DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first office action regarding application number 18/876,272, filed on 18 December 2024.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
a. “acquisition unit” in claims 1, 3 and 10
b. “detection unit” in claims 1-3 and 7-8
c. “force measurement unit” in claim 4
d. “display unit” in claims 9-10
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification discloses the corresponding structure for a “force measurement unit” in Figure 8 and paragraph [0038] and for a “display unit” in Figure 1 and paragraph [0012] in the specification filed on 18 December 2024. Regarding the limitations reciting the “acquisition unit” and “detection unit”, the specification discloses a computer in Figure 2 and paragraph [0019] and an algorithm for performing the claimed functions in Figure 7 and its corresponding paragraphs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chitta et al. (US 20170246744 A1 and Chitta hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Chitta teaches a vision system (see all Figs.; [0004]), comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire a first type of image in which a presence and surrounding region of a plurality of workpieces is captured (see Fig. 4, all; [0004 "According to a particular class of implementations, a first image of a loaded pallet is captured. The loaded pallet has a plurality of boxes stacked thereon."], [0010], [0024 "According to various implementations, the system uses computer vision and images (both 2D and/or 3D) from one or more visual sensors (e.g., one or more cameras) to determine the outermost corners of the top layer of a pallet of boxes."] and [0038]);
a detection unit configured to output a result of detecting the plurality of workpieces (see Fig. 4, all; [0004 "According to a particular class of implementations, a first image of a loaded pallet is captured. The loaded pallet has a plurality of boxes stacked thereon. A first representation of a surface of the loaded pallet is generated using the first image."], [0024 "According to various implementations, the system uses computer vision and images (both 2D and/or 3D) from one or more visual sensors (e.g., one or more cameras) to determine the outermost corners of the top layer of a pallet of boxes."] and [0038]); and
a robot configured to execute an operation to change at least one of positions of the plurality of workpieces (see Figs. 1 and 5, robot 28; [0004 "A first box at a corner of the surface of the loaded pallet is moved a programmable amount using a robotic arm."], [0024 "It then performs an exploratory pick using a robot and an attached gripper, lifting the outermost box from its corner by a small amount to separate it from the top layer."], [0027] and [0039]),
wherein the robot executes a first operation to change the positions of the plurality of workpieces (see Fig. 5, all; [0004 "A first box at a corner of the surface of the loaded pallet is moved a programmable amount using a robotic arm."], [0012 "According to a particular implementation, all of the boxes are unloaded from the loaded pallet while performing the capturing, generating, lifting, capturing, generating, releasing, and processing for fewer than all of the boxes."]-[0013 "According to a particular implementation, moving the first box includes one of (1) lifting the first box the programmable amount relative to the loaded pallet using the robotic arm, (2) moving the first box laterally relative to the loaded pallet using the robotic arm, or (3) tilting the first box relative to the surface of the loaded pallet using the robotic arm."], [0024 "It then performs an exploratory pick using a robot and an attached gripper, lifting the outermost box from its corner by a small amount to separate it from the top layer."] and [0039]-[0040]),
the acquisition unit acquires a second type of image in which the presence and surrounding region of the plurality of workpieces is captured after executing the first operation (see Fig. 6, all; [0004 "A second image of the loaded pallet is captured including the first box as moved by the robotic arm."], [0024 "The system takes a new image of the pallet and the boxes and using computer vision again…"] and [0041]), and
the detection unit executes detection on the first type of image and the second type of image (see Figs. 8-9, all; [0004 "A second representation of the surface of the loaded pallet is generated using the second image. The first box is replaced with the robotic arm. The first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet are processed to generate a representation of a surface of the first box."], [0024 "The system takes a new image of the pallet and the boxes and using computer vision again, and computes a difference between the two images to determine the size of the picked box and its position in the layer."] and [0041]-[0043]), and outputs at least one information of a position, posture, or external shape information of the plurality of workpieces as the detection result, based on at least the information of an amount of change calculated between first type of image data which containing a detection result and second type of image data which containing a detection result (see Figs. 8-10, all; [0004 "The first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet are processed to generate a representation of a surface of the first box."]-[0005 "According to a particular implementation, processing of the first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet includes determining a difference between the first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet, and determining a size and a position of the surface of the first box using the difference."], [0012]-[0014 "This includes determining a location and orientation of each of the instances of the first box type. Each of the instances of the first box type is picked using the corresponding location and orientation."]-[0015], [0024 "The system takes a new image of the pallet and the boxes and using computer vision again, and computes a difference between the two images to determine the size of the picked box and its position in the layer."]-[0025] and [0042]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 2
Chitta teaches the vision system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
wherein the detection unit outputs the detection result of the plurality of workpieces, based on a difference calculated by using at least one information of the position, posture, or external shape information of the plurality of workpieces included in the first type of image data and the second type of image data (see Figs. 8-10, all; [0004]-[0005 "According to a particular implementation, processing of the first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet includes determining a difference between the first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet, and determining a size and a position of the surface of the first box using the difference."], [0012]-[0015], [0024 "The system takes a new image of the pallet and the boxes and using computer vision again, and computes a difference between the two images to determine the size of the picked box and its position in the layer."]-[0025] and [0042 "Referring to FIG. 8, the Difference 54 between Image 38 and Image 50, corresponds to the Robot 28, the Gripper 30 and the Box 12 that the system has picked up."]-[0044 "Referring to the flowchart in FIG. 3 and the top view of the picked box in FIG. 10, the system also determines the Center 56 of the Box 12 using this Difference 54."]).
Regarding Claim 3
Chitta teaches the vision system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
wherein the robot executes a second operation, different from the first operation, to change the positions of the plurality of workpieces (see [0004 "The first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet are processed to generate a representation of a surface of the first box. The robotic arm is positioned relative to the first box using the representation of the surface of the first box. The first box is removed from the loaded pallet using the robotic arm."], [0008], [0012 "According to a particular implementation, all of the boxes are unloaded from the loaded pallet while performing the capturing, generating, lifting, capturing, generating, releasing, and processing for fewer than all of the boxes."] and [0024 "It puts the box down and, using the computed size and position, picks it up again at its center to complete the task.']),
the acquisition unit acquires a third type of image in which the plurality of workpieces is captured after executing the second operation (see [0004 "The first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet are processed to generate a representation of a surface of the first box. The robotic arm is positioned relative to the first box using the representation of the surface of the first box. The first box is removed from the loaded pallet using the robotic arm."], [0014 "According to a particular implementation, the representation of the surface of the first box is stored. A third image of the loaded pallet is captured using the image capture device. The third image does not include the first box. A third representation of the surface of the loaded pallet is generated using the third image.']), and
the detection unit executes detection on the third type of image and outputs the detection result, based on at least the information of an amount of change calculated between any two of the first type of image data, the second type of image data, and the third type of image data which containing a detection result (see [0005 "According to a particular implementation, processing of the first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet includes determining a difference between the first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet, and determining a size and a position of the surface of the first box using the difference."], [0014 "A third representation of the surface of the loaded pallet is generated using the third image. One or more instances of a first box type corresponding to the first box is/are identified by comparing the third representation of the surface of the loaded pallet and the stored representation of the surface of the first box. This includes determining a location and orientation of each of the instances of the first box type. Each of the instances of the first box type is picked using the corresponding location and orientation."]-[0015] and [0024]).
Regarding Claim 11
Chitta teaches a vision detection method (see all Figs.; [0004]), comprising:
an acquiring step of acquiring a first type of image in which a presence and surrounding region of a plurality of workpieces is captured (see Fig. 4, all; [0004 "According to a particular class of implementations, a first image of a loaded pallet is captured. The loaded pallet has a plurality of boxes stacked thereon."], [0010], [0024 "According to various implementations, the system uses computer vision and images (both 2D and/or 3D) from one or more visual sensors (e.g., one or more cameras) to determine the outermost corners of the top layer of a pallet of boxes."] and [0038]);
a detecting step of outputting a result of detecting the plurality of workpieces (see Fig. 4, all; [0004 "According to a particular class of implementations, a first image of a loaded pallet is captured. The loaded pallet has a plurality of boxes stacked thereon. A first representation of a surface of the loaded pallet is generated using the first image."], [0024 "According to various implementations, the system uses computer vision and images (both 2D and/or 3D) from one or more visual sensors (e.g., one or more cameras) to determine the outermost corners of the top layer of a pallet of boxes."] and [0038]); and
an executing step of causing a robot to execute an operation to change at least one of positions of the plurality of workpieces (see Figs. 1 and 5, robot 28; [0004 "A first box at a corner of the surface of the loaded pallet is moved a programmable amount using a robotic arm."], [0024 "It then performs an exploratory pick using a robot and an attached gripper, lifting the outermost box from its corner by a small amount to separate it from the top layer."], [0027] and [0039]),
wherein in the executing step, the robot executes a first operation to change the positions of the plurality of workpieces (see Fig. 5, all; [0004 "A first box at a corner of the surface of the loaded pallet is moved a programmable amount using a robotic arm."], [0012 "According to a particular implementation, all of the boxes are unloaded from the loaded pallet while performing the capturing, generating, lifting, capturing, generating, releasing, and processing for fewer than all of the boxes."]-[0013 "According to a particular implementation, moving the first box includes one of (1) lifting the first box the programmable amount relative to the loaded pallet using the robotic arm, (2) moving the first box laterally relative to the loaded pallet using the robotic arm, or (3) tilting the first box relative to the surface of the loaded pallet using the robotic arm."], [0024 "It then performs an exploratory pick using a robot and an attached gripper, lifting the outermost box from its corner by a small amount to separate it from the top layer."] and [0039]-[0040]),
in the acquiring step, a second type of image is acquired, in which a presence and surrounding region of the plurality of workpieces after executing the first operation is captured (see Fig. 6, all; [0004 "A second image of the loaded pallet is captured including the first box as moved by the robotic arm."], [0024 "The system takes a new image of the pallet and the boxes and using computer vision again…"] and [0041]), and
in the detecting step, detection on the first type of image and the second type of image is executed (see Figs. 8-9, all; [0004 "A second representation of the surface of the loaded pallet is generated using the second image. The first box is replaced with the robotic arm. The first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet are processed to generate a representation of a surface of the first box."], [0024 "The system takes a new image of the pallet and the boxes and using computer vision again, and computes a difference between the two images to determine the size of the picked box and its position in the layer."] and [0041]-[0043]), and at least one information of a position, posture, or external shape information of the plurality of workpieces is output as the detection result, based on at least the information of an amount of change calculated between the first type of image data which containing the detection result and the second type of image data which containing the detection result (see Figs. 8-10, all; [0004 "The first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet are processed to generate a representation of a surface of the first box."]-[0005 "According to a particular implementation, processing of the first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet includes determining a difference between the first and second representations of the surface of the loaded pallet, and determining a size and a position of the surface of the first box using the difference."], [0012]-[0014 "This includes determining a location and orientation of each of the instances of the first box type. Each of the instances of the first box type is picked using the corresponding location and orientation."]-[0015], [0024 "The system takes a new image of the pallet and the boxes and using computer vision again, and computes a difference between the two images to determine the size of the picked box and its position in the layer."]-[0025] and [0042]-[0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitta as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Umetsu (US 20120004774 A1 and Umetsu hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 4
Chitta teaches the vision system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
the robot executes an operation to contact a surface of the plurality of workpieces, based on at least one result of the detection on the first type of image and/or the second type of image (see Fig. 5, all; [0004 "A first box at a corner of the surface of the loaded pallet is moved a programmable amount using a robotic arm."], [0012 "According to a particular implementation, all of the boxes are unloaded from the loaded pallet while performing the capturing, generating, lifting, capturing, generating, releasing, and processing for fewer than all of the boxes."]-[0013 "According to a particular implementation, moving the first box includes one of (1) lifting the first box the programmable amount relative to the loaded pallet using the robotic arm, (2) moving the first box laterally relative to the loaded pallet using the robotic arm, or (3) tilting the first box relative to the surface of the loaded pallet using the robotic arm."], [0024 "It then performs an exploratory pick using a robot and an attached gripper, lifting the outermost box from its corner by a small amount to separate it from the top layer."] and [0039]-[0040]).
Chitta is silent regarding wherein the robot includes a force measurement unit configured to measure contact information when contacting the plurality of workpieces, and
the force measurement unit measures the contact information on the surface.
Umetsu teaches a vision system (see all Figs.; [0007]), comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire a first type of image in which a presence and surrounding region of a workpiece is captured (see Fig. 2, step S1; [0007 "The information acquiring unit acquires at least location information on a target by an input from a user or by detection made by a detection unit."], [0029] and [0036 "As illustrated in FIG. 2, in step S1, the image processor 43 of the control device 40 acquires the location information, attitude information, and shape information on the gripping target 110 on the basis of data of an image obtained by the visual sensor 30."]);
a detection unit configured to output a result of detecting the workpiece (see Fig. 2, steps S1-S2; [0007], [0029 "The image processor 43 can acquire location information, attitude (orientation) information, shape information on the gripping target 110 by capturing data of an image obtained by the visual sensor 30 and processing the image data."] and [0036 "As illustrated in FIG. 2, in step S1, the image processor 43 of the control device 40 acquires the location information, attitude information, and shape information on the gripping target 110 on the basis of data of an image obtained by the visual sensor 30. Next, in step S2, the acquired shape information on the gripping target 110 is compared against data stored in the target database 44 of the control device 40, thus acquiring the dimensional information on the gripping target 110 and gripping manner data (gripping location and gripping attitude) on the gripping target 110 corresponding to the shape information or other data."]); and
a robot configured to execute an operation to change at least one of positions of the workpiece (see Fig. 1, robot arm 10; [0007], [0019 "As illustrated in FIG. 1, the robot apparatus 100 according to the first embodiment has the function of gripping and lifting an object (gripping target 110) with a multi-fingered hand 20 attached to end of a robot arm 10 in response to an instruction from a user and moving the object to a designated location."]-[0020], [0044] and [0047]),
wherein the robot executes a first operation to change the position of the workpiece (see Fig. 2, step S8; [0044 "After that, in step S8, in a state where the multi-fingered hand 20 is arranged in the modified gripping location, the fingers 21, 22, and 23 are moved by the hand controller 42 and the multi-fingered hand 20 takes the modified gripping attitude, and the gripping target 110 is thus gripped."] and [0047 "For the first embodiment, as described above, the control device 40 modifies the gripping location of the multi-fingered hand 20 and controls gripping the gripping target 110 by the multi-fingered hand 20 on the basis of the location information modified using the contact location."]);
wherein the robot includes a force measurement unit configured to measure contact information when contacting the workpiece (see [0007], [0022 "The three fingers 21, 22, and 23 have substantially the same configuration and include force sensors 21 a, 22 a, and 23 a, respectively, at their ends (fingertips)."]-[0023 "Each of the force sensors 21 a, 22 a, and 23 a is a pressure sensor for detecting forces in directions of mutually perpendicular three axes. The force sensors 21 a, 22 a, and 23 a detect external forces (loads) applied to the tips of the fingers 21, 22, and 23, respectively. A detection signal of each of the force sensors 21 a, 22 a, and 23 a is output to the control device 40. For the first embodiment, contact between the multi-fingered hand 20 ( fingers 21, 22, and 23) and an object (gripping target 110 and another peripheral object, such as a wall or table) can be detected on the basis of an output of each of the force sensors 21 a, 22 a, and 23 a."] and [0040]-[0041]),
the robot executes an operation to contact a surface of the workpiece, based on at least one result of the detection on the first type of image (see Fig. 2, steps S5-S6; [0007 "The controller moves the robot arm to cause the multi-fingered hand to approach the target on the basis of the at least location information on the target acquired by the information acquiring unit, detects a contact location of actual contact with the target on the basis of an output of the at least one fingertip force sensor of the multi-fingered hand"], [0023], [0040 "...such that the multi-fingered hand 20 approaches the gripping attitude from the approaching attitude in the gripping location, each of the fingers 21, 22, and 23 of the multi-fingered hand 20 comes into contact with the gripping target 110. In response to this, the force sensors 21 a, 22 a, and 23 a at the ends of the fingers 21, 22, and 23 detect the contact with the gripping target 110.]-[0041]), and
the force measurement unit measures the contact information on the surface (see Fig. 2, step S6; [0007], [0023 "For the first embodiment, contact between the multi-fingered hand 20 ( fingers 21, 22, and 23) and an object (gripping target 110 and another peripheral object, such as a wall or table) can be detected on the basis of an output of each of the force sensors 21 a, 22 a, and 23 a."] and [0040 "In response to this, the force sensors 21 a, 22 a, and 23 a at the ends of the fingers 21, 22, and 23 detect the contact with the gripping target 110."]-[0041 "In step S6, the control device 40 (hand controller 42) acquires the location of the contact with the gripping target 110 detected by each of the force sensors 21 a, 22 a, and 23 a (contact location)."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vision system of Chitta to further include a force measurement unit configured to measure contact information on the surfaces of the workpieces when contacting the plurality of workpieces, as taught by Umetsu, in order to correct position and orientation information of the workpieces determined from images and to consequently modify a gripping position and orientation for the robot.
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Chitta teaches the vision system according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
Chitta further teaches wherein the robot executes at least the first operation on the plurality of workpieces, based on the contact information (see Fig. 5, all; [0012 "According to a particular implementation, all of the boxes are unloaded from the loaded pallet while performing the capturing, generating, lifting, capturing, generating, releasing, and processing for fewer than all of the boxes."]-[0013 "According to a particular implementation, moving the first box includes one of (1) lifting the first box the programmable amount relative to the loaded pallet using the robotic arm, (2) moving the first box laterally relative to the loaded pallet using the robotic arm, or (3) tilting the first box relative to the surface of the loaded pallet using the robotic arm."], [0024 "It then performs an exploratory pick using a robot and an attached gripper, lifting the outermost box from its corner by a small amount to separate it from the top layer."] and [0039]-[0040]).
Umetsu additionally teaches wherein the robot executes at least the first operation on the plurality of workpieces, based on the contact information (see Fig. 2, steps S7-S8; [0044 "After that, in step S8, in a state where the multi-fingered hand 20 is arranged in the modified gripping location, the fingers 21, 22, and 23 are moved by the hand controller 42 and the multi-fingered hand 20 takes the modified gripping attitude, and the gripping target 110 is thus gripped."] and [0047 "For the first embodiment, as described above, the control device 40 modifies the gripping location of the multi-fingered hand 20 and controls gripping the gripping target 110 by the multi-fingered hand 20 on the basis of the location information modified using the contact location."]).
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Chitta teaches the vision system according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
Chitta is silent regarding wherein the contact information includes at least one of information on presence or absence of contact, information on a contact position, information on magnitude, direction, and distribution of a contact force, information on magnitude and direction of a contact moment, or information on slippage.
Umetsu teaches wherein the contact information includes at least one of information on presence or absence of contact, information on a contact position, and information on magnitude, direction, and distribution of a contact force (see [0007], [0033 "That is, the control device 40 moves the robot arm 10 to cause the multi-fingered hand 20 to approach the gripping target 110 on the basis of the location information and attitude information on the gripping target 110 acquired by the visual sensor 30 and detects a contact location of actual contact with the gripping target 110 on the basis of the output of each of the force sensors 21 a, 22 a, and 23 a of the multi-fingered hand 20. Specifically, a contact location when the contact with the gripping target 110 is detected by the force sensors (21 a, 22 a, and 23 a) is calculated from a joint angle of the robot arm 10 and a joint angle of the multi-fingered hand 20. The control device 40 has the location correcting function of modifying the location information and attitude information on the gripping target 110 on the basis of information that indicates the detected contact location."], [0041] and [0043 "To address this, in step S7, the location information and attitude information on the gripping target 110 is modified on the basis of information indicating the detected three contact locations."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vision system of Chitta to further include a force measurement unit configured to measure contact information on presence or absence of contact, information on a contact position and information on magnitude, direction, and distribution of a contact force, as taught by Umetsu, in order to correct position and orientation information of the workpieces determined from images and to consequently modify a gripping position and orientation for the robot.
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Chitta teaches the vision system according claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
Chitta is silent regarding wherein the detection unit compensates the detection result, based on at least the information on a contact position among the contact information.
Umetsu teaches wherein the detection unit compensates the detection result, based on at least the information on a contact position among the contact information (see Fig. 2, step S7; [0007 "...and modifies the location information on the target on the basis of information indicating the detected contact location."], [0042]-[0043 "To address this, in step S7, the location information and attitude information on the gripping target 110 is modified on the basis of information indicating the detected three contact locations. With this, the location of the robot arm 10 (i.e., the gripping location of the multi-fingered hand 20) is modified by the arm controller 41 and the gripping attitude of the multi-fingered hand 20 ( fingers 21, 22, and 23) is modified by the hand controller 42, on the basis of the modified location information and attitude information on the gripping target 110."] and [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vision system of Chitta to compensate the detection result based on at least the information on a contact position with the workpieces, as taught by Umetsu, in order to correct position and orientation information of the workpieces determined from images and to consequently modify a gripping position and orientation for the robot.
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Chitta teaches the vision system according to claim 6 (as discussed above in claim 6),
Chitta is silent regarding wherein the detection unit compensates at least one of the first type of image, the second type of image, or the detection result, based on the information on an amount of change calculated with magnitude, direction or distribution of the contact force.
Umetsu teaches wherein the detection unit compensates at least one of the first type of image or the detection result, based on the information on an amount of change calculated with magnitude, direction or distribution of the contact force (see Fig. 2, step S7; [0007 "...and modifies the location information on the target on the basis of information indicating the detected contact location."], [0042]-[0043 "To address this, in step S7, the location information and attitude information on the gripping target 110 is modified on the basis of information indicating the detected three contact locations. With this, the location of the robot arm 10 (i.e., the gripping location of the multi-fingered hand 20) is modified by the arm controller 41 and the gripping attitude of the multi-fingered hand 20 ( fingers 21, 22, and 23) is modified by the hand controller 42, on the basis of the modified location information and attitude information on the gripping target 110."] and [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vision system of Chitta to compensate the first type of image or the detection result, based on the information on an amount of change calculated with magnitude, direction or distribution of the contact force, as taught by Umetsu, in order to correct position and orientation information of the workpieces determined from images and to consequently modify a gripping position and orientation for the robot.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitta as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Diankov et al. (US 20200139553 A1 and Diankov hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 9
Chitta teaches the vision system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
further comprises a display unit (see [0035 "A rendering of the virtual pallet is then shown to the operator on the screen superimposed on the image of the actual pallet to see how well they are aligned."]).
Chitta is silent regarding the display unit configured to display the detection result.
Diankov teaches a vision system (see all Figs., especially Fig. 5), comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire a first type of image in which a presence and surrounding region of a plurality of workpieces is captured (see Fig. 5, step 202; [0076 "More specifically as an example, the capture module 202 can operate the image system 160 and/or interact with the image system 160 to capture and/or receive from the image system 160 the imaging data corresponding to a top view of a stack as illustrated in FIG. 3B and/or FIG. 4B."]);
a detection unit configured to output a result of detecting the plurality of workpieces (see Fig. 5, steps 202-204; [0076 "The capture module 202 can process the resulting imaging data to capture the top surface of the package 112 of FIG. 1A as the first image data. In some embodiments, the capture module 202 can employ one or more image recognition algorithms (e.g., the contextual image classification, pattern recognition, and/or edge detection) to analyze the imaging data and identify edges and/or surfaces of the packages 112 therein. Based on the processing results (e.g., the identified edges and/or continuous surfaces), the capture module 202 can identify portions (e.g., sets of pixels values and/or depth readings) of the imaging data as representing top surfaces of individual packages."]-[0082]); and
a robot configured to execute an operation to change at least one of positions of the plurality of workpieces (see Fig. 5, step 206; [0090 "The lift module 206 implements (via, e.g., communicating and/or executing) the command for the robotic arm 132 of FIG. 1A to lift the package 112. For example, the lift module 206 can operate the robotic arm 132 to lift the unregistered instance of the package 112 for the lift check distance as discussed above."]),
wherein the robot executes a first operation to change the positions of the plurality of workpieces (see Fig. 5, step 206; [0090 "The lift module 206 implements (via, e.g., communicating and/or executing) the command for the robotic arm 132 of FIG. 1A to lift the package 112. For example, the lift module 206 can operate the robotic arm 132 to lift the unregistered instance of the package 112 for the lift check distance as discussed above."]-[0092]),
the acquisition unit acquires a second type of image in which the presence and surrounding region of the plurality of workpieces is captured after executing the first operation (see Fig. 5, step 206; [0093 "More specifically as an example, the capture module 202 can capture the second image data based on the package 112 being lifted for the lift check distance to include the now visible two clear edges 112-44 g of FIG. 4H."]), and
the detection unit executes detection on the first type of image and the second type of image (see Fig. 5, step 208; [0094 "For example, the extraction module 208 can extract the third image data based on the first image data, the second image data, or a combination thereof."]), and outputs at least one information of a position, posture, or external shape information of the plurality of workpieces as the detection result, based on at least the information of an amount of change calculated between first type of image data which containing a detection result and second type of image data which containing a detection result (see Fig. 5, step 208; [0065], [0095 "The extraction module 208 can extract the third image data in a number of ways. For example, the extraction module 208 can determine an image difference based comparing the first image data and the second image data. The image difference can represent the difference between the first image data and the second image data of the same instance of the unregistered instance of the package 112."]-[0098 "For a further example, the extraction module 208 can determine the length, width, or a combination thereof of the package 112 based on the third image data."] and [0106]);
further comprises a display unit configured to display the detection result (see Figs. 3C, 4C, 4E, 4G, 4I, and 4L, all; [0040 "The image system 160 can include at least one display unit 164 configured to present an image of the package(s) 112 captured by the sensors 162 that may be viewed by one or more operators of the robotic system 100 as discussed in detail below."], [0051] and [0056 "As stated above, SIs for the packages 112 may be captured by the image system 160 of FIG. 1B and compared with the SIs of the registration records 172 of FIG. 1B stored in the RDS 170 of FIG. 1B. If registered, the robotic system can assign and/or display symbologies indicative of the SI being registered. As illustrated, symbologies 112-33 a, 112-43 a, and 112-51 a, can include rectangular outlines displayed by the display unit 164."]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vision system of Chitta to further include a display unit configured to display the detection result, as taught by Diankov, in order to provide an operator with a view of the workpieces.
Regarding Claim 10
Modified Chitta teaches the vision system according to claim 9 (as discussed above in claim 9),
Chitta is silent regarding wherein the display unit displays the first type of image or the second type of image acquired by the acquisition unit, together with the detection result.
Diankov teaches wherein the display unit displays the first type of image or the second type of image acquired by the acquisition unit, together with the detection result (see Figs. 3C, 4C, 4E, 4G, 4I, and 4L, all; [0040 "The image system 160 can include at least one display unit 164 configured to present an image of the package(s) 112 captured by the sensors 162 that may be viewed by one or more operators of the robotic system 100 as discussed in detail below."], [0051] and [0056 "As stated above, SIs for the packages 112 may be captured by the image system 160 of FIG. 1B and compared with the SIs of the registration records 172 of FIG. 1B stored in the RDS 170 of FIG. 1B. If registered, the robotic system can assign and/or display symbologies indicative of the SI being registered. As illustrated, symbologies 112-33 a, 112-43 a, and 112-51 a, can include rectangular outlines displayed by the display unit 164."]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vision system of Chitta to further include a display unit configured to display the first type of image or the second type of image acquired by the acquisition unit, together with the detection result, as taught by Diankov, in order to provide an operator with a view of the workpieces.
Conclusion
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656