DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “wherein when the acceleration-induced force is above a certain force the lock case deforms to rest against the locking mechanism to increase a common moment of resistance of the locking mechanism and the lock case”. must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected (and claims 2-13 also rejected by dependency) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what the applicant requires by “a force threshold” which appears undefined or quantified in such terms as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what the applicant requires of an apparatus which would or would not satisfy the claim recitation. The recitation is not physical structure nor is it a defined function. In the interest of compact prosecution recitations will b taken broadly until otherwise clarified by the applicant.
In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kammler (DE 10 2005 016 488).
Regarding claim 1, Kammler discloses a motor vehicle locking device, comprising:
a locking mechanism including a rotary latch(18) and a pawl(52), wherein the locking mechanism is deformable in response to the longitudinal acceleration-induced force longitudinal to the motor vehicle locking device and,
a lock case(13) for mounting the locking mechanism, wherein the lock case is deformable ([0076]) in response to the longitudinal acceleration-induced force ([0011] crash deformation),
wherein the lock case is spaced from the locking mechanism in normal operation, wherein when the longitudinal acceleration-induced force is below a force threshold, the locking mechanism deforms (any apparatus is capable of deforming) while the lock case remains spaced from the locking mechanism
and wherein when the longitudinal acceleration-induced force is above the force threshold, the locking mechanism deforms and the lock case deforms through the space such that the lock case engages the locking mechanism to increase a common moment of resistance of the locking mechanism and the lock case.
Note: The intended use of a device, in this case during a crash condition can be given no patentable weigh. Intended use recitation is given consideration in the context the prior art of record is also capable of experiencing a crash condition and forces as is inherent in any sudden deceleration.
Regarding claim 2, (canceled)
Regarding claim 6, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 1, wherein the lock case (13) and the rotary latch (18) overlap in top view such that the lock case deforms to contact the rotary latch to increase the common moment of resistance (Fig.2, 14).
Regarding claim 7, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 6,wherein the lock case is equipped with at least one guide element (26) for mutual guidance relative to the rotary latch in the event of the deformations of the locking mechanism and the lock case.
Regarding claim 8, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 7, wherein the at least one guide element (26) is designed as a folded edge on the lock case ([0018]).
Regarding claim 9, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 7, wherein the at least one guide element (26) engages over a stop leg of the rotary latch(22).
Regarding claim 10, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 1, wherein the lock case is L-shaped in cross-section ([0026]) with a long L-leg and a short L-leg, wherein the long L-leg defines a deformable impact plate extending transversely to a longitudinal extension of a motor vehicle and the short L-leg defines a mounting plate coupled, to a cross beam of the motor vehicle (Fig.32).
Regarding claim 11, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 10, wherein the locking mechanism (19) is mounted on the long L-leg of the lock case (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 12, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 10, wherein the long L-leg ([0026]) of the lock case and the rotary latch overlap in top view such that the long L-leg of resistance (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 13, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 1, wherein the locking mechanism (19) further includes bearing pins ([0009]) that provide the moment of resistance for the locking mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kammler (DE 10 2005 016 488).
Regarding claim 3, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device (Fig.1) according to claim 2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify force limit threshold is from 4 to 6kN, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Note: the environment or the intended use of an apparatus can be given no patentable weight.
Regarding claim 4, (canceled)
Regarding claim 5, Kammler discloses the motor vehicle locking device according to claim 1, wherein a force absorption of joint deformation of the locking mechanism in contact with the lock case and the lock case.
Kammler discloses the claimed invention except for to an increase in the absorbable force of at least 50%, compared to a force absorption by deformation of the locking mechanism alone..
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify to an increase in the absorbable force of at least 50%, compared to a force absorption by deformation of the locking mechanism alone, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from the response filed on 20 April 2026 have been fully considered and will be addressed below in the order in which they appeared.
Applicant’s arguments, all are based in a future event an intended crash. Condition. Determination of patentability is limited to positive recitation of structure and function that is in the possession of the applicant. A future crash, accident or collision is a future event that may or may not occur. Such possible events are not patentable subject matter. Rather the details of structure and function that the applicant is in possession must be described in such clear and concise terms that a determination can be made against the prior art of record that there is patentable distinction over what is taught or suggested by the prior art of record. Applicant has failed to provide any argument showing possession of structure that allows a function that the prior art of record is incapable. Applicants’ arguments are unpersuasive.
Applicant’s argument, concerning drawings. The applicant determines the need for drawings, and it is the examiner that reviews the drawings for completeness and correctness. If the applicant claims subject matter, the applicant must show the claimed subject matter. It is recognized that at least some of that which is at issue does not physically exist and is at issue as to whether the what is attempted to be claimed is patentable subject matter. Until the claims contain only that which is in the applicant’s possession and capable of physical representation, drawing objections remain.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675