DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “wherein when the acceleration-induced force is above a certain force the lock case deforms to rest against the locking mechanism to increase a common moment of resistance of the locking mechanism and the lock case”. must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected (and claims 2-13 also rejected by dependency) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what the applicant requires by “a certain force” which appears undefined or quantified in such terms as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what the applicant requires of an apparatus which would or would not satisfy the claim recitation..
In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kammler (DE 10 2005 016 488).
Regarding claim 1, Kammler discloses a motor vehicle locking device, comprising:
a locking mechanism including a rotary latch(18) and a pawl(52), and
a lock case(13) for mounting the locking mechanism, wherein the lock case is deformable ([0076]) in response to an acceleration-induced force ([0011] crash deformation), and wherein when the acceleration-induced force is above a certain force the lock case deforms ([0011] crash deformation) to rest against the locking mechanism to increase a common moment of resistance of the locking mechanism and the lock case.
Regarding claim 2, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 1, wherein the locking mechanism is deformed up to a first force limit of the acceleration-induced force ([0075]), and the locking mechanism (18,52) and the lock case (13) deform together when the acceleration- induced force reaches a second force limit that is higher relative to the first force limit.
Regarding claim 6, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 1, wherein the lock case (13) and the rotary latch (18) overlap in top view such that the lock case deforms to contact the rotary latch to increase the common moment of resistance (Fig.2, 14).
Regarding claim 7, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 6,wherein the lock case is equipped with at least one guide element (26) for mutual guidance relative to the rotary latch in the event of the deformations of the locking mechanism and the lock case.
Regarding claim 8, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 7, wherein the at least one guide element (26) is designed as a folded edge on the lock case ([0018]).
Regarding claim 9, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 7, wherein the at least one guide element (26) engages over a stop leg of the rotary latch(22).
Regarding claim 10, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 1, wherein the lock case is L-shaped in cross-section ([0026]) with a long L-leg and a short L-leg, wherein the long L-leg defines a deformable impact plate extending transversely to a longitudinal extension of a motor vehicle and the short L-leg defines a mounting plate coupled, to a cross beam of the motor vehicle (Fig.32).
Regarding claim 11, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 10, wherein the locking mechanism (19) is mounted on the long L-leg of the lock case (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 12, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 10, wherein the long L-leg ([0026]) of the lock case and the rotary latch overlap in top view such that the long L-leg of resistance (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 13, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 1, wherein the locking mechanism (19) further includes bearing pins ([0009]) that provide the moment of resistance for the locking mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kammler (DE 10 2005 016 488).
Regarding claim 3, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device (Fig.1) according to claim 2.
Kammler discloses the claimed invention except for the first force limit is from 4 to 6 kN.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify the first force limit is from 4 to 6 kN, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device (Fig.1) according to claim 2,.
Kammler discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the second force limit is from 9 kN to 12 kN.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify the second force limit is from 9 kN to 12 kN, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 1, wherein a force absorption of joint deformation of the locking mechanism in contact with the lock case and the lock case.
Kammler discloses the claimed invention except for to an increase in the absorbable force of at least 50%, compared to a force absorption by deformation of the locking mechanism alone..
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify to an increase in the absorbable force of at least 50%, compared to a force absorption by deformation of the locking mechanism alone, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675