Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN 109234089) A, published on November 6, 2018) ("He" hereunder) in view of EP (2 338 960) A1
He discloses an antibacterial cleansing effervescent tablet comprising an effervescent composition comprising an acid source such as citric acid or sulfamic acid or oxalic acid and mixtures thereof, etc., and an alkali source such as sodium carbonate (gas generator) and a bactericide such as sodium percarbonate. See translation, abstract and p. 3, lines 7-11. The reference teaches that the composition is designed to provide a neutral pH to avoid damages to user's hands. See Examples 1 and 2, p 7, Advantages no. 2. He discloses example formulations comprising pvp, which is a water soluble polymer and He further teaches that the tablet comprises sodium polyacrylate and acrylic acid-maleic acid copolymer which are further water soluble. Example 2 employes polyethylene glycol ~400-20000 MW. Step 1, diluting and preparing the polyvinyl pyrrolidone with water into 1:10 of water solution; Step 2 in the formation of said tablet shows mixture A prepared in the step 2) of the step 3) to obtain the mixture B, and non-ionic sterilizing agent uniformly, then set the tablet by preforming machine, specification of each tablet weight is 0.5 g ~ 20 g, Φ 5 mm ~ 40 mm, the thickness is 5 mm ~ 30 mm, the prepared fabric antibacterial cleaning effervescent tablet. Step 5: preparing fabric antibacterial cleaning effervescent tablet, to smooth regular appearance, uniform color, are the size, accurate weight, proper hardness, disintegration time is not more than 20 min. cleaning effervescent tablet prepared fabric antibacterial can be bottled, plastic package such as package form.
He does not teach the specific dimensions of said tablet as claimed such the indentation and pressing force as claimed.
With respect to the indentation, the thickness, height and weight of the solid tablet as claimed is suggested by He and one skilled in the art would expect a design choice of optimization to comprise a indentation height and this ornamentation is within the skill level of applicant.
The public use of an ornamental design which is directed toward generating consumer interest in the aesthetics of the design is not an experimental use. In re Mann, 861 F.2d 1581, 8 USPQ2d 2030 (Fed. Cir. 1988)
As stated in KSR Int'l Co., v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007):
"[A]nalysis [of whether the subject matter of a claimwould have been prima facie obvious] need not seek out preciseteachings directed to the specific subject matter of thechallenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferencesand creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the artwould employ."
With respect to the breaking force, EP ‘960 disclose a toilet cleaning tablet
Comprising 21 wt% sulfamic acid, 19 wt% citric acid, 25 wt% sodium bisulfate (an inorganic binder), 2 wt% sodium carbonate (a gas generator), 12 wt% sodium bicarbonate (another gas generator), 0.8 wt% sodium fatty alcohol sulfate, 3 wt% PEG,
optionally perfume, flow aid and disinfectant, the balance being sodium sulfate.
The composition is pressed into a tablet having a weight of 25 grams and a
diameter of 35 mm and dissolves in water within a couple of minutes [0030]). EP ‘960 teaches said table is pressed with a pressing force of 6 tons, therefor t is assumed that the tablet breaking force is >25 lbf.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to create a table for similar purposes as He with the guidance of EP ‘960 and obtain a pressing force known in the art to disintegrate or break with similar force the its intended purpose.
[W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious. [KSR Int'l Co. v.Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 418 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976).]
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Conclusion
/NECHOLUS OGDEN JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761