DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is responsive to the Application No.:18/876,405 filed on 12/18/2024 (Priority Date: 07/12/2022).
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are pending and presented for examination.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2024 is being considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains more than 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites the acronym “MR” without providing the meaning. For example, MR should recite in the claims as mixed reality (MR). Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record failed to disclose the combination of the independent claims with the following:
wherein the processor removes, on at least one virtual object included in the map information, overlapping vertices between virtual objects and corrects an outline of the virtual object through a vertex resampling algorithm, and performs texturing on a virtual object corresponding to a building around the vehicle according to the building profile for the virtual object whose vertices have been removed and whose outline has been corrected COMBINED WITH wherein the processor detects outline vertices, which are corner points of an outline constituting an outline of the virtual object, detects areas between outline vertices whose distance to another outline vertex is not an integer multiple of a horizontal length of a preset tile, from among the outline vertices, and removes at least one of the detected outline vertices so as to allow a distance between the outline vertices to correspond to an integer multiple of a preset length of tile.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM, US 20210129862.
Claim 1:
KIM discloses a display device (See Kim Abstract) comprising:
an interface unit that receives sensing information collected from at least one sensor provided in a vehicle (See KIM Paragraphs 00014; 0053; 0061-0065);
a memory that stores a tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile) including tiles corresponding to at least one of shapes and images of parts of different buildings, map information including virtual objects corresponding to buildings in an area where the vehicle is located, and building profiles of buildings corresponding to the virtual objects included in the map information (See KIM Paragraphs 0010-0012; 0015-0019; 0021);
and a processor (See KIM Paragraph 0064) that detects building profiles (See KIM Paragraph 0110) corresponding to buildings located around the vehicle based on a driving path of the vehicle when the driving path of the vehicle is determined (See KIM Paragraphs 0012-0014), tiles different areas of each virtual object with different tiles of the tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile) based on area-specific tile information included in a building profile corresponding to each of the virtual objects (See KIM Paragraph 0110), for respective virtual objects corresponding to respective buildings located around the vehicle, combines respective areas on which tiling is carried out according to the building profile to perform texturing on each of the virtual objects (See KIM Paragraph 0110), and controls the interface unit to display MR information that renders at least one of the textured virtual objects on a display module of the vehicle (See KIM Paragraph 0110), wherein the interface unit acquires a building image (See KIM Paragraphs 0110; 0115-0119) corresponding to a specific building from among the buildings around the vehicle through a camera provided in the vehicle (See KIM Paragraphs 0080; 0115), and wherein the processor acquires an image of a specific area of the specific building based on the building image (See KIM Paragraph 0110), determines a tile corresponding to the specific area from the tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile) based on the acquired image of the specific area, and updates tile information of the specific area included in building profile information (See KIM Paragraph 0110) corresponding to the specific building based on a result of comparing the determined tile with the tile information of the specific area included in the building profile information corresponding to the specific building (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021).
Claim 2:
KIM discloses wherein the interface unit (See KIM Paragraphs 0053; 0061-0065) acquires a building image corresponding to a specific building whose building profile (See KIM Paragraph 0110) is not detected from among the buildings around the vehicle through a camera provided in the vehicle (See KIM Paragraphs 0080; 0115), and wherein the processor (See KIM Paragraph 0064) acquires images of different areas of the specific building based on the building image, determines tiles corresponding to the different areas of the specific building from the tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile) based on the acquired images of the different areas (See KIM Paragraph 0018), and generates and stores a building profile including combination information for combining information of the determined tiles (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019) for the different areas of the specific building and the acquired images of the different areas based on the building image (See KIM Paragraphs 0321-0322).
Claim 3:
KIM discloses wherein the tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile) is provided with a plurality of tile groups including different tiles depending on the type of a building (See KIM Paragraphs 0321-0322), and wherein the processor determines a tile corresponding to a specific area of the specific building from tiles included in a specific tile group of the tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile) according to the type of the specific building (See KIM Paragraphs 0321-0322).
Claim 5:
KIM discloses a communication unit that communicates with a cloud server (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273), wherein the processor transmits a driving path of the vehicle to the cloud server (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273), and receives building profile information corresponding to at least one of buildings located around the vehicle from the cloud server (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273) in response to the transmitted driving path (See KIM Paragraphs 0012-0014; 0252; 0266-0273).
Claim 6:
KIM discloses wherein the processor (See KIM Paragraph 0064) receives at least one tile (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021) according to the received building profile information (See KIM Paragraphs 0012-0014; 0252; 0266-0273) from the cloud server (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273).
Claim 7:
KIM discloses wherein the cloud server (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273), receives building profile information, which is generated by a plurality of vehicles (See KIM Figure 10; Paragraphs 0332-0334), corresponding to respective buildings in an area where the vehicles are located (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021), from the plurality of vehicles (See KIM Figure 10; Paragraphs 0332-0334) that are connected in communication with the cloud server (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273), compares tile information set in different areas of the buildings included in the respective received building profile information with one another (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021), and generates building profile information including information on the most selected tile for each area of the buildings as tile information corresponding to each area of the buildings (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021).
Claim 8:
KIM discloses wherein the cloud server collects (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273), from a plurality of vehicles connected to the cloud server (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273), information on tiles corresponding to different areas of respective buildings in an area where the vehicles are located (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021), and generates building profile information including information on the most selected tile for each area of the buildings as tile information corresponding to each area of the buildings (See KIM Paragraphs 0321-0322).
Claim 9:
KIM discloses wherein the processor determines any one tile corresponding to the specific area based on a result of calculating a similarity (See KIM “map matcher” Paragraphs 0014-0018) between at least one of a shape, a color, and a form extracted from an image of the specific area and each of the tiles included in the tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile).
Claim 10:
KIM discloses wherein the processor calculates, based on features detected from an image of the specific area (See KIM Paragraphs 0010-0021), a recognition rate for a building image of the specific area, and determines whether to determine a tile corresponding to the specific area based on the calculated recognition rate (“a filter configures to filter the extracted data … map matching” See KIM Paragraph 0017).
Claim 11:
KIM discloses wherein in the tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile), matchable tiles are grouped for the respective plurality of preset layers, and wherein the processor divides the specific building into the plurality of preset layers based on the acquired building image (See KIM Paragraph 0110), and determines tiles corresponding to each of the divided layers from the grouped tiles of the tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile) corresponding to each of the divided layers based on the image of each of the divided layers (See KIM Paragraphs 0010-0021).
Claim 12:
KIM discloses wherein the processor normalizes, when tiles are acquired into the tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile), the stored tiles according to preset sizes or aspect ratios to store the normalized tiles in the tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile), and wherein the sizes (See KIM Paragraphs 0016; 0362; 0370; 0463) or aspect ratios of the normalized tiles are different for the respective plurality of preset layers of the grouped tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile).
Claim 13:
KIM discloses wherein the processor divides, based on the acquired building image (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110), the specific building into a bottom layer, which is a layer closest to the ground, and at least one middle layer, detects a sub-area corresponding to the bottom layer area from the acquired building image (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110) according to normalized sizes of tiles included in a tile group of the tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile) corresponding to the bottom layer, and detects a sub-area corresponding to the at least one middle layer area from the acquired building image (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110) according to normalized sizes of tiles included in a tile group of the tile database corresponding to the middle layer (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile).
Claim 16:
KIM discloses wherein the normalization further comprises tiling reference point normalization that changes the tiling reference points of the acquired tiles to preset tiling reference points (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021).
Claim 17:
KIM discloses path guiding system comprising: a cloud server that detects (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273), when a driving path of a vehicle is received, buildings located around the received driving path from map information (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110), and transmits building profiles corresponding to the respective detected buildings as a response to the received driving path (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110); and a display device provided in the vehicle to transmit a driving path (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110) according to a destination of the vehicle acquired from a navigation system of the vehicle to the cloud server (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273), determine a target building on which texturing is to be performed based on at least one of a location (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110), a speed, and a driving direction of the vehicle when the building profiles are received in response to the transmission of the driving path (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110), tile different areas of a virtual object corresponding to the target building with different tiles based on area-specific tile information (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021) included in a building profile corresponding to the determined target building (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110), among the received building profiles (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110), and perform texturing on the virtual object by combining respective areas where tiling is carried out according to the building profile (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110).
Claim 18:
KIM discloses wherein the cloud server (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273), acquires images of surrounding buildings through a camera (See KIM Paragraphs 0080; 0115), acquires images of different areas of the surrounding buildings based on the acquired building images, determines tiles (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021) corresponding to the different areas of the surrounding buildings based on the acquired images of the different areas, receives building profile information generated by a plurality of vehicles (See KIM Figure 10; Paragraphs 0332-0334), which includes combination information for combining the acquired images of different areas based on the information of the determined tiles (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021) and the building image, from the plurality of vehicles (See KIM Figure 10; Paragraphs 0332-0334), and determines a building profile corresponding to a specific building (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110) based on at least one building profile information received for the specific building from among the received building profile information (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110).
Claim 19:
KIM discloses wherein the cloud server (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273), determines, when among the received building profile information (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110), there is building profile information including tile information (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021) of different tiles for a specific area of the specific building (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110), any one tile having the largest amount of collected building profile information corresponding to the specific area (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021; 0110), among the different tiles corresponding to the specific area, as a tile corresponding to the specific area (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021).
Claim 20:
KIM discloses wherein the cloud server (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273), is provided with a tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile) including tile data for each of a plurality of tiles to provide tile database (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile) information for synchronization with the tile database to the plurality of vehicles (See KIM Figure 10; Paragraphs 0332-0334) and the display device, and wherein the plurality of vehicles (See KIM Figure 10; Paragraphs 0332-0334) and the display device are provided with a tile database in synchronization with the tile database of the cloud server (See KIM Paragraphs 0252; 0266-0273), based on the tile database information (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile) to determine a tile corresponding to a specific area of a specific building based on a plurality of tiles included in the tile database in synchronization therewith (See KIM Paragraphs 0015-0019; 0021 Note: server stores the tile).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 8284190 discloses 3D models of buildings that may be generated using another technique, such as airborne laser ranging (LIDAR). The street-level (i.e. less than 20 feet above ground) images may be supplemented by street-level LIDAR data for building feature identification.
Contact Information
/SHEREE N BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612 June 23, 2026