DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 29 April 2026, is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 29 April 2026.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/790,377 in view of Wisneskie (US 5,534,293).
Instant claim 1 and claim 1 of the ‘377 application both recite a composite part comprising a substrate; a subsurface layer comprising graphite with a cellular structure; a graphitic layer; wherein the graphitic layer comprises graphite in an amount greater than the graphite present in said subsurface layer.
Instant claim 1 differs from claim 1 of the ‘377 application insofar as reciting a ceramic coating on said graphitic layer.
In a related field of endeavor, Wisneskie teaches that carbon based materials maintain their strength relatively well at high temperatures but tend to erode in the presence of high-velocity gas flow and are susceptible to chemical attack (Col. 1, l. 33-43). To address these drawbacks, the exposed surfaces of flow-handling devices composed of graphite or other carbon based materials are often treated by forming a layer of ceramic material on the exposed surface to improve the resistance to abrasion, particulate impact, and chemical attack (Col. 1, l. 44-55).
Wisneskie is analogous to the ‘377 application and the instant application inasmuch that Wisneskie addresses known drawbacks of exposed surfaces made of graphite and other carbon based materials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify claim 1 of the ‘377 application to include a layer of ceramic material (i.e. a ceramic coating) on the exposed carbon surface to improve the resistance to abrasion, particulate impact, and chemical attack, and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan et al. (US 5,283,109) in view of Tour et al. (US 2019/0330064).
Claim 1: Kaplan teaches high temperature structural materials wherein a coating comprising a plurality of very thin alternating layers comprised of hafnium or zirconium carbide (i.e. hafnium carbide would have been obvious as a specifically named choice) and silicon carbide (i.e. the carbide coating is a ceramic coating) is formed on a temperature resistant substrate (i.e. the structure is a composite part having a substrate and a ceramic coating) (Col. 1, l. 4-11). Kaplan teaches the coating as being oxidation resistant and used for coating a high temperature resistant substrate such as carbon-carbon composite, etc. (Col. 2, l. 45-66). The outermost layer is preferably silicon carbide, and the first layer of the coating forms an interlayer between the coating the substrate (Col. 2, l. 65-68). The interlayer is generally preferably silicon carbide where the substrate is a carbon-carbon composite, but may include a different material and may be selected so as to minimize as much as possible the effect of the mismatch in the coefficients of thermal expansion between the coating and the substrate (Col. 2, l. 68 to Col. 3, l. 11). To minimize cracking, a carbon paste of carbon powder and liquid carrier was first applied as a layer to a carbon-carbon composite and cured before applying a coating of hafnium carbide-silicon carbide layers because the carbon interlayer served to form a slightly ductile interlayer which absorbs some of the stress caused by mismatched coefficients of thermal expansion (Col. 5, l. 28-50). Kaplan teaches that varying the chemical vapor deposition operating parameters permits adjustment of the thickness of the respective hafnium or zirconium carbide and silicon carbide layers, and individual layers except for the interlayer are about 1-10 microns in thickness which does not need to be uniform in thickness, the interlayer may be as much as 20 microns or more, and the final layer which is exposed to the environment is silicon carbide (Col. 5, l. 64 to Col. 6, l. 9). The coating process is preferably continuous with no interruptions between the formation of the alternating carbide layers (Col. 6, l. 10-17). Kaplan teaches an interlayer that includes a carbon layer and the interlayer can minimize as much as possible the effect of the mismatch in the coefficients of thermal expansion between the coating and the substrate (Col. 3, l. 4-6), and further teaches that the substrate may be selected with the view of minimizing the difference between the coefficients of thermal expansion between the substrate and the coating, such as graphite which has a coefficient of expansion closer to that of the coating than is carbon-carbon composite. However, the instantly claimed subsurface layer and relative graphite in the graphitic layer are not disclosed.
In a related field of endeavor, Tour teaches a method to form laser-induced graphene (“LIG” as defined in para. 0006) from a wide variety of carbon precursors by means of multiple lasing (para. 0009). Sources of carbon include polymers, cellulose-based materials, amorphous carbon, charcoal, activated carbon, coke, etc. (paras. 0011-0012), and most other carbon sources (para. 0013). A 3D graphene object (i.e. the graphene is considered to be graphite, which is simply many layers of graphene, due to being 3-dimensional) can be printed via the exposure of one or more carbon precursors to laser irradiation, wherein single exposures of a laser can be employed but preferably multiple exposures would be used (para. 0014). This method and materials are substantially identical to the method and materials of the instant application (paragraph spanning p. 2-3 and paragraph spanning p. 5-6 of the instant specification) and is considered to result in the instantly claimed subsurface layer comprising graphite with a cellular structure and the graphitic layer with graphite in a greater amount in the graphitic layer than in the subsurface layer because substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner will have substantially identical properties and functions. See MPEP § 2112.01.
As Kaplan teaches a high temperature structure with carbide coating and carbon/graphite interlayer and Tour teaches formation of 3D graphene (i.e. graphite) from carbon sources, they are analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the interlayer of Kaplan (i.e. initially applied as a carbon paste of carbon powder and liquid carrier) by laser irradiation as taught by Tour to form graphene (i.e. graphite) using multiple passes of the laser (i.e. Tour teaches multiple exposures are preferable; para. 0014) because Kaplan teaches that graphite has a coefficient of expansion closer to that of the coating than is carbon-carbon composite and the interlayer can minimize as much as possible the effect of the mismatch in the coefficients of thermal expansion between the coating and the substrate, and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 2: Kaplan teaches that the individual layers of hafnium or zirconium carbide and silicon carbide are from about 1-10 microns in thickness and the coating is from 5 to 30 mils in thickness (Col. 5, l. 64 to Col. 6, l. 9). This thickness overlaps the instantly claimed range and the courts have held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where claimed ranges overlap, lie inside of, or are close to ranges in the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05. It is noted that as of the writing of this Office Action, no demonstration of a criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Claim 3: Kaplan teaches a coating comprising a plurality of very thin alternating layers comprised of hafnium or zirconium carbide (i.e. hafnium carbide would have been obvious as a specifically named choice) and silicon carbide (i.e. the carbide coating is a ceramic coating) formed on a temperature resistant substrate (Col. 1, l. 4-11).
Claims 4 and 11: Kaplan teaches a coating comprising a plurality of very thin alternating layers comprised of hafnium or zirconium carbide (i.e. hafnium carbide would have been obvious as a specifically named choice) and silicon carbide (Col. 1, l. 4-11) and that the coating process is preferably continuous with no interruptions between the formation of the alternating carbide layers (Col. 6, l. 10-17), which is considered to teach formation of a mixed layer of hafnium carbide and silicon carbide as the composition is changed from one layer to the alternating layer.
Claim 5: Kaplan does not specifically teach the instantly claimed ratio, but teaches that the individual layers of hafnium or zirconium carbide (i.e. HfC is obvious) and silicon carbide (SiC) are from about 1-10 microns in thickness which does not need to be uniform in thickness (Col. 5, l. 64 to Col. 6, l. 9). Since the layers do not need to be the same thicknesses, the volume percent ratio of HfC to SiC overlaps the instantly claimed range (e.g. when SiC layers are toward the lower end of the range of thickness and the HfC layers are toward the upper end of the range of thickness). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claims 12-13: Kaplan teaches a coating comprising a plurality of very thin alternating layers comprised of hafnium or zirconium carbide (i.e. hafnium carbide would have been obvious as a specifically named choice) and silicon carbide (Col. 1, l. 4-11). Since a plurality of alternating layers are present, the first couple layers correspond to the instantly claimed ceramic layer and a subsequent layer of HfC is considered to be a carbide coating on the ceramic coating. Since alternating layers may be hafnium carbide or zirconium carbide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for a subsequent layer to be ZrC (i.e. as the carbide coating) because this is considered an art recognized equivalent for the intended purpose, and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art is the teachings of Kaplan in view of Tour as outlined above. However, the carbide (i.e. ceramic) coating is made by a CVD or sputtering (i.e. vapor methods) and therefore would not include a surfactant or particulate filler.
Regarding a slurry or other wet coating method, Wisneskie (US 5,534,293) teaches ceramic-coated carbon-based surfaces suitable for exposure to hot gases wherein the outer surface may include carbides of silicon and various metals, etc. (Col. 1, l. 19-55). Wisneskie teaches a slurry coating technique as an alternative to CVD and can be used to produce a protective coating of carbides on a graphite surface (Col. 2, l. 26-63). The slurry contained a mixture of Si, Hf, and Cr and was applied to a pyrolytic graphite surface and then formed into a coating that comprised of several layers containing various metal carbides and silicon carbide (Col. 3, l. 1-17). The carrier fluid is an organic lacquer which may contain nitrocellulose, thixotrope (MPA-60) (i.e. a surfactant), and acetone for thickening the consistency of the slurry, with the amount of thixotrope (i.e. surfactant) being about 4.8% (calculated from the amounts shown for the slurry composition in Col. 4, l. 46-67). However, to form HfC by reaction of elemental hafnium with carbon from the surface, the slurry coated surface is heated, and as a result other materials in the slurry become removed from the surface so that the composition of the surface layer is limited to materials formed from the elements hafnium and carbon (Col. 3, l. 41-64).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rousseau (US 5,284,685) teaches a carbon-carbon composite material for heat protection and having in sequence a silicon carbide layer, an intermediate coating that may be HfC, and an outer layer of oxide not containing silicon.
/KIM S. HORGER/Examiner, Art Unit 1784