the coordinate plane”).
Suzuki is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relates to motion vectors in an image ([0001] “This invention relates to an image processing technique for calculating motion information in an image.”). Suzuki further teaches that “This invention was made to solve the above problems and aims to provide an image processing technology that can improve the processing speed related to the calculation of motion information in images.” [0009]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings to Suzuki to the combination of Wang, Watanabe, and Cordara in order to improve processing speed of calculating motion vectors.
Figure 7(a) – Suzuki et al. (JP 2021086183 A)
The combination of Wang, Watanabe, Cordara, and Suzuki fails to teach the angle information comprises any one of an angle between the motion vector and a horizontal axis being greater than a set threshold and an angle between the motion vector and a vertical axis being greater than the set threshold, or the angle between the motion vector and the horizontal axis being less than the set threshold and the angle between the motion vector and the vertical axis being less than the set threshold. However, this is known in the art as taught by Sato.
Sato teaches the angle information comprises any one of an angle between the motion vector and a horizontal axis being greater than a set threshold and an angle between the motion vector and a vertical axis being greater than the set threshold, or the angle between the motion vector and the horizontal axis being less than the set threshold and the angle between the motion vector and the vertical axis being less than the set threshold ([0027] “When the angle exceeds a first threshold value, the rotation direction determination step determines that the input device has been rotated in one of two directions around a direction perpendicular both to the two axial directions as a rotation axis. When the angle is less than a second threshold value, the rotation direction determination step determines that the input device has been rotated in the other of the two directions around the rotation axis, In the output step, the motion data further including the rotation direction determined in the rotation direction determination step is output.”)
Sato is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relates to motion information. Sato further teaches that the thresholds allow for the rotation direction to be determined ([0017] “When the angle exceeds a first threshold value (120.degree.), the rotation direction determination means determines that the input device has been rotated in one of two directions around a direction (Z-axis direction) perpendicular both to the two axial directions as a rotation axis. When the angle is less than a second threshold value (70.degree.), the rotation direction determination means determines that the input device has been rotated in the other of the two directions around the rotation axis”). Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sato to the combination of Wang, Watanabe, Cordara, and Suzuki in order to determine the rotation direction of the motion vectors.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Watanabe, and further in view of Zhong et al. (CN 107945253 A, hereinafter Zhong).
Wang and Watanabe teaches the method of claim 12, but fails to teach further comprising, after obtaining the animation progress corresponding to the current time, performing easing processing on the animation progress; and wherein determining the position information of the target image at the current time based on the animation progress and the motion curve comprises: determining the position information of the target image at the current time based on the motion curve and the animation progress subjected to the easing processing.
Zhong teaches further comprising, after obtaining the animation progress corresponding to the current time, performing easing processing on the animation progress; ([0063] “The animation running time can be set, and the easing function used to achieve the animation rate can be called”)
and wherein determining the position information of the target image at the current time based on the animation progress and the motion curve comprises: determining the position information of the target image at the current time based on the motion curve and the animation progress subjected to the easing processing. [0063] “Specifically, in this embodiment, the first of the S target path points can be set as the animation start point (corresponding to the display position of the first frame) and the Sth target path point can be set as the animation end point (corresponding to the display position of the last frame). The animation running time can be set, and the easing function used to achieve the animation rate can be called.”)
Zhong is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to motion animation. Zhong further teaches that their embodiment “can achieve complex animation effects, reduce development costs and reduce debugging difficulty.” [0006]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhong to the combination of Wang and Watanabe in order to reduce development costs while allowing for complex animations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the closest prior art of Watanabe teaches the motion curve being located on a first side or a second side of the motion vector (FIG. 3, where the curve is to the right side of the leftmost motion vector), however, Watanabe fails to teach “determining relative position information between the motion curve and the motion vector based on the bounding box information, wherein the relative position information comprises the motion curve being located on a first side or a second side of the motion vector; and determining the motion curve of the target image based on the direction information, the angle information, and the relative position information.”
Furthermore, no prior art of record either alone or in combination teaches the above limitation as a whole. Therefore, claim 4 is allowable.
Claims 5-11 and 14-16 contain allowable subject matter because it depends on claim 4, which contains allowable subject matter.
FIG. 3 – Watanabe et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,717,848)
Conclusion
/ALICIA HA/Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KEE M TUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611