DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement of 12/18/2024 has been received and reviewed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the phrases “can be” and “can drive”. It is unclear if the limitations following the phrases are required or not.
Claims 17-30 are rejected due to their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17, 26-27, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20070214848 to Meyerle.
Regarding claim 16, Meyerle discloses:
An arrangement (fig 3) for a lock system (10), the arrangement comprising: a latch spindle (80) for engaging a follower (28) of the lock system and for rotation about a follower axis (axis of 28, see fig 3), the latch spindle comprising a handing structure (78/83); an outer spindle (72) for rotation about the follower axis, the outer spindle comprising an outer engaging structure (89) configured to engage the handing structure (fig 8); and an inner spindle (82) for rotation about the follower axis (when door handle is turned), the inner spindle comprising an inner engaging structure (84) configured to engage the handing structure independently of the outer engaging structure (see paragraph 0066); wherein the handing structure, the inner engaging structure and the outer engaging structure are configured to cooperate such that a first handing (fig 6) of the lock system can be set by a first latch position of the latch spindle about the follower axis, and a second handing (fig 7)of the lock system can be set by a second latch position of the latch spindle, different from the first latch position, about the follower axis (see paragraph 0096); and wherein the handing structure comprises an angular clearance with respect to the follower axis such that the inner spindle can drive the latch spindle relative to the outer spindle by engagement between the inner engaging structure and the handing structure (see paragraphs 0097-0098).
Regarding claim 17, Meyerle discloses:
The arrangement according to Claim 16, wherein the latch spindle comprises a through opening (opening seen in the bottom of fig 9b), and wherein the outer spindle passes through the through opening (see 72 in fig 9b).
A lock system (fig 1) comprising an arrangement according to Claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, Meyerle discloses:
A lock system (fig 1) comprising an arrangement according to Claim 1.
Regarding claim 27, Meyerle discloses:
The lock system according to Claim 26, further comprising an inner handle (14) engaging the inner spindle and an outer handle (16) engaging the outer spindle (see figs 3 and 4)
Regarding claim 29, Meyerle discloses:
The lock system according to Claim 26, further comprising a latch (18) including the follower (fig 3).
Regarding claim 30, Meyerle discloses:
The lock system according to Claim 29, wherein the latch is a tubular latch (fig 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-25 and 28 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675