DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-30 were previously rejected under 35 USC § 112. Applicant has successfully addressed these issues in the amendments filed on 04/24/2026. Accordingly, the rejection to the claims have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17, 26-27, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20070214848 to Meyerle.
Regarding claim 16, Meyerle discloses:
An arrangement (fig 3) for a lock system (10), the arrangement comprising: a latch spindle (80) for engaging a follower (28) of the lock system and for rotation about a follower axis (axis of 28, see fig 3), the latch spindle comprising a handing structure (78/83); an outer spindle (72) for rotation about the follower axis, the outer spindle comprising an outer engaging structure (89) configured to engage the handing structure (fig 8); and an inner spindle (82) for rotation about the follower axis (when door handle is turned), the inner spindle comprising an inner engaging structure (84) configured to engage the handing structure independently of the outer engaging structure (see paragraph 0066); wherein the handing structure, the inner engaging structure and the outer engaging structure are configured to cooperate such that a first handing (fig 6) of the lock system is set by a first latch position of the latch spindle about the follower axis, and a second handing (fig 7)of the lock system is set by a second latch position of the latch spindle, different from the first latch position, about the follower axis (see paragraph 0096); and wherein the handing structure comprises an angular clearance with respect to the follower axis such that the inner spindle is enabled to drive the latch spindle relative to the outer spindle by engagement between the inner engaging structure and the handing structure (see paragraphs 0097-0098).
Regarding claim 17, Meyerle discloses:
The arrangement according to Claim 16, wherein the latch spindle comprises a through opening (opening seen in the bottom of fig 9b), and wherein the outer spindle passes through the through opening (see 72 in fig 9b).
A lock system (fig 1) comprising an arrangement according to Claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, Meyerle discloses:
A lock system (fig 1) comprising an arrangement according to Claim 1.
Regarding claim 27, Meyerle discloses:
The lock system according to Claim 26, further comprising an inner handle (14) engaging the inner spindle and an outer handle (16) engaging the outer spindle (see figs 3 and 4)
Regarding claim 29, Meyerle discloses:
The lock system according to Claim 26, further comprising a latch (18) including the follower (fig 3).
Regarding claim 30, Meyerle discloses:
The lock system according to Claim 29, wherein the latch is a tubular latch (fig 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-25 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s arguments that both 78 and 83 are referred to as the handing structure by the Examiner despite 83 not always moving in common with 80, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not require the handing structure to always move in common with the latch spindle.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the first and second handing positions are not different rotational positions of the latch spindle about the follower axis, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not require a different rotational positions, the claims recite the first latch position of the latch spindle about the follower axis being different than the second position. Meyerle teaches two positions of the latch spindle about the follower axis, one where the right hand 454 of 80 is between 450 and 452 (fig 7) and one where the left hand 456 is between 450 and 452 (fig 6). Therefore, rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.S./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675